WAFCON Nigeria 3 vs Tunisia 0 FT!!!

Re: WAFCON Nigeria 3 vs Tunisia 0 LIVE!!!

3 -0 was a pretty nice drubbing🤔❗️

Re: WAFCON Nigeria 3 vs Tunisia 0 LIVE!!!

Re: WAFCON Nigeria 3 vs Tunisia 0 FT!!!

I can't recall the team winning by this goal margin at the last WAFCON. BTW who is the coach. Nigeria DNA is to attack.

Re: WAFCON Nigeria 2 vs Tunisia 0 LIVE!!!

iworo wrote: Sun Jul 06, 2025 6:10 pm This team is full of talent, but they’re not playing to their potential and lack the discipline they once had. I’m not sure if that’s due to the coaching or just selfishness from some of the players. Anyway, time will tell….
First game. It is not how you start. It is how you finish. It was a good result.

I just saw highlights. This team is light years better than the team lead by Waldrum. They passed the ball well created a lot chances. The set pieces are always dangerous. That Plumptree goal should have stood. Plumptree played well. Didn't look confused like when she was playing under Waldrum. The Falcons are back. They are playing with swagger again. Definitely title contenders.

Wow the coach also has a lot of options on the bench.

iworo wrote: Sun Jul 06, 2025 6:10 pm This team is full of talent, but they’re not playing to their potential and lack the discipline they once had. I’m not sure if that’s due to the coaching or just selfishness from some of the players. Anyway, time will tell….
Exactly! They kept trying to score instead of settling for 0-0…

Wasn’t necessarily a big fan of the first half performance, even though the team led…
Much better performance in the 2H (all 3 HT subs were positive), and hopefully keep getting better as the tourney progresses.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jul 06, 2025 9:34 pm I just saw highlights. This team is light years better than the team lead by Waldrum. They passed the ball well created a lot chances. The set pieces are always dangerous. That Plumptree goal should have stood. Plumptree played well. Didn't look confused like when she was playing under Waldrum. The Falcons are back. They are playing with swagger again. Definitely title contenders.
Oh geez, we can’t even analyze or criticize our teams or coaches anymore without being dragged into the local vs. foreign coach debate or agenda.

iworo wrote: Mon Jul 07, 2025 12:11 am
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jul 06, 2025 9:34 pm I just saw highlights. This team is light years better than the team lead by Waldrum. They passed the ball well created a lot chances. The set pieces are always dangerous. That Plumptree goal should have stood. Plumptree played well. Didn't look confused like when she was playing under Waldrum. The Falcons are back. They are playing with swagger again. Definitely title contenders.
Oh geez, we can’t even analyze or criticize our teams or coaches anymore without being dragged into the local vs. foreign coach debate or agenda.
Paranoia… :D

Bros said NOTHING about local (by which I assume indigenous) vs foreign coach.
He merely compared the performance of the team to their performance under the previous coach.

Gotti wrote: Sun Jul 06, 2025 11:59 pm
Exactly! They kept trying to score instead of settling for 0-0…
Oh absolutely, how foolish of them to actually score goals and win 3-0. Clearly, that means everything’s perfect and beyond criticism :tic:.

Look, the scoreline flatters the performance. It wasn’t about trying to score, it’s how they played…chaotic first half, selfish at times and totally lacking discipline. That kind of display might work against Tunisia, but against real contenders? It’ll get exposed quickly. But hey, as long as we’re winning, who needs structure, right?

Gotti wrote: Mon Jul 07, 2025 12:16 am
Paranoia… :D

Bros said NOTHING about local (by which I assume indigenous) vs foreign coach.
He merely compared the performance of the team to their performance under the previous coach.
Ah, the classic “he didn’t say it, so how dare you infer it” routine. You guys never disappoint :? .

He compared the current team’s performance under a local coach to that under the previous (foreign) coach, then act surprised when people point out the underlying agenda? Please. The dog whistle wasn’t even subtle.

And let’s not pretend “indigenous” vs “local” is some profound distinction, it’s just another way to dress up the same tired inferiority complex. You didn’t have to say it outright, the implication did all the work for you bro.

