The SE WC Delusion...
Re: The SE WC Delusion...
With the kind of preparation (lack of) we have, getting out of the group stages will be a monumental achievement talkless a semifinal berth. However, since I will be rooting for Nigeria irrespective, I hope mother luck smiles on us because we are going to need it.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
Lets not mix things up! Its not the business of a SE coach, be it Amodu, LB, SS or EGU to organize friendlies. In any case, with FIFA windows closed by the time of his appointment, all our friendlies were always going to come after the european season.
anaedo1 wrote:It is a perversion of our collective intellect for anyone to assume that our lack of preparation for the world cup will be immaterial toward our performance in South Africa next month.
For folks to depend solely on our ANC matches in January, some 5 months ago as the only preparation needed for a successful WC campaign is a non starter to say the least.
Furthermore,the uncertain friendlies against Colombia and Saudi Arabia,the fleeting alliance cultivated between Lagerback and his wards plus the behind the scene bunglings recorded so far have all complicated our world cup plans.
Lagerback with the help of the NFF/PTF had enough time to arrange friendly matches against good opposition particularly teams whose style of play mirror those of our group opponents,but cared less.
What we have on our hands is a recipe for the most calamitous WC adventure we will ever witness in our years of competing in the quadriennial football showpiece.
I am not impressed at all and so are most other people in Nigeria with whom I have spoken in the last two weeks.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
The responsibility of arranging friendlies lie not only with NFF technical and development committee but also with the coach whose duty it to impress the importance of same to the said committee.Supervising and controlling the financial exigencies relative to those friendlies will always lie with the NFF as we all know.txj wrote:Lets not mix things up! Its not the business of a SE coach, be it Amodu, LB, SS or EGU to organize friendlies. In any case, with FIFA windows closed by the time of his appointment, all our friendlies were always going to come after the european season.
anaedo1 wrote:It is a perversion of our collective intellect for anyone to assume that our lack of preparation for the world cup will be immaterial toward our performance in South Africa next month.
For folks to depend solely on our ANC matches in January, some 5 months ago as the only preparation needed for a successful WC campaign is a non starter to say the least.
Furthermore,the uncertain friendlies against Colombia and Saudi Arabia,the fleeting alliance cultivated between Lagerback and his wards plus the behind the scene bunglings recorded so far have all complicated our world cup plans.
Lagerback with the help of the NFF/PTF had enough time to arrange friendly matches against good opposition particularly teams whose style of play mirror those of our group opponents,but cared less.
What we have on our hands is a recipe for the most calamitous WC adventure we will ever witness in our years of competing in the quadriennial football showpiece.
I am not impressed at all and so are most other people in Nigeria with whom I have spoken in the last two weeks.
I was actually referring to the period after the conclusion of most league seasons when most WC bound nations have matches already scheduled.
On the other hand, our matches are not cast in stone as the teams to be played,match venues and the match dates remain uncertain unlike other teams.
Incidentally,why was it that none of all the pious ever discovered psycho-analysis?Why did it have to wait for a completely godless Jew?
Sigmund Freud
We missed only 1 fifa window. None of the teams going has played more competitive matches than us thus year and our HB team has also playerd a tourney and qualifier. Finally, the players have not been idle.
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.
Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.
Winnerman making a serious argument regarding the stupidity of the opinion that we are any less prepared than any other team
We have at most. played one less friendly, albeit competed in the WCQ, the ANC, and used every friendly window except one
The only overaching mistake we have made it seems is the changing of the Manager so close to the tourney. But with 4 months to review the extensive data on the team, which includes in the last 2 years: The WCQ: 12 games, the 2 ANC: 10 games, 6 friendly games, CHAN games: For homebased players (6 games); The U 17 WC (6 games): U21 (4 games) The Olympics (6 games).
There is ample material for any coach to determine who may be amongst his best 30 in 3 months. Couple that with an opportunity tofly around Europe looking at players who he hass identified on tape in the GWG, plus those he has identified by himself due to good club performances. Nothing in this suggests a team any less prepared than 95 percent of those we will be meeting at the WC...
At seasons end- this week and next... Those already Identified should be listed, the coaches program installed, and friendly games prior to the WC used to ingrain the coach's said program.
To argue that Nigeria is any less prepared simply on the basis of a personal opinion of the capacity of the previous coach, is simply absurd.
1. That we qualified for the WC suggests otherwise
2. That we lost only 3 games(competitive or othewise) suggest at least adequate preparation. I.e. preparation enough, to accomplish all prestated goals.
