Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season
Re: Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season
Better to puff on the finest Reality Cigars than pick the peanuts out of Wengers faeces pretending to be looking for gold nuggetsojafranpa wrote:Same stuff that you smoke everyday.Gooner1 wrote:Ajax want Sir None Goals? What are they smoking?peron33uk wrote:Yes it is.Blukyt wrote:Good destination for him. Question is, is he good enough?peron33uk wrote:http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/foot ... 84810.html
Looks like Sanogo is going out on loan.
Well positioning, he is good.
But shooting, finishing, ball control etc. i doubt it.
So well time will tell.![]()

“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit
"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.theYemster wrote:Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.Waffiman wrote:The reason for these wins is the DMs (if all of them played with DMs for their title wins) and not top quality strikers, or attackers?theYemster wrote:The answer is in your question. Assanal and Liverfool fans, not Chelshit, ManUre and Sh!tty fans. That's why one group have multiple EPL wins between them within the past decade and the other group has a big fat doughnut.txj wrote:What is this obsession by Arsenal and Liverpool fans about DMs
It's 2015 not 1995. That's the way of the modern game today.
Please my bro, take am easy.![]()
The last time Arsenal won a title was when we had a solid DM.
The 4-4-1-1 system was effectively set up to maximise the immense talents of Dennis Bergkamp and Kanu. It was all about the number 10 or fantasy player playing in that space behind the opponents midfield and defence. The key was to get Dennis in that hole between the CM and CDs. The wide playmaker (Pires) enlarged this hole and made it a chasm by cutting into that space and Dennis drifted into the space were there was no marker, if you followed both players, you left yourself open for the late surging runs of Llungberg, Vieira and at times Gilberto.
Because team were pressed into dropping deep most of the time there was no need for a DM, all they had to do was watch for was the counter attack and this meant either Gilberto or Vieira sat deep to support the foray of one FB. The 4-4-1-1 system was not a defensive system that relied on safety first, it was all about balance in attack and defence. The DM was ironically brought into football to counter the number 10, the DM was effectively the inverted 'Sweeper' from the 'Catenacio' system. The DM's job was to stop the number 10 from playing at all cost, he is there to destroy, win the ball and give it to woken play. Arsenal never employed this tactic, there was hardly any need given the talent on the pitch.
Wenger's football philosophy is not about DM, he believes his CMs must attack as well as defend, he hates the idea of destruction and has never employed a man marker or a destroyer. Yes! At times one of the CMs is more defensive, especially in a 4-2-3-1 or a 4-1-4-1 system but that CM does not have the role of a DM. Coquelin developed last season, when he first came into the team, Santi was like his helper for the ball but as he grew more confident, he started passing it from deep. By the time we got to the Cup final, Coquelin was hitting 40 to 60 metre diagonal passes on the six pence to a FB or wide player from deep. This is what Petit used to do.
Nobody has said he is always right, he has made mistakes but who has not? The point on this issue is, he has got most calls at Arsenal spot on, consequently he has earned the right to be respected, not insulted and ridiculed by those who have never managed a football let alone a football club.theYemster wrote:The point I was making is that people go on about Wenger as if he is always right. I listed those flops to show that he has been wrong many times and is likely wrong again.tippy wrote:He's not the highest paid in the world. And second of all, even if he is, his remit is more than the usual coaches anyway, plus the longer you're in a place, the more money you get. Wenger does more work for his club than Pep or Jose. Surely you can understand that?theYemster wrote:Oh please hush. We've heard this song long enough like Wenger never got anything wrong. Cygan, Senderos, Djourou, Squillachi, Silvestre, Bendtner, Jeffers, Denilson, Almunia, Chamakh, Sanogo, etc.tippy wrote:I can't believe people are still doubting Wenger when it's blatantly obvious he buys when it improves the squad.
Also, despite Coquelin's emergence, I still feel the man is against DMs in general but he might surprise us.
For the people who want us to buy, who should we buy and why? Who is out there that would improve us?
He isn't infallable and going by history he is wrong wrt getting reinforcements in DM, unless the aim is to finish fourth...AGAIN.
