Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season
Re: Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season
Heading out to the Far East ...
Arsenal have announced a 27-man squad for the Barclays Asia Trophy in Singapore.
Arsène Wenger will be without Alexis and David Ospina following their involvement in the Copa America, while Serge Gnabry is also resting after the European Under-21 Championship.
Danny Welbeck and Tomas Rosicky will stay in England to recover from minor injuries but Calum Chambers will travel to Singapore, as will France Under-17 international Jeff Reine-Adelaide, who joined the club from Lens.
"Calum has decided to shorten his holiday and come back on Friday," Wenger told Arsenal.com. "He didn’t play in the under-21s and needs preparations.
"Welbeck isn’t completely recovered from the problem he had [at the end of last season]. He’s not back in full training so he will stay behind.
"Rosicky will stay back because he got a small injury at his last game against Iceland with Czech Republic.
"Ospina is on holiday until July 27 and Alexis is on holiday until August 3. Serge Gnabry is on holiday after playing with the under-21s. He’s back on July 20."
Arsenal squad (subject to change):
Chuba Akpom
Mikel Arteta
Hector Bellerin
Santi Cazorla
Petr Cech
Calum Chambers
Francis Coquelin
Dan Crowley
Mathieu Debuchy
Mathieu Flamini
Gabriel
Kieran Gibbs
Olivier Giroud
Alex Iwobi
Laurent Koscielny
Emiliano Martinez
Per Mertesacker
Nacho Monreal
Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain
Mesut Ozil
Aaron Ramsey
Jeff Reine-Adelaide
Wojciech Szczesny
Theo Walcott
Chris Willock
Jack Wilshere
Gedion Zelalem
Read more at http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archiv ... iPVDzyj.99
http://news.arseblog.com/2015/07/wilshe ... ws+site%29
WILSHERE TALKS ‘ABSURD’ FITNESS AND TRAINING METHODS
Jack Wilshere’s name and the word injury are, sadly, inextricably linked. The midfielder missed an entire season with an ankle problem, and even his last campaign was ruined by a shocking Paddy McNair challenge in November.
Although he returned late in the season, scoring that fabulous goal against West Brom and coming on in the FA Cup final, he missed a lot of football.
Criticised in some quarters for incidents involving smoking, the England international has given some behind the scenes insight into his, and Arsenal’s, training and fitness regime.
Speaking to this month’s edition of Men’s Fitness, Wilshere said the requirements for top level football are ‘absurd’, but also touched on his his fitness training has developed over the years.
“When I first got injured my core strength was terrible,” he said. “I was 18, playing three times
a week and didn’t really do any gym work.
“All of a sudden when you’re injured you realise everything revolves around your core. It’s crucial for balance and absorbing impact. The first thing my physios got me to work on was my balance.
“I had to stand on one leg and close my eyes. I couldn’t do it.”
In the modern era, players can’t allow their base fitness to be an issue, such are the demands of the game.
“The intensity of the Premier League is incredible,” he continued. “The levels of fitness you have to reach just to survive in it is absurd.
“When you’re out for a few months it’s tough to come back. It takes a lot of work in the gym with the physios, the specialists, you’re willing to try anything that will help you get fit.
“We get weighed every week,” [Wilshere is 76kg and 7.8% body fat]. “We get regular DEXA scans to check our muscle mass and body fat levels. There’s no hiding place.”
He also touches on the training regimes at the club which have changed over the years.
“Training used to be long, hard double sessions for the whole team … now it’s more positional-based. Midfielders do one drill, defenders and attackers another. Training is more intelligent.”
—
It’s a very interesting piece which you can read in full in the latest edition of Men’s Fitness. Out today for subscribers and available everywhere from July 15th.
WILSHERE TALKS ‘ABSURD’ FITNESS AND TRAINING METHODS
Jack Wilshere’s name and the word injury are, sadly, inextricably linked. The midfielder missed an entire season with an ankle problem, and even his last campaign was ruined by a shocking Paddy McNair challenge in November.
Although he returned late in the season, scoring that fabulous goal against West Brom and coming on in the FA Cup final, he missed a lot of football.
