Samir Nasri is now 100% a Gooner. Official!!!

REDSPYDA

Post by REDSPYDA »

I heard Liverpool were interested in One of them not sure if it was Nasri or Ben Arfa. If it is Ben arfa they should look elsewhere cuz Aulas doesnt sell cheap.. and he will get what he wants or close to what he wants
blaccat

Post by blaccat »

smartbrother wrote:too expensive for wengers taste
Arsene has no problem with young and expensive, i a player is above 24, prof isnt paying more the 8 mill
Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

Skylolo wrote:Nasri is a "Accelerator" of the game....This is the way Wenger desribed Pires & Rosicky...I watched his clips closely and noticed he is comfortable attacking from both flanks.

Wenger should make it a double swoop with Ben Arfa Joo! He is the "Reyes" type with pace to burn who looks to get behind the opposition!

:P :P
Spot on Skylolo.

Nasri is more versatile than Ben Arfa who is more of a specialist winger. I like Ben Arfa but I can also see why Wenger has Nasri in his sights. Pires was never a true wide player though, was he? He would nearly always cut inside allowing Cole to overlap. Maybe it is this that Wenger wants to recreate but with Clichy and someone like Nasri who has more vision and is more rounded as a footballer.
Not true Waffi. There was always that set play where the left back would Overlap and play give-and-go with Pires............but Pires pre-ACL, had great speed and was willing and able to get around the full back and turn the corner - same as any winger.

The difference was that if he did so, the he didnt finsh the play like a typical winger - he would typically cut it back short, neat and on the ground to some one coming to the corner of the six.
before him Overmars did the same (when he wasnt wasting flighted crosses) and today you can see that Wenger has taught Theo to do it too.

So it really depends on the player. Wenger doesnt ask Hleb or Rosicky to get around the full back but the wide midfielders that CAN do it do get scope to do so, as long as they put a productive posesseion pass over at the end of it.
"Jose Mourinho favoured directness and used to throw Robert Huth or John Terry up front when Chelsea were chasing the game, a ploy associated with the industrial era of English football management."
- The Guardian UK, November 26, 2007
ceejay22

Post by ceejay22 »

I am fed up with all these yeye conjectures about Arsenal buys and play, all I want is a trophy from u guys next season. Wenger better spand big and stop being an arse. U cannot keep making money for the club for too long without trophies. Damn!!!!!
Thunder

Post by Thunder »

ceejay22 wrote:I am fed up with all these yeye conjectures about Arsenal buys and play, all I want is a trophy from u guys next season. Wenger better spand big and stop being an arse. U cannot keep making money for the club for too long without trophies. Damn!!!!!
Image No business of yours!
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato
ceejay22

Post by ceejay22 »

Thunder wrote:
ceejay22 wrote:I am fed up with all these yeye conjectures about Arsenal buys and play, all I want is a trophy from u guys next season. Wenger better spand big and stop being an arse. U cannot keep making money for the club for too long without trophies. Damn!!!!!
carry clock oo!!!!!
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

My advice to all Gooners is do not get your hopes up as we're talking about Arsenal and we rarely end up with players we have been linked with.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
mmeny

Post by mmeny »

HERE WE GO AGAIN.... SHOUT OUT TO DMX
Just because cat sabi swim no mean say him be catfish - M.I

Ziontrain wrote:
Skylolo wrote:Nasri is a "Accelerator" of the game....This is the way Wenger desribed Pires & Rosicky...I watched his clips closely and noticed he is comfortable attacking from both flanks.

Wenger should make it a double swoop with Ben Arfa Joo! He is the "Reyes" type with pace to burn who looks to get behind the opposition!

Spot on Skylolo.

Nasri is more versatile than Ben Arfa who is more of a specialist winger. I like Ben Arfa but I can also see why Wenger has Nasri in his sights. Pires was never a true wide player though, was he? He would nearly always cut inside allowing Cole to overlap. Maybe it is this that Wenger wants to recreate but with Clichy and someone like Nasri who has more vision and is more rounded as a footballer.
Not true Waffi. There was always that set play where the left back would Overlap and play give-and-go with Pires............but Pires pre-ACL, had great speed and was willing and able to get around the full back and turn the corner - same as any winger.

The difference was that if he did so, the he didnt finsh the play like a typical winger - he would typically cut it back short, neat and on the ground to some one coming to the corner of the six.
before him Overmars did the same (when he wasnt wasting flighted crosses) and today you can see that Wenger has taught Theo to do it too.

So it really depends on the player. Wenger doesnt ask Hleb or Rosicky to get around the full back but the wide midfielders that CAN do it do get scope to do so, as long as they put a productive posesseion pass over at the end of it.
ZT we are saying the same thing, width is provided in Wenger's 4-4-1-1 system by what he, Wenger calls his wide Backs i.e. the full backs. His wide players do not play like your typical winger, looking to beat the full back and whip the cross in or centre the ball. His wide players tend to cut and give more support to the players in the middle.

