The SE WC Delusion...
Re: The SE WC Delusion...
And youd do realise that 80 percent of the Nigerians that went to the 2008 Nations cup, ended up at the WC rightThe YeyeMan wrote:You do realise that Spain won Euro 2008 and weren't exactly starting from scratch, right? Their foundations were already in place...spastic wrote:Dude, you were slapped around pretty hard.
We are now at the end of the World Cup, and the 2 finalists did not hire their coaches until AFTER the EURO CUP in 2008Again laying to rest your errorneous postulations, that you needed 4 years of preparations to win
2 years buddy, run your qualifiers, and organize your team. There is a reason why the intelligent ones wanted to stick with the guy who succesfully navigated the first part![]()
You were wrong then! You are still wrong now! And you'd probably be wrong way into the future.![]()

So which one is it? Is a change in the coach proof of restart, and if no then how is Nigeria who played with the same set of players, same # of friendlies as Spain, and a change in coach considered ill prepared

There is no logic to Txj's point. We were no less prepared than the Spaniards (barring the dumb last minute change in the coaching staff).
Like Spain, after the 2008 tourney we changed coaches
Like Spain, we kepts around 80 percent of the players from the 2008 tourney to prosecute the 2010 qualifier
Like Spain, we played in every friendly window except for 1.
Like spain, who got five games at the Confederate cup, we got 6 at the ANC.
Like Spain, we assembled our guys 3 weeks to the WC.
Like Spain, we played 3 friendly matches before the WC.
So can someone point out this imaginary lack of preparations, that clueless after the fact is spewing. The problem wih TXJ is the inability to use facts as the foundation for his contentions. He makes spurious claims all day, but the fact do not support those claims.
SImply because him and others have concluuded in their overactie minds that they don'y like the football they are seeing does not suggest preparation was absent.

Can someone please ask him to list the factors upon which he concluded that Nigeria was unprepared

Biggest OPAKBigpokey24 wrote:rubbish post as usually.. u need to hush .. real talk.. now u dey open ya mouth and at the same time throwing some cheap shots.. hush .. clueless being