3. That other teams with similar or better talent, lost more games during that period supports the notion of adequate preparation.
4. We should not confuse error free preparation with adequate preparation.
All that is left now, is for the highly paid coacch, who upon seeing the structue, organization and personnel talent at our disposal vowed that he could administer a program that will get us to the semi finals.
Now don't get us wrong, we are not dogmatic nitwits, like some, who would want to hold that guatantees in stone. But to posit that it is not even suggestable is asinine. Granted, we could get to the second round and draw say Brazil, Spain or some other superpower. We could even end up in a PK shootout and lose out; or even get pipped by a team of equal talent. These things hapeen, we get it.
But for someone who believed we had the talent to above and beyond win the ANC, and thus anything but a final appearance will will equal failure- to now suggest The Semi's is an unreachable fantasy goal is just ridiculous!! CIV, Cameroun and Ghana all expect similar goals. Even if they know it might not occur. This same teams were at the ANC in which we were told anything but the FINAL was a failure.
Are we to assume that we were supposed to be more talented than this teams 4 months ago, but suddenly less able now, even though we have added a competent coach, unearthed a few more players and would have ample time (3 weeks to practice).
We are supposed to now believe we are now less able than we wee 4 months ago
And on what basis are we supposed to believe this
That the previous coach ill prepared the players
Lest we forget, National teams are not clubs... Players are prepared at their clubs. National teams are nothiong but the agrregate of those "club prepared" players under the "short term" instructions of the National team coach.
90% of preparations is simply coach evaluation of talent... And an instruction of basic tactical formation and playing philosophy.
This is always achievable with a certain ammount of practice (3 week is more than enough)... Better yet it is all everybody gets. U.S.A, Brazil, Spain, England, Nigeria.
The only question now is whather the coach has a succesful plan, and whether the talent at his disposal is capable of such performance.
All this hogwash about 4 years of preparations is just that Hogwash

We have at most. played one less friendly, albeit competed in the WCQ, the ANC, and used every friendly window except one

There is ample material for any coach to determine who may be amongst his best 30 in 3 months. Couple that with an opportunity tofly around Europe looking at players who he hass identified on tape in the GWG, plus those he has identified by himself due to good club performances. Nothing in this suggests a team any less prepared than 95 percent of those we will be meeting at the WC...
At seasons end- this week and next... Those already Identified should be listed, the coaches program installed, and friendly games prior to the WC used to ingrain the coach's said program.
To argue that Nigeria is any less prepared simply on the basis of a personal opinion of the capacity of the previous coach, is simply absurd.
2. That we lost only 3 games(competitive or othewise) suggest at least adequate preparation. I.e. preparation enough, to accomplish all prestated goals.
3. That other teams with similar or better talent, lost more games during that period supports the notion of adequate preparation.
All that is left now, is for the highly paid coacch, who upon seeing the structue, organization and personnel talent at our disposal vowed that he could administer a program that will get us to the semi finals.
Now don't get us wrong, we are not dogmatic nitwits, like some, who would want to hold that guatantees in stone. But to posit that it is not even suggestable is asinine. Granted, we could get to the second round and draw say Brazil, Spain or some other superpower. We could even end up in a PK shootout and lose out; or even get pipped by a team of equal talent. These things hapeen, we get it.
But for someone who believed we had the talent to above and beyond win the ANC, and thus anything but a final appearance will will equal failure- to now suggest The Semi's is an unreachable fantasy goal is just ridiculous!! CIV, Cameroun and Ghana all expect similar goals. Even if they know it might not occur. This same teams were at the ANC in which we were told anything but the FINAL was a failure.
Are we to assume that we were supposed to be more talented than this teams 4 months ago, but suddenly less able now, even though we have added a competent coach, unearthed a few more players and would have ample time (3 weeks to practice).
We are supposed to now believe we are now less able than we wee 4 months ago

And on what basis are we supposed to believe this

Lest we forget, National teams are not clubs... Players are prepared at their clubs. National teams are nothiong but the agrregate of those "club prepared" players under the "short term" instructions of the National team coach.
90% of preparations is simply coach evaluation of talent... And an instruction of basic tactical formation and playing philosophy.
This is always achievable with a certain ammount of practice (3 week is more than enough)... Better yet it is all everybody gets. U.S.A, Brazil, Spain, England, Nigeria.
