Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel in the squad for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games

'He wasn't a starter at Chelsea' - Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel

Former Nigeria U23 coach Samson Siasia has revealed that he rejected a €50,000 (approximately ₦91 million based on current exchange rates) bribe offer from John Obi Mikel's agent to include the midfielder in the squad for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games, claiming the former Chelsea star refused to participate in the qualifiers.

Siasia did not name Mikel's agent but it is known that UK-based Nigerian intermediary John Shittu was managing the former Super Eagles captain at the time of the incident.

Nigeria faced the risk of missing out on the 2008 Olympic Games and needed at least a draw against a star-studded Black Meteors side to stay in contention.

Siasia has claimed that Mikel turned down an invitation to travel with the Dream Team to Accra for the crucial clash against Ghana, alleging the midfielder was a benchwarmer at Chelsea.

However, that narrative doesn't align with the facts as Mikel had started four consecutive Premier League matches before the showdown with the Black Meteors, and another five immediately after the qualifier.

Siasia explained that Mikel was not part of the team during the crucial Olympic qualifying campaign and only showed interest in joining the squad once qualification was secured.

Speaking to Elegbete TV Sports, Siasia said: "Mikel's agent called that Mikel cannot come and he wasn't a starter at Chelsea then, he was on the bench.
"I told him we only had one game against Ghana to play – please come and help us.

"I said if he doesn't come, he won’t go anywhere. But Mikel refused to come, saying he was playing in Chelsea.

"Then we went to Ghana and played a draw. They brought Asamoah Gyan, they needed that win.

"Nothing happened, we played very well, at the end of the day 0-0, we qualified."
Ahead of the Olympics proper, Mikel's camp made an effort to get him included in the final squad for the competition in China.
"Going to the Olympics, Mikel wants to come and play. His agent said he would give me €50,000 so Mikel should play.

"I said it’s not about €50,000. He didn’t play the qualifiers, so I will take out someone that qualified us and bring you in? It won’t happen. That’s why Mikel didn’t go," Siasia added.
Nigeria went on to win silver at the Beijing Games, with Siasia leading a squad that impressed en route to the final, where they narrowly lost to Lionel Messi's Argentina.

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=56178
Re: Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel in the squad for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games

O’boy🤦‍♂️

This thing Sia Sia is doing is not good. Sometimes our local coaches don't know when to shut up and when to speak up. Even if this allegation is true, how does it help him since he's coming off FIFA’s ban due to corruption? He will lose in the court of public opinion because it will look like he's using Mikel to clean up his image. He better have proof of this allegation. And yes, Mikel's career was at the end before the Olympics, but that doesn't prove anything.
Re: Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel in the squad for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games

iworo wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 2:40 pm 'He wasn't a starter at Chelsea' - Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel

Former Nigeria U23 coach Samson Siasia has revealed that he rejected a €50,000 (approximately ₦91 million based on current exchange rates) bribe offer from John Obi Mikel's agent to include the midfielder in the squad for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games, claiming the former Chelsea star refused to participate in the qualifiers.

Siasia did not name Mikel's agent but it is known that UK-based Nigerian intermediary John Shittu was managing the former Super Eagles captain at the time of the incident.

Nigeria faced the risk of missing out on the 2008 Olympic Games and needed at least a draw against a star-studded Black Meteors side to stay in contention.

Siasia has claimed that Mikel turned down an invitation to travel with the Dream Team to Accra for the crucial clash against Ghana, alleging the midfielder was a benchwarmer at Chelsea.

However, that narrative doesn't align with the facts as Mikel had started four consecutive Premier League matches before the showdown with the Black Meteors, and another five immediately after the qualifier.

Siasia explained that Mikel was not part of the team during the crucial Olympic qualifying campaign and only showed interest in joining the squad once qualification was secured.

Speaking to Elegbete TV Sports, Siasia said: "Mikel's agent called that Mikel cannot come and he wasn't a starter at Chelsea then, he was on the bench.
"I told him we only had one game against Ghana to play – please come and help us.

"I said if he doesn't come, he won’t go anywhere. But Mikel refused to come, saying he was playing in Chelsea.

"Then we went to Ghana and played a draw. They brought Asamoah Gyan, they needed that win.

