WOMENS U-17 Nigeria v Azerbajian (11-0) GAME THREAD
Re: WOMENS U-17 Nigeria v Azerbajian (11-0) GAME THREAD
Only a small percentage of u-17 level high performers carry through at the same level of performance to senior level I'm sure you know.ukwala wrote:The suspicions are rife because we have NEVER replicated these successes at the senior level. The day we start matching our prowess at age grade level with results at the senior level, these allegations will die a natural death. In the men's game for example, we are probably the leading country at U-17 level, having won it thrice. Siasia's 2005 U-20 team was so good, and combined with the 2007 U-17 world champions, one would have expected us to be among the top eight teams in the world today. It's only natural that people will question this consistent trend.
Its a complex game.
confirmaniyi wrote:You should have left it at this line. Many Nigerian secondary schools make order girls to get low cuts.Damunk wrote:Uhm....sorry to sound petty, but I'm just watching the recorded game.
They're playing great.
But please, can we have our female footballers looking like girls and not boys?
Its a female competition for God's sake.
Who ordered all these girls to do low-cut sef?
This is unacceptable!!!
The hair is a woman's beauty and crowning glory!
Nigerian women no worwor like this nah.
I mean!
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
Agree but something still doesn't seem right. With age, other players may become better than those who played the U-17 competition but shouldn't that apply across board for all countries? Why is it that we never have these other players that break through and continue with the successes of their peers at U-17? Spain won the 1999 U-20 in Nigeria, 9 years later they won the Euros with a different set of players so your point is valid but whatever the theories, shouldn't there be consistency across board? Shouldn't Nigeria be a world player at senior level now with all our excellence at junior level, same players or not??Damunk wrote:Only a small percentage of u-17 level high performers carry through at the same level of performance to senior level I'm sure you know.ukwala wrote:The suspicions are rife because we have NEVER replicated these successes at the senior level. The day we start matching our prowess at age grade level with results at the senior level, these allegations will die a natural death. In the men's game for example, we are probably the leading country at U-17 level, having won it thrice. Siasia's 2005 U-20 team was so good, and combined with the 2007 U-17 world champions, one would have expected us to be among the top eight teams in the world today. It's only natural that people will question this consistent trend.
Its a complex game.
...and the reverse is the case with senior footballing countries. Meanwhile, Ghana girls are beating Uruguay 3-0 half time.ukwala wrote:The suspicions are rife because we have NEVER replicated these successes at the senior level. The day we start matching our prowess at age grade level with results at the senior level, these allegations will die a natural death. In the men's game for example, we are probably the leading country at U-17 level, having won it thrice. Siasia's 2005 U-20 team was so good, and combined with the 2007 U-17 world champions, one would have expected us to be among the top eight teams in the world today. It's only natural that people will question this consistent trend.
Blame the management of sports in most African countries as these kids get older. Nigeria football league can never be like Spain because of fraudsters in charge.
- cruxifixoy2k
How do you want them to look under 17 without low-cut. With low cut a 29 years old woman can look like a 15 years old girl. Thats d trick.Damunk wrote:Uhm....sorry to sound petty, but I'm just watching the recorded game.
They're playing great.
This is unacceptable!!!
I mean!
...understand ur a resident dokita, how come some people grow hair some don't. Plus, i can add on the economy side, it take money to maintain hair for females, if she can't she cut it down. Easiest!Damunk wrote:Uhm....sorry to sound petty, but I'm just watching the recorded game.
They're playing great.
This is unacceptable!!!
I mean!
I still maintain they should go for PFA scan before representing!mcal wrote:...understand ur a resident dokita, how come some people grow hair some don't. Plus, i can add on the economy side, it take money to maintain hair for females, if she can't she cut it down. Easiest!Damunk wrote:Uhm....sorry to sound petty, but I'm just watching the recorded game.
They're playing great.
This is unacceptable!!!
I mean!