You all keep talking about Coq like it was planned. If Arteta and Flamini didn't get injured Coq would've been loaned out and we would've faltered. So please Wenger backed into the decision to play Coq.
Wenger will deliberately shoot himself in the foot before a race then complain that he coudln't win because he had an injured foot. And suckers like you, Waffib, Skylolo, PapaK, and Cally, etc. will gobble up that banquet of baloney cos it's Wenger serving it. No where in the world is a coach that is one of if not the highest paid in his sport, allowed to come third or fourth regularly...and then celebrated for it. No serious team does it. At least in pro US sports unlike in Europe, there are strict checks and balances in place to ensure parity.
Second of all, no one is talking about Coq like it was planned. Certainly not me. I'm not saying we shouldn't buy. I'm saying some angel* agent colludes with an angel* journo looking for clicks and links us to a player and you buy it, and when we don't sign him you freak out. I see someone saying we should spend 28 million pounds on Carvalho. Soon, someone else (probably Kajifu) will freak out over Liverpool's signings although we're on page fiftysomething so it probably has happened...three or four times. How many times have you seen Carvalho play to know that he is the answer.
Also, i'm not sure what point you were trying to make by listing all those transfers. That we shouldn't make them? It seems like its a damned if you do, damned if you don't situation. Did people not want us to sign Chamakh? Were they not posting articles about Senderos' maturity in the youth team when we signed him? The new Tony Adams. Cygan, signed to be a fringe player. Squillaci, signed to be a fringe player.
It is hypocritical in one sentence to castigate the signing of Denilson (a promising young player) and then in the same breath advocate the signing of Carvalho (a slightly older but still promising young player).
Regardless of how long he has been on the job the point is he is very well compensated compared to other coaches. And yes he is one of the best paid coaches.
Wenger is not just a Manager, he has had the vision to see it way before anyone even thought is was possible. E.g. winning the league unbeaten. Wenger built Arsenal from where it was when he came to the club it is today and if you have an idea what it was then, you will appreciate it has taken genius to do what he has done at the club for a fraction of the money the likes of Spuds, Liverpool, ManU, Chelski, Villa, City etc. etc.
When Wenger sold Anelka for £23.5m, then bought Henry and built the state of the art training centre at London Colney, he was a visionary. Today, every club has built their training facilities. As usual, he led the way. Those flops you mentioned above, (if they are really flops) cost next to nothing, they are gambles, when he spends money it hardly goes wrong. Wenger built the Arsenal of today mainly from his successes in the transfer market, so a few bad buys are just a drop in an ocean of humongous successes.
For every Cygan, Squillachi, etc. that Wenger got wrong, there are corresponding misses from us fans as well. Not long ago, some here are clamoring for Soldado, Ballotelli, etc. We've had our share misses as well. Feel free to add to the list.
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato
i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.Waffiman wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.theYemster wrote:Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.Waffiman wrote:The reason for these wins is the DMs (if all of them played with DMs for their title wins) and not top quality strikers, or attackers?theYemster wrote:The answer is in your question. Assanal and Liverfool fans, not Chelshit, ManUre and Sh!tty fans. That's why one group have multiple EPL wins between them within the past decade and the other group has a big fat doughnut.txj wrote:What is this obsession by Arsenal and Liverpool fans about DMs
The 4-4-1-1 system was effectively set up to maximise the immense talents of Dennis Bergkamp and Kanu. It was all about the number 10 or fantasy player playing in that space behind the opponents midfield and defence. The key was to get Dennis in that hole between the CM and CDs. The wide playmaker (Pires) enlarged this hole and made it a chasm by cutting into that space and Dennis drifted into the space were there was no marker, if you followed both players, you left yourself open for the late surging runs of Llungberg, Vieira and at times Gilberto.