"Nothing happened, we played very well, at the end of the day 0-0, we qualified."
Ahead of the Olympics proper, Mikel's camp made an effort to get him included in the final squad for the competition in China.
"Going to the Olympics, Mikel wants to come and play. His agent said he would give me €50,000 so Mikel should play.

"I said it’s not about €50,000. He didn’t play the qualifiers, so I will take out someone that qualified us and bring you in? It won’t happen. That’s why Mikel didn’t go," Siasia added.
Nigeria went on to win silver at the Beijing Games, with Siasia leading a squad that impressed en route to the final, where they narrowly lost to Lionel Messi's Argentina.

https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=56178
On hind sight, maybe he should have accepted the “bribe” and perhaps won himself a gold medal. Sisasia is turning out to be such a punk… unbelievable🤔❗️

So what if Mikel wasn’t a starter on one of the world’s best teams? Did Siasia have anyone on that squad better than Mikel? Sisasia should stop trying to justify his boneheadedness which has often gotten in the way of his teams’ successes🤔❗️

again another rubbish from elegbe, this is a fake story, 2008 Olympics, ain't no 2016 Olympics
Nigerians are funny folks, FYI there are always two sides to a story. I do not get how folks do make a conclusion after hearing only one side of the story. Elegbe is trying so hard to be relevant . terrible individual

https://www.skysports.com/football/news ... ympic-snub
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Tue Jul 01, 2025 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

packerland wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 2:49 pm O’boy🤦‍♂️

This thing Sia Sia is doing is not good. Sometimes our local coaches don't know when to shut up and when to speak up. Even if this allegation is true, how does it help him since he's coming off FIFA’s ban due to corruption? He will lose in the court of public opinion because it will look like he's using Mikel to clean up his image. He better have proof of this allegation. And yes, Mikel's career was at the end before the Olympics, but that doesn't prove anything.
2008 Beijing Olympics not 2016 Rio Olympics!

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 3:05 pm So what if Mikel wasn’t a starter on one of the world’s best teams? Did Siasia have anyone on that squad better than Mikel? Sisasia should stop trying to justify his boneheadedness which has often gotten in the way of his teams’ successes🤔❗️

Same thing he did with Osaze and Enyeama, only to fail to qualify for AFCON
If true, Mikel could probably have been the difference between a gold and silver medal for Nigeria

Dammy wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 3:10 pm

2008 Beijing Olympics not 2016 Rio Olympics!
Thanks Dammy! I didn’t feel liket reading all that. Then this must be old news. Why do some of these fake journalist like stirring up shiiit? It still doesn't look good on Sia Sia.

2025-2008 is 17 years. This is a pure waste of time. How will this help the SE , or even qualify for the next olympics. these folks are hungry and proper enemies of progress , 17 years ago beef,, trust elegbe who offers nothing but gossips and pointless interviews. Dude must bleed once a month

Siasia don vex o. But he needs to be careful with these his allegations without proof.

Mikel should just apologise for trying to deceive the public that he paid for the plane that took them to Brazil.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

See gist oooo. LMAO.

This is a can of worms Siasia does not want to open.

Because players many wey get their own tori about Sia1.

Me sef get my own personal experience.....make we leave am like that.

Ugbowo wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 3:54 pm See gist oooo. LMAO.

If a can of worms is opened on Siasia, he will end up biting more than he can chew!

I honestly don’t care much about Siasia or Mikel in this context. What truly stands out for me is the growing confirmation that many of our players backed by their agents bribe their way into the national teams. This isn’t a new allegation, it's something that's been raised on this forum countless times. Yet, some people always demand “proof” dismissing it as conspiracy.

Now, with Siasia seemingly confirming what many suspected, it lends serious weight to those claims. He has nothing to lose at this point, his coaching career at the national level is effectively over, so it’s not surprising he’s speaking freely now.

Sadly, I wouldn't be shocked if this corrupt practice is still ongoing, perhaps now routed more discreetly through the NFF’s so-called technical committee. It's a disgrace. Instead of selecting players based on merit and form, selections are influenced by connections and backdoor deals. This not only damages our football but also crushes the dreams of truly talented players who never get a fair shot.

Until we address this rot head-on, Nigerian football will continue to underperform, no matter how much potential we have on paper.

