Olympic team:Stuck in the "ATL"

Re: Olympic team:Stuck in the "ATL"

General Trousers wrote:Federal Govt. Did not charter anything. Delta Airlines has acted out of charity and you can take that to the bank.

If FG chartered plane, why did they not do it sooner.

<<<
Delta Airlines acting out of charity? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I thought natives like you were extinct? :?
Bro, there are different forms of charity...

Provide a servicing that you usually are under absolutely no obligation (legal or otherwise) to provide for a serial deadbeat (just ask Siasia or the U23 team squad or the many coaches and ex-coaches waiting to be "paid later") on terms that you usually do not provide is certainly one form of charity. In fact, even when (or if) Delta gets paid, unless that payment comes with interest merely foregoing that interest is a form of charity.

Delta did not provide the flight for free. What they did was agree to fly them with a promise to pay... there was a surety.
smells like 4-1-9 to me :laugh:

They did not take off until almost 9am Atlanta time.

They will arrive Manaus about4-5 hrs to kick off.

Factor in customs, bag claim (32 ppl), transportation to hotel or games village, check in and then ride to stadium....if they make it an hr before kick off they'll be in good shape.

Ugbowo wrote:They did not take off until almost 9am Atlanta time.

Factor in customs, bag claim (32 ppl), transportation to hotel or games village, check in and then ride to stadium....if they make it an hr before kick off they'll be in good shape.
What sort of good shape ?
Chief, let's factor in the mental and physical fatigue... No team should be subject to this at all. This is unfair and could put these players in a health hazard.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

...players like Obi that are used to smooth logistical support from their club may not be able to cope with this.
Kai, this is like my old weekend old folks games. Players straggling in minutes before kickoff :sad:

Olympic team has landed in Manaus:
https://flightaware.com/live/flight/DAL9770
Last edited by Otitokoro on Thu Aug 04, 2016 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

juventuss wrote:

What sort of good shape ?
Chief, let's factor in the mental and physical fatigue... No team should be subject to this at all. This is unfair and could put these players in a health hazard.
Agree 100%. I meant good shape in a way that they'll have time for warm up etc.

Make no mistake about it, anything we see today, we take. The game thread should be full of praise for the lads. :thumb: :thumb:

Instead of looking for european coaches, why not outsource the entire NFF to Europeans as well, the black man in Nigeria is incapable of doing the basics of things like organising, logistics, before they even ledt for Atlanta, they should have arranged all flights, hotels, transfers, players bonuses and what not, its so simple, its just like an individual booking a holiday with multiple flights, connections, its just a group booking, whats so hard in doing this??

They took off at 8.21a Eastern time, per flight tracker. Surprised they didn't take off earlier...
Anyhow, considering that Delta had to file a flight plan in under 12 hours, that is understandable.

Sad commentary, though.

For health and safety reasons, should these guys even be playing at all??? No doubt they should be knackered and burnt out, can any football professionals corroborate that in such circumstances, they might be harming their health playing tonight?

marko wrote:For health and safety reasons, should these guys even be playing at all??? No doubt they should be knackered and burnt out, can any football professionals corroborate that in such circumstances, they might be harming their health playing tonight?
Can you imagine traveling from Lagos to US and then you have to get ready for a game in 6hrs ???
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

juventuss wrote:
marko wrote:For health and safety reasons, should these guys even be playing at all??? No doubt they should be knackered and burnt out, can any football professionals corroborate that in such circumstances, they might be harming their health playing tonight?
Can you imagine traveling from Lagos to US and then you have to get ready for a game in 6hrs ???
Even the shortest of flights, london to stockholm, i always feel tired and i work out quite a lot, so these players having to go through 5-6 hrs flying, customs, transfers to hotel or games village, prepare mentally, it is a tall order, just hope these players dont go overboard tonight, just play it simple, the most important thing is their health, nothing more, to helll with Nigeria leaders and their cronies, just hopeless

F360

Post by F360 »

Purity wrote:The sports ministry and not NFf in charge of Olympic.
Was the Atlanta trip planned with the ministry of sports?

The Basketball team camped in America, why are they not facing the same issues as the football team. What did the basketball team do different?
...because basketball is not big to Nigerians.
I bet if you dig deep you will find out they are worse off than the football team. How about the track and field team, and other sports.
In terms of organization right now, the Basketball team aren't great but they are not worse off than the football team. Too many crooks looking for ways to make money with the football team leads to issues.
Purity wrote:The sports ministry and not NFf in charge of Olympic.
Was the Atlanta trip planned with the ministry of sports?

