Re: AKPAN UDOH
Txj has a history of making these insinuations. Even then someone like NEPA took his time to contest Txj's analysis without attacking him. The fact is that his points make no sense.theYemster wrote:But that's the point I am trying to make. We know there is rampant age cheating and it still goes on hence why it should be checked out just to be sure. txj provided a legit reason regarding the timeline. It doesn't prove three kid is overage but it should warrant a cross checking.aruako1 wrote:He raised a point and I believe that the responses have adequately addressed his concerns. I will not accept information that has a negative effect on a person's reputation without proof. Hence I did not accept Adokiye's claims until he produced sufficient evidence. If Txj provides sufficient evidence many will agree with him. We know that there is cheating but we do not know that Akpan Udog cheated. In fact the available information suggests that he did not cheat.theYemster wrote:This thread is good example of why Nigeria is a mess.
Someone raised a legitimate point about an issue that's plagued us for decades. Even if the boy does proves to be within the age limit, it's still a valid question txj asked. Whether we like it or not, due to our history, many including myself are always going to be skeptical until we develop a more efficient record keeping process. This is a question where a careful investigation oughta be carried out quietly just to be sure rather than attack the messenger. It's the only way we will completely rid ourselves of this plague. This has nothing to do with the Mexicans or other outsiders for that matter. It is for our own benefit and for the benefit of legit under 17 players who would be denied a chance should an overage player slip through the cracks.
The reaction here reminds me of how CE reacted to Adokie and Ikwereman outing the 2007?? squad. And they ended up being vindicated. Ikman I believe has eventually disengaged from CE since then.
That said personally speaking I can't vouch for any of these players. This doesn't mean I think they're overage. No not at all. I'm saying I just don't know and I won't stake my life on it. For the foreseeable future I will subconsciously adopt this mindset. It is what it is.
It's not the same as claiming the kid is overage which is what Adokie did. For that you require actual proof more concrete than what txj provided.
For those who think we've crossed that age cheating hurdle, I'm sorry we haven't. It's not just in footy, civil servants and other officials lie about their age so they can stay longer before retirement. I know of a chose friend who recently died and had his fake/younger DOB on his obituary so that his employers won't know he falsified it when he got employed.
We have no choice but to always remain skeptical until further notice. It's even for these kids benefit as well as ours.
No, he wouldn't be, as the competition is for those 17 years and younger (born on or after January 1, 1998)...theYemster wrote:And FYI even if he is a year older, he is still overage and thus cheating even if it is a significant improvement on past cheating. The real victims are the genuine u17s being denied an opportunity.
- theYemster
I meant even if he was overage by only a year.Gotti wrote:No, he wouldn't be, as the competition is for those 17 years and younger (born on or after January 1, 1998)...theYemster wrote:And FYI even if he is a year older, he is still overage and thus cheating even if it is a significant improvement on past cheating. The real victims are the genuine u17s being denied an opportunity.
© ɹ ǝ ʇ s ɯ é ʎ ǝ ɥ ʇ" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
- Cristao II
No one has said that. If anyone has attacked him personally, that would probably be in the minority. For the most part, I have observed people patiently advising him and some might have lost their temper due to txj's stubbornness.theYemster wrote:Yes but my point is the personal attack as to why he should even bring it up. Like how dare he.Gotti wrote:Sorry, but I do not see anything wrong with the thread...theYemster wrote:This thread is good example of why Nigeria is a mess.
Someone raised a legitimate point about an issue that's plagued us for decades. Even if the boy does proves to be within the age limit, it's still a valid question txj asked. Whether we like it or not, due to our history, many including myself are always going to be skeptical until we develop a more efficient record keeping process. This is a question where a careful investigation oughta be carried out quietly just to be sure rather than attack the messenger. It's the only way we will completely rid ourselves of this plague. This has nothing to do with the Mexicans or other outsiders for that matter. It is for our own benefit and for the benefit of legit under 17 players who would be denied a chance should an overage player slip through the cracks.
The reaction here reminds me of how CE reacted to Adokie and Ikwereman outing the 2007?? squad. And they ended up being vindicated. Ikman I believe has eventually disengaged from CE since then.
That said personally speaking I can't vouch for any of these players. This doesn't mean I think they're overage. No not at all. I'm saying I just don't know and I won't stake my life on it. For the foreseeable future I will subconsciously adopt this mindset. It is what it is.
TXJ raised an issue based on certain predicate, and many have addressed the predicate.
It was a legitimate issue he raised.
I was 10 years old when I left primary school.
I was 15 years old when I finished my O Levels (old Forms 1-5)
I was 17 years old when I finished my A Levels (Lower & Upper 6)
Why is Udoh's age in doubt?
