Oliseh v Enyeama, how it happened.

Re: Oliseh v Enyeama, how it happened.

ohsee wrote:
juventuss wrote:
ohsee wrote:
ohsee wrote:Two sides to the story. Muyiwalawal posted his version, Ugbowo filled in the gaps. The world is complex, and we should hold fire and wait and see. Siddon-look mode should be activated by all.

@BiggieP, Blue Jays, my friend, Blue Jays all the way. The best team in basuboru. :thumbs:
But the sides (of the story) are actually the same.

They ought to have handled it better. Vince and Sunny both.
I blame Sunny, yes, he is my guy but I blame him. You are the Manager for goodness sake. You can achieve the same goal without engaging an obstinate player in that manner.
Ogbuefi, the story is the same, but my reading suggests that the first one has missing info. That missing info is the other side that we sometimes do not hear.

Good managers get results, and they get it any which way. Sunny is making it clear TO ALL THE PLAYERS that he will not tolerate indiscipline from any quarter. That is what a good manager has to do.

If you choose to make your grouse public, and try to reduce my prestige in public, I will show you who's boss. We forget that IF BOTH ACCOUNTS ARE TRUE, Enyeama crossed the line first. He is not bigger than his boss.
Chief,
But don't you think Oliseh should have at least given Enyeama a heads up before the open discussion ?
From all accounts, it does not seem that happened.
We don't know that he did not. I do know that news of Musa's potential captaincy has been around for a while. But even if Oliseh did not inform Enyeama privately for whatever reason, you do not publicly embarrass your new boss for whatever reason. You are only asking to be slapped down.

My surprise is that nobody seems to question Enyeama's right to challenge his boss publicly. Perhaps because we are Nigerians and don't know how to behave in a work environment? Why do we not expect Enyeama to wait until the meeting is over, then go over to Oliseh and say quietly, "Oga, why did you do this to me now?"
How did he publically embarrass him? Do you trust Colin Udoh? Because he corroborated Muyiwa's version of the event. Enyeama wanted to explain his side why he was late etc and Oliseh told him to sit down. He is the captain and the longest serving SE EVER! EVER! He just buried his mom, he can't be allowed to explain himself?
ogiso

Post by ogiso »

If I was Oliseh I would do this: At the first possible press conference, confess that there was a disagreement with Vince and admit that he did not handle it well. State that he hopes Vince can forgive the error and move on. State that Vince remains a valued member of the team and that the team has a better chance of success with Vince in it. I suspect that Vince will respond positively to that and Oliseh will actually earn (right-thinking) people's respect. It is a possible way of recovering this situation.

ohsee wrote:
juventuss wrote:
ohsee wrote:
ohsee wrote:Two sides to the story. Muyiwalawal posted his version, Ugbowo filled in the gaps. The world is complex, and we should hold fire and wait and see. Siddon-look mode should be activated by all.

@BiggieP, Blue Jays, my friend, Blue Jays all the way. The best team in basuboru. :thumbs:
But the sides (of the story) are actually the same.

They ought to have handled it better. Vince and Sunny both.
I blame Sunny, yes, he is my guy but I blame him. You are the Manager for goodness sake. You can achieve the same goal without engaging an obstinate player in that manner.
Ogbuefi, the story is the same, but my reading suggests that the first one has missing info. That missing info is the other side that we sometimes do not hear.

Good managers get results, and they get it any which way. Sunny is making it clear TO ALL THE PLAYERS that he will not tolerate indiscipline from any quarter. That is what a good manager has to do.

If you choose to make your grouse public, and try to reduce my prestige in public, I will show you who's boss. We forget that IF BOTH ACCOUNTS ARE TRUE, Enyeama crossed the line first. He is not bigger than his boss.
Chief,
But don't you think Oliseh should have at least given Enyeama a heads up before the open discussion ?
From all accounts, it does not seem that happened.
We don't know that he did not. I do know that news of Musa's potential captaincy has been around for a while. But even if Oliseh did not inform Enyeama privately for whatever reason, you do not publicly embarrass your new boss for whatever reason. You are only asking to be slapped down.