But carry on. Just don’t act brand new when people call out the subtext.

packerland wrote: Sun Jul 06, 2025 6:21 pm Oshoala better not start over Esther Okoronkwo again.
Even though she only came on at half time, she still won WOTM.
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

You only saw the highlights? Some of us watched the full game. Besides the GK, Plumptree was the best player at the WC under Waldrum. Stop acting like she just started playing well under this new coach. Cool down with your praises. They missed a lot of easy chances. Oshoala was rubbish and some of the dependable players like Uchebe and Abiodun misplaced a lot of passes. Don't forget we are in the easiest group in the tournament. It could’ve been a different scoreline if the opposition were stronger. We’ll be fine if the coach play his second half team more, but if he sticks with playing the likes of Oshoala, I can see them losing to a team like Zambia or SA. This is Nigeria’s cup to lose.

Good win for the Falcons against outclassed opponents.

Tunisia is not a good team. They weirdly brought all 11 players back behind their penalty spot when defending corners. This intensified pressure on them and their GK, because even if they cleared the ball, it came straight into their box because they had no one outside their box to hold the ball up.

It also crowded their GK because she could not come through the crowd of players to catch or punch the ball. They were so deep that Nigeria's GK Nnadozie often watched her team's corners while standing on the halfway line!

Very odd tactic.

Nice tribute by Babajide to do a Diogo Jota celebration after scoring. Props to her. 👍🏽
Nigeria was lucky not to receive 2 red cards for 2 reckless "studs showing" tackles by Abiodun and Demehin. Nigeria also gave away too many FKs. A better team would have punished Nigeria for that carelessness.

The difference in physical size and strength between the teams was vast. Plumptre, Asisat, Ihezuo, and Babajide etc looked like grown women playing against teenage Tunisian girls.

Plumptre is a class player and has a wand of a left foot.

Did anyone notice the "ko" typo on the back of Nnenna Okoronkwo's shirt? 👕
Last edited by wiseone on Tue Jul 08, 2025 7:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Okoronkwo was immense after she came on. Dominated both in the air and on the ground. The shoulder drop before she hit the post would have made Babayaro proud.

I still think Ashley should have been WOTM but Esther wasn’t a bad choice.

Just own your bias.

4 pages for freaking Tunisia ? Una really get time

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Cellular wrote: Mon Jul 07, 2025 6:48 pm
Just own your bias.

Bias? I criticize all coaches equally… local, foreign, Martian… if the tactics are trash, they get the lash. But I get it, facts can be inconvenient. Screenshot attached for those who need receipts.

viewtopic.php?p=5852401#p5852401

I watched Spain's 5-0 demolition of Portugal in the women's Euros and it made me wince to think what they would do to Nigeria and other African teams (to be fair this Spanish team would put most teams in the world to the sword 🗡️).

Slick passing, immaculate first touch, and intricate technique (clearly the footballing DNA 🧬 from the male team is also present in the women's team).

We have some way to go before we can compete at world level.
Last edited by wiseone on Tue Jul 08, 2025 7:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote: Tue Jul 08, 2025 2:50 am I watched Spain's 5-0 demolition of Portugal in the women's Euros and it made me wince to think what they would do to Nigeria and other African teams (to be fair this Spanish team would put most teams in the world to the sword 🗡️).

Slick passing, immaculate first touch, and intricate passing (clearly the footballing DNA 🧬 from the male team is also present in the women's team).

But we ARE already competing at that level.
I think you simply mean competing at the very top elite level ie Spain, France, USA, Germany.
For most of the rest, I think it’s anybody’s game on the day.
The margins of difference are very thin.

I watched the Spain v Portugal game too. They are on a different planet, but yesterday Belgium exposed some of their weaknesses.

wiseone wrote: Tue Jul 08, 2025 2:50 am I watched Spain's 5-0 demolition of Portugal in the women's Euros and it made me wince to think what they would do to Nigeria and other African teams (to be fair this Spanish team would put most teams in the world to the sword 🗡️).

Slick passing, immaculate first touch, and intricate technique (clearly the footballing DNA 🧬 from the male team is also present in the women's team).

Na wa for una. Have you forgotten we played Spain just 12 months ago & very nearly drew with them. We even created gilt edged chances that we missed. It a 85th min rare Nnadozie error for them to win. Is it not the same Super Falcons? We get short memories oo.