The only question now is whather the coach has a succesful plan, and whether the talent at his disposal is capable of such performance.

The highlighted statement is the key. If one expects Nigeria inspite of problems, including a poor coach (spastic wrote:Winnerman making a serious argument regarding the stupidity of the opinion that we are any less prepared than any other team![]()
We have at most. played one less friendly, albeit competed in the WCQ, the ANC, and used every friendly window except oneThe only overaching mistake we have made it seems is the changing of the Manager so close to the tourney. But with 4 months to review the extensive data on the team, which includes in the last 2 years: The WCQ: 12 games, the 2 ANC: 10 games, 6 friendly games, CHAN games: For homebased players (6 games); The U 17 WC (6 games): U21 (4 games) The Olympics (6 games).
We are supposed to now believe we are now less able than we wee 4 months ago![]()
And on what basis are we supposed to believe thisThat the previous coach ill prepared the players

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Nigeria should perform better than all the African countries playing at the WC since we lost to Ghana due to poor coaching (or lack of one). That problem has been fixed so we expect improvement.
BTW, the arrogance of TXJ claiming we lost to Ghanaian U 21 team. Forgeting that they are WORLD CHAMPIONS. Funny thing is that we actually outplayed them but their prejuidice does not allow them to see it. Suddenly onyibo appears and they are beside themselves lowering expectations.
l always try to be objective, l am only interested in the team success and not winning arguments on CE.iF LB is anything close to the hype, l firmly believe we will play in the semis. As l keep saying, we have the most balanced team from Africa going to this WC.
spastic wrote:Winnerman making a serious argument regarding the stupidity of the opinion that we are any less prepared than any other team![]()
The only overaching mistake we have made it seems is the changing of the Manager so close to the tourney. But with 4 months to review the extensive data on the team, which includes in the last 2 years: The WCQ: 12 games, the 2 ANC: 10 games, 6 friendly games, CHAN games: For homebased players (6 games); The U 17 WC (6 games): U21 (4 games) The Olympics (6 games).
We are supposed to now believe we are now less able than we wee 4 months ago![]()
And on what basis are we supposed to believe thisThat the previous coach ill prepared the players
I can even understand txj. He has a track record of misyarning on CE but it is people like yeyeman I don't get. Dude is misyarning and as if that is not bad enough he wants me to use the search function to dig out their previous misyarnings as if say I no get better thing to do. Yeye dey truely smell...Cellular wrote:Nigeria should perform better than all the African countries playing at the WC since we lost to Ghana due to poor coaching (or lack of one). That problem has been fixed so we expect improvement.

I was being facetious.nemi2002 wrote:He is not being silly, Lagerback is on all expenses vacation in South Africa from sometime next month till the SEs drop out of the competition.tippy wrote:wanaj0 wrote:Lagerback is on an ALL expenses paid vacation! Yes the semi final according to him but you can be sure he is not interested. He is only interested in the money and you can be sure he will enjoy his millions. Personally I dont blame him.nemi2002 wrote:So txj is happy Amodu was sacked but not happy with the timing. He is also unhappy with the target set by the NFF for the new coach describing the target as a delusion, when exactly did he realise this? However Lagerback has not come out to say the target is delusional after publicly accepting to meet the target and stating that it was feasible.
Well, Amodu met his targets despite his shortcomings, hope Lagerback will meet his set target playing Arsenal like football and I hope he will be placed under the same scrutiny Amodu was placed!
don't be silly, who vacations in Nigeria?
BTW a lot of people go on vacation in Nigeria at places like the Obudu cattle ranch and Tinapa!!!
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."
thanks for the reply.
RE: France. With Domenech in charge, anything is possible with France. Yes the France game (and the 1st half against Egypt) were good performances, but what does this prove. Burnley beat Manchester United and Tottenham, does this make them a good side, or suddenly invalidate the rest of their shitty performances? What about the failure to beat Mozambique, the last minute squeaking at home against the same side? (At least we finally put them in their place at the ANC) What about Zambia? Even Ghana was not a great performance, it was just better than the eye torture that was Zambia.
If we are overrun by Benin, how do you expect us to perform against Argentina. If we cannot break down Zambia, how do you think we will perform against an ultra-defensive, ultra-organised Greek side?
You talk about lack of confidence against the latter, but who's job is it to inspire confidence in the team. despite this, i thought Amodu should take us to the WC because even in November it was too late to change.