Because team were pressed into dropping deep most of the time there was no need for a DM, all they had to do was watch for was the counter attack and this meant either Gilberto or Vieira sat deep to support the foray of one FB. The 4-4-1-1 system was not a defensive system that relied on safety first, it was all about balance in attack and defence. The DM was ironically brought into football to counter the number 10, the DM was effectively the inverted 'Sweeper' from the 'Catenacio' system. The DM's job was to stop the number 10 from playing at all cost, he is there to destroy, win the ball and give it to woken play. Arsenal never employed this tactic, there was hardly any need given the talent on the pitch.
Wenger's football philosophy is not about DM, he believes his CMs must attack as well as defend, he hates the idea of destruction and has never employed a man marker or a destroyer. Yes! At times one of the CMs is more defensive, especially in a 4-2-3-1 or a 4-1-4-1 system but that CM does not have the role of a DM. Coquelin developed last season, when he first came into the team, Santi was like his helper for the ball but as he grew more confident, he started passing it from deep. By the time we got to the Cup final, Coquelin was hitting 40 to 60 metre diagonal passes on the six pence to a FB or wide player from deep. This is what Petit used to do.
I like the additions to the backroom staff designed to keep our squad healthy. That is actually more important than signing Ronaldo as Messi's deputy in case of injuries.
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.
I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.PapaK wrote:i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.Waffiman wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.theYemster wrote:Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.Waffiman wrote:The reason for these wins is the DMs (if all of them played with DMs for their title wins) and not top quality strikers, or attackers?theYemster wrote:The answer is in your question. Assanal and Liverfool fans, not Chelshit, ManUre and Sh!tty fans. That's why one group have multiple EPL wins between them within the past decade and the other group has a big fat doughnut.txj wrote:What is this obsession by Arsenal and Liverpool fans about DMs
I like the additions to the backroom staff designed to keep our squad healthy. That is actually more important than signing Ronaldo as Messi's deputy in case of injuries.
Then there is the fact that this team is just in its infancy in terms of development. Last season, these players really started playing together when the injuries started going away. The players have not had much time on the training pitch to really gel as a unit. I expect more improvement individually and a much improved team this season. I am sure Wenger is looking at things like this and does not want to upset the flow and trend of development. Wenger has a difficult one this summer, there is huge potential in this team and he knows he is nowhere close to it, does he buy or wait toes how far this group can go? It is a hard call.
To be honest if our 3rd choice CDM is how hard people have to scratch around for holes in the squad, then we are in good shape.
BTW! ManU have spent over £200m in 2 seasons, they have won nothing and finished behind us each season. Money does to guarantee a thing but some people here just do not want to accept.
are we now shrining Gareth Southgate's decisions?anikulapo wrote:Waffiman wrote:No worry, Wenger has an ace up his sleeve.Cally wrote:United sign Schneiderlin. Na wa o!
Southampton must have thought there will be a bidding war to increase the fee to £30m plus (they wanted £30m) but Arsenal pulled out immediately they asked for £30m (Arsenal valued him at £15m) scuppering any plans they had for a bidding war.
is it the same ace that made him pay 16 mill for Chambers who could not displace Jenko as right back or even make it into the England U-21 team as a CB when John Stones was injured? Ok Yeah we are back to the same Animal Farm "Arsene Knows" fall back argument![]()
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."
Rosicky out for five weeks. Welbeck still recovering from injury that caused him to miss FA Cup.
Rosicky still dey....Chai!!!!
- Chief Ogbunigwe
Coach wrote:Rosicky still dey....Chai!!!!
Diaris God ooooo!
Wait. Why hope for no injuries when you can simply plan for it?Waffiman wrote:PapaK wrote:I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.Waffiman wrote:i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.theYemster wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.Waffiman wrote: Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.
Then there is the fact that this team is just in its infancy in terms of development. Last season, these players really started playing together when the injuries started going away. The players have not had much time on the training pitch to really gel as a unit. I expect more improvement individually and a much improved team this season. I am sure Wenger is looking at things like this and does not want to upset the flow and trend of development. Wenger has a difficult one this summer, there is huge potential in this team and he knows he is nowhere close to it, does he buy or wait toes how far this group can go? It is a hard call.
To be honest if our 3rd choice CDM is how hard people have to scratch around for holes in the squad, then we are in good shape.
