Olympic team:Stuck in the "ATL"
- General Trousers
Re: Olympic team:Stuck in the "ATL"
Things with the football teams in Nigeria were getting very tight. The team more or less decided to camp itself in Atlanta to prepare because of uncertainty. As we observed with the U-20, Nigeria U20 failed to qualify for Zambia 2017 U20 Africa Cup of Nations. The players and coaches were not paid for months. The trip to Atlanta was rather strategic on the teams part. If they were not there, they would not have made it to Brazil.Rawlings wrote:Basketball team is being run from the US (not Naija)fabio wrote:Was the Atlanta trip planned with the ministry of sports?Purity wrote:The sports ministry and not NFf in charge of Olympic.
The Basketball team camped in America, why are they not facing the same issues as the football team. What did the basketball team do different?
<<
I know GEJ was no saint but I can't remember us having this embarrassing show in the last olympics under his administration, Buhari is just so aloof with happenings around him that one can't help but wonder if indelible cynicism is the problem here or just the fact that he is truly the dullard people call him
The camping at Atlanta was a show that allows Siasia to show off his capacity as the coach. Any
suggestion to the contrary is story telling. The teamcould have had a closed doors camping in Abuja
Or Uyo and nothing will be missed.
Our society still suffers from 'bigmanism' where self interest trumps common sense.
suggestion to the contrary is story telling. The teamcould have had a closed doors camping in Abuja
Or Uyo and nothing will be missed.
Our society still suffers from 'bigmanism' where self interest trumps common sense.
ome of her Tweets
nneka ikem @nnekaikem1
@kayagboola
The NFF only came to ask for money for this plane on Monday. The ministry paid N80m equivalent of $174,000 to an NFF agent's acc
Flight arrangements were made by NFF's agent and yet agent said the flight won't move until their hotel bills had been fully settled.
Colin NOT Collins Retweeted
nneka ikem
@kayagboola First of all, the trip to USA for training was not approved by the ministry cos the budget was yet to be implemented.
nneka ikem @nnekaikem1
@kayagboola The Minister is incharge but remember teams have been OFFICIALLY handed over to the NOC. We waded in to save a bad situation
nekaikem1
@Ms_Ojo officially 25 players and officials were accredited for the games. Now they are 32!
@kayagboola The NFF only came to ask for money for this plane on Monday. The ministry paid N80m equivalent of $174,000 to an NFF agent's acc
nneka ikem @nnekaikem1
@kayagboola
The NFF only came to ask for money for this plane on Monday. The ministry paid N80m equivalent of $174,000 to an NFF agent's acc
Flight arrangements were made by NFF's agent and yet agent said the flight won't move until their hotel bills had been fully settled.
Colin NOT Collins Retweeted
nneka ikem
@kayagboola First of all, the trip to USA for training was not approved by the ministry cos the budget was yet to be implemented.
nneka ikem @nnekaikem1
@kayagboola The Minister is incharge but remember teams have been OFFICIALLY handed over to the NOC. We waded in to save a bad situation
nekaikem1
@Ms_Ojo officially 25 players and officials were accredited for the games. Now they are 32!
@kayagboola The NFF only came to ask for money for this plane on Monday. The ministry paid N80m equivalent of $174,000 to an NFF agent's acc
Why would an organization like the NOC not have in place a standard system of working out
logistics for the movement of teams or individuals? I guess our 'oga them' detest simplicity
and clarity as this not help their 'wuru-wuru' agenda.
I would like to know how the NOC officials get around.
logistics for the movement of teams or individuals? I guess our 'oga them' detest simplicity
and clarity as this not help their 'wuru-wuru' agenda.
I would like to know how the NOC officials get around.
The Ministry of Sports - Minister should be sacked with immediate effect for sheer incompetence of the nth order...
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Delta Airlines acting out of charity?General Trousers wrote:Federal Govt. Did not charter anything. Delta Airlines has acted out of charity and you can take that to the bank.
If FG chartered plane, why did they not do it sooner.
<<<

I thought natives like you were extinct?