Criticised in some quarters for incidents involving smoking, the England international has given some behind the scenes insight into his, and Arsenal’s, training and fitness regime.
Speaking to this month’s edition of Men’s Fitness, Wilshere said the requirements for top level football are ‘absurd’, but also touched on his his fitness training has developed over the years.
“When I first got injured my core strength was terrible,” he said. “I was 18, playing three times
a week and didn’t really do any gym work.
“All of a sudden when you’re injured you realise everything revolves around your core. It’s crucial for balance and absorbing impact. The first thing my physios got me to work on was my balance.
“I had to stand on one leg and close my eyes. I couldn’t do it.”
In the modern era, players can’t allow their base fitness to be an issue, such are the demands of the game.
“The intensity of the Premier League is incredible,” he continued. “The levels of fitness you have to reach just to survive in it is absurd.
“When you’re out for a few months it’s tough to come back. It takes a lot of work in the gym with the physios, the specialists, you’re willing to try anything that will help you get fit.
“We get weighed every week,” [Wilshere is 76kg and 7.8% body fat]. “We get regular DEXA scans to check our muscle mass and body fat levels. There’s no hiding place.”
He also touches on the training regimes at the club which have changed over the years.
“Training used to be long, hard double sessions for the whole team … now it’s more positional-based. Midfielders do one drill, defenders and attackers another. Training is more intelligent.”
—
It’s a very interesting piece which you can read in full in the latest edition of Men’s Fitness. Out today for subscribers and available everywhere from July 15th.
A case of what could've been. Wilshere's precocious talent will certainly elevate him above most and his ailments, which reach far beyond the elixir of boot camp training sessions, is likely to clip the wings preventing Icarian heights. If words in small circles are to be believed, his joints are shot. One mentioned this a few years back, long before the season out through ankle injury. To be used sparingly perhaps and wouldn't at all surprised if a Ledley King-like training schedule emerged later in the day. The very best to him, local lad and an incredibly gifted talent.
No Bielik. Is this a sign?anikulapo wrote:Heading out to the Far East ...
Arsenal have announced a 27-man squad for the Barclays Asia Trophy in Singapore.
Arsène Wenger will be without Alexis and David Ospina following their involvement in the Copa America, while Serge Gnabry is also resting after the European Under-21 Championship.
Danny Welbeck and Tomas Rosicky will stay in England to recover from minor injuries but Calum Chambers will travel to Singapore, as will France Under-17 international Jeff Reine-Adelaide, who joined the club from Lens.
"Calum has decided to shorten his holiday and come back on Friday," Wenger told Arsenal.com. "He didn’t play in the under-21s and needs preparations.
"Welbeck isn’t completely recovered from the problem he had [at the end of last season]. He’s not back in full training so he will stay behind.
"Rosicky will stay back because he got a small injury at his last game against Iceland with Czech Republic.
"Ospina is on holiday until July 27 and Alexis is on holiday until August 3. Serge Gnabry is on holiday after playing with the under-21s. He’s back on July 20."
Chuba Akpom
Mikel Arteta
Hector Bellerin
Santi Cazorla
Petr Cech
Calum Chambers
Francis Coquelin
Dan Crowley
Mathieu Debuchy
Mathieu Flamini
Gabriel
Kieran Gibbs
Olivier Giroud
Alex Iwobi
Laurent Koscielny
Emiliano Martinez
Per Mertesacker
Nacho Monreal
Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain
Mesut Ozil
Aaron Ramsey
Jeff Reine-Adelaide
Wojciech Szczesny
Theo Walcott
Chris Willock
Jack Wilshere
Gedion Zelalem
The guy is working in the gym.Blukyt wrote:No Bielik. Is this a sign?anikulapo wrote:Heading out to the Far East ...
Chuba Akpom
Mikel Arteta
Hector Bellerin
Santi Cazorla
Petr Cech
Calum Chambers
Francis Coquelin
Dan Crowley
Mathieu Debuchy
Mathieu Flamini
Gabriel
Kieran Gibbs
Olivier Giroud
Alex Iwobi
Laurent Koscielny
Emiliano Martinez
Per Mertesacker
Nacho Monreal
Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain
Mesut Ozil
Aaron Ramsey
Jeff Reine-Adelaide
Wojciech Szczesny
Theo Walcott
Chris Willock
Jack Wilshere
Gedion Zelalem
Welcome To The Arsenal!!!!