- maxsiollun
I can't add more to Spastic's excellent post. If Amodu had done what Lagerback "achieved" at the WC, the entire CE forum would have asked for Amodu to be publicly executed by firing squad.
http://maxsiollun.wordpress.com/
Our WC was over even before it began and some of us knew that going in.This post lamented the lack of preparation by our NFF and the need for long term planning by our football administrators. The fact that the writer was happy with the hiring of Lagerback to succeed Amodu was nonetheless obvious to most readers.
Lagerback failed woefully in South Africa and the fact that he came last in his group was not unexpected in the least.The man disgraced us out of the first round in what may arguably be the worst performance of the Super Eagles in the world cup.Pa Onigbinde's team, as unambitious as they were in 2002 scored better on my performance card than these jokers.
Now is the time to engage in serious reappraisal of our football system,philosophy and development in order to compete effectively with other football nations.
Lagerback failed woefully in South Africa and the fact that he came last in his group was not unexpected in the least.The man disgraced us out of the first round in what may arguably be the worst performance of the Super Eagles in the world cup.Pa Onigbinde's team, as unambitious as they were in 2002 scored better on my performance card than these jokers.
Now is the time to engage in serious reappraisal of our football system,philosophy and development in order to compete effectively with other football nations.
Incidentally,why was it that none of all the pious ever discovered psycho-analysis?Why did it have to wait for a completely godless Jew?
Sigmund Freud
If u show me ONE evidence of this I'll quite CE for a month....
anaedo1 wrote:Our WC was over even before it began and some of us knew that going in.This post lamented the lack of preparation by our NFF and the need for long term planning by our football administrators. The fact that the writer was happy with the hiring of Lagerback to succeed Amodu was nonetheless obvious to most readers.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Just another day; just another case of 'I told u so'....
Txj
Txj
txj wrote:Lately, I've found myself wondering, esp in the light of the S/Final target for the SE, what is wrong with us...
Is this simply arrogance or sheer stupidity?
2. Ninety-five percent or more of the teams going to the WC started building their teams four years ago. Many of them completed the squad building exercise thru the qualifiers, a regional tournament and/or the confederations cup, and regularly scheduled friendlies.
3. Those whose teams stumbled along the way, or showed persistent vulnerabilities thru these games, were able to make corrections or simply changed managers.
4. By February this year, most of these teams played their last friendlies and finalized plans for their camping and final preparatory games.
5. In spite of all this meticulous planning, many of the teams have set themselves modest targets, either in terms of points haul or 2nd round appearance.
6. But not Nigeria! We go to the WC the least prepared team, but yet have the audacity to set and actually expect a s/final finish. I mean, what am I missing here? Is it that football is that simple or that we have some secret formula?
7. We spent two locust years monkeying about with a coach we knew was not improving the team, in spite of the results. We spent two years f00ling around with a coach whose three previous stints had repeatedly delivered the same weaknesses in team organization, the same lack of in depth knowledge of tactics...
8. Then we had the ANC, which gifts African teams a chance to finalize preparations in a world cup year. We had a chance to take decisive action on the coaching personnel and begin the process of making amends. But No! We were told by the NFF that they had the coach they wanted and that he would lead the team to the WC...
9. Lo and behold, after the ignominy of losing to the Ghana U-21 team, we have made a u-turn by hiring Lagerback as the NFF officials look to save their collective arses, with Eguavoen as assistant and thus the next man to be recycled in the unending game of coaching carousel!
10. We may yet succeed in spite of ourselves in SA, and frankly I hope we do not, for the sake of our football long term..I have one regret and one joy though. I regret that we did not allow Amodu take us to the illogical conclusion of this farce. But I am joyful that we did not pass this poisoned chalice on Siasia and destroy a budding coaching career. I'll happily take a swede!
11. I look forward to the world cup. But sadly, Nigeria is only an insignificant part of it...
- Heliopolis
txj, dont take the delusional Eagle fans on here too seriously. It takes a combination of talent, preparation and good management to succeed in professional football. After Nigeria's 3rd place finish at the ACN and the NFF decisions that followed, it was painfully obvious that Nigeria were not in a position to succeed at the WC. While I do not rate this generation of Nigerian players very highly, on paper they were just as talented, or perhaps even more talented than their Greek and South Korean counterparts. Unfortunately, Nigeria's chances at the WC were compromised due to administrative incompetence and what followed was the appointment of an unprepared manager, the selection of poor players, lack of preparation, and ultimately failure at the WC.
The people here insulting you are the ones who think emotionally rather than logically and as a result they should not be taken seriously.
Just like you, I started a similar topic back in March saying that Nigeria were not in a position to succeed at this year's WC. What followed was a predictable barrage of personal insults rather than people focusing on the troubles at hand...
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=167026&hilit=friendly+delusional
The people here insulting you are the ones who think emotionally rather than logically and as a result they should not be taken seriously.
Just like you, I started a similar topic back in March saying that Nigeria were not in a position to succeed at this year's WC. What followed was a predictable barrage of personal insults rather than people focusing on the troubles at hand...
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=167026&hilit=friendly+delusional
Nigeria's problem is football administration. We did well in 1994 because we had a coach who could bypass the NFA to get things done, a coach who was willing to add the functions of the NFA to his coaching duties... Until the NFA/NFF changes, I will not be risking any heart attacks of the Nigerian football team...txj wrote:Just another day; just another case of 'I told u so'....
Txj
txj wrote:Lately, I've found myself wondering, esp in the light of the S/Final target for the SE, what is wrong with us...
Is this simply arrogance or sheer stupidity?
2. Ninety-five percent or more of the teams going to the WC started building their teams four years ago. Many of them completed the squad building exercise thru the qualifiers, a regional tournament and/or the confederations cup, and regularly scheduled friendlies.
3. Those whose teams stumbled along the way, or showed persistent vulnerabilities thru these games, were able to make corrections or simply changed managers.
4. By February this year, most of these teams played their last friendlies and finalized plans for their camping and final preparatory games.
5. In spite of all this meticulous planning, many of the teams have set themselves modest targets, either in terms of points haul or 2nd round appearance.
6. But not Nigeria! We go to the WC the least prepared team, but yet have the audacity to set and actually expect a s/final finish. I mean, what am I missing here? Is it that football is that simple or that we have some secret formula?
7. We spent two locust years monkeying about with a coach we knew was not improving the team, in spite of the results. We spent two years f00ling around with a coach whose three previous stints had repeatedly delivered the same weaknesses in team organization, the same lack of in depth knowledge of tactics...
8. Then we had the ANC, which gifts African teams a chance to finalize preparations in a world cup year. We had a chance to take decisive action on the coaching personnel and begin the process of making amends. But No! We were told by the NFF that they had the coach they wanted and that he would lead the team to the WC...
9. Lo and behold, after the ignominy of losing to the Ghana U-21 team, we have made a u-turn by hiring Lagerback as the NFF officials look to save their collective arses, with Eguavoen as assistant and thus the next man to be recycled in the unending game of coaching carousel!
10. We may yet succeed in spite of ourselves in SA, and frankly I hope we do not, for the sake of our football long term..I have one regret and one joy though. I regret that we did not allow Amodu take us to the illogical conclusion of this farce. But I am joyful that we did not pass this poisoned chalice on Siasia and destroy a budding coaching career. I'll happily take a swede!
11. I look forward to the world cup. But sadly, Nigeria is only an insignificant part of it...
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.
“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009