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
And you are sure he is to be blamed?okuns wrote:The Ministry of Sports - Minister should be sacked with immediate effect for sheer incompetence of the nth order...
Once they shout ole ole ole... jos pour fuel and light him on fire?
What's the fault of the Minister. The team was OFFICIALLY handed over to the NOC.okuns wrote:The Ministry of Sports - Minister should be sacked with immediate effect for sheer incompetence of the nth order...
- General Trousers
I have been telling you guys everything even before the thing hit the news. Delta Airlines personally intervened from the higest levels of their organization ... Una never hear finish.Cellular wrote:Delta Airlines acting out of charity?General Trousers wrote:Federal Govt. Did not charter anything. Delta Airlines has acted out of charity and you can take that to the bank.
If FG chartered plane, why did they not do it sooner.
<<<![]()
I thought natives like you were extinct?
<<
- General Trousers
Do not listen to this nneka ikem person. Tsssk. Nigeria was supposed to fly out July 29th, there was nothing, so they stranda completely since then.
<
<
Cellular, like I am maintained. This is a orchestrated campaign against the Minister (partly because he is a Northerner and sponsored by Pinnicks friends in the media). Why can't they issue a rejoinder on the tweets by the Minister's SA?
Why should we not listen to her?General Trousers wrote:Do not listen to this nneka ikem person. Tsssk. Nigeria was supposed to fly out July 29th, there was nothing, so they stranda completely since then.
<
- Cellular
- Site Admin
But he seems to be the only one doing critical thinking...Bigpokey24 wrote:please ban fabio
- Cellular
- Site Admin
I agree 100%fabio wrote:Cellular, like I am maintained. This is a orchestrated campaign against the Minister (partly because he is a Northerner and sponsored by Pinnicks friends in the media). Why can't they issue a rejoinder on the tweets by the Minister's SA?
They can spin it any way they want. This is the fault of the Minister of Sports. The Olympics is the responsibility of the Minister of Sports not the NFF.
Use your brain. The team was handed over to the NOC. Yet, you blame the minister.ohenhen1 wrote:They can spin it any way they want. This is the fault of the Minister of Sports. The Olympics is the responsibility of the Minister of Sports not the NFF.
- General Trousers
* Nigeria camped in Atlanta and played 1 friendly.
* Their plan was to fly out the week of the 29th. Attempts to depart were compounded by lack of flights (commercial flights were sold out) to Brazil and lack of funds (which were not released).
* As the 11th hour approached, they secured a charter flight, a 747 wet-leased. But the plane would not move until money was paid up front. Attempts to wire the money were bogged down in the complexities of securing the money, wire transfers, bank times and US wire transfer laws (you cannot transfer funds in excess of a certain amount like that).
* As things looked grim, an appeal was made on local Atlanta TV. The team had local sponsors in the City of Atlanta, Hartsfield Airport, Dekalb County and Delta Airlines (as a supporter).
* The highest levels of management of Delta Airlines personally intervened (Atlanta - Nigeria is their busiest route).
This is what happened ... IN Summary. The stories of this person sent money and that person sent money sound nice, but show me the money
<<
* Their plan was to fly out the week of the 29th. Attempts to depart were compounded by lack of flights (commercial flights were sold out) to Brazil and lack of funds (which were not released).
* As the 11th hour approached, they secured a charter flight, a 747 wet-leased. But the plane would not move until money was paid up front. Attempts to wire the money were bogged down in the complexities of securing the money, wire transfers, bank times and US wire transfer laws (you cannot transfer funds in excess of a certain amount like that).
* As things looked grim, an appeal was made on local Atlanta TV. The team had local sponsors in the City of Atlanta, Hartsfield Airport, Dekalb County and Delta Airlines (as a supporter).
* The highest levels of management of Delta Airlines personally intervened (Atlanta - Nigeria is their busiest route).
This is what happened ... IN Summary. The stories of this person sent money and that person sent money sound nice, but show me the money

<<
General Trousers wrote:* Nigeria camped in Atlanta and played 1 friendly.
<<