My surprise is that nobody seems to question Enyeama's right to challenge his boss publicly. Perhaps because we are Nigerians and don't know how to behave in a work environment? Why do we not expect Enyeama to wait until the meeting is over, then go over to Oliseh and say quietly, "Oga, why did you do this to me now?"
How did he publically embarrass him? Do you trust Colin Udoh? Because he corroborated Muyiwa's version of the event. Enyeama wanted to explain his side why he was late etc and Oliseh told him to sit down. He is the captain and the longest serving SE EVER! EVER! He just buried his mom, he can't be allowed to explain himself?
If you're asked to sit down, you do so. When you decide to disobey the coach, you ask for what you get. If he's done with the SE, it's a shame but any coach worth his salt would kick him out of the team or mete out some punishment. Mourinho's first act as Madrid manager was to sell Raul and cut off Hierro. Why? He felt he had to assert himself and those two would never let him be the boss he wanted to be. Van Gaal is same. Some managers work that way.
Could/should the manager have been smarter and handled the issue with more delicacy? Yes. But there're no excuses for insubordination. There's a gross lack of communication AND leadership from BOTH oliseh and vincent. Leading isn't always done by showing who get power pass. From Oliseh's side, he could have let the guy interrupt him and finish talking then proceed to never invite him again thereby forced retirement. He could have let him talk and then quietly tell him never to do it again. There are many subtle ways of asserting authority. This all seems FORCED from Sunny. True greenhorn. To think people were complaining about keshi and siasia :rotf:
On Vince's part, when told to shut up, he could have swallowed it and accosted the manager privately. Both men let pride get in the way from the versions of the story we've heard.

No communication, no common sense.
Oliseh and Enyeam , you are both still loved by the SE fans

Can't we all just get along? Let love and peace reign for the good of our football... Mikel is still the best thing to happen to the SE :thumb:

Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Donzman

Post by Donzman »

I feed bad for Vincent, but this is how Nigeria treats her heroes. Nothing new.

Why would Oliseh strip Enyeama of the captaincy and not inform him? Players deserve respect just as much as coaches, unless the coach is going to do the actual playing himself.

Tomorrow, we'll wonder why players are not "dedicated."
Last edited by Donzman on Wed Oct 07, 2015 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cellular wrote: Prof., I agree with everything you stated. My point which I have maintained is that Sunny is the manager. There's a better way to deal with it.

At my every day job as a "senior executive", even on CE when provoked I try not to join issues. Because I have had experience knowing that you don't get people to follow you if you don't accord them respect. I can still wield whatever authority I think I have without being disrespectful unless you are Princess.

Sunny's inexperience was evident in the way he handled this.

Enyeama deserves better.
Ogbuefi, of course Sunny's inexperience is a big factor, but not in the way you see it. An inexperienced coach like him has to stamp his authority on the team, especially when a Big Boi on the team is trying to challenge it. He cannot be perceived as weak, which could happen if he had kept quiet while Enyeama was ranting.

Ogbuefi my man, you must know that when a new CEO shows up, he first kills a Big Fish to show everyone that he is not to be trifled with. It is a sound approach. With a new CEO, all senior executives keep their heads down. Enyeama put up his head for it to be cut off, instead of keeping down so Oliseh could pounce on another person.

wanaj0 wrote:No big deal. Enyeama, thanks for your services.

A new king is in town. Oliseh should have his way and be judged by his results.
Right, keep treating dedicated players like trash and then wonder why the good ones start to stay away...why parents are advising their kids in the diaspora to play for other countries...how is this not a big deal? :???:
Soja comes, Soja goes!

Oliseh wants his own players. He is the coach so he must be supported for as long he is getting results.

Vincent is no longer wanted by the coach. Vincent should move on! The longer he stays around the more insults you get. Move on and wish the team well!

Oliseh should do it his way BUT must get the desired results. No excuses!
Donzman

Post by Donzman »

ohsee wrote: Ogbuefi, of course Sunny's inexperience is a big factor, but not in the way you see it. An inexperienced coach like him has to stamp his authority on the team, especially when a Big Boi on the team is trying to challenge it. He cannot be perceived as weak, which could happen if he had kept quiet while Enyeama was ranting.

Ogbuefi my man, you must know that when a new CEO shows up, he first kills a Big Fish to show everyone that he is not to be trifled with. It is a sound approach. With a new CEO, all senior executives keep their heads down. Enyeama put up his head for it to be cut off, instead of keeping down so Oliseh could pounce on another person.
National team football is not a corporation and is not even like club football.

You only have 11 players to work with and cannot afford to alienate your top talents. You cannot hire another top talent like a CEO would, or buy another player like a club manager.