The Basketball team camped in America, why are they not facing the same issues as the football team. What did the basketball team do different?
basketball team is being run from the US (not Naija)

In what way? The NBBF president is based in Nigeria. He only flew over to the US a week or two ago to attend the tune up games prior to the Olympics and then fly to Rio with the team. The coach and team manager are based in the US but it's not like the man in charge isn't in the same Nigeria as the NFF.

As others have mentioned, how is it that the other Nigerian athletes/teams found their way to Brazil in proper time yet it's the Football team that are having these issues? Sounds like issues between the NFF, the NOC and the sports ministry with most of the blame probably laying at the feet of the NFF. Somehow the other teams all made it to Rio in good time with few if any issues but not the Football team.

--------------------------------------------
Edu

Post by Edu »

Robbynice wrote:So the question now is are the boys in Brazil ready to go tonight?

We are in trouble when the guy in the know is the one asking questions.

The fault lies squarely with NFF. FIFA said government should not interfere with NFF.

So NFF unilaterally camp the team in Atlanta. Fixed departure time without recourse to NOC or ministry. Then last minute decided they needed a chartered flight for 25. Then number increased to 32. How come ONLY football team was having this problem?

NFF is the one not able to pay players and coaches. Same NFF was busy hosting FIFA president in Lagos.

Abeg, make we get foreign coach quickly.

wanaj0 wrote:The fault lies squarely with NFF. FIFA said government should not interfere with NFF.

So NFF unilaterally camp the team in Atlanta. Fixed departure time without recourse to NOC or ministry. Then last minute decided they needed a chartered flight for 25. Then number increased to 32. How come ONLY football team was having this problem?

NFF is the one not able to pay players and coaches. Same NFF was busy hosting FIFA president in Lagos.

Abeg, make we get foreign coach quickly.
Na the Sports Minister fault.

We are waiting for a rejoinder to Nneka Ikem.
tunde72

Post by tunde72 »

The words on twitter is that all the stranded issue was an arrangement between NFF and the agent that sponsored the team to Atlanta. Big exchange of words and revelations going on btwee the said agent and a ministry staff on twitter. Go grab your copy nowwww. NFF and picnic na serious jaguar pali, the team rejected 3 planes, paid for by the vice president, one Idowu guy and the NOC to accept an arranged Delta airline arranged by the Said agent. Who also held the team hostage because of hotel bills. Go grab your copy.
YOU CAN ACHIEVE MORE ON YOUR KNEE THAN SPEAKING.

tunde72 wrote:The words on twitter is that all the stranded issue was an arrangement between NFF and the agent that sponsored the team to Atlanta. Big exchange of words and revelations going on btwee the said agent and a ministry staff on twitter. Go grab your copy nowwww. NFF and picnic na serious jaguar pali, the team rejected 3 planes, paid for by the vice president, one Idowu guy and the NOC to accept an arranged Delta airline arranged by the Said agent. Who also held the team hostage because of hotel bills. Go grab your copy.
We are still waiting for a rebuttal.

General Trousers wrote:Federal Govt. Did not charter anything. Delta Airlines has acted out of charity and you can take that to the bank.

If FG chartered plane, why did they not do it sooner.

<<<
Delta Airlines acting out of charity? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I thought natives like you were extinct? :?
Bro, there are different forms of charity...

Provide a servicing that you usually are under absolutely no obligation (legal or otherwise) to provide for a serial deadbeat (just ask Siasia or the U23 team squad or the many coaches and ex-coaches waiting to be "paid later") on terms that you usually do not provide is certainly one form of charity. In fact, even when (or if) Delta gets paid, unless that payment comes with interest merely foregoing that interest is a form of charity.
My Oga, even agreeing to work with Naijaria and Naijarians na charity sef. But in this case they were implying say dem do am due to altruistic motives. I know the phone calls that were made from the higher ups to get Delta to become charitable. :D

tunde72

Post by tunde72 »

So all this is just a way to jave excuse for the imminent failire of the whole team Nigeria perpetrated by the Minister and the NFF. Imagine this crooks what a country
YOU CAN ACHIEVE MORE ON YOUR KNEE THAN SPEAKING.
BabaNaija

Post by BabaNaija »

Bump.

Interesting reminder. Thanks for bumping this.