My Thots on the Nigeria - Ghana match.

azuka

Post by azuka »

forgot it was Oruma that got fouled to earn that freekick?

From that statement above i see no basis for this discussion any further. Btw if you need a copy of that match i will gladly send it to you so you can watch again.

azuka wrote:forgot it was Oruma that got fouled to earn that freekick?

From that statement above i see no basis for this discussion any further. Btw if you need a copy of that match i will gladly send it to you so you can watch again.
Forget U,ur just biased thats all U saw in everything i posted?Ya report was pure garbage and super biased.U can take the copy u intend on sending me and shove right up ya #$%.Go and analyze a game for mumu people not me.

WINNERMAN

Post by WINNERMAN »

Azuka,

have just watched the match again. l saw so many balls to Oba and Aghahowa that l cant even believe. l will advise you to re-watch the match and lets have your re-think.
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.

Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.
nkemka

Post by nkemka »

hope i dont get crucified for this but honestly wot we were missing yesterday was yak....for the following reasons

Yak is the striker who holds up play, muscles defenders up and connects with the other striker.........JAG and Obagol have similar styles..both pacy and both relying on handouts to score( which is good in some cases...see ruud, crespo) yak would have brought that extra dimension by coming a little deeper and bringing the ball to the oppostion or just holding the ball for the midfield or martins to come thru..his stature ensures he can do that..

Mind u, i am pissed off bout his whole attitute towards the nations cup but im just being real..we needed him and i dont think he's as bad as people make him out to be after all he wont be the third top scorer in the premiership right now if he was $#%..(ruud first, lampard and henry joint second)
megapro

Post by megapro »

nkemka wrote:hope i dont get crucified for this but honestly wot we were missing yesterday was yak....for the following reasons

Yak is the striker who holds up play, muscles defenders up and connects with the other striker.........JAG and Obagol have similar styles..both pacy and both relying on handouts to score( which is good in some cases...see ruud, crespo) yak would have brought that extra dimension by coming a little deeper and bringing the ball to the oppostion or just holding the ball for the midfield or martins to come thru..his stature ensures he can do that..

Mind u, i am pissed off bout his whole attitute towards the nations cup but im just being real..we needed him and i dont think he's as bad as people make him out to be after all he wont be the third top scorer in the premiership right now if he was sugar..(ruud first, lampard and henry joint second)
introduce yourself.
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
Kenovski

Post by Kenovski »

Oruma made himself very busy in the AM position but if his job was to provide service to the forwards then he failed. He was more content to bulldoze his way into the heart of the Ghana defense as opposed to loitering and releasing the very capable fowards with pinpoint passes.

In this regard JJ would have been better (save for his tendency to bulala the ball to the moon) In JMO we have a player (AM role) who will not take shots from outside the 18 because he doesn't have a cannon but has a vision of the field ahead of him that I have not seen in a Naija player for a long while. Let JMO play against Zimbabwe. He will not have a better game to feature in because after that it is Senegal, and by God's Grace, the elimination rounds.

Azuka is right about Oruma.....
Everyday you can choose to the happy or sad, good or bad, full of joy or filled with anger. It takes the same amount of effort to acheive either.....

Anonymous
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

AZUKA:

I enjoyed your write up apart from the contradictions vis-à-vis Oruma.

You rightly claim that that yesterday’s performance was the best from our Midfield in a while and I think you touched up the reason for this i.e. the mobility of the midfield play from Ayinla, Oruma and Obodo.

Where you have goofed is this call for Okocha or Obi in place of the excellent Oruma. I will give you two reasons why I think the call up of either players will lead to disaster.

Firstly, Okocha, as Gotti rightly put in an earlier post, slows down the pace of the Midfield and in turn everyone automatically defers to JJ by shirking responsibility, ownership and leadership. This in my view will kill exact objective the coaches are aiming for.

Secondly, Obi is simply not ready for this level just yet. He maybe very talented but throwing him in the midfield den against people like Appiah, Faye, Diop etc is mad if you ask me. How many first class matches has this boy played to warrant such risk?

