Eric Chelle calls up 35 NPFL players for CHAN preparation - Papa Daniel +4 others ineligible (moves abroad)
Re: Eric Chelle calls up 35 NPFL players for CHAN preparation - Papa Daniel +4 others ineligible (moves abroad)
Be specific.packerland wrote: ↑Thu Jul 10, 2025 1:01 amSunset,
I mean no disrespect, but are you blind to what’s going on?
Re: Eric Chelle calls up 35 NPFL players for CHAN preparation - Papa Daniel +4 others ineligible (moves abroad)
Really? Wow….we have been infiltrated. Are u kidding us here? OMG.Sunset wrote: ↑Thu Jul 10, 2025 2:14 amBe specific.packerland wrote: ↑Thu Jul 10, 2025 1:01 am
Sunset,
- danfo driver
Sunset wrote: ↑Thu Jul 10, 2025 2:14 amBe specific.packerland wrote: ↑Thu Jul 10, 2025 1:01 am
Sunset,

Really? Are you playing on our intelligence or just joking?
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
- danfo driver

It might seem that way if you're unaware about the trend of our best players leaving the local scene during and in the off season. I've followed the league long enough to know how common it is, so please elaborate why you think i'm joking.
So the players don’t really care about CHAN? All they want to do is get seen by foreign agents, so they can be signed? Three of them travelled to the UK to prepare for CHAN and then left a few weeks before the tournament starts. So what was the preparation for? Or should we say what was the exhibition for? Probably just to be positioned to attract the interest of foreigns club.Sunset wrote: ↑Thu Jul 10, 2025 4:14 pmIt might seem that way if you're unaware about the trend of our best players leaving the local scene during and in the off season. I've followed the league long enough to know how common it is, so please elaborate why you think i'm joking.
I wonder how many of the other teams in the tournament are losing up to 5 players to foreign clubs? The way we normalise criminality in Nigeria needs to be studied.

Is that a rhetorical question?Lolly wrote: ↑Thu Jul 10, 2025 4:41 pmSo the players don’t really care about CHAN? All they want to do is get seen by foreign agents, so they can be signed? Three of them travelled to the UK to prepare for CHAN and then left a few weeks before the tournament starts. So what was the preparation for? Or should we say what was the exhibition for? Probably just to be positioned to attract the interest of foreigns club.Sunset wrote: ↑Thu Jul 10, 2025 4:14 pmIt might seem that way if you're unaware about the trend of our best players leaving the local scene during and in the off season. I've followed the league long enough to know how common it is, so please elaborate why you think i'm joking.
I wonder how many of the other teams in the tournament are losing up to 5 players to foreign clubs? The way we normalise criminality in Nigeria needs to be studied.![]()

The same CHAN that was supposed to take place in 2024 and has been postponed twice now? Interesting take, but i've seen a young Etebo leave camp on the eve of 2014 CHAN to go on trials in Spain and not get offered a contract.
We can all assume what the games in the UK were for, but given Adejoh & Abubakar didn't fly to the UK (this was Adejoh's 1st ever call up ever) is it safe to assume their performance in the league played a part in this?
- danfo driver
Imagine trying to have a reasonable conversation with someone who is compromised.
Like I said, congratulations to all involved! Kaching!

This is always expected and it does not only pertain to Nigeria but all countries involved in the CHAN because of CHAN rules of eligibility. What matters is that Nigeria has invited more than an adequate number to participate in the tournament given these issues.
As for the link that these players are solely marketed for foreign clubs, that is neither here nor there. In fact, one should expect that foreign clubs' focus on recruiting from this group because it validates the choices made for CHAN by the NFF coaches. What would be a surprise is if the foreign clubs are preferring the non-invited NPFL players ahead of those in the CHAN squad. If that was to be the case, then there is room to question the choices made by the HB managers.
The concern now for Nigeria should be whether the coaches have adequate replacements for these players if they are to depart before the CHAN.
On a related topic, if these types of major movement occurs elsewhere with CHAN squads in the continent, then CAF ought to rethink its scheduling of CHAN during a period when many European leagues are on break and player recruitment exercise is heightened. Clearly, it does have a major impact on such a major continental tournament.
As for the link that these players are solely marketed for foreign clubs, that is neither here nor there. In fact, one should expect that foreign clubs' focus on recruiting from this group because it validates the choices made for CHAN by the NFF coaches. What would be a surprise is if the foreign clubs are preferring the non-invited NPFL players ahead of those in the CHAN squad. If that was to be the case, then there is room to question the choices made by the HB managers.
The concern now for Nigeria should be whether the coaches have adequate replacements for these players if they are to depart before the CHAN.
On a related topic, if these types of major movement occurs elsewhere with CHAN squads in the continent, then CAF ought to rethink its scheduling of CHAN during a period when many European leagues are on break and player recruitment exercise is heightened. Clearly, it does have a major impact on such a major continental tournament.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
With this kind of reasoning we'll never get rid of corruption in our football. Danfo is right. Some fans are more harmful than corrupt officials.Enugu II wrote: ↑Thu Jul 10, 2025 7:45 pm This is always expected and it does not only pertain to Nigeria but all countries involved in the CHAN because of CHAN rules of eligibility. What matters is that Nigeria has invited more than an adequate number to participate in the tournament given these issues.