[ACN2010] PRAY FOR TOGO..BUS ATTACKED..3 DEAD !

kamerun
Re: [ACN2010] PRAY FOR TOGO..BUST ATTACKED..PLAYERS SHOT !

Post by kamerun »

KwameBob wrote:
Maximilien Robespierre wrote:The show must go on in my opinion
Really?!
Let me get this straight, our players were machine-gunned like dogs, some of them are now in surgery fighting for their life and all Mr. Maximilien Robespierre wants is for the "show" to continue as if nothing has happened? :shock: WOW!
Wasnt it in Munich during the Olympic games that 10 athletes were killed. Did they call off the event? I understand your current emotional state but we need to reason here with our heads...If everytime incidents happened at events they were called off trust me no event will ever take place and rebels, terrorists (or whatever you want to call them) will even start carrying out more attacks...The aim of this rebel group was to gain exposure and to make people worlwide aware of the plight of Cabinda nationals. Everyone now because of this incident is trying to understand what the war in Cabinda is about...thats a victory for them. Unfortunately the Togelese were the victims this time but such is life. One can suffer in this world for 30+ years without anyoone knowing unless you attack a well known person....
Last edited by kamerun on Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.
goat no fi eat where dey no tie am
west33637
these animals have come to destroy again

Post by west33637 »

May they never see joy or peace throughout the rest of their days. We pray for the safety of all the participants out there. Imagine going to play a sporting tournament becoming a life hazard. Africa disgusts me. We have failed in almost every aspect of life.
Re: [ACN2010] PRAY FOR TOGO..BUS ATTACKED..PLAYERS SHOT !

I wish the players speedy recovery. So sad this has happened after a hitch free year. Shame on those rebels...
Re: these animals have come to destroy again

west33637 wrote:May they never see joy or peace throughout the rest of their days. We pray for the safety of all the participants out there. Imagine going to play a sporting tournament becoming a life hazard. Africa disgusts me. We have failed in almost every aspect of life.
This happened in Angola and NOT all of Africa. Take this western pov and shove it!! Nah you wey don fail in all aspects of life :boo:

Africa has shown that it cannot garuntee the safety of those it invited for competition. Clubs who pay the wages of these players have every right to request the return of their employees from such an unstable, ominous environment. We, as a continent have shamed ourselves beyond reprieve today. This incident will resonate in the world of football till the constellations collide. Regardless of one's stature, the loss of life must be afforded the respect it deserves. This tournament should not go on! Were the fatal bullets to have felled Adebayor or one of Togo's other celebrated players, would procedings even be in question?
Rogermilla

Post by Rogermilla »

Mods, please could someone explain the thread below for me?

Thanks.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=160938
"History shows that this club has had very few strikers like him. I do not know if there has ever been anyone like him before. What I do know is that Barcelona should erect a statue for him. Samuel was a fundamental player here in recent years and was key to all of the titles that the team won."

Andres Iniesta, August 2009
Re: [ACN2010] PRAY FOR TOGO..BUST ATTACKED..PLAYERS SHOT !

legend wrote:
KwameBob wrote:
Maximilien Robespierre wrote:The show must go on in my opinion
Really?!
Let me get this straight, our players were machine-gunned like dogs, some of them are now in surgery fighting for their life and all Mr. Maximilien Robespierre wants is for the "show" to continue as if nothing has happened? :shock: WOW!
Max is your normal African so don't blame him for not been capable of 'deep' reasoning , throw in our natural disregard for human life especially those of fellow Africans and you will 'understand' the state of the mind that made that statement.

:sad: :sad: :sad: :blink: :blink:
om on now, its not out of disregard for the dead or injured but why give thoe animals the benefit of thinking they won

Emblematic of everything wrong with Africa :sad: :sad: :sad:
Foreign players in a foreign country always get top notch security...what happened?

omk wrote:After a crisis meeting, the CAF has decided that the show will go ahead.

Casualty toll is now at 1 dead, 9 injured.

http://www.sport24.com/football/can-201 ... nue-340178
Damn. I didn't know this thing was this serious. :scared: .. May the soul of the driver RIP and speedy recovery to the injured. CAF needs to move all games scheduled in that war zone out of the area and sanction Angola for this nonsense.
jeff

Post by jeff »

"This operation is only the start of a series of targeted actions that will continue in all the territory of Cabinda," the Rebels said today.