Who will replace Vincent? Benchwarmer Ikeme?
ume-ugo

Post by ume-ugo »

So basically Oliseh has seen how the other players look up to and respect Vince and feels uneasy about it. Oliseh S has always had a problem with authority. He was an *average player during his playing days and nothing more, but it seems his ego is a bit bigger than his actual contributions.

*Oliseh was embarrassed when his assistant pointed out that not only has Mikel had a better all-round performance for Nigeria, but the goalkeeper, a legend in the eastern part of the country has scored more professional league goals than he did. "I can't have that"! he exclaimed. "Musa will be my captain". :rotf:
Iron mustu obey!!

Donzman wrote:
ohsee wrote: Ogbuefi, of course Sunny's inexperience is a big factor, but not in the way you see it. An inexperienced coach like him has to stamp his authority on the team, especially when a Big Boi on the team is trying to challenge it. He cannot be perceived as weak, which could happen if he had kept quiet while Enyeama was ranting.

You only have 11 players to work with and cannot afford to alienate your top talents. You cannot hire another top talent like a CEO would, or buy another player like a club manager.

Nearly everything you said up there is wrong.
ume-ugo

Post by ume-ugo »

ohsee wrote:
Donzman wrote:

Nearly everything you said up there is wrong.
Oga Ohsee, since we are using analogies; why would you kill your 'biggest fish' if your company is valuated based on how many 'big fish' you can keep swimming?
Iron mustu obey!!

anointed wrote:
bouncino wrote:Guys,
This write up is laced with bad belle, hatred and innuendoes against the coach. If this article was written without such words as 'Oliseh's rant', 'implied', 'shut up and sit down', then it would have made more sense.
The write up shows so much dislike and maybe hatred for Oliseh. You could have related the events without making too much efforts to smear the coach and incite your readers against him.
In your breaking news the other day, you wrote that Enyeama refused to comply, now the story has changed to portray Enyeama as meek and respectful. What happened to shouting match earlier written?
Exactly what I was saying in the 'Breaking News' thread.

Let me put it this way. Keshi services agents' players, particularly, Tony Harris. Then enter 'Muyiwa Lawal', who is definitely not journalist but pretends he is one.

There's nobody in camp by the name 'Muyiwa Lawal' but some of the players feed the handle behind 'Muyiwa Lawal' of happenings in camp. I will even dare to say even Stephen Keshi himself could have been doing this with the line-ups that 'Muyiwa Lawal' was always so spot-on on.

Keshi larely gets good PR in the social media.

Arrives Oliseh who is not ready to play ball with any agent. Agent is now fighting back by writing materials that may be true to a lrage extent but in such a manner and diction that will vilify the coach.
Is there someone in Naijaria named "Anointed"? Of course it is a moniker.

What did he write that vilifies the coach?

What has he written that was false?

Every single 'journalist' on CE has been hounded out by folks who don't like to hear the truth. It seems we prefer to go with innuendos and beer parlour gist rather than actual reports.

You have gone from thread to thread denigrating the man... What exactly is his crime? He is not real? He should keep quiet?

The only thing remaining is for people to label him a tribalist or a bigot...
This is very shameful of you to tell blatant lie like this. Absolutely despicable. Except may be you can mention the 'thread to thread' apart from two threads on the SE camping that I contributed in.

And show how I denigrated 'Muyiwa Lawal'. While I don't agree with Oliseh's manner of handling the matter and while I've always said that the jury is still out on him being the SE coach in view of his lack of experience, it is very clear that 'Muyiwa Lawal' is out on hatchet job.

Why don't you let 'Muyiwa Lawal' respond to my query of what he wrote to vilify Oliseh instead of you telling lies in holding brief for him. May be I know the agent who's behind the moniker...may be he knows that may be I know.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

It these reports are true, then I wouldn't blame Vincent if he stops playing for Nigeria. It also sounds like Oliseh publicly disrespected Uwa. Part of how you gain the respect of others is showing respect to them. Sounds more like hevay handedness and tyranny than leadership.

Right, keep treating dedicated players like trash and then wonder why the good ones start to stay away...why parents are advising their kids in the diaspora to play for other countries...how is this not a big deal? :???:
Soja comes, Soja goes!

Oliseh wants his own players. He is the coach so he must be supported for as long he is getting results.

