This is very disturbing.
We can't succeed with such losers mentality. Look at the excitement on their faces. For coming in third?

When Mr President throws a celebration for 3rd place, why would they not celebrate? When CCC was coveted as a hero for coming 3rd instead of being fired, why would they not celebrate?
My bro, our celebration of mediocrity starts from the top, not the players. I am obviously vexed to see them dance for bronze medal but can you blame them? The fact that somehow managed to get there despite all the shenannigans to stop them is enough for some players to celebrate.
When the likes of Yak and Promise were left out for reasons other than football, can you blame those lucky ones for not celebrating?
My bro, our celebration of mediocrity starts from the top, not the players. I am obviously vexed to see them dance for bronze medal but can you blame them? The fact that somehow managed to get there despite all the shenannigans to stop them is enough for some players to celebrate.
When the likes of Yak and Promise were left out for reasons other than football, can you blame those lucky ones for not celebrating?
This was a young team that finished third.
Moreover, this celebration was after the third place match. They won the match and should celebrate. If not, why play and try to win in the first place?.
However, I could understand where you're coming from if they were satisfied with their performance. I hope not.
Moreover, this celebration was after the third place match. They won the match and should celebrate. If not, why play and try to win in the first place?.
However, I could understand where you're coming from if they were satisfied with their performance. I hope not.
PT Teacher Oni aka Backstabber. The NFA aka Thieves. Betty "Sisi" Vogts aka Fraudster.
CRIME: Destroying Nigerian Football. VERDICT: GUILTY AS CHARGED. SENTENCE: Na God Go Punish Them.
Eagles weep like babies
By Ben Memuletiwon
Wednesday, February 8, 2006
More Stories on This Section
Most players of the Super Eagles were in tears, moments after the final whistle from the South African arbitter.
Taiye Taiwo, who had a bad game was consoled by the team coordinator, while goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama could not utter a word even when he was given the FIFA Fair Play award. His eyes were red as he battles to fight back tears. He went numb as he was aided by CAF media officer, Paul Bassey.
Most of the Egyptians were also glued to their seats as they had expected Nigeria to destroy the Ivoriens.
Their support was total before and during the game in spite of the 0–1 trailing.
http://www.sunnewsonline.com/webpages/s ... 06-002.htm
By Ben Memuletiwon
Most players of the Super Eagles were in tears, moments after the final whistle from the South African arbitter.
Taiye Taiwo, who had a bad game was consoled by the team coordinator, while goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama could not utter a word even when he was given the FIFA Fair Play award. His eyes were red as he battles to fight back tears. He went numb as he was aided by CAF media officer, Paul Bassey.
Most of the Egyptians were also glued to their seats as they had expected Nigeria to destroy the Ivoriens.
Their support was total before and during the game in spite of the 0–1 trailing.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
If you hate Nigeria so much why don't you just disappear from this forum?. What has your country ever achieved in soccer???SvenGunderson wrote:IN 2004, after Nigeria came third, I heard THAT TEAM IS YOUNG AND WILL CONQUAR the worldDog Bruno wrote:You call this young team- losers, for finishing 3rd?.
It's 2006 and we have a new young team again.
Moron!!
PT Teacher Oni aka Backstabber. The NFA aka Thieves. Betty "Sisi" Vogts aka Fraudster.
The medals are usually awarded long after the match. And you don't celeberate winning a match by holding up your bronze medal so proudly. Look at the game tape again, and see how excited Eguavoen was after Garba scored. It was the most excited he had been in the tournament.Chief Gabtigab wrote:This was a young team that finished third.
You can't be the best unless you expect to be the best.
1naija wrote:The medals are usually awarded long after the match. And you don't celeberate winning a match by holding up your bronze medal so proudly. Look at the game tape again, and see how excited Eguavoen was after Garba scored. It was the most excited he had been in the tournament.Chief Gabtigab wrote:This was a young team that finished third.
Agreed. You can't be satisfied with coming second or third.
Again we have to take into account that the idea was to build the new comers and to try and get a team that will make us proud in 2010. At least that should have been the issue. That's why I thought JJ and GL should not have been called up. The young boys did well and if they play together for another two years, I believe we can actually challenge the elite teams in the world. To me that's a cause for reserved celebration and hardwork/good planning thereafter.
Last edited by Chief Gabtigab on Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
It's like Eddy Murphy said in Delirious that if his wife were to catch him in the act cheating on her he would ask her, "Who you are you going to believe, me your husband or your lying mudafvcking eyes?"txj wrote:Eagles weep like babies
By Ben Memuletiwon
Obviously, this picture as well as the game tape are lies, and the Sun newspaper report is the truth.
Garba Lawal, Oruma, Aghahowa, and to some extent, Obodo cannot considered "new comers"!Chief Gabtigab wrote:1naija wrote:The medals are usually awarded long after the match. And you don't celeberate winning a match by holding up your bronze medal so proudly. Look at the game tape again, and see how excited Eguavoen was after Garba scored. It was the most excited he had been in the tournament.Chief Gabtigab wrote:This was a young team that finished third.
Agreed. You can't be satisfied with coming second or third.