We should persevere with yesterday’s team save for Uttaka coming in place of Osaze. Continuity and consistency is key to success.
mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

Azuka excellent write up. We saw the game in almost the exact same way.

I think we can all see the difference between having a mobile DM who does not give the ball right back to the opponent. With a less than mobile Okocha, Olafinjana was really killing us with his poor play in the midifeld. I dont think Obodo had a very good game yesterday but I think the combination of Obodo and Ayinla has to be the bedrock of any Nigeria midfield from here on out.

The defense is a work in progress. Barring injury or loss of form Odiah gives us a star RB for the next decade.
Taiwo has equally sewn up the LB spot. He does still have some deficiencies defensively but I think he will improve and Obodo should act as cover when he pushes foward.

You cant teach a leopard to change his spots. I think we have to accept that Yobo will always be one lapse in concentration away from being a world class defender. He continues to do this with SE and we have all seen his exploits at Everton.

Joe Enahakire calmed a lot of my worries yesterday with his play. If the likes of Nwaneri, Olajegbesi and Obioha continue to improve, CD may well be a strength for a long time.

Fianlly, on Oruma. I agree with you. Without Oruma in the midfield yesterday, Nigeria would not have been the same. He gave all he had and was inspiring. His energy and individual effort was simply amazing. However, one must conceed that his game lacks the kind of creativity that can open up chances from nothing to something for his strikers.

There are 3 options:

First, when Utakka comes back I think he will be more comfortable running at space and flanking the right side than was Osaze who did an admirable job filling in. I think Utakka's dual threat from the flank and his ability to cut inside will open up things more. Noting the type of player Oruma is, the strikers are going to have to work harder to get open and create for themselves. If this means going in deeper and venturing wide from time to time to, then they may have to do that. Keep the midfield as it is now but substitute osaze for Utakka.
I think this is the best option for now.

The second option is to simply replace Oruma with OKocha and have Ayinla and Obodo cover for him defensively. While this will slow down our game our strikers are likely to better assisted.

Finally, we can leave Oruma as our AM and simply substitute Obodo for Mikel. In Holland Mikel fell back to help out defensively while creating up front. If we can risk his inexperience while jeopardizing the partnership of Obodo and Ayinla, this would be another option. However, I think that under this scenario Ayinla will be over worked and Nigeria will be vulnerable to the counter attack and our defensive deficiencies maybe magnified.

I am not a proponent of having Oruma and Okocha on the field at the same time. It is a waste of resources and team flow will be disrupted. (For those who want to sub Obodo for Oruma while bringing in Okocha)
azuka

Post by azuka »

The 4th option Mke1010 is to retain Oruma but have the twin strikers drift to the wings one to the right and one to the left while Oruma buldozes his way through the center whenever we are on the attack. The advantage here is that with these strikers drifting that way they pull the center of the opposing defence apart thus creating a pathway for Oruma. Contrast that with what happened yesterday where the center of the Ghanaian defence was always packed like a molue bus whenever the Oruma has the ball and the SE was on the attack.
I dont accept the option of JJ because he is very slow and will in all probability slow down the SE attack as usual. This is why i am very much sold on JMO option because with his pinpoint long range attack releasing / initiating passes the running potentials of Aghahowa and Martins will be fully utilized. That was one thing that was never utilized yesterday. CW created the fastest attack in Africa in 1994 because he was able to play to the full potential of speed merchants, Amunike, Amokachie, Yekinni, Finidi and Siasia. These guys if you recall were a delight to watch in counter attack.
mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

Azuka-Your 4th option is actually what I stated as my first option. I agree with you again.