As for my high horse, we have a population that is probably equal to around half the sides that were in the ANC. We don't lose most of our best players to the former colonies like the CIV or Senegal. We were giving those clowns 33k per man per win (at least that's what I read on here, correct me if I'm wrong) meanwhile Togo were bussing it to the tournament. Football is our national game. Our players have played in the biggest leagues in the world and champions league. The Semis of the ANC should be the minimum for a country our size. To say otherwise is analogous to saying that USA or Mexico should be happy with just being there at the Gold Cup or even better (due to the presence of quality sides in the region) Brazil and Argentina should be happy with 1/4 finals in the copa america. I realise football is not played on paper, but with all those factors in place, more often than not, a team should be amongst the best in a competition.
I didn't miss the point by the way. While the thread started as an article detailing Nigeria's delusional expectations, it quickly descended into Pro-Amodu v. Anti-Amodu bitchfest.
RE: France. With Domenech in charge, anything is possible with France. Yes the France game (and the 1st half against Egypt) were good performances, but what does this prove. Burnley beat Manchester United and Tottenham, does this make them a good side, or suddenly invalidate the rest of their shitty performances? What about the failure to beat Mozambique, the last minute squeaking at home against the same side? (At least we finally put them in their place at the ANC) What about Zambia? Even Ghana was not a great performance, it was just better than the eye torture that was Zambia.
If we are overrun by Benin, how do you expect us to perform against Argentina. If we cannot break down Zambia, how do you think we will perform against an ultra-defensive, ultra-organised Greek side?
You talk about lack of confidence against the latter, but who's job is it to inspire confidence in the team. despite this, i thought Amodu should take us to the WC because even in November it was too late to change.
As for my high horse, we have a population that is probably equal to around half the sides that were in the ANC. We don't lose most of our best players to the former colonies like the CIV or Senegal. We were giving those clowns 33k per man per win (at least that's what I read on here, correct me if I'm wrong) meanwhile Togo were bussing it to the tournament. Football is our national game. Our players have played in the biggest leagues in the world and champions league. The Semis of the ANC should be the minimum for a country our size. To say otherwise is analogous to saying that USA or Mexico should be happy with just being there at the Gold Cup or even better (due to the presence of quality sides in the region) Brazil and Argentina should be happy with 1/4 finals in the copa america. I realise football is not played on paper, but with all those factors in place, more often than not, a team should be amongst the best in a competition.
I didn't miss the point by the way. While the thread started as an article detailing Nigeria's delusional expectations, it quickly descended into Pro-Amodu v. Anti-Amodu bitchfest.
tedder89 wrote:While you have missed the whole point of the thread which is to do with Nigerians' delusional expectations and not a referandum on Amodu's ability or lack thereof, I feel I need to respond to your questions
Do you think a team with a midfield that was molested by Benin while the coach did nothing will triumph in our groups?
Molested? Really? So we didn't overrun them in midfield so they "molested" us? We beat France in their backyard with a polished, confident and accomplished performance. Does that mean France will not make it out of their group?
Do you think a team that does not make runs off the ball, does not have any set piece routines or any idea what to do at them, that does not seem to have a clue will qualify for the 2nd round?
Go back and watch the first half against Egypt, take somee notes then get back to me about passing, movement, strength of purpose and all round quality of play. The set piece argument is valid but that has been a weakness under ALL coaches, not just Amodu.
Do you think that performances against Zambia are acceptable
Again, it was not a walk in the park. Get off your high horse and stop expecting us to steam roll everyone. We have average players whose confidence was shot to pieces (see my signature). It was a tough game but we won. We played much better against a better Ghana team, created many clear cut chances and ended up losing. Football no be 1 + 1....
tippy wrote:I should say that while I have never cared for Amodu (even back in 1995 when he first got the gig), I would not have fired him after the ANC. I would have grinned and borne the humiliation we would have received this summer and looked towards Gabon and Brazil with hope as this is the cross every football fan must bear.
I would like to ask some questions though?
Do you think a team with a midfield that was molested by Benin while the coach did nothing will triumph in our groups?
Do you think a team that does not make runs off the ball, does not have any set piece routines or any idea what to do at them, that does not seem to have a clue will qualify for the 2nd round?
Do you think that performances against Zambia are acceptable?