BTW! ManU have spent over £200m in 2 seasons, they have won nothing and finished behind us each season. Money does to guarantee a thing but some people here just do not want to accept.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
- kalamashaka
Exactly this.Waffiman wrote:Wenger built Arsenal from where it was when he came to the club it is today and if you have an idea what it was then, you will appreciate it has taken genius to do what he has done at the club for a fraction of the money the likes of Spuds, Liverpool, ManU, Chelski, Villa, City etc. etc.
Sometimes I read some of the venting here and the only conclusion you can come to is that those folks do not know the type of club they are supporting and where it's come from. It was especially funny last season when some were even saying "we want our Arsenal back"

"How many white men went in the party that destroyed Abame?"
- theYemster
lol. Suckers.amafolas wrote:Wait. Why hope for no injuries when you can simply plan for it?Waffiman wrote:PapaK wrote:I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.Waffiman wrote:i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.theYemster wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.Waffiman wrote: Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.
© ɹ ǝ ʇ s ɯ é ʎ ǝ ɥ ʇ" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
amafolas wrote:Wait. Why hope for no injuries when you can simply plan for it?Waffiman wrote:PapaK wrote:I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.Waffiman wrote:i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.theYemster wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.Waffiman wrote: Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.

Hoping........last refuge of a scondrel
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit
Watch and see how Dr spin will turn the toriGooner1 wrote:amafolas wrote:Wait. Why hope for no injuries when you can simply plan for it?Waffiman wrote:PapaK wrote:I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.Waffiman wrote:i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.theYemster wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.Waffiman wrote: Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.
BTW! ManU have spent over £200m in 2 seasons, they have won nothing and finished behind us each season. Money does to guarantee a thing but some people here just do not want to accept.![]()
Hoping........last refuge of a scondrel
Because you plan for injuries does not mean you do not hope for it. Besides because the team's plan do not fit your plan does not mean that they are not planning for injuries...Anyway make I keep quiet after all wetin small pickin like me know...amafolas wrote:Wait. Why hope for no injuries when you can simply plan for it?Waffiman wrote:PapaK wrote:I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.Waffiman wrote:i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.theYemster wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.Waffiman wrote: Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.
We have already planned for it. Look at the squad - minimum two players for every position. New medical centre and staff. See above.amafolas wrote:Wait. Why hope for no injuries when you can simply plan for it?Waffiman wrote:PapaK wrote:I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.Waffiman wrote:i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.theYemster wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.Waffiman wrote: Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.
- theYemster
Does a biscuit boned Arteta and a washed up Flamini count as two or one?Waffiman wrote:We have already planned for it. Look at the squad - minimum two players for every position. New medical centre and staff. See above.amafolas wrote:Wait. Why hope for no injuries when you can simply plan for it?Waffiman wrote:PapaK wrote:I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.Waffiman wrote:i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.theYemster wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.Waffiman wrote: Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.
Ramsey, Wilshere, Ox, Walcott, Gibbs, Arteta and Flamini, who did I miss? all extremely injury prone. Having one back up another is not planning for injuries.
Arsenal spent £150million in that same period.Waffiman wrote:
I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.
But that doesnt count, remember Arsenal doesnt spend anything, its just miracles

Waffiman wrote:We have already planned for it. Look at the squad - minimum two players for every position. New medical centre and staff. See above.amafolas wrote:Wait. Why hope for no injuries when you can simply plan for it?Waffiman wrote:PapaK wrote:I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.Waffiman wrote:i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.theYemster wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.Waffiman wrote: Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.

I'm sure you can do better than that!!!
Make I ask you a question.....
Manure have now boosted their midfield.....do you think they will finish above AFC next season?