If Cabinda is a War zone, why did CAF allow Togo/Ghana/CIV/Burkina to be grouped there? :boo:
goke313

Post by goke313 »

Emmanuel Adebayor: Togo may pull out of African Nations Cup after players ‘have seen their death already’

By Andrew Southwick

Manchester City striker Emmanuel Adebayor says many of his Togo team-mates may quit the African Nations Cup following the attack on their team bus.

The driver was killed and a further six on-board were injured after a machine gun attack on the coach carrying the side to the tournament.

Adebayor, who revealed the terrifying attack lasted 30 minutes, says the team will meet on Saturday to decide whether they will still take part in the tournament or not.

He told BBC Radio Five Live: "I think a lot of players want to leave, I don't think they want to be at this tournament any more because they have seen their death already.

"Most of the players want to go back to their family. No-one can sleep after what they have seen. They have seen one of their team-mates have a bullet in his body, who is crying, who is losing consciousness and everything.

"So we will have a good meeting, everyone will go to their room, they will rest and we will see. [On Saturday morning] we will make a decision which is good for our life."

Adebayor added: "We are still in shock. If the security is not sure then we will be leaving. I don't think they will be ready to give their life. We will discuss everything as a team and we will take a decision that we think is good for our career, is good for our life and good for our family."
http://www.goal.com/en/news/89/africa/2 ... cup-after-
RudeBoy
Re: [ACN2010] Togo Team Bus Shot At By Rebel Group

Post by RudeBoy »

oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:was never comfortable with Cabinda as host city and this has confirmed my fears i see premioership clubs recalling there players, BBC et.al putting all the negative slants on it i just pray the tournament is not still birth.
are you joking? how do you put a positive slant on it?

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)
goke313

Post by goke313 »

African Nations Cup Comment: After Shock Togo Bus Attack, The Games Need To Be Moved From Cabinda

With the African Nations Cup only days away and excitement building all over Africa, a terrible incident has threatened to derail the competition altogether.
As Africa gears up for its biggest ever footballing year, the last thing the world wanted to see was bloodshed. Yet with just days remaining before the start of the 2010 African Cup of Nations, that's exactly what has happened.

On their way into Cabinda, a disputed exclave of Angola where their group stage matches were to be held, the Togolese national team was attacked when a group of rebels began to fire at their team bus. Players and staff alike dived for cover under the seats; four ended up shot and injured. Then there was a fifth casualty, but one who could not escape the gunfire: the bus driver, who has since died.

Of the other four, two of the victims were players; one was the team doctor and the other was a team official of an unconfirmed role. The bullets did not discriminate.

Cabinda itself is an exclave of Angola but is beset by violence, the last remnant of the country's civil war.

One thing is at once clear. The area is not safe to host any matches or sporting events of any kind, where there is the risk of a terrorist act with the intent to grab attention at the expense of others' lives. The safety of players, fans and all those concerned is put in danger by staying in Cabinda, and it is obvious that all those matches should be moved to the other cities, with the capital of Angola, Luanda able to host the moved matches from Group B. That this was not recognised earlier by the appropriate governing bodies has had disastrous consequences.

Quite understandably, the Togolese have been traumatised, and their taking part is now in severe doubt. Togo midfielder Alaixys Romao confirmed to The Guardian that Togo's future in the tournament is far from certain. He said, "We're not thinking yet of what could happen. But it's true that no one wants to play.

"We're not capable of it. We're thinking first of all about the health of our injured because there was a lot of blood on the ground."

Midfielder Richmond Forson put it best, telling Canal Plus, "It's disgusting to take bullets for a football match.''

An earlier statement attributed to the Republic of Cabinda indicates that the attack was aimed at the Angolan government security forces that accompanied the Togo team bus.

By necessity this means that the attack had nothing to do with football, but instead was a bloody publicity stunt. That an innocent driver would be the only casualty has perhaps given the shooters the worldwide headlines that they wanted, but as far as gaining the sympathy of the world goes, they may soon learn that they have achieved just the opposite.

CAF and the Angolan organizing committee are currently in an emergency meeting to decide how to go forth and whether or not to continue with the tournament after the incident, but perhaps the best thing to do would be to continue with the matches moved to a safer part of the country, which is not threatened by the rebel forces. Sport, after all, should not be held to ransom, and as long as it is possible to put a ball down and play, the world of football should do it. The game is what brings us together - if it can't be done in Cabinda then it must be done elsewhere.

While doing this, the obviously shocked and upset Togolese need to be allowed time to decide whether or not to continue in the competition. No matter what they do, they will leave with their heads held high. Here's hoping that the competition as a whole can be an event to remember for the right reasons as well as the wrong ones.

Peter Pedroncelli, Goal.com

Postscript: After publication CAF confirmed that the tournament will go ahead. There is as yet no indication that the games will be moved from Cabinda.
http://www.goal.com/en/news/815/african ... attack-the
stargazer

Post by stargazer »

most of you may be thinking lets continued with the games to teach the rebels a lesson but i believe it should be called of or better still the games move out of the cabinda enclave...

the Angolan government dropped the ball

T

Code: Select all

ogo football stars tell of gun attack

Emmanuel Adebayor was unhurt in the attack, Manchester City say
Players in Togo's national football team have told of their shock when gunmen fired on their bus as they drove to the Africa Cup of Nations in Angola.
Manchester City player Emmanuel Adebayor described it as "one of the worst things I've ever been through in my life".
He said the bus was targeted just 5km (3 miles) across the border and the shooting lasted for half an hour.
He described how players and other team members were trapped in the bus.
'In shock'
"They shot dead our driver, there was no-one to drive the bus," he told the BBC.
He said those on the bullet-riddled vehicle had to continue to dodge bullets to jump into the cars that eventually came to rescue them.

All the players - everyone was crying [...] saying their last words because they thought they'd be dead  
Emmanuel Adebayor
Manchester City player
"It was like we were living in a dream. I'm still under shock," he said.
"I am one of those who carried the injured players into the hospital, that is when I realised what was really going on. All the players - everyone was crying, calling their mums, crying on the phone, saying their last words because they thought they'd be dead."
Thomas Dossevi, who plays for Togo and FC Nantes, said they had been "machine-gunned, like dogs".
He told how players had hidden under the seats of the bus as bullets flew around them.
Several players are reported to have been injured in the attack in the Angolan territory of Cabinda.
Aston Villa said its 26-year-old midfielder Moustapha Salifou was "shaken but okay" following the attack.
"Machine-gunned at the border with Angola!" Mr Dossevi told French sport radio RMC.
"I don't know why. We were under the seats of the bus for 20 minutes trying to get away from the bullets
kamerun

Post by kamerun »

For those that can read french this is what our algerian brothers think about the incident...

http://forum.dzfoot.com/index.php?showtopic=7506
goat no fi eat where dey no tie am

kamerun wrote:For those that can read french this is what our algerian brothers think about the incident...

Just summarize what they are saying christ :roll: :roll: :roll:

Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

I think that ultimately the matches for that group will be relocated to a safer region of Angola.

I really hope that Togo participates. It would terrible if they dropped out. I think it would be better for the players from an emotional point-of-view to participate in the tourny and try to temporarily forget about what happened.

Hopefully every single African country learns from this and it never happens again.
yaya

Post by yaya »

kamerun wrote:For those that can read french this is what our algerian brothers think about the incident...

considering that this is not a french forum, the least you can do, i mean the very least that an intelligent man will do is to translate it. I am sorry, i hate to sound harsh, but are u really serious by posting a french website and saying "for those that can read french???" are u serious? :?
yaya

Post by yaya »

Maximilien Robespierre wrote:

Just summarize what they are saying christ :roll: :roll: :roll:
the thing just week me!!! i hate to use this thread to really say what i feel of Kamerun, but how can an educated man make that post? :?
goke313

Post by goke313 »

yaya wrote:

considering that this is not a french forum, the least you can do, i mean the very least that an intelligent man will do is to translate it. I am sorry, i hate to sound harsh, but are u really serious by posting a french website and saying "for those that can read french???" are u serious? :?
don't know the significance of the thread
but here's a google translation
http://translate.google.com/translate?j ... l=fr&tl=en
yaya

Post by yaya »

I know how to use google translation, I am just saying why would an intelligent man post a french website on an english forum and say "for those who speak french?" I take it he speaks french and can summarize for us!

anyways, forget this argument, this thread is for the togo players...
goke313 wrote:
yaya wrote:

don't know the significance of the thread
but here's a google translation
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Here's a translation for DZfoot...

I dont know why Kamerun wastes time on that low-quality forum. 2 months later and they're still bashing Egypt. One of the genius members came to the conclusion that soccer violence only occurs in Egypt and West Africa. Nice to see he conveniently forgot the 2001 Annaba incident.