Were the World Cup taking place today, this would be d team
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
PC, so far, Joaquin Sanchez has been the only winger I have seen that has been of any efgfect in Euro 2004. However, do not get carried away because despite all his fanciful work down the right, Spain did not score aganst Greece when he came on.
He delighted the crowd with his runs but I did not see any end product. Last time I checked, it was Greece that went on to score in the second half of that game.
Ikedia is a player who is on the pitch to do nothing else than raise the crowd. I think he should be left for exhibition games and centinary celebrations.
Yujam, in the World Cup, did you not notice that Cafu and Roberto Carlo9s were the ones providing all Brazil's width? The fact remains that wingers are easy to police and man-mark but when you have a wingback coming from deep, he is more dangerous.
PC, I disagree with your analysis. Over the next four to six years, I can see wingers disappearing altogether. These days wide midfielders are in the team primarilly to perform defensive functions and track back when the full back overlaps.
He delighted the crowd with his runs but I did not see any end product. Last time I checked, it was Greece that went on to score in the second half of that game.
Ikedia is a player who is on the pitch to do nothing else than raise the crowd. I think he should be left for exhibition games and centinary celebrations.
Yujam, in the World Cup, did you not notice that Cafu and Roberto Carlo9s were the ones providing all Brazil's width? The fact remains that wingers are easy to police and man-mark but when you have a wingback coming from deep, he is more dangerous.
PC, I disagree with your analysis. Over the next four to six years, I can see wingers disappearing altogether. These days wide midfielders are in the team primarilly to perform defensive functions and track back when the full back overlaps.
I am not a fan of garba. But there is no way that SE team list will be compile TODAY that his name will not be included.
The guy is our current utility player. He is ready to do whatver the caock ask him to do. Yes he was the weak link at Unity cup but remember that he is playing out of position. How many players playing out of position will do that much.
For his committment, work rate, versatility and professionalism, he will be the 1st on on the list as at today.
Moreover, why are you putting injured players on your list if as you say the WC is today? Na injured palyers you wan use prosecute the match. Can now understand why AO left kanu on at teh last WC. he listened to your suggestions
The guy is our current utility player. He is ready to do whatver the caock ask him to do. Yes he was the weak link at Unity cup but remember that he is playing out of position. How many players playing out of position will do that much.
For his committment, work rate, versatility and professionalism, he will be the 1st on on the list as at today.
Moreover, why are you putting injured players on your list if as you say the WC is today? Na injured palyers you wan use prosecute the match. Can now understand why AO left kanu on at teh last WC. he listened to your suggestions

- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Garba's dedication is exemplary but would you really drop Ifeanyi Udeze or Gabriel Melkham for him? Look at how tirelessly Ifeanyi Ekwueme ran up and down the line during the Unity Cup, defending, tackling, and then runing up to support the strikers at the other end.wanaj0 wrote:I am not a fan of garba. But there is no way that SE team list will be compile TODAY that his name will not be included.
Can you see Garba doing that? Or are you suggesting that a player who no longer has the legs be picked ahead of one who has? Like I said earlier, I would take Garba as a member of the technical crew.
Gotti, fair point about Uche Kalu, Michael Nnanji and Muyiwa Lawal. I just hope we see Uche in a better league this season so we get to see more of him.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
I don tire. Too many people are still locked into 1994. All I can suggest is that forumers watch more of Euro 2004.kaycee2g wrote:Ayo, pls ignore this ppl. i have said it thousand of times, Wingers are no longer a neccessity in modern day football
Please my people, appreciate the fact that the only thing that is constant in life is change! We are now in 2004.
Can I just add one interesting note to this piece. How come no one has mentioned the ommission of the famous number four from the team? Anyway, our beloved Robbynice will soon be along, so the comical fun will begin in the near future.
short-sightedness. Especially from a Chelsea fan. Is Duff no longer a necessity?kaycee2g wrote:Ayo, pls ignore this ppl. i have said it thousand of times, Wingers are no longer a neccessity in modern day football
Football evolves man. In 1998, more than half the sides were playing with diamonds and good few others with wing-backs. 4 years later, there were only a hand full of diamonds and not many more wing-backs.
Football evolves. What is modern today, by definition, is not modern tomorrow.
I cannot see wingers in a 4-4-2, but you can certainly see it in a 4-5-1 which evolves to a 4-3-3. Many teams at this Euro 04 are playing an attacking diamond in front of 2 DM's where there is a play maker, a lone striker and two guys wide just off the striker. It doesn't take any imagination to see that these players are there to put full-backs, who have inncreasingly become more attacking since 1998, under pressure. With 3 midfielders behind them, they are not required to really defend.
So, they play out wide and attack the full back. They are, basically, wide men. In fact, turn on your TV now and see what the Danes, another impressive performer in Euro 04, are doing.
AYO , going from your list . Tell me how you can play a 3-5-2 formation bearing in mind that you choose 3 players from your list of defenders, 5 players from your list of midfielders, and two players from your list of attackers. Can this be made into a team without contradicting your list. Check it out again.

You never realize what you have till you lose it.
since u have that imfamous "handshake" with ekueme, u've been riding his d#$% lately, the boy is not eagles material, he cannot even make a decent cross for god's sake. I will take lawal for the experience instead of ekueme please. Runnng around cluelessly does not make a player SE material.Ayo Akinfe wrote:Garba's dedication is exemplary but would you really drop Ifeanyi Udeze or Gabriel Melkham for him? Look at how tirelessly Ifeanyi Ekwueme ran up and down the line during the Unity Cup, defending, tackling, and then runing up to support the strikers at the other end.wanaj0 wrote:I am not a fan of garba. But there is no way that SE team list will be compile TODAY that his name will not be included.
Can you see Garba doing that? Or are you suggesting that a player who no longer has the legs be picked ahead of one who has? Like I said earlier, I would take Garba as a member of the technical crew.
Gotti, fair point about Uche Kalu, Michael Nnanji and Muyiwa Lawal. I just hope we see Uche in a better league this season so we get to see more of him.
Ayo,your list is almost right on the money except for the glaring omission of Uche Kalu,and the inclusion of Makinwa who has not played for the SE or for his club at senior level.Ogbeche has played and scored for Nigeria.Aiyegbeni has proved his worth.Martins,Ekoku et al had played for their teams at worthwhile levels and could be assessed.
............................................................Enyeama........................................................
Abbey/M.Lawal..........................Yobo.....................Okoronkwo.........................Udeze/ Cele
........................Obodo..............................Seyi........................Adewande/ Oruma .........
.............................................................JJ/Uttaka......................................................
............................JAG / YAK...................................................MArtins/Eliakwu........
Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".
Ayo,
There you go attempting to shift the goal posts again. The issue doesn't concern Joaquin's effectiveness. Wing-play is a single aspect of attacking football which can provide a team with further OPTIONS. It's no different to your suggestion that Makinwa be used as a "big Vieri-like figure up there to lump it up to" since "none of the other strikers can play this role."
waka-man,
You dey mind dis pipul? kaycee2g, I want you to read, learn and recite waka's post before you login to this site again.
There you go attempting to shift the goal posts again. The issue doesn't concern Joaquin's effectiveness. Wing-play is a single aspect of attacking football which can provide a team with further OPTIONS. It's no different to your suggestion that Makinwa be used as a "big Vieri-like figure up there to lump it up to" since "none of the other strikers can play this role."
waka-man,
You dey mind dis pipul? kaycee2g, I want you to read, learn and recite waka's post before you login to this site again.