Again we have to take into account that the idea was to build the new comers and to try and get a team that will make us proud in 2010. At least that should have been the issue. That's why I thought JJ and GL should not have been called up. The young boys did well and if they play together for another two years, I believe we can actually challenge the elite teams in the world. To me that's a cause for reserved celebration and hardwork/good planning thereafter.
SvenGunderson wrote:IN 2004, after Nigeria came third, I heard THAT TEAM IS YOUNG AND WILL CONQUAR the worldDog Bruno wrote:You call this young team- losers, for finishing 3rd?.
As you've rightly pointed out, We have consistently continued to trip on d#$%- it still doesn't negate the fact that this was a young team.
Unless, you feel otherwise.
You are Your Own Dog
is what I've been saying all along. Why do these people hang around the nigerian football forum all the time just to make snide remarks.Isnt there more purpose to their lives?Chief Gabtigab wrote:If you hate Nigeria so much why don't you just disappear from this forum?. What has your country ever achieved in soccer???SvenGunderson wrote:IN 2004, after Nigeria came third, I heard THAT TEAM IS YOUNG AND WILL CONQUAR the worldDog Bruno wrote:You call this young team- losers, for finishing 3rd?.
Moron!!
so__so_scandalous wrote:Chief Gabtigab wrote:If you hate Nigeria so much why don't you just disappear from this forum?. What has your country ever achieved in soccer???SvenGunderson wrote:IN 2004, after Nigeria came third, I heard THAT TEAM IS YOUNG AND WILL CONQUAR the worldDog Bruno wrote:You call this young team- losers, for finishing 3rd?.
Moron!!
is what I've been saying all along. Why do these people hang around the nigerian football forum all the time just to make snide remarks.Isnt there more purpose to their lives?
Guys, but the guy has a point.
You are Your Own Dog
To me any one who is consistently negative about anything Nigerian can not have a point on a Nigerian forum. Just check out all his posts.Guys, but the guy has a point.
why we fail?? we cannot defend, 4-4-2 has done more damage than good, in fact we should be playing with 2 defensive midfielders to cover up for our shabby defence
---------------------------------------1--------------------------------------------
----------------2--------------------3------------------------------4--------------
----------------------5----------------------------6--------------------------------
--------------------------------------7----------------------------------------------
-------------------------8-------------------------------9-----------10-----------
-------------------------------11---------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------1--------------------------------------------
----------------2--------------------3------------------------------4--------------
----------------------5----------------------------6--------------------------------
--------------------------------------7----------------------------------------------
-------------------------8-------------------------------9-----------10-----------
-------------------------------11---------------------------------------------------
Chief Gabtigab wrote:To me any one who is consistently negative about anything Nigerian can not have a point on a Nigerian forum. Just check out all his posts.Guys, but the guy has a point.
That's your take, and I don't disagree with that.
Since I do not follow SvenGunderson's posts, could you underline or highlight the negative you've read, this time around?
You are Your Own Dog
Garba Lawal, Oruma, Aghahowa, and to some extent, Obodo cannot considered "new comers"!
GL and Oruma are from the old school. JAG and Yobo are in between. Obodo is only beginning to establish himself. He is among the new breed. You can add Kanu and JJ to the old guard.
In the last ANC how many other countries went there with only 4 experienced players?. Even then they were mostly used as reserves with little impact except for Kanu. The young guns executed the tournament. The average age (???) on paper was around 22. How many teams did that and ended up with a medal?.
GL and Oruma are from the old school. JAG and Yobo are in between. Obodo is only beginning to establish himself. He is among the new breed. You can add Kanu and JJ to the old guard.
In the last ANC how many other countries went there with only 4 experienced players?. Even then they were mostly used as reserves with little impact except for Kanu. The young guns executed the tournament. The average age (???) on paper was around 22. How many teams did that and ended up with a medal?.
i dont care how old you are, you wear the national colours, i expect you to perform on the pitch and be professional, our defence led by Yobo was a liability right from the first match, right through we were beaten by ivory coast
If we were playing a half decent european side, they will have murdered us, Ghana and Zimbabwe lack of decent strikers meant we strolled into the semi, sometimes i wonder if African football has progressed, how can a defence so bad as ours get to the semi-finals??
The average age of the team has nothing to do with the above picture, which clearly shows Garba, Oruma, Aghahowa, and Obodo ecstatic about their medals.Chief Gabtigab wrote:Garba Lawal, Oruma, Aghahowa, and to some extent, Obodo cannot considered "new comers"!
Perhaps you should look at the faces of the U21 team when they were being awarded their SILVER MEDAL during the last youth world cup, and compare that with this picture.
You know what is more worrying is the failure of some of us to appreciate the effort of others when they cannot do better. This is about the first major medal many of those young lads have won in their life. Even tho that this is a developing team from whom we erronously expected a lot more from, they acquitted themselves well. Every team in the tourny wanted to win as well but only one team will get it. SO U DONT THINK THESE UN LADS OUGHT TO CELEBRATE THEIR ACHIEVEMENTS EEEEHHHHH, then you are the sore loser
our future is in our hands