OK for those of you who jump from Junior competition to another telling us we are burying our head in the sand with regard to age cheating, its time for you stop burying your head in the sand of CE and start uprooting the age cheats (I would very much love that), but its not good enough to have a suspicion and expect us all to accept yours at face value...start digging out evidence...the onus is on you to provide proof
We all have hunches too
Failure to do so might valudate M15's claim about cowardice
My 5 cents
Anyway, back to the game, this was a great result...on to Colombia to get us moving to the knockouts
We all have hunches too
My 5 cents
Anyway, back to the game, this was a great result...on to Colombia to get us moving to the knockouts
you want evidence in nigeria? What percentage of Nigerians do you think have their birth certificate? how many municipalities in Nigeria have an accurate record of the people born in their hospitals? Not to mention most of our official documents are easily forged. Even if our FA is making an effort to stop age cheating it would be an uphill battle. The only ones that can truly out these women are their family and that just isn't going to happen.akamoke wrote:OK for those of you who jump from Junior competition to another telling us we are burying our head in the sand with regard to age cheating, its time for you stop burying your head in the sand of CE and start uprooting the age cheats (I would very much love that), but its not good enough to have a suspicion and expect us all to accept yours at face value...start digging out evidence...the onus is on you to provide proof
We all have hunches too
My 5 cents
The bottom line is most of these women look significantly older than 17, most are probably in their mid 20s. It is even more troubling that we have by far the most amount of 14-15 year olds in this competition, that is the tell-tale sign of fraud. In age group competition held every two years the overwhelming majority of the players should be turning the maximum age during or around the tournament. there is a big gap between the skill level and strength of a 16/17 yr old vs a 14/15 year old, seems like some of these women went overboard with their age deduction, maybe positioning themselves for the 2014 edition.
Also, all but two of our 17 year olds participated in the previous edition of this competition...there is obviously something rotten with our FA.
Well tope, in the absence of evidence, then we are open to the risk that innocent people may be rendered guilty just because we don't have the resources available to produce the evidence...for that reason alone, i cannot take the chance of branding people guilty based on circumstantial evidence, or gut feeling alone
How will this sound like if you were accused of a crime you didn't commit and because there is no evidence (or resources available to provide the evidence) available, you are sent to prison for years...Here is a better one, you (anyone) are walking on the streets of Oshodi and someone starts yelling "Ole Ole" at you (Why??, I dunno you (anyone) fit the profile I guess) and others who had no evidence that you are a thief, just hear the screaming and using their gut feeling, decided that you are a thief and proceeds with necklacing - God forbid!!!
Again, I cannot take the chance of accepting blind accusations for that reason..that they look over 17 is not enough reason to convict these girls, I would have preferred an Adokiye like evidence like photos in the 1990s or even 2005 with these girls mixing it up, or school / university attendance in that period or anything that might cast doubt on their ages.
The reason why Im not buying into the look thing is because at 19, I left for the US for University, people thought I was 26 upwards because I was "stocky"
I can buy some of your arguments about distribution of ages and indeed the number of repeat participation, Frankly I feel it defeats the purpose to have someone compete at the same age grade competition twice, besides the suspicion it arouses, it doesnt allow us to fully develop a pool of youngsters. But, I cannot use this to say, they are overaged!!
Believe me, every time someone comes to CE to claim that a person is overage, I am interested because I want to weed out the cheats, but then I get disappointed because I feel most of these accusers do not go that extra mile to weed them out. Its no different to our media that does not ask the follow up questions to our politicians. When confronted with request for evidence, we are told we bury our heads in the sand...What a wasted opportunity to be an agent of change rather than engage in beer parlour discussions
How will this sound like if you were accused of a crime you didn't commit and because there is no evidence (or resources available to provide the evidence) available, you are sent to prison for years...Here is a better one, you (anyone) are walking on the streets of Oshodi and someone starts yelling "Ole Ole" at you (Why??, I dunno you (anyone) fit the profile I guess) and others who had no evidence that you are a thief, just hear the screaming and using their gut feeling, decided that you are a thief and proceeds with necklacing - God forbid!!!
Again, I cannot take the chance of accepting blind accusations for that reason..that they look over 17 is not enough reason to convict these girls, I would have preferred an Adokiye like evidence like photos in the 1990s or even 2005 with these girls mixing it up, or school / university attendance in that period or anything that might cast doubt on their ages.
The reason why Im not buying into the look thing is because at 19, I left for the US for University, people thought I was 26 upwards because I was "stocky"
I can buy some of your arguments about distribution of ages and indeed the number of repeat participation, Frankly I feel it defeats the purpose to have someone compete at the same age grade competition twice, besides the suspicion it arouses, it doesnt allow us to fully develop a pool of youngsters. But, I cannot use this to say, they are overaged!!