The educational system in Iperu is not as simple as thatogiso wrote:I was 10 years old when I left primary school.
Chief, i dont think anyone attacked txj. The thread got a little tense because he lied about the facts he presently and when he was caught, he still carried on. If you want to see his lies, go through page 3 and 4 of this thread. Chief, if you Google akpan Udoh, what comes up on the first page is this thread. If you are going to accuse him of being a cheat, you better be right about the facts, because at the end of the day, that's the boy bread and butter. I stood up with Adokie back then because he presented credible back up. TXJ made up this $#% bro. The evidence he provided showed that akpan finished high school few weeks ago!theYemster wrote:Yes but my point is the personal attack as to why he should even bring it up. Like how dare he.Gotti wrote:Sorry, but I do not see anything wrong with the thread...theYemster wrote:This thread is good example of why Nigeria is a mess.
TXJ raised an issue based on certain predicate, and many have addressed the predicate.
Re: Re: AKPAN UDOH
His error was;theYemster wrote:I haven't gone through the entire thread. Where did he lie?wanaj0 wrote:Yemster, he was attacked because he LIED just to prove a non existing point.
Udoh is not on CE so who is he asking the question? Why not conduct investigation before trying to destroy the image of a teenager?
Yes I cannot vouch for you but it will be irresponsible of me to start to question yoyr integrity without proof and in a place where you are not available to defend yourself.
Have cheated before? Yes. Same thing with Mexico, Brazil etc! Not sure everyone from that country is considered a cheat like we are doing now.
If you have evidence of any falsification of age, bring it out! Dont however hide under anonymity to malign people's character.
1. He changed a date in his chronological lineup to fit his theory.
2. When confronted with it he lied about using same date .
3. The date in question wAs that this kid was in SS2 in 2013 while the article stated otherwise
If you correct that error on his part , the story is a non starter. He started callin people "bitches" when confronted. So please read the early posts before you support him.
Nobody is for age cheats , all we asked of him was to base his innuendos on facts and not trumped up ones.
It said he was in SS2 in 2013 not SS3. It was the 2013/14 school year so he finished SS3 this year.
metalalloy wrote:Here you go.. Unfortunately most of these are PDF docs without url links i can post.
That's on Page 2.In Nigeria, a substantial proportion of primary school pupils falls outside the official age range for primary schooling: whereas the primary school NAR is 60 percent, the GAR is 91, indicating that for every 60 pupils age 6-11, there are 31 pupils who are either younger than age 6 or older than age 11. As is the case with the NAR, the male GAR (98) exceeds the female GAR (84), producing a gender parity index of 0.86.
dhsprogram.com/pubs/pdf/ED5/05chapter05.pdf
Another site saying 40% of primary school students are younger than than the official age for the grade that they are attending.
http://www.epdc.org/sites/default/files ... eusaid.pdf
Another site in case the first two are not enough has a 20 page PDF stating the same thing. Unfortunately, its a PDF without a URL i can past. The title of the PDF is DHS Ed Data Education Profile Nigeria 1990 and 2003. This is their quote
Here are screenshots:In 2003 and 1990, 1 in 3 primary school students was outside (either younger than or older than the official school age range of age 6-11)
As you can see from above. There are huge disparities in the number of kids who start school at age 6. Studies linked above show that as much as 40% start either younger or older than age 6.
This is shocking. You apparently cannot read the data you posted!
Let me give you a quote from your own report:
"Since the official age of entry is age 6 in Nigeria, a grade 1 student who is 6 or 7 is considered to be on time, a student age 8 or older is considered to be overage, and a student age 5 or under is under age".
So from the bar graph you posted, nearly 70% of kids are between 6 and 8yrs at entry.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
The irony of it! Lied about what?NEPA wrote:Chief, i dont think anyone attacked txj. The thread got a little tense because he lied about the facts he presently and when he was caught, he still carried on. If you want to see his lies, go through page 3 and 4 of this thread. Chief, if you Google akpan Udoh, what comes up on the first page is this thread. If you are going to accuse him of being a cheat, you better be right about the facts, because at the end of the day, that's the boy bread and butter. I stood up with Adokie back then because he presented credible back up. TXJ made up this $#% bro. The evidence he provided showed that akpan finished high school few weeks ago!theYemster wrote:Yes but my point is the personal attack as to why he should even bring it up. Like how dare he.Gotti wrote:Sorry, but I do not see anything wrong with the thread...theYemster wrote:This thread is good example of why Nigeria is a mess.