Dammy wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:00 pm

If a can of worms is opened on Siasia, he will end up biting more than he can chew!

Those who know, know, that money changes hands in all his teams. Let’s see how far Siasia wants to take this

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Ugbowo.
Me too.

iworo wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:01 pm I honestly don’t care much about Siasia or Mikel in this context. What truly stands out for me is the growing confirmation that many of our players backed by their agents bribe their way into the national teams. This isn’t a new allegation, it's something that's been raised on this forum countless times. Yet, some people always demand “proof” dismissing it as conspiracy.

Now, with Siasia seemingly confirming what many suspected, it lends serious weight to those claims. He has nothing to lose at this point, his coaching career at the national level is effectively over, so it’s not surprising he’s speaking freely now.

Sadly, I wouldn't be shocked if this corrupt practice is still ongoing, perhaps now routed more discreetly through the NFF’s so-called technical committee. It's a disgrace. Instead of selecting players based on merit and form, selections are influenced by connections and backdoor deals. This not only damages our football but also crushes the dreams of truly talented players who never get a fair shot.

Until we address this rot head-on, Nigerian football will continue to underperform, no matter how much potential we have on paper.
The fact that an allegation is made, regardless of how often it’s made, does not make it true… and Siasia is hardly the most upstanding Nigerian we know🤔❗️

Former Nigeria U23 coach Samson Siasia has revealed that he rejected a €50,000 (
I stopped reading at the highlighted....

I disagree very strongly with the highlighted statement. Under Gus Hiddinck who preceded Antonio Conte, Mikel was the first name on the Chelsea team sheet. Hiddinck was so confident in Mikel’s ability that he played him in central defense occasionally. Mikel’s downfall was choosing to represent Nigeria at the 2016 Olympics against Conte’s will, thereby incurring Conte’s displeasure🤔❗️

Lolly wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 3:34 pm Siasia don vex o. But he needs to be careful with these his allegations without proof.

Mikel should just apologise for trying to deceive the public that he paid for the plane that took them to Brazil.
You should apologize for being an Eeeeeediot. Why would Mikel intentionally lie about something like that? Somebody that played for Nigeria while his father was kidnapped twice. What has a boko haram member like you done for Nigeria that Mikel hasn't done a million fold. Gerrrahia :curse: :curse: :curse: :veryangry:

metalalloy wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:29 pm
Former Nigeria U23 coach Samson Siasia has revealed that he rejected a €50,000 (
I stopped reading at the highlighted....
Why?

bret- hart wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:57 pm
Lolly wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 3:34 pm Siasia don vex o. But he needs to be careful with these his allegations without proof.

You should apologize for being an Eeeeeediot. Why would Mikel intentionally lie about something like that? Somebody that played for Nigeria while his father was kidnapped twice. What has a boko haram member like you done for Nigeria that Mikel hasn't done a million fold. Gerrrahia :curse: :curse: :curse: :veryangry:
Not surprising to see you defend Mikel. A riffraff like you can’t use his brain. The same Mikel used his own mouth to say he spent about $30,000 on the Atlanta trip. Is that how much a chartered plane cost? Or should we say Mikel unintentionally lied about the plane? :lol: Olodo.
Last edited by Lolly on Tue Jul 01, 2025 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:24 pm
iworo wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:01 pm I honestly don’t care much about Siasia or Mikel in this context. What truly stands out for me is the growing confirmation that many of our players backed by their agents bribe their way into the national teams. This isn’t a new allegation, it's something that's been raised on this forum countless times. Yet, some people always demand “proof” dismissing it as conspiracy.

The fact that an allegation is made, regardless of how often it’s made, does not make it true… and Siasia is hardly the most upstanding Nigerian we know🤔❗️

We don’t know if this particular case is true but you are being disingenuous if you are saying agents don’t pay coaches and officials to include their players in our national teams from U17 to the SE.

And you are right, Siasia is hardly the most upstanding Nigerian we know, but he is not alone in that game.

bret- hart wrote: Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:57 pm

stop wasting your time with this lolly, this bobo was under the payroll of buhari, and he approved the murder of Nigerians at Lekki, he has been all over CE shouting SSS was right, Mikel was all over the place, the coward his now changing his mouth after seeing this thread