Final List: 23 Super Eagles of Nigeria players invited for Rwanda & Zimbabwe World Cup Qualifiers in March

Re: Final List: 23 Super Eagles of Nigeria players invited for Rwanda & Zimbabwe World Cup Qualifiers in March

danfo driver wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 4:05 pm
Dammy wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 2:22 pm
Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 2:02 pm
Lolly wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 1:55 pm
Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 1:36 pm
Lolly wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 12:03 pm
Is it this Frank Onyeka abi na anoda one?
Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeew. :roll:
At least we have seen Frank in the GWG and he has never disappointed. Have you seen Papa Mustapha?

Una eye go clear soon.
We were losing with them...
And Papa Mustapha wasn't on the field nor was Chelle the coach.

You can go to the 4 WCQ game threads if your memory is failing you.
Has Onyeka played any game in our WCQs?
Thank you! Please ask him the same question he used to defend Backwater Ekong.

Come to think of it, Uncle Cellular, the two players you like well well are both in retirement leagues? :lol: :lol:
I am going to check the Qualifiers and come back.
I had to defend Captain Ekong. The AFCON MVP that you were denigrating.

Onyeka is a pure jambodi... not someone who should be used as an excuse for questioning the integrity and merit of the list.

Re: Final List: 23 Super Eagles of Nigeria players invited for Rwanda & Zimbabwe World Cup Qualifiers in March

danfo driver wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 7:44 pm
Lolly wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 7:07 pm Should we tell him?

This one is still crying because Musa, his benefactor, did not make it. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Several countries, including Brazil, named a large squad and then cut it down. He should go and ask Brazil why? But I guess Musa is not there to campaign for, so no point. :roll:

I really see no problem with naming an initial squad of 39 just the same way it is for tournaments and then selecting an actual list of those invited to train from that list.

In my view, here is why that process is used. (1) You must send an invitation to a larger number of players (than 23) because clubs must receive these invitations within a certain window or else clubs are free to reject them, according to FIFA rules, (2) Because these invitations are sent way ahead of when players are to camp, it is anticipated that some will be injured, and (3) to ensure that you have 23 physically able to play/camp, you often invited more than the necessary 23.

In this case, however, a larger number than what is usually invited is listed because a new manager is involved and that manager may not necessarily have known/seen all players and thus it is better to have a larger pool. The manager then has a large pool from which to pare down to a preferred 23.

Just my tuppence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Come to think of it, Uncle Cellular, the two players you like well well are both in retirement leagues? :lol: :lol:
Chief Dammy.

Onyeka has played 2 games. And has been an unused sub for the last two games.
Match day 1- Naija vs Mighty Lesotho - our midfield was Iheanacho, Iwobi, Onyeka and Lookman
Match day 2 - Zimbabwe vs Naija - midfield of Simon, Iwobi, Onyeka, Tella

Then AFCON
Post AFCON

Match day 3 - Naija vs South Africa - midfield of Iheanacho, Iwobi, Ndidi, FDB (Onyeka was an used sub).
Match day 4 - Benin vs Naija midfield of Onyedika, Ndidi, Iwobi, Chukwueze (Onyeka, an unused sub).

He has played in 2 qualifiers.
And has been an unused subs in the last two qualifiers.

That's the guy DD is mounting a crusade for.

The more telling thing like I told him on the thread where he was denigrating Captain Ekong was that both Ekong and Osimhen are yet to play in any World Cup qualifiers.

It was not a coincidence that Ekong's leadership was needed to right the ship at the AFCON. It is still needed for the qualifiers as the team hasn't been the same without him.

Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 14, 2025 8:31 pm

Chief Dammy.

Match day 1- Naija vs Mighty Lesotho - our midfield was Iheanacho, Iwobi, Onyeka and Lookman

Then AFCON
Post AFCON

Match day 3 - Naija vs South Africa - midfield of Iheanacho, Iwobi, Ndidi, FDB (Onyeka was an used sub).
Match day 4 - Benin vs Naija midfield of Onyedika, Ndidi, Iwobi, Chukwueze (Onyeka, an unused sub).

The more telling thing like I told him on the thread where he was denigrating Captain Ekong was that both Ekong and Osimhen are yet to play in any World Cup qualifiers.

It was not a coincidence that Ekong's leadership was needed to right the ship at the AFCON. It is still needed for the qualifiers as the team hasn't been the same without him.
Thanks for the update. I know he didn’t play in the recent WCQs against South Africa in Uyo and Benin in Abidjan because he was injured but not sure if he played in the earlier WCQs

I think you are mistaking me for the journalist - Oma Akatugba.

I dont have anything to do with Onyeka. My position is very clear -- PICK players on merit. You cannot go to retirement leagues and pick players from there and you want to compete. Are you kidding me? Especially when you go to a retirement league that jsut started and the player cannot be fully match fit and you want to play do-or-die games? Yet, another player who has played 22 games, in th middle of a season for a much better club in a much better league??