Mke1010:
Noting the type of player Oruma is, the strikers are going to have to work harder to get open and create for themselves. If this means going in deeper and venturing wide from time to time to, then they may have to do that. Keep the midfield as it is now but substitute osaze for Utakka

Sorry Azuka but your take on Oruma was just too biased. Everybody is saying this saying that but we forget that we have a coach on the side watching the game. I strongly believe Oruma may have been asked to play the way he did since he consistently and persistently attack the Ghanians defence. If the coach had seen something wrong with his move, Egusi would have removed him and put your Mikel Obi to do the job you were so much hoping for. Few passes were made to fowards, Ghana played 5-man defence how can you crack that with a pass? What Oruma did was the best way to crack that defence and it earned us the chance to win the game. Like I've been saying, Oruma and Okocha can be fielded at the same time with Oruma playing as a center foward and Okocha making plays. For pple who thinks that Obi is better than Okocha I just now know you guys are first class Nigeria Premier leaguers. Okocha is needed!!
Last edited by kolinzo on Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
goldfeet2

Post by goldfeet2 »

This game lived up to its hype and billing - it's easily the game of the tourney so far. The guy who say Senegal etc game were better need to come off drugs or take overdose of it as the case may be. Ghana did what is expected- played to their strenght ie defence (9/11 players) and Nigeria totally dominated the midfeield. Azuka, no- Obodo is not an SE material, he was the WEAKEST link - lossing balls carelessly. Ayila with Obi will be solid. Oruma played well on adrenalin as expected after the much hyped Oruma/Okotcha issue - He merited his place on the team alongside JJ/Obi, Ayila next time. Obodo shud be permanently bench till after the ANC cos there are many better M/F waiting- he game sucks ( bros watch it again) Jag shud be deplored tothe wings with Utaka and Oba & Makinwa/Nsofor on attack. The game was brilliant. In defence, Yobo needs toremember to take his tablets to keep awake. He does same sleep walking in Everton every week. My outstanding players are in this order - TT, Ayila and Oruma. Oruma tho has to be a bit less selfish in releasing the ball early rather than seek to take the glory.
our future is in our hands
nkemka

Post by nkemka »

kolinzo wrote: Few passes were made to fowards, Ghana played 5-man defence how can you crack that with a pass?
im sorry to disagree with u on two counts...one they played a four man defence and two....have u heard of a defence splitting pass...its not like all the four defenders and on the same spot at the same time...spot a gap between two defenders and IF OUR STRIKERS TIME THE RUN...that can be done!!
megapro

Post by megapro »

nkemka wrote:
kolinzo wrote: Few passes were made to fowards, Ghana played 5-man defence how can you crack that with a pass?
im sorry to disagree with u on two counts...one they played a four man defence and two....have u heard of a defence splitting pass...its not like all the four defenders and on the same spot at the same time...spot a gap between two defenders and IF OUR STRIKERS TIME THE RUN...that can be done!!
they played 5 guys.
mensah and kuffour as manmarkers and ahmed as resident sweeper.
most times the sweeper neutralizes the speed of the attacker for the through pass and solutions to penetrate is either pace through the wings or solo.
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold

nkemka wrote:
sorry but they played with 5 in the back.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

spastic

Post by spastic »

Fegwu;

<May the children U produce continue to reproduce>

The ammount of garbage being spewed of late is getting alarming.

please don't ever stop contributing.

Azuka- Why :?:
Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

Azuka, you made some good points. The technical crew did a good job but there are rooms for improvement.....lots of improvements, in short. But I think they can only get better from here.

I agree with you, intoto, on Oruma. He had a great game, no doubt, but didn't exactly spray pin point accurate passes that's expected of a playmaker. And that's the main reasons why our strikers didn't click. Oruma strikes me as someone was trying too hard to "outshine" Okocha.