Believe me, every time someone comes to CE to claim that a person is overage, I am interested because I want to weed out the cheats, but then I get disappointed because I feel most of these accusers do not go that extra mile to weed them out. Its no different to our media that does not ask the follow up questions to our politicians. When confronted with request for evidence, we are told we bury our heads in the sand...What a wasted opportunity to be an agent of change rather than engage in beer parlour discussions
ur a freaking liar why??? i wan abuse u but i no wan get banned.....han han all but two played the last tournament???? come on u no fear God and u said it with so much audacity wow nigerians.......smh for ur info only five of the 21 players here played the last tournament and about 6 of the ones from 2 years ago graduated to the u20 and about 8 from the u20 two years ago now play for the falcons which means they are progressing.....why una dey lie now..........so what u gna say about teams like ghana who have about 3 players playing in their third tournament but u don't see them shouting or teams like korea DPR with players playing in their second and third or newzealand with full national team players playing their third u17 or even USA who have players from previous u20 players their second tournament but when nigerians do it then they must be age cheats wow.......abeg fear God ma guy u knw nothing bout female football so pls stop peddling lies all in the name of sounding intelligenttope wrote:you want evidence in nigeria? What percentage of Nigerians do you think have their birth certificate? how many municipalities in Nigeria have an accurate record of the people born in their hospitals? Not to mention most of our official documents are easily forged. Even if our FA is making an effort to stop age cheating it would be an uphill battle. The only ones that can truly out these women are their family and that just isn't going to happen.akamoke wrote:OK for those of you who jump from Junior competition to another telling us we are burying our head in the sand with regard to age cheating, its time for you stop burying your head in the sand of CE and start uprooting the age cheats (I would very much love that), but its not good enough to have a suspicion and expect us all to accept yours at face value...start digging out evidence...the onus is on you to provide proof
We all have hunches too
My 5 cents
The bottom line is most of these women look significantly older than 17, most are probably in their mid 20s. It is even more troubling that we have by far the most amount of 14-15 year olds in this competition, that is the tell-tale sign of fraud. In age group competition held every two years the overwhelming majority of the players should be turning the maximum age during or around the tournament. there is a big gap between the skill level and strength of a 16/17 yr old vs a 14/15 year old, seems like some of these women went overboard with their age deduction, maybe positioning themselves for the 2014 edition.
Also, all but two of our 17 year olds participated in the previous edition of this competition...there is obviously something rotten with our FA.
Wow. Over to you Tope. This na arrestable offence if you no defend yasef.

Damunk, you mean you dey actually wait for Tope to come and defend himself after wind don blow and we don see hin yansh? Dude you sef...You suppose know the type of people like Tope. Once you hit them with facts, dem go take off with their lying behinds...smhDamunk wrote:Wow. Over to you Tope. This na arrestable offence if you no defend yasef.![]()
My post wasn't a blind accusation it was an exercise in reasoning. Why are we the only country fielding a significant amount of 14/15 year olds? Without looking at the roster i bet most of you can guess the country with the second most 14/15 year olds. It is more likely that these women doctored their age than for us to assume that there was a dearth of 16/17 year olds in our footballing country for two years.akamoke wrote:Well tope, in the absence of evidence, then we are open to the risk that innocent people may be rendered guilty just because we don't have the resources available to produce the evidence...for that reason alone, i cannot take the chance of branding people guilty based on circumstantial evidence, or gut feeling alone
The teenage years are probably the period of fastest growth and development in humans, it is very very rare to have 14 year olds out compete 16/17 year olds. think of it this way...how often do you see a freshmen starter on a good varsity soccer team or U17 club team? It rarely happens.
How exactly do you suppose a casual viewer gather evidence? Minor record keeping is an impossible task in Nigeria, i bet no one can find exact stats of the games and minutes played by our 16 year olds already attached to professional teams. the whole world is laughing at us and i am sure their oppositions are disgusted when the find themselves matched up against our agbayas. The Canadian person i was watching the Naija vs Canada match with was beside herself, she pointed out several of our players that look to be in their 30s. The onus is on the FA, not on the casual viewer.
Africans have more incentives to change their age for economic reasons. I don't blame their hustle, more power to those that can get a professional contract, foreign college scholarships or just get out of that godforsaken land of ours. But it is ludicrous when (15-20+...depending on the source) players invited for the u17 WC failed the MRI test. We have too many people content to look the other way in our country. Foreign countries and FIFA will not come out and question our players because they would be branded racist.
can you read?dankhalifa wrote:
ur a freaking liar why??? i wan abuse u but i no wan get banned.....han han all but two played the last tournament???? come on u no fear God and u said it with so much audacity wow nigerians.......smh for ur info only five of the 21 players here played the last tournament and about 6 of the ones from 2 years ago graduated to the u20 and about 8 from the u20 two years ago now play for the falcons which means they are progressing.....why una dey lie now..........so what u gna say about teams like ghana who have about 3 players playing in their third tournament but u don't see them shouting or teams like korea DPR with players playing in their second and third or newzealand with full national team players playing their third u17 or even USA who have players from previous u20 players their second tournament but when nigerians do it then they must be age cheats wow.......abeg fear God ma guy u knw nothing bout female football so pls stop peddling lies all in the name of sounding intelligent
I said of our 17 year olds all but two are returners...i was off by one. We have five players playing in the second tourney. I said nothing about Ghana but i implied they also look to have the same issue as Nigeria on their roster. If you care about North Korea, then you must also be one of the fools that believe Kim Jong Il...had 11 holes-in-one in a round of golf.