That's all very well and good dear, but try answering the questions next time.Gotti wrote:I think that a team that went through the WCQ undefeated could qualify for the 2d round...tippy wrote:I should say that while I have never cared for Amodu (even back in 1995 when he first got the gig), I would not have fired him after the ANC. I would have grinned and borne the humiliation we would have received this summer and looked towards Gabon and Brazil with hope as this is the cross every football fan must bear.
I would like to ask some questions though?
Do you think that performances against Zambia are acceptable?
I think that a team that did better than all other African WC teams bar Ghana could as well...
And I KNOW that Benin and Zambia will be watching that team on television from their couches!
EII,
The problem I repeatedly have with u is that u can never seem to divorce my views from the FC/LC issue.
1. This thread is not about Amodu
2. This thread is not about Lagerback
3. This thread is not about ANY COACH
4. This thread is about the NFF and the management of our WC effort, which many months ago, b/4 the appointment of LB, I declared, IMO to be dead..
5. This thread is about targets and achievements. There's nothing wrong in setting a s/final target, but it should've been done 3-4yrs ago, which gives u time and space to put the chips together, meticulously and progressively.
6. To set such a target, with weeks to the WC and after dismissal of ur coach for the last 2yrs, is arrogant and delusional.
7. Wrt Lagerback and his place in all this, (although I was silent on this, being that the thread is about the NFF), let there be no misunderstanding, it goes without saying that he is responsible for whatever results we garner on the field; he is responsible for meeting the targets set for him. Why? He accepted the job fully aware of the odds, the +ives and the -ives and he will be judged accordingly.
8. A s/final target in the WC is no piece of cake, and it shows serious intent, and should be matched by seriousness of purpose, not a casual, cavaliar attitude.
9. To compare the ANC to the WC, frankly is ignorant. Its not devaluing the importance of the african championships, its just a fact that both tournaments are not on the same level...
The problem I repeatedly have with u is that u can never seem to divorce my views from the FC/LC issue.
4. This thread is about the NFF and the management of our WC effort, which many months ago, b/4 the appointment of LB, I declared, IMO to be dead..
5. This thread is about targets and achievements. There's nothing wrong in setting a s/final target, but it should've been done 3-4yrs ago, which gives u time and space to put the chips together, meticulously and progressively.
6. To set such a target, with weeks to the WC and after dismissal of ur coach for the last 2yrs, is arrogant and delusional.
7. Wrt Lagerback and his place in all this, (although I was silent on this, being that the thread is about the NFF), let there be no misunderstanding, it goes without saying that he is responsible for whatever results we garner on the field; he is responsible for meeting the targets set for him. Why? He accepted the job fully aware of the odds, the +ives and the -ives and he will be judged accordingly.
8. A s/final target in the WC is no piece of cake, and it shows serious intent, and should be matched by seriousness of purpose, not a casual, cavaliar attitude.
9. To compare the ANC to the WC, frankly is ignorant. Its not devaluing the importance of the african championships, its just a fact that both tournaments are not on the same level...
Enugu II wrote:The highlighted statement is the key. If one expects Nigeria inspite of problems, including a poor coach (spastic wrote:Winnerman making a serious argument regarding the stupidity of the opinion that we are any less prepared than any other team![]()
We have at most. played one less friendly, albeit competed in the WCQ, the ANC, and used every friendly window except oneThe only overaching mistake we have made it seems is the changing of the Manager so close to the tourney. But with 4 months to review the extensive data on the team, which includes in the last 2 years: The WCQ: 12 games, the 2 ANC: 10 games, 6 friendly games, CHAN games: For homebased players (6 games); The U 17 WC (6 games): U21 (4 games) The Olympics (6 games).
All this hogwash about 4 years of preparations is just that Hogwash), to get to the final of a strongly contested ANC and then do not now think that Nigeria, with an acclaimed Wc-class coach, ought to get out of the opening round of the WC is to say the least shocking. We are talking about expectations here, folks. What is it about the WC that we think of the ANC so poorly? Yes, the WC is a bigger competition but surely not one in which African teams are not expected to go beyond its opening rounds. Nigeria faced a much tougher group in 1998 and inspite of disastrous preparations and injuries, Nigeria went on to go past the opening rounds. PLeasee enough of this WC reification. Lagerback was hired to prevent a "disgraceful" WC performance and surely we deserve to expect a semi final appearance under him.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Yes, we agree with you that the thread is not about Amodu or Lagerback...txj wrote:EII,
We just want to point out to others who might not be aware that the thread is not about whom the coach might be, but about what TXJ thinks about the un-necessary high expectations placed on the Eagles by fans who by-and-large are not sophisticated enough to know that football is not about wins and losses but also judged on aesthetics or artistic merits...
