WORLD CUP D-Day Approaches as SE's Pathway Dwindles..
As things stand today, while four second placed African teams continue to hope for at least a partway to the 2026 World Cup via play-offs, Nigeria's hopes seem etched on a miraculous win-out of its four remaining games in order to win its group. Meanwhile, South Africa decidedly has the inside track to the World Cup from the group. It currently leads the group by a wide margin of points. South Africa will still be at the driver's seat in the group even if, as expected, South Africa is ducted 3 points for its use of an unqualified player in one of the World Cup qualifiers. Moreover, only one of South Africa's remaining four games will be played away from home. The critical game v SE will be in South Africa!
However, despite the obvious tall odds against Nigeria's 2026 World Cup qualification, hope remains. That hope rests on four things in my view:

It is all heart, Victor!...the Matador lays it all out in South Africa!!
1. Victor Osimhen's health and availability. He is the key, the king, and the hope. No one else comes even close.
2. Eric Chelle sheathing his ultra focus on aggressive attacking mode and being realistic by setting up a defensive squad in the South African game and going for broke with Osimhen's deathwish attack.

Chelle must think....result over style is necessary
3. With #2 above comes with SE playing to earn fouls near the South African goal area. There will be fouls especuially with South Africa's kamikaze defense and a deliberate approach to earn fouls. Ensuing free kicks will rely on Osinhen's air dominance to seek victory.
4. Eric Chelle warning: .....If you cannot give 110 as a player, please stay home. Do not show up. Only 110 guys are needed. I do not care whether you play for Big 5 or 10. What I care is.....are you a 110 guy or not?

Eric Chelle getting ready for a sweaty day in South Africa... He is either a hero or the shame
Well, well.... in spite of this talk ABOUT South African game, an equally important contest is confronting Rwanda in Nigeria and that confrontation comes before the South African game. Nigeria's only victory in these qualifiers has come in Rwanda. The reverse fixture in Nigeria beckons. No excuses.... it will not be about NFF bonuses, it will not be about the field, and it will not be about fan support. The players either put up or shut up. Rwanda does not have a gadzillion Europe-based talent, Nigeria does.
That idea of Europe-based and its importance shall be tested again!!! NO EXCUSES.
However, despite the obvious tall odds against Nigeria's 2026 World Cup qualification, hope remains. That hope rests on four things in my view:
It is all heart, Victor!...the Matador lays it all out in South Africa!!
1. Victor Osimhen's health and availability. He is the key, the king, and the hope. No one else comes even close.
2. Eric Chelle sheathing his ultra focus on aggressive attacking mode and being realistic by setting up a defensive squad in the South African game and going for broke with Osimhen's deathwish attack.

Chelle must think....result over style is necessary
3. With #2 above comes with SE playing to earn fouls near the South African goal area. There will be fouls especuially with South Africa's kamikaze defense and a deliberate approach to earn fouls. Ensuing free kicks will rely on Osinhen's air dominance to seek victory.
4. Eric Chelle warning: .....If you cannot give 110 as a player, please stay home. Do not show up. Only 110 guys are needed. I do not care whether you play for Big 5 or 10. What I care is.....are you a 110 guy or not?

Eric Chelle getting ready for a sweaty day in South Africa... He is either a hero or the shame
Well, well.... in spite of this talk ABOUT South African game, an equally important contest is confronting Rwanda in Nigeria and that confrontation comes before the South African game. Nigeria's only victory in these qualifiers has come in Rwanda. The reverse fixture in Nigeria beckons. No excuses.... it will not be about NFF bonuses, it will not be about the field, and it will not be about fan support. The players either put up or shut up. Rwanda does not have a gadzillion Europe-based talent, Nigeria does.