You are here lying about the fact I have been attacked personally from the first page of this thread; the evidence is right here on this thread and u are lying about it!
The issue I raised about the chronology of Udoh's biodata not adding up remains!
To counter it, you would have to perpetuate the myth that nobody begins primary school in Nigeria at 6yrs. There is no official data that supports this. You would have to rely on the tales by moonlight of age apologists lining up one after the other to tell tales of how they started primary school at 3 and 4, skipped classes, because primary 6 is extinct in Nigeria!
Even the data presented by Metalalloy shows the majority of kids fall between 6 and 8yrs at start of primary school!
You opening post...txj wrote:The irony of it! Lied about what?NEPA wrote:Chief, i dont think anyone attacked txj. The thread got a little tense because he lied about the facts he presently and when he was caught, he still carried on. If you want to see his lies, go through page 3 and 4 of this thread. Chief, if you Google akpan Udoh, what comes up on the first page is this thread. If you are going to accuse him of being a cheat, you better be right about the facts, because at the end of the day, that's the boy bread and butter. I stood up with Adokie back then because he presented credible back up. TXJ made up this $#% bro. The evidence he provided showed that akpan finished high school few weeks ago!theYemster wrote:Yes but my point is the personal attack as to why he should even bring it up. Like how dare he.Gotti wrote:Sorry, but I do not see anything wrong with the thread...theYemster wrote:This thread is good example of why Nigeria is a mess.
You are here lying about the fact I have been attacked personally from the first page of this thread; the evidence is right here on this thread and u are lying about it!
The issue I raised about the chronology of Udoh's biodata not adding up remains!
To counter it, you would have to perpetuate the myth that nobody begins primary school in Nigeria at 6yrs. There is no official data that supports this. You would have to rely on the tales by moonlight of age apologists lining up one after the other to tell tales of how they started primary school at 3 and 4, skipped classes, because primary 6 is extinct in Nigeria!
Even the data presented by Metalalloy shows the majority of kids fall between 6 and 8yrs at start of primary school!
Last edited by txj on 08 Nov 2015 11:50, edited 1 time in total. . After your Edit;How could he have spent 5 years in secondary school between 2011 and 2013?
4th post;How could he be in SS2 in 2014, based on his primary school starting date?
Next Page of this thread;How can he be in SS2 in 2013, given the chronology outlined above?
Page 3;Its the Math, b1tches!!!
To NEPA clarifying the article and pointing out your error;Even if w accept that the article in fact means what you have said, the chronology then reads like this:
2011/12: JS 1
2012/13: JS 2
2013/14: JS 3
2014/15: SS1
NEPA:There is no rational explanation for his being in SS2 in 2014, based on the chronology published.
Txj Slight Change of tune;I don't recall anyone here saying they started primary school straight from the womb. I do recall you though saying Udoh was in SS2 in 2013, which is not true. You don't believe folks when they told you they started school early but you want us to believe you that Udoh was in SS2 in 2013, even though you lied about it. Interesting....!
Damunk calling you out;I have not said Udoh is overaged. I have only said that the chronology that places him in SS2 in 2014 does not add up.
I thought you were first insisting he was in SS2 in 2013.
Or am I missing something?
Abi you don move goalposts again?
So make of this sequence what you may.

NEPA drew my attention to the mistake in my OP about the newspaper report. The newspaper article is dated 2014, NOT 2013 as I mistakenly assumed.
However, even with that, based on his starting primary school at 6yrs, like the vast majority of Nigerian kids, the chronology still does not add up! That point has NEVER changed....and it has not still being debunked...
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
"Since the official age of entry is age 6 in Nigeria, a grade 1 student who is 6 or 7 is considered to be on time, a student age 8 or older is considered to be overage, and a student age 5 or under is under age".
So from the bar graph you posted, nearly 70% of kids are between 6 and 8yrs at entry.

There you go pivoting yet again disingenuously. There is no dispute that there are kids between the ages of 6 and 8 at primary 1. The point is that there are also kids who are ages 5 or younger in grade 1!!!!! That was the point being debated!!!!! A point that has been confirmed by NUMEROUS people in this thread, and a point you repeatedly dismissed while harping on the "official" age of 6 years you pulled from the world bank.

No one in this thread (please point out who did) agrued that NO ONE started at age 6! They have said that it is possible to start primary 1 at an age younger than age 6, a point which you dismiss as fairy tales. "Vast Majority" is not equal to EVERY BODY and the fact that you dismiss the inability of Udoh to have started at an age younger than 6 to the fact that he is a footballer is quite shocking!
The chart above from my rough estimation shows that about 15% of kids in Nigeria are under age 5 at primary 1 is your position that none of those kids are or could be footballers?