So should such fans wander into this thread, we want to make sure they understand where you are coming from.
1. This thread is NOT about 'un-necessary high expectations placed on the Eagles by fans who by-and-large are not sophisticated enough to know that football is not about wins and losses but also judged on aesthetics or artistic merits'.
Fans have a right to expect the best from their team.
2. This thread is about professional management of a world cup challenge, leading to appropriate setting of targets.
3. Football is only judged on aesthtics and artistry by the purists. Most fans expect results based on organization and efficiency...
2. This thread is about professional management of a world cup challenge, leading to appropriate setting of targets.
3. Football is only judged on aesthtics and artistry by the purists. Most fans expect results based on organization and efficiency...
Cellular wrote:Yes, we agree with you that the thread is not about Amodu or Lagerback...txj wrote:EII,
We just want to point out to others who might not be aware that the thread is not about whom the coach might be, but about what TXJ thinks about the un-necessary high expectations placed on the Eagles by fans who by-and-large are not sophisticated enough to know that football is not about wins and losses but also judged on aesthetics or artistic merits...
So should such fans wander into this thread, we want to make sure they understand where you are coming from.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
So this man, you no dey like to be misquoted or misunderstood?txj wrote:1. This thread is NOT about 'un-necessary high expectations placed on the Eagles by fans who by-and-large are not sophisticated enough to know that football is not about wins and losses but also judged on aesthetics or artistic merits'.
Purists? Haba....
Nigerians jus want to say heyyyyy, hayyyyyyy...

1. Preparation is not simply playing friendlies. Its a lot more than that! Its among other things, identifying weaknesses, developing scenarios and trying out different systems and combination of players/systems. To suggest that the mere playing of friendlies in itself is enough is simply ignorant.
For someone to then claim that 3wks is enough to properly prepare for the WC takes the cake. I guess all those countries that have invested years in this effort are simply clueless! What a joke!
WINNERMAN wrote:l always try to be objective, l am only interested in the team success and not winning arguments on CE.iF LB is anything close to the hype, l firmly believe we will play in the semis. As l keep saying, we have the most balanced team from Africa going to this WC.
spastic wrote:Winnerman making a serious argument regarding the stupidity of the opinion that we are any less prepared than any other team![]()
Dear, you must be tippy-ing more than just alcohol if you did not grasp the obvious answers...tippy wrote:That's all very well and good dear, but try answering the questions next time.
Apparently (as can be seen from your posts) you are one of those who confuse pedantry with substance.

Where do you try out scenarios? ln friendlies and training.
The point is, this team has been preparing, it isnt a 3 wk thing like you are suggesting. Except you are implying that LB's time with the team is all the prep we will have, WHICH IS UNTRUE.
txj wrote:1. Preparation is not simply playing friendlies. Its a lot more than that! Its among other things, identifying weaknesses, developing scenarios and trying out different systems and combination of players/systems. To suggest that the mere playing of friendlies in itself is enough is simply ignorant.
WINNERMAN wrote:l always try to be objective, l am only interested in the team success and not winning arguments on CE.iF LB is anything close to the hype, l firmly believe we will play in the semis. As l keep saying, we have the most balanced team from Africa going to this WC.
What scenarios did we try in all those friendlies, and who tried them?
The reality is that whatever we do with LB in charge is all the prep we will have WITH HIM...The rest is irrelevant to him...
WINNERMAN wrote:Where do you try out scenarios? ln friendlies and training.
txj wrote:1. Preparation is not simply playing friendlies. Its a lot more than that! Its among other things, identifying weaknesses, developing scenarios and trying out different systems and combination of players/systems. To suggest that the mere playing of friendlies in itself is enough is simply ignorant.
Pedantry with substance, what are you on about? I asked a question, you brought up irrelevant facts.Gotti wrote:Dear, you must be tippy-ing more than just alcohol if you did not grasp the obvious answers...tippy wrote:That's all very well and good dear, but try answering the questions next time.
Apparently (as can be seen from your posts) you are one of those who confuse pedantry with substance.
If you had answered that in an exam, you would have gotti a weak pass if the examiner was feeling generous.

- Cellular
- Site Admin
Bia, why did you dig up dis thread?txj wrote:![]()
Ah mean, di punishment way you take for dis thread no do you?
Being slapped around like a pinata can't be fun...