I focused on Nigeria because that is the country i am from and familiar with. Not to mention we have the biggest history when it comes to cheating in age grade competitions.
Where are these facts you speak of?Robbynice wrote:Damunk, you mean you dey actually wait for Tope to come and defend himself after wind don blow and we don see hin yansh? Dude you sef...You suppose know the type of people like Tope. Once you hit them with facts, dem go take off with their lying behinds...smhDamunk wrote:Wow. Over to you Tope. This na arrestable offence if you no defend yasef.![]()
its not about being stocky, alot of the Canadian girls were bigger than our women but there is no mistaken the age difference.akamoke wrote:
look at the juxtaposition between our 17 years and four month old and an Azerbaijani 17 years and 9 months old.

black on black comparison...

other teams...keep in mind USA has the oldest or one of the oldest teams in this tourney.

how about a south american team that looks young enough to be age mates of the children of the players we are fielding

Another Nigerian 17 year old

maybe i am just blind
Stop trying to explain to these people, if they want to throw away common sense and bury their heads in sand then let them do so. It's just funny watching them try to justify the madness going on in Nigeria. How any adult can look at those girls and think that most of them are below 17 is far beyond me.tope wrote:you want evidence in nigeria? What percentage of Nigerians do you think have their birth certificate? how many municipalities in Nigeria have an accurate record of the people born in their hospitals? Not to mention most of our official documents are easily forged. Even if our FA is making an effort to stop age cheating it would be an uphill battle. The only ones that can truly out these women are their family and that just isn't going to happen.akamoke wrote:OK for those of you who jump from Junior competition to another telling us we are burying our head in the sand with regard to age cheating, its time for you stop burying your head in the sand of CE and start uprooting the age cheats (I would very much love that), but its not good enough to have a suspicion and expect us all to accept yours at face value...start digging out evidence...the onus is on you to provide proof
We all have hunches too
My 5 cents
Piffington stop being a chicken , provide facts not feelings
"Bury head in the sand"....ohh that's a new one!!!!!
Tope, like I said, because "evidence gathering is difficult in Nigeria", I prefer to err on the side of caution...
Using my necklacing example above, don't you think this accusation can indirectly rope in innocent individuals.?
As an aside , I note you dont have a picture of the Nigerian team posing for photo
As an observer, I can intuitively say some of the Uruguayan ladies also look in their 20s as do the American black lady you posted (No 7). You will excuse her and say that because birth certificates are easy to obtain in US, so she is fine but discount the Nigerian counterpart because of lack of evidence...at the end of the day is a matter of opinion but opinions are not facts. What we have as facts is that these girls are competing in U17 championship and they have more "evidence" (passport) to prove their age than you or I at this stage
I guess you see the glass a different way that I do
Im still not convinced that your premise is sufficient to convict these girls....until someone can prove that these girls are older than they say they are, Ill go with them as U17, so would FIFA
Using my necklacing example above, don't you think this accusation can indirectly rope in innocent individuals.?
As an aside , I note you dont have a picture of the Nigerian team posing for photo
As an observer, I can intuitively say some of the Uruguayan ladies also look in their 20s as do the American black lady you posted (No 7). You will excuse her and say that because birth certificates are easy to obtain in US, so she is fine but discount the Nigerian counterpart because of lack of evidence...at the end of the day is a matter of opinion but opinions are not facts. What we have as facts is that these girls are competing in U17 championship and they have more "evidence" (passport) to prove their age than you or I at this stage
I guess you see the glass a different way that I do
Im still not convinced that your premise is sufficient to convict these girls....until someone can prove that these girls are older than they say they are, Ill go with them as U17, so would FIFA
So did these girls do a bone scan like their male peers or not?
If they did, how can they be "in their twenties"?
Look at this dude still talking about "facts", this ain't court my dude. Better yet, provide facts that prove otherwise.akamoke wrote:Piffington stop being a chicken , provide facts not feelings
Bone scan cannot be used to judge the age of women due to variation in menstruation and estrogen levels. Women that starts menstruating earlier will most likely have their bones fused earlier too.Damunk wrote:So did these girls do a bone scan like their male peers or not?