Wow! All u have to do is look at the responses!metalalloy wrote:txj wrote:
There you go pivoting yet again disingenuously. There is no dispute that there are kids between the ages of 6 and 8 at primary 1. The point is that there are also kids who are ages 5 or younger in grade 1!!!!! That was the point being debated!!!!! A point that has been confirmed by NUMEROUS people in this thread, and a point you repeatedly dismissed while harping on the "official" age of 6 years you pulled from the world bank.![]()
No one in this thread (please point out who did) agrued that NO ONE started at age 6! They have said that it is possible to start primary 1 at an age younger than age 6, a point which you dismiss as fairy tales. "Vast Majority" is not equal to EVERY BODY and the fact that you dismiss the inability of Udoh to have started at an age younger than 6 to the fact that he is a footballer is quite shocking!
The chart above from my rough estimation shows that about 15% of kids in Nigeria are under age 5 at primary 1 is your position that none of those kids are or could be footballers?
The position by the age apologists is that most kids start earlier than 6 and that primary 6 is near extinct in Nigeria. That is proven false from your own data!
And I never said the highlighted portions. My point is that the majority of kids in Nigeria start primary school at 6 years.
In addition I recognized that true, kids do start younger, and I game MYSELF as an example, but it was not the norm, but the exception...
And I maintain that kids with the background from where the typical footballer comes, do not start school early.
@ Metalalloy:
Below is the very first response to my OP.
wanaj0 wrote:Maybe because he is not the USUAL. Many prople spend ONLY 5 years in primary school.
I was out of primary school before I was 10yrs!
Most Nigerians start primary school at 4/5yrs, finish primary at 10/11yrs.
That said, instead of depending on unverifiable sources, get the boy to answer your questions. If you are a journalist of repute, he will be willing to speak with you!
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
txj wrote:@ Metalalloy:
wanaj0 wrote:Maybe because he is not the USUAL. Many prople spend ONLY 5 years in primary school.
That said, instead of depending on unverifiable sources, get the boy to answer your questions. If you are a journalist of repute, he will be willing to speak with you!
Fair enough. I personally do not fall in the camp that say that most kids start earlier than 6yrs old unless things have changed drastically in recent times. That being said, we will have to agree to disagree with regards to the background of footballers and the age they start school.
If we 'attack' you now, you go claim victimisation.theYemster wrote:I meant even if he was overage by only a year.Gotti wrote:No, he wouldn't be, as the competition is for those 17 years and younger (born on or after January 1, 1998)...theYemster wrote:And FYI even if he is a year older, he is still overage and thus cheating even if it is a significant improvement on past cheating. The real victims are the genuine u17s being denied an opportunity.
What you just said here is typical txj wriggling from a 'trapped blockos' position.

The Yemster is far more concise than to say "FYI even if he is a year overage, he is still overage and thus cheating"; rather, you'd go straight to the point and say "FYI even if he is a year overage, he is still cheating" Gotti dom catch your balls with that small piece of info, you come dey form like say naim you dey talk before.

Meanwhile, you say the real victims are 'genuine U17s denied an opportunity', but you are quite ready to deny these same 'genuine U17s' the opportunity based on your Osonduphobia. No qualms about denying Udo the opportunity because you feel he might be 'overage' and it makes him fair game by default simply by being an 'Under 17' player in Nigeria.
Which kine logical fallacy be dis?

- theYemster
I'm not wriggling anything. From the conversation it is clear what I was trying to say. Because the consensus here in the recent past has been well some of the players after still overage but it's only buy a couple of years and they aren't as bad as it used to be in the past when 30 year olds pretended to be u17. So when people were saying it's just one year off I wanted to buyers buttress the point that even a year overage is still cheating.Damunk wrote:If we 'attack' you now, you go claim victimisation.theYemster wrote:I meant even if he was overage by only a year.Gotti wrote:No, he wouldn't be, as the competition is for those 17 years and younger (born on or after January 1, 1998)...theYemster wrote:And FYI even if he is a year older, he is still overage and thus cheating even if it is a significant improvement on past cheating. The real victims are the genuine u17s being denied an opportunity.
What you just said here is typical txj wriggling from a 'trapped blockos' position.![]()
The Yemster is far more concise than to say "FYI even if he is a year overage, he is still overage and thus cheating"; rather, you'd go straight to the point and say "FYI even if he is a year overage, he is still cheating" Gotti dom catch your balls with that small piece of info, you come dey form like say naim you dey talk before.![]()
Meanwhile, you say the real victims are 'genuine U17s denied an opportunity', but you are quite ready to deny these same 'genuine U17s' the opportunity based on your Osonduphobia. No qualms about denying Udo the opportunity because you feel he might be 'overage' and it makes him fair game by default simply by being an 'Under 17' player in Nigeria.