Jeff Reine-Adelaide

WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato
Extra revenue? Really. Stadiums don't mean nothinganikulapo wrote:Na wa oh Toto dey make some big moves oh![]()
The signing of Alderwereild despite the legal threats of Southampton to partner Vertonghen in the middle of their defense is a huge plus, this new deal on their new stadium with the NFL Which has seen them increase their capacity to make it bigger than the Emirates on completion, should not be underestimated in terms of extra revenue and publicity![]()
But then again na TOTO we dey talk about hopefully they live up to their history and find a way to
Screw this up
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
Strong squad going to Singapore. Not having the early champions league fixture will help. The boys can gradually work on their fitness over the next 5 games.
ARSENAL SEASON PROMO: LETS WIN THE LEAGUE

GIroud and Walcott get a chance to take an early start on Goals. I expect our strikers (Giroud, Sanchez, Walcott, Welbeck) to combine for about 60+ goals this season. That total should hit 80+ if we add cup competitions (CL, FA Cup, Beer Cup). Very exciting season ahead.
anikulapo wrote:So we will be without Sanchez and welbeck, through injury, to start the season? Kaiii na wa ohhh
anikulapo wrote:ARSENAL SEASON PROMO: LETS WIN THE LEAGUE![]()

This team is there to take on the best in the world.
Also i must say if Wilshere step up a little like Ramsey did in his wonder season then we might just win the league and CL.
The guy is pure gold and play with passion
kajifu wrote:anikulapo wrote:ARSENAL SEASON PROMO: LETS WIN THE LEAGUE![]()
Its up to Wenger to step up and be little ruthless .
This team is there to take on the best in the world.
Also i must say if Wilshere step up a little like Ramsey did in his wonder season then we might just win the league and CL.
The guy is pure gold and play with passion

From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
I read in Guardian (Naija) that Arsene might want to take Di Maria of ManU's hands should they want to unload him. According to the report, his performance did not correlate to the dough they coughed up to Real Madrid. If Arsene pay a nice sum, Van Gaal might be tempted to sell. I am not sure it is a good move though...
- Siddonlook11
okuns wrote:I read in Guardian (Naija) that Arsene might want to take Di Maria of ManU's hands should they want to unload him. According to the report, his performance did not correlate to the dough they coughed up to Real Madrid. If Arsene pay a nice sum, Van Gaal might be tempted to sell. I am not sure it is a good move though...
Hmmm make dem keep am..
- theYemster
With Walcott just reupping his deal, I very much doubt it.okuns wrote:I read in Guardian (Naija) that Arsene might want to take Di Maria of ManU's hands should they want to unload him. According to the report, his performance did not correlate to the dough they coughed up to Real Madrid. If Arsene pay a nice sum, Van Gaal might be tempted to sell. I am not sure it is a good move though...
© ɹ ǝ ʇ s ɯ é ʎ ǝ ɥ ʇ" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Ozil on his way to Juventus? Would you sell Ozil?
Juventus are interested in a £29million bid for Mesut Ozil, according to reports in Italy on Friday morning.
Tuttosport claim that the German playmaker is a dream target for the Bianconeri (although dream may be the operative word) as they look to sign a star fit to wear the legendary number 10 shirt.
Any bid would only come in the case of Paul Pogba or Arturo Vidal being sold, with the Turin club unable to justify such an outlay after spending nearly £50million on strikers Paulo Dybala, Simone Zaza and Mario Mandzukic.
Juventus are interested in a £29million bid for Mesut Ozil, according to reports in Italy on Friday morning.
Tuttosport claim that the German playmaker is a dream target for the Bianconeri (although dream may be the operative word) as they look to sign a star fit to wear the legendary number 10 shirt.
Any bid would only come in the case of Paul Pogba or Arturo Vidal being sold, with the Turin club unable to justify such an outlay after spending nearly £50million on strikers Paulo Dybala, Simone Zaza and Mario Mandzukic.
That is a tempting offer. I don't think Wenger can resist that bid.bepanda wrote:Ozil on his way to Juventus? Would you sell Ozil?
umm make it £35m at least
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
I see Anikulapo dancing azonto on the bridge with this onebepanda wrote:Ozil on his way to Juventus? Would you sell Ozil?

- theYemster
He's prob the one behind this report.zoldsasok wrote:I see Anikulapo dancing azonto on the bridge with this onebepanda wrote:Ozil on his way to Juventus? Would you sell Ozil?
Any bid would only come in the case of Paul Pogba or Arturo Vidal being sold, with the Turin club unable to justify such an outlay after spending nearly £50million on strikers Paulo Dybala, Simone Zaza and Mario Mandzukic.![]()
Crossed my mind. But then I thought, 29Million? He would not estimate Ozil for anything more than 20million.theYemster wrote:He's prob the one behind this report.zoldsasok wrote:I see Anikulapo dancing azonto on the bridge with this onebepanda wrote:Ozil on his way to Juventus? Would you sell Ozil?
Any bid would only come in the case of Paul Pogba or Arturo Vidal being sold, with the Turin club unable to justify such an outlay after spending nearly £50million on strikers Paulo Dybala, Simone Zaza and Mario Mandzukic.![]()

- theYemster
True but he had to make it barely tempting enough for Arsenile to bite.Cito wrote:Crossed my mind. But then I thought, 29Million? He would not estimate Ozil for anything more than 20million.theYemster wrote:He's prob the one behind this report.zoldsasok wrote:I see Anikulapo dancing azonto on the bridge with this onebepanda wrote:Ozil on his way to Juventus? Would you sell Ozil?
what are they smoking in Turin?
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.