When he had Bergkamp in his pomp, Bergkamp did all the play making, but Pires came in and changed the game, he ran the show in most games from the left and before he ruptured his cruciate. Pires was very quick and did beat his opponent for pace easily when he wanted to. But Pires game was not about that, his game was based on tactical intelligence and he was the best in his pomp.

For me, Nasri is the closest we are going to get to Pires and Wenger did say he was looking to get a creative player. I am not surprised we are going for him but I am surprised we can even afford him given the competition. We will see if we can sign the player in the next few days.

Also, Nasri gives us the options because he can play almost anywhere in an attacking role, he can play wide right and in the hole.

The real question is what has happened to our interest in Ben Arfa?
Last edited by Waffiman on Mon May 19, 2008 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Thunder wrote:
Word!!! :P :P :P :P
kenmega

Post by kenmega »

REDSPYDA wrote:I heard Liverpool were interested in One of them not sure if it was Nasri or Ben Arfa. If it is Ben arfa they should look elsewhere cuz Aulas doesnt sell cheap.. and he will get what he wants or close to what he wants
Liverpool were interested in Nasri, but he doesnt come cheap. Inter Milan and Juventus are on his tail too, so it will be interested to see where he ends up next season after the 2008 European Championships.
odi

Post by odi »

Ziontrain wrote:

Spot on Skylolo.

Don't mind Waffi. He's been parroting that fallacy on CE for a while now. Just about every team requires the fullbacks to overlap sometimes and provide the width. But wide players, even in Arse, are supposed to be just that - WIDE players. Width. That the recent players in that position haven't been doing much of that doesn't mean that's the style. If the wingers always cut inside, then they'll become immensely predictable. I suspect it's why L'Voyeur placed Eboue in that position this season (even though that experiment failed miserably).
The SUPER EAGLES shall rise again!

odi wrote:
Ziontrain wrote:

Spot on Skylolo.

Don't mind Waffi. He's been parroting that fallacy on CE for a while now. Just about every team requires the fullbacks to overlap sometimes and provide the width. But wide players, even in Arse, are supposed to be just that - WIDE players. Width. That the recent players in that position haven't been doing much of that doesn't mean that's the style. If the wingers always cut inside, then they'll become immensely predictable. I suspect it's why L'Voyeur placed Eboue in that position this season (even though that experiment failed miserably).
Stick to Chelski because you know not what you are saying. This is Arsenal and once again you are talking pure rubbish. I read our programme notes on match days, I read Wenger's explanations when his got criticised for lacking width.

On Eboue: Here is what Wenger said about Eboue when he was asked why he is in the Arsenal team.

http://www.arsenal.com/article.asp?this ... f+the+mark
Wenger - Eboue's critics are wide of the mark

By Chris Harris

Arsène Wenger has leapt to the defence of Emmanuel Eboue amid criticism of the Ivorian's performances this season.

The 24-year-old has operated in a new position this term, moving forward from right back to right wing since the arrival of Bacary Sagna. Eboue's failure to find the net has prompted unfavourable comparisons with Cristiano Ronaldo, who eclipsed the 40-goal mark for Manchester United from a midfield role.

However, Wenger believes that Eboue's critics are wide of the mark. Speaking at a Q&A with shareholders last week the Frenchman insisted that, although Eboue's qualities are less eye-catching, they are no less important to his Arsenal side.

"If you look at the number of goals we scored you will see we are near the top of the League," said Wenger. "A team is first of all a balance, that's why I am not a fan of going into any individual case.

"You don't always play a player because he scores goals, you play him because he gives you a balance to the team. We play in a very attacking style and Eboue gives us defensive balance."

The Arsenal manager did make a comparison of his own - between Eboue and one of his illustrious predecessors on the right side of midfield.

"Ray Parlour did not score many goals on the right side of midfield," pointed out Wenger. "You look at the numbers and you will be surprised but for me he was a great player for Arsenal Football Club.

"You can not only go on the goals and assists, you must look at the efficiency of the whole team. That's why Ray Parlour was a great player for us and why Eboue helps us too.

"What counts is how many goals a team scores as a unit and how many chances we create. On that front we can compete with everybody in the League."
Here is what I said of Eboue on Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:52 am when you were arguing with me about his merit in the team.
Waffiman wrote: Another misconception of of Arsenal's play. Arsenal do not play with out and out wing players. Arsenal's wide players tend to cut in leaving the channel's free for the Full Backs (Wide Backs as wenger calls them) to run into. In other words, the Full Backs provide the width.

Our problem is steel and strength in the middle, whenever Arsenal have won things one of the wide players had steel and strength. We have had PArlour and Overmars, Parlour and Pires, then Llungberg and Pires. Today, we have Hleb and Rocisky. Given the wide players are expected to cut in to provide numbers and play in the middle, Hleb and Rocisky are too light weight. It creates a problem defensively and offensively. Eboue has all the attributes needed apart from his pace and skills.