Secondly, I'm not denying Udoh any opportunity and neither is txj...yet. All I've said is that any deviation from the norm should be properly investigated just to be sure. If the kid is truly within the age limit then all is well. What's the harm in that except maybe a little hurt feelings?
As for the allegations of lying against txj like I said I haven't had time to carefully read through the thread. I know txj can be a rabble-rouser and thus his reputation may be preceding him, but the little I read from his original post seemed to have some merit. Of course if I read they l through in its entirety my opinion may change...and it may not.
My son is 7 years old and he is in Primary 3txj wrote:The irony of it! Lied about what?NEPA wrote:Chief, i dont think anyone attacked txj. The thread got a little tense because he lied about the facts he presently and when he was caught, he still carried on. If you want to see his lies, go through page 3 and 4 of this thread. Chief, if you Google akpan Udoh, what comes up on the first page is this thread. If you are going to accuse him of being a cheat, you better be right about the facts, because at the end of the day, that's the boy bread and butter. I stood up with Adokie back then because he presented credible back up. TXJ made up this $#% bro. The evidence he provided showed that akpan finished high school few weeks ago!theYemster wrote:Yes but my point is the personal attack as to why he should even bring it up. Like how dare he.Gotti wrote:Sorry, but I do not see anything wrong with the thread...theYemster wrote:This thread is good example of why Nigeria is a mess.
Take a look at my last post where I pulled out the inconsistencies and bolded out the outright untruth. It is on this same page.theYemster wrote:I'm not wriggling anything. From the conversation it is clear what I was trying to say. Because the consensus here in the recent past has been well some of the players after still overage but it's only buy a couple of years and they aren't as bad as it used to be in the past when 30 year olds pretended to be u17. So when people were saying it's just one year off I wanted to buyers buttress the point that even a year overage is still cheating.Damunk wrote:If we 'attack' you now, you go claim victimisation.theYemster wrote:I meant even if he was overage by only a year.Gotti wrote:No, he wouldn't be, as the competition is for those 17 years and younger (born on or after January 1, 1998)...theYemster wrote:And FYI even if he is a year older, he is still overage and thus cheating even if it is a significant improvement on past cheating. The real victims are the genuine u17s being denied an opportunity.
What you just said here is typical txj wriggling from a 'trapped blockos' position.![]()
The Yemster is far more concise than to say "FYI even if he is a year overage, he is still overage and thus cheating"; rather, you'd go straight to the point and say "FYI even if he is a year overage, he is still cheating" Gotti dom catch your balls with that small piece of info, you come dey form like say naim you dey talk before.![]()
Secondly, I'm not denying Udoh any opportunity and neither is txj...yet. All I've said is that any deviation from the norm should be properly investigated just to be sure. If the kid is truly within the age limit then all is well. What's the harm in that except maybe a little hurt feelings?
As for the allegations of lying against txj like I said I haven't had time to carefully read through the thread. I know txj can be a rabble-rouser and thus his reputation may be preceding him, but the little I read from his original post seemed to have some merit. Of course if I read they l through in its entirety my opinion may change...and it may not.
TY, the harm in that is that, according to one poster here, googling the boy's name brings up this thread at the very top of the list.theYemster wrote:Secondly, I'm not denying Udoh any opportunity and neither is txj...yet. All I've said is that any deviation from the norm should be properly investigated just to be sure. If the kid is truly within the age limit then all is well. What's the harm in that except maybe a little hurt feelings?.
And all based on a totally unsubstantiated suspicion that the boy is older than he claims.
Txj may deny everything until Kingdom come (as he does) and claim that his was just his simple curiosity about the boy's **ahem**...'educational pathway', but we all know the truth. He was pointing out that the boy is more than likely to be lying about his age and is probably 'overage'.
So you tell me whether this very-public, thinly-veiled accusation has all been worth it, from the innocent young boy's point of view.
Remove the 'public' schools and you will be shocked at what you will find.metalalloy wrote:txj wrote:@ Metalalloy:
Fair enough. I personally do not fall in the camp that say that most kids start earlier than 6yrs old unless things have changed drastically in recent times. That being said, we will have to agree to disagree with regards to the background of footballers and the age they start school.
And please dont assume that all 'private' schools are posh or expensive schools. You have 'private' schools now even in farm settlements!
Children start schools now in Nigeria because the parents have no place to 'dump' them!