On second thoughts.....don't botherGooner1 wrote:Waffiman wrote:We have already planned for it. Look at the squad - minimum two players for every position. New medical centre and staff. See above.amafolas wrote:Wait. Why hope for no injuries when you can simply plan for it?Waffiman wrote:Waffiman wrote:i, for one wont be surprised to see a fit Coqueline sit out some games where the coach will assume that the match does not require his skill or style. He is usually the 1st to be removed when team park bus against us. The coach expects a big season from Wilshere. Ramsey is still there and will play more through the middle rather than out wide. We dont know how the manager is planning to set his team up. So, if he doesnt think he needs a specialist to handle Stoke (Le Grove's reason for recommending Carvalho), then, he doesnt have to go out and buy one just to keep the fans happy.theYemster wrote:Arsenal under Wenger has never played with a DM, a solid DM or like I suspect you mean a player specified to play this role. The 'Invincibles' played a 4-4-1-1 formation with two CMs, there was no DM. This formation called for 2 CMs - Vieira, Gilberto/Edu mainly. They played a high line, high pressure defence, with the CM tasked with defensive as well as offensive duties. Their main defence strategy was to pressure and win the ball as high up the pitch as possible and instantly launch the counter. In attack, the width coming from the FBs. This meant one CM had to cover the space left by the FB depending on the right the attack is coming from. Under pressure, they both sat in front of the back four but Gilberto usually took the deeper position because Vieira was always the one togo front any attack head on. One of the 4 in midfield, (Ray Parlour or Llungberg also tucked in to ensure numbers in the M/F position when we played a team with a 5 man MF.Waffiman wrote: Stop cherry picking what fits into your narrative. It isn't the reason. It is ONE OF THE REASONS, A MAJOR REASON why they win titles.
I concur on the additions to the backroom staff. We keep our squad healthy and do not suffer like last season, we have a real chance.
BTW! ManU have spent over £200m in 2 seasons, they have won nothing and finished behind us each season. Money does to guarantee a thing but some people here just do not want to accept.![]()
I'm sure you can do better than that!!!
Make I ask you a question.....
Manure have now boosted their midfield.....do you think they will finish above AFC next season?

Danny's more cautionary - it's about not having him fly long distances across the globe @this stage of his recovery. He's targeting the Emirates cup!!!platinum wrote:Rosicky out for five weeks. Welbeck still recovering from injury that caused him to miss FA Cup.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
It's important gooners don't get too worked up about next season based on what Liverpool,ManU & ManC are doing. Chelsea & Arsenal have a core group of integrated players in their squads - now it's about consolidation.
Liverpool have lost in the last couple seasons - leader Stevie G, talismen Suarez & Sterling. They'll be looking for a new formula with quite a few new players in the mix.
ManU might've to go back to what LVG wanted to do last season - more transition. Striker Rooney needs help. Cavani will not leave PSG to play wide or sit on the bench!!!
ManC is definitely transitioning - a few of their heavyweights never expected to be there for this dance...is Pelegrini now going to load the M/F & use a single striker?
As for us - the commitment to conditioning is huge. On the playing side we need a healthy Jack,Ox,TW etc for huge swathes of the season. Hope Gibbs eats what Monreal has been eating.....too many buys relegatiing central players out wide can be a problem.
Yes we need a DM to both compliment & challenge Coq.
send the young guns to quality clubs on loan early - sanogo's on his last dance @ajax(if true)..Gnabry @WBA will be a good move. Akpom umm!!!!
Liverpool have lost in the last couple seasons - leader Stevie G, talismen Suarez & Sterling. They'll be looking for a new formula with quite a few new players in the mix.
ManU might've to go back to what LVG wanted to do last season - more transition. Striker Rooney needs help. Cavani will not leave PSG to play wide or sit on the bench!!!
ManC is definitely transitioning - a few of their heavyweights never expected to be there for this dance...is Pelegrini now going to load the M/F & use a single striker?
As for us - the commitment to conditioning is huge. On the playing side we need a healthy Jack,Ox,TW etc for huge swathes of the season. Hope Gibbs eats what Monreal has been eating.....too many buys relegatiing central players out wide can be a problem.
Yes we need a DM to both compliment & challenge Coq.
send the young guns to quality clubs on loan early - sanogo's on his last dance @ajax(if true)..Gnabry @WBA will be a good move. Akpom umm!!!!
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.