Also, if we want to play 4-3-3, we also need a player like Eboue with his huge stamina and power.
As you can read and understand, Wenger is clearly saying his wide man is actually a defensive player and not to provide width as you claim. I pointed this out to you in 2007 when Parlour was an Arsenal player and how he gave the team balance. Now tell me how can a player who is suppose to provide width be a defensive player in your system? When you opened your mouth here viewtopic.php?t=122012&highlight=parlour and rabbit on about something you know not about just think next time before you start analysing the game with me.

I bet if we analyse Chelski's system, you will not have a clue, talkless of the system of another team. :P :P :P :P
odi

Post by odi »

Waffi, you are seriously mis-yarning here.

Your quote mentioned having "steel and stamina" for the wide players cos they have to cut into the middle. Then you quote Wenger who says that Eboue adds defense to the right side.

Where the hell is the connection? :shock:

We are talking about wide players playing as proper wingers or always cutting in, and you go off on a tangent about Eboue and "steel and stamina", and then throw Chelsea into the mix. :shock: :shock:

Na wa o. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
The SUPER EAGLES shall rise again!
quickie

Post by quickie »

Spot on Skylolo.
Hmmm! The fact that Skylolo is salivating over this guy is enough to worry me as I remember the history with Beast & Hleb.
God please o, do the one wey better for Gunners! :wink: :lol:

Q

quickie wrote:

Spot on Skylolo.
Hmmm! The fact that Skylolo is salivating over this guy is enough to worry me as I remember the history with Beast & Hleb.

Q

You don come again oh! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

odi wrote:Waffi, you are seriously mis-yarning here.

Your quote mentioned having "steel and stamina" for the wide players cos they have to cut into the middle. Then you quote Wenger who says that Eboue adds defense to the right side.

Where the hell is the connection? :shock:

We are talking about wide players playing as proper wingers or always cutting in, and you go off on a tangent about Eboue and "steel and stamina", and then throw Chelsea into the mix. :shock: :shock:

Na wa o. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Do not try to obfuscate. You get the gist of my post and I do not have to say Wenger's words verbatim. For example, I alluded to the fact that Eboue role in the system was defensive because he provided steel and stamina. What else do you want?
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

quickie wrote:

Spot on Skylolo.

Q

You don come again oh! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Na me Quickie finish like this... :oops:

Okay oh, I no go make comment on future signings until further notice. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
To God be the glory

Eboue had his chance at right-wing and failed miserably. He did not provide the steel and stamina that Parlour offered, ask Toure, nor did he offer the cut and thrust of Overmars or Pires, or Walcott for that matter. This guy is a rightback, and a good one at that.

Coach wrote:Eboue had his chance at right-wing and failed miserably. He did not provide the steel and stamina that Parlour offered, ask Toure, nor did he offer the cut and thrust of Overmars or Pires, or Walcott for that matter. This guy is a rightback, and a good one at that.
So says Coach but wenger says differently. I know which man's opinion counts. :) :) :) :) :)

We've been linked with Aquilani, that would be an excellent buy.

platinum wrote:We've been linked with Aquilani, that would be an excellent buy.
That is just agent talking using Arsenal to get a better contract for his client. It is pure rubbish.
Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

odi wrote: I suspect it's why L'Voyeur placed Eboue in that position this season (even though that experiment failed miserably).
Coach wrote: Eboue had his chance at right-wing and failed miserably. He did not provide the steel and stamina that Parlour offered, ask Toure, nor did he offer the cut and thrust of Overmars or Pires, or Walcott for that matter. This guy is a rightback, and a good one at that.
I dont think you guys get it at all - it is not an "experiment" - Eboue is not going back to defense. Not after Wenegr paid £7.5MM for Sagna and still kept Eboue!! That means Wenger sees Eboue there long term.

Secondly Eboue didnt fail. He didnt make anybody]s team of the year, but he did okay defensively and you coudl see he was slowly learning offensively. He did have some highlights combinign with Sagna offensively over there.

More important............last I checked Hleb did not exactly pull up trees in his first year in that same position either. However the same Hleb seems to be on everybody's shopping list today. And when Wenger moved Lauren to RB, everybody was saying he sucked. Two years later he was a PFA first choice...

Hmmm.....maybe Wenger knows more than you guys ever will - ya think? :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea:

So maybe you guys can get a clue before writing off Eboue at rigth wing. It aint an Experiment and it aint a failure. The guy is learning the position - and he has ALL the tools it takes to be a star there in the long run. More chance than at RB in fact.
"Jose Mourinho favoured directness and used to throw Robert Huth or John Terry up front when Chelsea were chasing the game, a ploy associated with the industrial era of English football management."
- The Guardian UK, November 26, 2007