Vincent is no longer wanted by the coach. Vincent should move on! The longer he stays around the more insults you get. Move on and wish the team well!

Soja? WTF, are you ok? Should be supported in embarrassing our longest serving/most dedicated player ever? A player who just lost his mom and buried her over the weekend? Are you ok? National team players are nothing like Soldiers, its sad that you think this way, very sad...
mmeny

Post by mmeny »

How is this any different from the way Dad's, Uncles and the elderly in Nigeria to talk to their grown kids in front of their spouses, friends and even kids just to show they are your dad or deserve respect in every situation.

Sorry in Nigeria and among Nigerians respect is a ONE WAY STREET, so I am not surprised OLISEH didn't waste no time to start being disrespectful.

VE turned up to the training session in his car during Tue evening training, the ambassador was present and was due to be introduced to the members of the SE by the captain, Enyeama thinking it was his duty stepped forward but was told to step back by SO who called on Musa to assume the duties.
Yes this story doesn't tell how the full story whether a conversation was had with Enyeama prior to this event but it does read like Enyeama wasn't told from all accounts. So he steps up as the SE captain to perform his duty and what does our new SE coach do? You go it.... disrespect/humiliate him not only infront of his teammates but the Ambassador. You want to tell me this "put down" couldn't wait! It was just a training session. A bigger person here would have let Enyeama step up there finish his duties and then tell him going forward... Musa is the captain but he had to cut to bits right there no ifs or buts..Naija style!
Just because cat sabi swim no mean say him be catfish - M.I

Entyeama is obviously still grieving his late mother
Olivseh messed up the handling of it.
He needs to apologise to Vincent publicly imho

@muyiwa lawal
Anyone with an iota of common sense knows you are ce's most prized asset
Keep doing what you do
SolaceChukwu

Post by SolaceChukwu »

nemi2002 wrote:
lacidi wrote:Super Eagles head coach, Sunday Oliseh, has confirmed the appointment of Ahmed Musa as the new captain of the side, reports Completesportsnigeria.com.
Oliseh said he picked the CSKA Moscow of Russia forward because he is building a team for the future.
"There is no captain tussle. Going forward, I need a player who is a regular in the team and it is Ahmed Musa, who did a great job in Tanzania under difficult circumstances," Oliseh told Brila FM Wednesday morning.
"He is the captain of the team, not someboby who is thinking of retirement.
"A captain has to lead by example. We are not here to build stars.
"There is no talk of conforming, if you can't work with us you can leave."
Oliseh was apparently referring to Vincent Enyeama, whom he clashed with on Tuesday night in Belgium.
The Super Eagles will take on DR Congo in a friendly game on Thursday and then later confront Cameroon on Sunday at the Edmond Matchens Stadium, Brussels.

http://www.completesportsnigeria.com/ol ... s-captain/
What a shame! Who is not a regular, so VE should have played against TZ with his state of mind? Shame on Oliseh!
Not even taking a side here, but Enyeama played games for Lille either side of that international window. Is there a reason his state of mind was only a problem when the Super Eagles came calling? Genuinely curious.
Nigeria's greatest players of all time.
1. Stephen Keshi
2. Rashidi Yekini
3. Nwankwo Kanu
4. Segun Odegbami
5. Muda Lawal

OK...the lesson from this thread...NEVER vote for Ohsee if he runs for Naija presidency. He go wicked pass Idiagbon, chei! This man na real dictator. Him fit waya his pikins slap if den talk without permission. Obey before complain :lol: :lol: :lol:

I dont know if you are on twitter, but check out the accounts of a handle known as "mr Mowiz" @guysly2much. He is also pretty close to the SE and has a version of the story that states what enyeama said. He has been pretty reliable in the past. I rather not post the stuff here because it is more uncorroborated "heresay" which will just add more fuel to the fire.

muyiwalawal

Post by muyiwalawal »

anointed wrote:
This write up is laced with bad belle, hatred and innuendoes against the coach. If this article was written without such words as 'Oliseh's rant', 'implied', 'shut up and sit down', then it would have made more sense.
The write up shows so much dislike and maybe hatred for Oliseh. You could have related the events without making too much efforts to smear the coach and incite your readers against him.
In your breaking news the other day, you wrote that Enyeama refused to comply, now the story has changed to portray Enyeama as meek and respectful. What happened to shouting match earlier written?