What is merit to you guys?

If you think Onyeka is sh1t, fine! No problem. I dont know him and I dont care for him. Uche is there in Getafe! dont go to retirement leagues and pick players who have just started their season.

is that too much to ask?

Chief Dammy.

Then AFCON
Post AFCON

onovo

Post by onovo »

Those jounalist are part of the problem. Was it not Tobi who was promoting Tanimu? and also Sodiq? I weak for our journalist.
danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 2:04 am I think you are mistaking me for the journalist - Oma Akatugba.

I dont have anything to do with Onyeka. My position is very clear -- PICK players on merit. You cannot go to retirement leagues and pick players from there and you want to compete. Are you kidding me? Especially when you go to a retirement league that jsut started and the player cannot be fully match fit and you want to play do-or-die games? Yet, another player who has played 22 games, in th middle of a season for a much better club in a much better league??

What is merit to you guys?

If you think Onyeka is sh1t, fine! No problem. I dont know him and I dont care for him. Uche is there in Getafe! dont go to retirement leagues and pick players who have just started their season.

is that too much to ask?

Chief Dammy.

Then AFCON
Post AFCON

Hopefully, we have enough to get the job done against Rwanda and Zimbabwe, but the selection could be much better. We are thin in key areas. I do not know if some of the options not called are not interested, or if injuries or admin issues are to blame for lack of availability.

The GK and backline are quite thin.

GK
- We are a Nwabali injury away from panic and possible trouble. Bankole has seemed like the weak link when one sits to watch Remo. Obasogie is not better.

Christian Nwoke looked like the best domestic keeper last year, but somehow only managed to land in a 2nd or 3rd division team in Denmark. It can be tough for an African GK to move abroad, and even the likes of Elahor and Uche Okechukwu who were SE starters had to go to Denmark, but lower levels? C'mon. I can't advocate for his call till he finds a way up in Europe.

Noah Atubolu and Arthur Okonkwo should be the other two SE GKs behind and beside Nwabali.

I have no insight into their interest, commitment and admin status, but we need one or both urgently.

Backline

Jordan Torunarigha's arrival is welcome. A left footed CD will plug some holes and bring some versitility. Bassey has struggled sometimes, and while Troost was deservedly MVP at AFCON, he has also had his moment of lapses. There is no pride in saying that Semi Ajayi has been our most consistent and error free defender over the last 2-3 years.

It would be nice to have Jordan, Olisah Ndah, Benjamin Franklin and maybe Tosin Adarabioyo in the mix. Not sure if the door has closed on Kevin Akpoguna and why if so.

For the wide backs, if Zaidu is back, he should be in the mix.

Middle

Frank 'the tank' Onyeka was one of our best players in AFCON. There is no reason for him not to be part of an SE 23, especially with FDB's absence.

I have no problem with Aribo's invitation, given the absence of Onyeka or FDB (I'll choose both ahead of Aribo). Aribo looked poor in the Nation's cup coming off an injury, but was decent for Nigeria before then. He is still a starter for a Premiership Club (for now).

I would not invite Alhassan Yusuf or Papa Daniel to the SE. The calls look off.

Frontline.

Not much to be said. More than enough to get the job done.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Mar 11, 2025 3:55 pm THE GOOD

No Musa. He and his PR team can fock off.

4 wingers and the return of Tella. We often only have 3 in a squad.

THE BAD

Only 3 central defenders.

No Ejuke. For a team that struggles with creativity, he should have found his way into this team.

It seems the 3 homebased players thing is official. The NFF are corrupt clowns.

THE DOWNRIGHT SCANDALOUS

Papa Daniel ? Over Onyeka, Uche Chrisantus, Fisayo

truetalk wrote: Wed Mar 19, 2025 12:41 am Hopefully, we have enough to get the job done against Rwanda and Zimbabwe, but the selection could be much better. We are thin in key areas. I do not know if some of the options not called are not interested, or if injuries or admin issues are to blame for lack of availability.

The GK and backline are quite thin.

GK
- We are a Nwabali injury away from panic and possible trouble. Bankole has seemed like the weak link when one sits to watch Remo. Obasogie is not better.

Christian Nwoke looked like the best domestic keeper last year, but somehow only managed to land in a 2nd or 3rd division team in Denmark. It can be tough for an African GK to move abroad, and even the likes of Elahor and Uche Okechukwu who were SE starters had to go to Denmark, but lower levels? C'mon. I can't advocate for his call till he finds a way up in Europe.

Noah Atubolu and Arthur Okonkwo should be the other two SE GKs behind and beside Nwabali.

I have no insight into their interest, commitment and admin status, but we need one or both urgently.
Nwoke had a decent debut season, but to say he was the best is a stretch. Amas not only proved himself in the country but also at the continental level. Though Bankole has been 2nd choice for Remo this season we shouldn't forget the past 3 seasons where he was the most consistent GK in the Domestic scene.