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- packerland
Re: WORLD CUP D-Day Approaches as SE's Pathway Dwindles..
Our coach should be 100% focused on SA and the 2 WC games we got coming up and not messing around with that CHAN rubbish.
Your coach is busy with Chan trying discover new players for the SA game without paying much attention to Rwanda. Can you imagine an England, Germany or even Cameroon coach coaching a U20 tournament a month before a vital do or die WCQ? I haven’t seen it yet but Chelle is tasked with winning Chan, qualifying for the WC and winning Afcon. Well, perhaps they believe God will do it.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 1:47 am Our coach should be 100% focused on SA and the 2 WC games we got coming up and not messing around with that CHAN rubbish.
- packerland
Ha! That's the NFF way. Task the coach with unrealistic expectations so that he will fail and they don't have to renew his contract. Then back to another journeyman coach, and the cycle repeats. This has got to be an NFF scam.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 2:04 amYour coach is busy with Chan trying discover new players for the SA game without paying much attention to Rwanda. Can you imagine an England, Germany or even Cameroon coach coaching a U20 tournament a month before a vital do or die WCQ? I haven’t seen it yet but Chelle is tasked with winning Chan, qualifying for the WC and winning Afcon. Well, perhaps they believe God will do it.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 1:47 am Our coach should be 100% focused on SA and the 2 WC games we got coming up and not messing around with that CHAN rubbish.
It should be operation park the bus and play on the counter against SA, for once let's play like the minnows and do a "Jose Mourinho" in those crucial fixtures.
Not gonna work. Our defense is suspect and the MF can be easily caught off guard. I’d play a defensive possession game based on ball possession with a full compliment of defenders at all times 451/ 352. We cant hide the fact that we need 3 pts. Gotta rake risks.
Emir,EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 2:42 amNot gonna work. Our defense is suspect and the MF can be easily caught off guard. I’d play a defensive possession game based on ball possession with a full compliment of defenders at all times 451/ 352. We cant hide the fact that we need 3 pts. Gotta rake risks.
Yep, you got the formula which has a high probability of providing us with the needed result. But does Eric Chelle realize that? Man, after the draw at home against Zimbabwe one must wonder if Chelle can deal with winning UGLY.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Well…. the good news is that we’ve been creating more chances under Chelle, the bad is that the finishing hasn’t improved. I think Chelle knows he’ll have to defend but how he does it is what matters. Sitting back and setting up a block is too risky. I’d play possession and press SA high to force turnovers. I think we’ll need to score 2m goals in SA to win.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 3:44 pmEmir,EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 2:42 amNot gonna work. Our defense is suspect and the MF can be easily caught off guard. I’d play a defensive possession game based on ball possession with a full compliment of defenders at all times 451/ 352. We cant hide the fact that we need 3 pts. Gotta rake risks.
Yep, you got the formula which has a high probability of providing us with the needed result. But does Eric Chelle realize that? Man, after the draw at home against Zimbabwe one must wonder if Chelle can deal with winning UGLY.
...your coach have to stay busy, since all his star players are away, abroad, on vacation, or with their clubs.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 1:47 am Our coach should be 100% focused on SA and the 2 WC games we got coming up and not messing around with that CHAN rubbish.
He has to stay busy may be find one or two good players.
At least this is a refreshing approach unlike previous SE coaches, foreign or local, they will be in Europe with the excuse they are visiting players.
Looking for 1 or 2 players to do what? Since the Chan started, how many players have we ever found? Better yet, how many African teams have discovered gems at Chan? Chelle should be monitoring players during pre-season in Europe and scouting for new top talent instead of dumpster diving for player at Chan,mcal wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 6:52 pm...your coach have to stay busy, since all his star players are away, abroad, on vacation, or with their clubs.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 1:47 am Our coach should be 100% focused on SA and the 2 WC games we got coming up and not messing around with that CHAN rubbish.
At least this is a refreshing approach unlike previous SE coaches, foreign or local, they will be in Europe with the excuse they are visiting players.
...you never know what you'll find if you don't look, and give same resources (and respect to local league players). Keshi did that and found Sunday Mba, the rest na history.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 9:04 pmLooking for 1 or 2 players to do what? Since the Chan started, how many players have we ever found? Better yet, how many African teams have discovered gems at Chan? Chelle should be monitoring players during pre-season in Europe and scouting for new top talent instead of dumpster diving for player at Chan,mcal wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 6:52 pm...your coach have to stay busy, since all his star players are away, abroad, on vacation, or with their clubs.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 1:47 am Our coach should be 100% focused on SA and the 2 WC games we got coming up and not messing around with that CHAN rubbish.
I see Chelle may be black but him be oyinbo wey do live for europe, know europe, and he's not hungry to fly out to europe. Africa albeit Nigeria he is familiar with.
If you find gold at Chan na gold dust u find. MBA had a couple good games for SE but he couldn’t cut in the French 2nd div. The only real local discovry was Oboabona but injuries no gree.mcal wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 10:01 pm...you never know what you'll find if you don't look, and give same resources (and respect to local league players). Keshi did that and found Sunday Mba, the rest na history.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 9:04 pmLooking for 1 or 2 players to do what? Since the Chan started, how many players have we ever found? Better yet, how many African teams have discovered gems at Chan? Chelle should be monitoring players during pre-season in Europe and scouting for new top talent instead of dumpster diving for player at Chan,mcal wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 6:52 pm...your coach have to stay busy, since all his star players are away, abroad, on vacation, or with their clubs.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 1:47 am Our coach should be 100% focused on SA and the 2 WC games we got coming up and not messing around with that CHAN rubbish.
I see Chelle may be black but him be oyinbo wey do live for europe, know europe, and he's not hungry to fly out to europe. Africa albeit Nigeria he is familiar with.
...I am more concern with contribution to the national team not a club side.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 10:56 pmIf you find gold at Chan na gold dust u find. MBA had a couple good games for SE but he couldn’t cut in the French 2nd div. The only real local discovry was Oboabona but injuries no gree.mcal wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 10:01 pm...you never know what you'll find if you don't look, and give same resources (and respect to local league players). Keshi did that and found Sunday Mba, the rest na history.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 9:04 pmLooking for 1 or 2 players to do what? Since the Chan started, how many players have we ever found? Better yet, how many African teams have discovered gems at Chan? Chelle should be monitoring players during pre-season in Europe and scouting for new top talent instead of dumpster diving for player at Chan,mcal wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 6:52 pm...your coach have to stay busy, since all his star players are away, abroad, on vacation, or with their clubs.packerland wrote: ↑Sun Jul 06, 2025 1:47 am Our coach should be 100% focused on SA and the 2 WC games we got coming up and not messing around with that CHAN rubbish.
We have had many score tons of goals for club but na wetin dem contribute for SE. And they are still being invited all because they play in some big league or big club.