Let me put it this way. Keshi services agents' players, particularly, Tony Harris. Then enter 'Muyiwa Lawal', who is definitely not journalist but pretends he is one.

There's nobody in camp by the name 'Muyiwa Lawal' but some of the players feed the handle behind 'Muyiwa Lawal' of happenings in camp. I will even dare to say even Stephen Keshi himself could have been doing this with the line-ups that 'Muyiwa Lawal' was always so spot-on on.

Arrives Oliseh who is not ready to play ball with any agent. Agent is now fighting back by writing materials that may be true to a lrage extent but in such a manner and diction that will vilify the coach.

Every single 'journalist' on CE has been hounded out by folks who don't like to hear the truth. It seems we prefer to go with innuendos and beer parlour gist rather than actual reports.

You have gone from thread to thread denigrating the man... What exactly is his crime? He is not real? He should keep quiet?

This is very shameful of you to tell blatant lie like this. Absolutely despicable. Except may be you can mention the 'thread to thread' apart from two threads on the SE camping that I contributed in.

And show how I denigrated 'Muyiwa Lawal'. While I don't agree with Oliseh's manner of handling the matter and while I've always said that the jury is still out on him being the SE coach in view of his lack of experience, it is very clear that 'Muyiwa Lawal' is out on hatchet job.

Why don't you let 'Muyiwa Lawal' respond to my query of what he wrote to vilify Oliseh instead of you telling lies in holding brief for him. May be I know the agent who's behind the moniker...may be he knows that may be I know.
Anointed,

It is not everything and anything people say that i respond to... Those who know me well know I have dropped hot gist about different happenings re Nigerian footie in general and not just SE inside gist. You obviously don't know me well or follow my twitter but most revered jornos foreign and domestic follow me and even cite/ quote me in articles. If you don't investigate, you don't have the right to speak. All you have to do is view post. I joined CE because i find it an very interesting forum with mostly mature people who live and breathe football with whom i can relate and not to carry out agendas as you claim after all what kind of agenda can one really carry out on this forum? People like you won't run me out by harassing me. You aren't the first and certainly won't be the last. if i wish to leave it will be of my own accord. I have no agenda and nothing against Sunny and don't work for any agent, agents or agency nor am i one. My agenda is to tell the truth as it is. Pure unadulterated truth. It may pain you that i feel Sunny's handling of Enyeama was amateurish, but thats my opinion. state yours and move on and don't presume you know me, my source, my agenda or anything about me for that matter because you obviously don't. I won't be commenting on this further. Thank you. God bless
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Muyiwa, as always thanks for the spoken and written truth. As for Oliseh, he has my support and always will. These so called senior boys can leave. In watching the Eagles from post Nations Cup 2013 to date, I cannot mention one of the players from then who is playing well for Nigeria. Not one. If they want to steppe and play well for the Eagles, great. If not, the door should be left open. This standing excuse about "If they get hurt.." We need hungry determined players. While they may not be better, they must be hugry and played in the right position.

The door should be shown to Echeijele, Mikel, Enyeama, Emenike, Efe are the biggest culprits. At one point or the other it is on record that each of these has either faked injury, created a distraction or sabotaged the Super eagles. Vince may be a gentleman but with all due respects, he has been on the wrong side of several controversy under three coaches. Wrong plane, wrong bus, wrong game location. Mind you he captained us to Nations Cup victory but either you want to play or you want to retire. He has been exemplary but enough already!!

anointed wrote:

Telling lies about you?

Seriously, you must a very bloated notion of who you are.

Listen, YOU GUYS WILL NOT HOUND ANOTHER NEWS SOURCE OUT OF CYBER EAGLES.

You can take it however you want it!!!

Soja comes, Soja goes!

Soja? WTF, are you ok? Should be supported in embarrassing our longest serving/most dedicated player ever? A player who just lost his mom and buried her over the weekend? Are you ok? National team players are nothing like Soldiers, its sad that you think this way, very sad...
Reality is that you only have one CAPTAIN in a ship. Right now, Oliseh is in charge and everyone has to fall in line. If you cannot work with Oliseh, you stay out. Oliseh is not perfect BUT for as long as he is getting the required results, no problem.

Fans are fickle. If Oliseh should go and win the WC with the SE, everyone will hail him and FORGET about the incident!

I have thanked Enyeama for his services. Seems both Oliseh and Enyeama cannot co exist together in the SE. Enyeama will be the one to give way!