Your Winners for the 2018 and 2022 FIFA World Cup Host are..
Re: RUSSIA WILL HOST THE 2018 WORLD CUP
gbim gbimpajimoh wrote:charlie wrote:It just goes to show that if you piss in the air, it will likely land on your face!
BBC Panorama should do a documentary on how the English press is their own worst enemy.
It seems so on face value but how I wish Nigeria could have journalists and a country where freedom of speech is treasured regardless of the cost.
They say truth has a high cost and England probably just paid the price but could it lead to a more scrutinized FIFA?
They've probably done football a good service at a high cost

Re: Your Winners for the 2018 and 2022 FIFA World Cup Host a
Thank God it is coming to pass. The bidding process will now change forever.Waffiman wrote:What has not escaped Waffiman is the best bids as judged by FIFA were ignored. What has not escaped Waffiman is the best bids with all the combined criterion as judged by FIFA was ignored. Meeting the criterion does not exclude the fact that inferior technical and financial bid won. Go and read FIFA's requirements in their websites, you cannot come first and the judges say you are not going to be chosen. This is wrong and it is why the whole bidding process must change.Enugu II wrote:Chendosplastic:chendosplastic wrote:1. That Engand's bid was technically and financially better does not mean that the other bids did not meet the minimum criteria.The YeyeMan wrote:Waffi, England really only received one other vote if we assume that the English member on the committee remembered to vote for England.Waffiman wrote:What is becoming obvious is many of you really do not know what you are talking about. Let me ask, have you taken your time out to read the criteria for this bid? Did you read the technical requirements for this bid? Well, if you guys have, you will not be making all these points because they have nothing to do with the decision process.
I have just read that technically, the Russian and Qatar bids were marked down and not as good as Spain/Portugal and England. Finacially, even FIFA's own committee said the the English bid was the most viable financial bid, with Spain/Portugal being marked down. Given these set criteria in the bidding process how was the final vote taken?
This is not about racism, or about spreading the WC around the world. The fact is, spreading the WC around the world is not a criteria. If you have bothered to read what FIFA's criteria is, and you understand what we are talking about here and what is involved, you guys will not base these decisions on your silly little prejudices.
Why is it that the English bid, which FIFA said was the best technical bid, with no risks of the WC coming to England get only 2 votes and was eliminated in the first round?
Why is it that the English bid, which FIFA said was the most viable financially for the WC, only 2 votes and was eliminated in the first round?
What is the point of meeting the set criteria as demanded by FIFA and accepted by FIFA only for you to be eliminated in the first round?
This is my point, I really do not give a hoot about speculation or silly and petty prejudices, I am for intergrity and transparency in FIFA bid process. The IOC was like this for years until the corruption scandal invloving the USA forced a change in their rules. I want desperately to see this in FIFA.
On a side but serious issue, we can speculate as to why Russia and Qatar won, the fact is we will never actually know. However, we do know there is corruption in the process, as anyone who saw the Amos Adamu video and his suspension can atest to. IMHO, England have been punished for the action of their media, is it right that FIFA punish England instead of doing something to get their house in order.
For me, the whole process stinks because I know the process was a sham and a fraud. I know because I have read and understood the bid criterium, I also know these criterium did not matter come the final vote. This is a fraud.
You've said it all. FIFA is a sham. The selections of Russia and Qatar are seriously flawed.
2. After that, it goes down to voting, whose results do not necessarily depend on the superiority of the bids - technically, financially or otherwise.
KPOM. What escapes Waffi is the fact that all those countries eligible to be voted for met the basdic criteria to host the WC. That is the bottomline. The rules then require the executive members to vote for any of those countries and the fact that you ranked highest based on some technical grading is absolutely meaningless at that stage since since any of the countries was essentially approved as meeting the criteria to host. That is the bottomline. It is not only ONE country that meets the criteria.
I remember the Salt Lake City scandal and how it has changed the bidding process of the Olympics, the same will happen at FIFA.
If my memory serves me right, I remember, you E11 arguing and quite rightly that the German bid met the technical and financial requirements as set by FIFA, so they won, the SA bid did not. Now you seem to be arguing the opposite.
BTW! Here is another thing that stinks about FIFA. Is it not ironic that FIFA impose bans on countries whose governments interfere with football, but encourage world leaders to attend bid ceremonies.

.....and, I am being accused for rationalising corruption on another thread by txj.

@ Waffi
You are rationalizing corruption by attacking the prosecutors of corruption and not the corrupt.
You also ignore the fact that it is this same ISDOJ that brought the hammer down on the corruption during the Salk Lake city Olympics
http://www.deseretnews.com/article/8656 ... -FIFA.html
You are rationalizing corruption by attacking the prosecutors of corruption and not the corrupt.
You also ignore the fact that it is this same ISDOJ that brought the hammer down on the corruption during the Salk Lake city Olympics
http://www.deseretnews.com/article/8656 ... -FIFA.html
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
This is Nigeria's 2018 WC Group by the way
1) Nigeria
2) Argentina
3) Croatia
4) South Korea
1) Nigeria
2) Argentina
3) Croatia
4) South Korea
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
- Chief Ogbunigwe
Oya, change ya name to Fortune Teller, abi na Sooth Sayer?cic old boy wrote:anointed wrote:Chei! This man. E don taycic old boy wrote:The more the bidders the higher the bribe amounts.Scipio Africanus wrote:If the overriding criteria was to expand the game to new horizons, FIFA should have said so from the outset, so that countries like England, USA, and Spain who have hosted before would save their time and money and not bother putting up bids.![]()
No be today I begin tell people wetin dey happen!