That's the difference, really

omey2k4 wrote:
You know why i am not blaming the attackers and would rather give them another chance at the combo, simply because they were not properly fed with the ball from the midfield. The dude who was suppose to be doing that will rather have a go at the opposing defence than lay it for the strikers to make hay. One question i wish the journalist in Egypt will ask Egu and co is what was the defined role for Oruma against Ghana. Also they need to ask also given that he was allowed to play the full game is it a case of him playing to instruction or just a case of the coaches hoping that something good will come out of the hustling.
Dont get me wrong, Oruma had a good game but whether he played his role well is another thing altogether. And you know what, nobody is pointing fingers because we won. But believe you me, if we had lost, Oruma would have been a scapegoat. Period.
Kai Azuka UR just posting garbage once again.Give instances where there was an opportunity Oruma coulda passed to the fowards and he refused to thread the ball thru,when u do that i will take everything i said back.But u have no case but wanna insist on hating on the best player on our team right now.U forgot it was Oruma that got fouled to earn that freekick?Why didnt u mention the fact that when our mid-fielders had the ball our fowards didnt move.And the time our fowards had the ball they were easily dispossed by Kuffour and Mensah.U didnt even watch the game and UR making a lame case for yaself.
I no lie, as a former Oga Shriner & Oruma basher, I got to admit that Oruma finally held it down for the SE in the midfield. Could he have done a few things better? Yes. But for the first time since he's worn a SE shirt, he's finally played without the pressure of looking over his shoulder or trying to be like Oga. Oruma has his game and Oga has his game: they both got strengths & weaknesses. Oga has better vision but Oruma is faster and hustles way more than Oga. Both have excellent ball control and shoot it well. In yesterday's game, there were some instances when I'd have prefered Oruma to pass but he ran at the defense... in other instances, he DID thread the needle (moreso in the second half) but our forwards misjudged the pace (both JAG & Obinna were guilty of this). Personally, I think the Martins/JAG combo is a waste of space. JAG should make way for the bigger Makinwa - what we loose in speed, we gain in size and versatility.

nkemka wrote:hope i dont get crucified for this but honestly wot we were missing yesterday was yak....for the following reasons

Mind u, i am pissed off bout his whole attitute towards the nations cup but im just being real..we needed him and i dont think he's as bad as people make him out to be after all he wont be the third top scorer in the premiership right now if he was sugar..(ruud first, lampard and henry joint second)
Good point about YAK but I submit that Makinwa can do the same job. I thought Cerezo was going to introduce him early in the second half.
Kenovski

Post by Kenovski »

I have just watched the match again (with my pulse at normal this time :lol: )

I thought the strikers were not getting any service. That ended in the second half. Martins played up front and Jag fell back. Both were getting pretty decent balls.

The weak link in our team yesterday was Obodo. I am not a coach or ex-baller or do not pretend to be a 5-star general like my more esteemed cyber analysts but, I did something the Americans do and that is take note of productivity and in the end Obodo made the most errant passes, his off the ball movement was suspect at best.

Even Osaze that I thought didn't have his best game, linked up well with Ordia (who was great) to terrorise the right flank. Our most dangerous build ups came from there.

Obodo I assume was meant to link up with TT as he made his runs on the left. He was not as effective.

Finally the only reason Ghana did not concede more goals, even with the sitter they missed:

Sammy Osei Kuffour. He singlehandly saved Ghana from what could have been a good hiding.

PS; I wouldn't be too hard on Martins, he was marked by Kuffour himself and we are talking about a world-class defender IMO.

Just my 2 cents............

I feel really sorry for Zimbabwe. I am not one to arrogant but I don't think they stand a chance on Friday, not with this Nigerian team
Everyday you can choose to the happy or sad, good or bad, full of joy or filled with anger. It takes the same amount of effort to acheive either.....

Anonymous

Kenovski wrote:I have just watched the match again (with my pulse at normal this time :lol: )

I thought the strikers were not getting any service. That ended in the second half. Martins played up front and Jag fell back. Both were getting pretty decent balls.
Did you actually believe that yarn about the forwards not getting service? You must be new here.

Kenovski

Post by Kenovski »

Kenovski wrote:I have just watched the match again (with my pulse at normal this time :lol: )

Did you actually believe that yarn about the forwards not getting service? You must be new here.
My brother one thing is to watch the match with your heart in your mouth for 90 mins and another is to sit back and re-watch with a clearer mind. :lol:

Anonymous

Vindave wrote:To me, the best best player on the Ghanian side was Sammy Adje and Sammy Kuffuor... IF NOT FOR KUFFOR, WE WOULD HAVE WON THE GAME.
And I thought we won the game. I must have been watching and old ANC game live!
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe