Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season

Re: Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season

azuka wrote:
tolahs wrote:Living that Life - too few memories of performances like this:

http://www.fullmatchesandshows.com/2015 ... ull-match/

olympiacos 0
Gooners 3
We were overrun in midfield early part of the match - we need real ballwinners in that midfield next season
hattrick Giroud
mvp for me - Campbell
--------------------------------
To me this match hights Campbell quality and what Arsenal as a team has been missing: Players made for the big match day.

What does that say about the guy we paid 43 million for and shrinking on the big occasion with our UCL season on the line :idea:

He deserved every penny we paid for him and more. Was a VERY KEY player too in that match. He delivered as expected. What made Campbell's case stand out is dat one wasn't sure if selecting him for such a crucial match was the right decision.

Man mi I still have the game on DVR and I make the case for players playing in the #10 role for Arsenal and distinguishing themselves in big games and not being sidekicks.

1. Who can forget Santi vs Liverpool in his first big game on the road when we trounced those clowns 2-0?

2. Who can forget Santi vs City when we went to the Etihad and smashed them 2-0 in a game no one gave us a chance and with our season on the brink.

3. Who can forget Jack vs City in the first game of the fixture where he single
Handledly dominated the game until a late equalizer saved City .

4. Can anyone forget Jack vs Swansea in the FA cup replay at home where he was unplayable against our Bogey team.

These are just a few excerpts but pray tell which standout game Droopy has had for this team in a big game ..: I dey wait

azuka wrote:

olympiacos 0
Gooners 3
We were overrun in midfield early part of the match - we need real ballwinners in that midfield next season
hattrick Giroud
mvp for me - Campbell
To me this match hights Campbell quality and what Arsenal as a team has been missing: Players made for the big match day.

What does that say about the guy we paid 43 million for and shrinking on the big occasion with our UCL season on the line :idea:

He deserved every penny we paid for him and more. Was a VERY KEY player too in that match. He delivered as expected. What made Campbell's case stand out is dat one wasn't sure if selecting him for such a crucial match was the right decision.

Man mi I still have the game on DVR and I make the case for players playing in the #10 role for Arsenal and distinguishing themselves in big games and not being sidekicks.

1. Who can forget Santi vs Liverpool in his first big game on the road when we trounced those clowns 2-0?

2. Who can forget Santi vs City when we went to the Etihad and smashed them 2-0 in a game no one gave us a chance and with our season on the brink.

4. Can anyone forget Jack vs Swansea in the FA cup replay at home where he was unplayable against our Bogey team.

These are just a few excerpts but pray tell which standout game Droopy has had for this team in a big game ..: I dey wait
He has had too many to mention but my favourite was the 1/4 final in the FA cup 2 seasons ago against Everton. The day he won over the Emirates crowd. He destroyed Everton that day.

azuka wrote:

olympiacos 0
Gooners 3
hattrick Giroud
mvp for me - Campbell

He has had too many to mention but my favourite was the 1/4 final in the FA cup 2 seasons ago against Everton. The day he won over the Emirates crowd. He destroyed Everton that day.

You're on some serious hashish for saying that :rotf: what game were you watching ... In fact I could give you the first meeting of the season that ended in a 1-1 draw over the Yeyerisms you just posted ... Yeye man :mrgreen:

Again we are talking big game and big opponent and/or bogey team

Indeed, BILD claim Arsenal's bid was worth just £19million, whereas the German club value their skipper at closer to £31million.

Consequentially, Gladbach have turned down Arsenal's offer, expecting the north London club to return with a more serious bid in the coming weeks.
Is this not so typical Arsenal?

What a funny club :rotf:

Indeed, BILD claim Arsenal's bid was worth just £19million, whereas the German club value their skipper at closer to £31million.

Consequentially, Gladbach have turned down Arsenal's offer, expecting the north London club to return with a more serious bid in the coming weeks.

I think Liverpool not making the CL has played into Arsenal's hands. With the main competitor out of the running, Arsenal have looked to forced the price down. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Looks good. :thumb: :thumb:
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

Dealing with Arsenal has to be infuriating. For many months, you have been hearing through 3rd parties that they are seriously interested in your player. At first, perhaps you were reluctant to sell. But finally, seems the player is onboard with moving and you reluctantly come to terms with having to sell.

Finally a fax comes in with the **official bid, and it's an amount so low, you want to smash your fax machine.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

amafolas wrote:

Dealing with Arsenal has to be infuriating. For many months, you have been hearing through 3rd parties that they are seriously interested in your player. At first, perhaps you were reluctant to sell. But finally, seems the player is onboard with moving and you reluctantly come to terms with having to sell.

Finally a fax comes in with the **official bid, and it's an amount so low, you want to smash your fax machine.
Why pay more? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Price looks to have been agreed. Also, reported agreed price seemed much lower that earlier prices being mentioned.

We need quality in that area of the pitch. He is a top player and exactly what we need. A CM, that combines play making and destructive qualities at the very best levels. Also a leader with superb tactical intelligence. I'm desperate for us to sign him.

Cally wrote:
Cally wrote:Guys, can we just sheath our swords for a minute, please? The frustrating season is over and gone, and like Coach rightly pointed out, it is time to close this chapter and move on.

The debate is fun and is what the forum is for, but we can do without the personal attacks. Lets us all try and chill, enjoy the Euros, Copa America, The Olympics, and all summer footy.

Let's see who our beloved Club's Management invests in for next season. Thanks to all who contributed to this thread. We will open another from here on.

Many blessings.
Why is it frustrating? I thought things were just dandy when I warned you of the frustration to come during the pre-season. But you called me a complainer. Nah its not frustrating. Things worked out perfectly. You should be ecstatic.

Yes ideally we should close the chapter ave move on unfortunately the next chapter has the exact same story so why bother wasting energy trying the page? Hmm?
Enjoy fighting yourself in an empty room. I will not participate.
Then you shouldn't have created a new thread to discuss the same sh*t we've been saying for years that you lot defended as Gooner1's apt response suggested.

I think Liverpool not making the CL has played into Arsenal's hands. With the main competitor out of the running, Arsenal have looked to forced the price down. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Fact, or something else? :lol:

The more things change... :lol:

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Fact, or something else? :lol:

The more things change... :lol:
wow........look how wenger has reduced the fans to celebrate a player that is going to replace the ones out of contract
and leaving....smh
and waffi, don't talk to me about quality......he is unproven in the epl, so don't go there....... :sneaky:
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

Gooner1 wrote:

wow........look how wenger has reduced the fans to celebrate a player that is going to replace the ones out of contract
and leaving....smh
and waffi, don't talk to me about quality......he is unproven in the epl, so don't go there....... :sneaky:
Vieira, Gilberto, Petit, Cesc, etc were all unproven in the EPL. What is your point? :oops: :oops: :oops:

The vast majority of players who now make it in this league, were unproven. So wetin dey eat you? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

What we need is top Quality players in 3 positions IMHO. CM is one of such positions and in Xhaka, anyone who knows anything about football beyond the EPL will say to you he is top quality. You should know this if you bother to watch the Bundesliga, he has been one of the best players in that league for the last 2 seasons. He obviously does not want to go to Bayern despite the money they offered him, in fact, it is the 2nd time he has turned them down.

The issue is valuation, he will not come cheap and Wenger is not one to spend big in the CM position. When Wenger spends money, there are few who can match him for success. I am always encouraged when Wenger spends money because I know 9 out of 10 times, it represents success for Arsenal.

amafolas wrote:

When things go sideways now people will claim Arsenal would never make insulting bids and Wenger didn't know. :D

Makes you wonder what kinda fool some folks here take us for.

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Gooner1 wrote:

and leaving....smh
Vieira, Gilberto, Petit, Cesc, etc were all unproven in the EPL. What is your point? :oops: :oops: :oops:

The vast majority of players who now make it in this league, were unproven. So wetin dey eat you? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

What we need is top Quality players in 3 positions IMHO. CM is one of such positions and in Xhaka, anyone who knows anything about football beyond the EPL will say to you he is top quality. You should know this if you bother to watch the Bundesliga, he has been one of the best players in that league for the last 2 seasons. He obviously does not want to go to Bayern despite the money they offered him, in fact, it is the 2nd time he has turned them down.

The issue is valuation, he will not come cheap and Wenger is not one to spend big in the CM position. When Wenger spends money, there are few who can match him for success. I am always encouraged when Wenger spends money because I know 9 out of 10 times, it represents success for Arsenal.
....my point is that my sarcasm has gone unnoticed by you.........that was one of the excuses you used for Arsene not buying certain players.....back day, remember?
"how do you know so and so will be a success here? He is not proven in this league........."blah blah blah :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
now you dey talk something different..... :biggrin:
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu
oluwaseye the 1st.

Post by oluwaseye the 1st. »

My first cousin is still on your books :shock: :shock: :) :) :) begged him to leave he didn't listen :wink: :wink: :wink: . Tobi Omole.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!

COYS

Gooner1 wrote:

and leaving....smh

....my point is that my sarcasm has gone unnoticed by you.........that was one of the excuses you used for Arsene not buying certain players.....back day, remember?
"how do you know so and so will be a success here? He is not proven in this league........."blah blah blah :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
now you dey talk something different..... :biggrin:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

You obviously misunderstood me then. True, I'll go for the one who has done it here, if players suits Arsenal and will fit into our system.
Above all it depends on the quality of the player, I did not see that as a hard and fast rule. If you have players of similar quality and one has done it in this league whilst the other has not, you look at the one who has done it as lesser risk. However, if the one who has not played and delivered in this league has done it in a top league and it more of the type of player you need, then you go the unproven.

One reason why I take Xhaka over Kante is, apart from the fact that Xhaka has top quality constructive and destructive play, the player is a leader who loves to take charge. He relishes in responsibility and is not afraid to give his team mates the full barrel. For example, Flamini, for all his limitations, was the only one who stood up to Ramsey and physically confronted him to hold his position and do his defensive duties. Coquelin tried to do the job alone and it never worked until he was paired with Elneny.

The next time I saw a similar thing was the Villa game, when Wilshere in front of all at the Emirates laid into Sanchez for not leaving a pass that was intended for him when he was better placed. Sanchez intervention, despite Wilshere shouting at him to leave the ball alone, messed a goal scoring opportunity and I was impressed with how Wilshere hammered Sanchez. I said to my fellow Gooners, Sanchez has done things like that all season and gotten away with it, shame Jack has not been around to sort him out.

It is leadership like that that we missed at times last season. You can have all the skills but you need players to put team mates in check. So you sort out problems on the pitch. This is why I like this Xhaka player. He is no shrinking violet, we could do with another 2 more like him this summer.

OK so now that the consensus is that Nkosi sikiti Shaka is legit, when will this deal cross the line?
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:My first cousin is still on your books :shock: :shock: :) :) :) begged him to leave he didn't listen :wink: :wink: :wink: . Tobi Omole.
Tobi is your first cousin, interesting. Debuted for Under 18s season just completed. A very promising CM, seen him play CD too. I like him, I really like his game. Looking forward to seeing him next season.

oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:My first cousin is still on your books :shock: :shock: :) :) :) begged him to leave he didn't listen :wink: :wink: :wink: . Tobi Omole.

he sabi good things. He is probably wondering why his very senior Uncle is a yeye spudite?

azuka

Post by azuka »

he sabi good things. He is probably wondering why his very senior Uncle is a yeye spudite?

By the way, where's our very good friend, It's a Goal? Hope he has recovered from the shock.
mmeny

Post by mmeny »

Price looks to have been agreed. Also, reported agreed price seemed much lower that earlier prices being mentioned.

We need quality in that area of the pitch. He is a top player and exactly what we need. A CM, that combines play making and destructive qualities at the very best levels. Also a leader with superb tactical intelligence. I'm desperate for us to sign him.
Good to see you are desperate for us to sign him but in the case this deal falls through don't come back here to tell us we don't need him..... we have better players on the squad. IJS
Just because cat sabi swim no mean say him be catfish - M.I

azuka wrote:

By the way, where's our very good friend, It's a Goal? Hope he has recovered from the shock.

IAG needs a few months to decompress
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

mmeny wrote:

Good to see you are desperate for us to sign him but in the case this deal falls through don't come back here to tell us we don't need him..... we have better players on the squad. IJS
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: