The overated underachievers have shown themselves once more!

basketmouth
YELLOW CARDED
Re: The overated underachievers have shown themselves once more!

Post by basketmouth »

kamerun wrote:So this is the gathering point for all the jealous and hate filled ones? :dream:
Ya'll are blaming the Ivorians for all pundits saying they are favourites because they have the best individual players? Surely you are either jealous or a hater but wont admit it. All of you including cameroonians, nigerians etc...would love to have the press sing your praises, would love to see the world call you the favourites but on paper you simply arent. This thread is similar to one opened by Malawi football fans after their win over Algeria crying about the fact that Algerians where made favourite by the press even before a ball was kicked. Was that the fault of Algerians? Ohh please yall should stop this jealousy. All small teams pray for the favourites to fall so they can come and mouth...its that way everywhere but not with me.
Stop being childish already. CIV is overrated and has been for years. They are yet to win anything since the hype began and they get progressively worse each year. :roll:
If you attend a tithe collecting Church, get out fast because God is not there!
kamerun

Post by kamerun »

Go on gabonese forum ''les pantheres''...these guys where crying after they beat us that the press made us favourite but cameroon is not all that. Was it cameroons fault if on paper we have better players than them thus where the favourites? Jealousy and hate thats all it is if we go down to the root of the issue...
goat no fi eat where dey no tie am
The Goddess

Post by The Goddess »

I dont think they were overhyped. They have the players and potential but for some reason cannot pull it through. They definitely need a psychologist.
Last edited by The Goddess on Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
kamerun

Post by kamerun »

The Goddess wrote:I dont think they were overhyped. The yhave the players nad potential but for some reason cannot pull it through. They definitely need a psychologists.
Exactly I agree with you Goddess...their problem is psychological. Otherwise they have the players. Maybe cameroon and Ivory coast can help each other...we need players they need our psych!!!

kamerun wrote:So this is the gathering point for all the jealous and hate filled ones? :dream:
Ya'll are blaming the Ivorians for all pundits saying they are favourites because they have the best individual players? Surely you are either jealous or a hater but wont admit it. All of you including cameroonians, nigerians etc...would love to have the press sing your praises, would love to see the world call you the favourites but on paper you simply arent. This thread is similar to one opened by Malawi football fans after their win over Algeria crying about the fact that Algerians where made favourite by the press even before a ball was kicked. Was that the fault of Algerians? Ohh please yall should stop this jealousy. All small teams pray for the favourites to fall so they can come and mouth...its that way everywhere but not with me.
Dude shat ap. This movie has been played over and over. What else do you need. IC is a second tier team.

DONT MIND SOME OF THESE FOOLISH NIGERIANS, WE HAVEN'T EVEN BEATEN ANY TOP 10 AFRICAN TEAM IN HOW LONG ? GHANA AND CIV BEAT US TWICE THE LAST 2 TIMES WE MET AND WE STILL GET THE NERVE TO TALK TRASH WHEN WE STRUGGLE AGAINST THE BENIN'S AND KENYA'S. THESE ARE THE ONLY KIND OF TEAMS WE CAN BEAT. AMODU IS A GENIOUS FOR BEATING MOZAMBIQUE.
Altobelli
Re: The overated underacievers have shown themselves once more

Post by Altobelli »

peppersoup wrote:Silver (finalist) 2006
Bronze (semifinalist) 2008
QF 2010

Group stage elimination 2012?

hmmmmm

It reminded me of SA
1996 winner
1998 finalist
2000 SF
2002 QF
2004 Group stage
Dem win bronze for where? They were fourth 2 years ago.
Bonita Applebum, say you gotta put me on........
kamerun

Post by kamerun »

joplass wrote:
Dude shat ap. This movie has been played over and over. What else do you need. IC is a second tier team.
Gabones believe we are overhyped by the press! Do you care to know why they think so?
Egunje

Post by Egunje »

asabe wrote:Ivory Coast needs a coach like Mourihno or Amodu to shore up their defense and make the team compact....

If na joke, stop am right now. How can you group Mourinho and Amodu together like that. One is a tactical genius while the other one is clueless.
This way of baiting the people already against Amodu is not healthy. Amodu might be good in his own ways, but don't compare Mourinho's international achivements with those of Amodu.
wawa

Post by wawa »

goke313 wrote:and who are we to be talking?
Can we defeat that same Algerian team?

DONT MIND THEM. WE ONLY BEAT TEAMS LIKE KENYA AND BENIN. WE COULDN'T EVEN BEAT TUNISIA WHO ARE QUITE A BIT WORSE THAN ALGERIA.
Oh put a sock in it. If the SE had lost to Algeria you would have done one of your linear analyses and concluded we could not be good because Malawi caned Algeria 3-0. Continuing to think of Benin and Moz as minnows really shows a lack of respect for the game. Its a good thing your punditary remains here and only here.
superwinger

Post by superwinger »

Goldleaf wrote:It is always most amusing when people talk about CIV as favourites and start throwing names like Drogba, Yaya Toure, dis and dat. Well, favourites my black a$$!

CIV score first, Algeria equalised
CIV scored second, Algeria equalised
Algeria scored next, did CIV equalise?

That tells you the team has no character, no mental strength and means of recovery, simply put no plan B. Algeria could and should have humiliated them by scoring 5!

The CIV so-called big boys talk the talk but cannot walk the walk. Those who crucify Yak will shoot Drogba who was missing for most of the game. Yaya Toure was nowhere to be found while the keeper was a joke. To top it, I'm sure the coach is paid more than 10 times what Amodu is paid.

Hopefully, all those lazy reporters who made CIV the favourites for this CAN will now rub their eyes again and hopefully, the CIV coach (if he retains his job) will realise that big names mean nothing if there is no motivation to achieve.

This clueless coach has been exposed in public for all to see. Now they can terminate his contract and find a decent coach who can fix their leaky defence. The coach has had enough time to sort out the lapses at the back either through solid drills or selecting capable personel.

I personally think they have the squad and players to keep it tight at the back. But after being rapped 4-1 by Egypt in 2008 we can see that nothing has been fixed 2 years later. If he takes them to SA they will leave the group with no less that 9 goals. Brazil, Portugal and even Korea will be practicing their goal celebrations right now.

THEY MUST HIRE A COACH CAPABLE OF FIXING THEIR DEFENSIVE PROBLEMS BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
superwinger

Post by superwinger »

DONT MIND THEM. WE ONLY BEAT TEAMS LIKE KENYA AND BENIN. WE COULDN'T EVEN BEAT TUNISIA WHO ARE QUITE A BIT WORSE THAN ALGERIA.
So Burkina Faso, Malawi are better than Tunisia too :???: :???:
OTIZI

Post by OTIZI »

wawa wrote:

Oh put a sock in it. If the SE had lost to Algeria you would have done one of your linear analyses and concluded we could not be good because Malawi caned Algeria 3-0. Continuing to think of Benin and Moz as minnows really shows a lack of respect for the game. Its a good thing your punditary remains here and only here.
Their (CIV) loss today shows that having players in the best teams does not translate to being invinsible at national tem level. We have to learn from them and bench our players who think that they are lords (YAK, MIKEL) for whom other players should toil to recover the ball so all they have do is to spray short passes sideways and backwards or walk on the pitch anticipating tap-in chances.

If we have to play a 3rd division midfielder at the expense of some EPL stars to overcome the pacy zambians, Amodu has to do it. We can't afford to continue fielding players by their club names otherwise what happened to CIV will befall us. SE, PLEASE TAKE HEED!
MAY NAIJA GET ANOTHER AMOKACHI & AMUNEKE -NOT okocha!

superwinger wrote:

Oboy dont worry,why are you replying

superwinger wrote:

Oboy dont worry,why are you replying
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

Egunje wrote:
asabe wrote:Ivory Coast needs a coach like Mourihno or Amodu to shore up their defense and make the team compact....

If na joke, stop am right now. How can you group Mourinho and Amodu together like that. One is a tactical genius while the other one is clueless.
This way of baiting the people already against Amodu is not healthy. Amodu might be good in his own ways, but don't compare Mourinho's international achivements with those of Amodu.
Oh shut your dumb trap.
Imagination is more important than knowledge

- Albert Einstein

basketmouth wrote:
Stop being childish already. CIV is overrated and has been for years. They are yet to win anything since the hype began and they get progressively worse each year. :roll:
I think dude is refering to Cameroonians who curiously - for a Country that has had such succes in African football - still seem to have a complex for CIV! :D

To be fair the way they bash Drogba and CIV has always surprised me. Maybe it;s a Francophone thing like Naija and Ghana.

I haven't been watching the matches apart from internet highlights, but I always warned that Ivory Coast has a suspect defense and goal keeping. The Elephants have a potent enough offense, but they need to shore up the back, especially against Brazil and Portugal come summer.

That being said, I don't know why people think Ivory Coast are overrated. Look, this is a situation where having lots of European based players is a disadvantage for obvious reasons. We will see in the WC guys. For me, I still feel Ghana and Ivory Coast are the best African sides, especially based on players...but also the last WC.

Do you really think Algeria will be better at the WC than Ivory Coast? I don't think so.

Cheers, Mate
YoungLion

Post by YoungLion »

Mon frere. De grace apprends a mesurer tes mots !!!
You're too much at times :rotf: :rotf:
The indomitable Lions of Cameroon.

Samora Moises Machel wrote:Brazil will beat this CIV mercilessly i am afraid
just like they beat Egypt and USA. We need stop hyping teams just because of the individual talents. The same way people hyped the CIV

walesvilla wrote:CIV was robed tha third goal from Toure was not offside....

well you win some and lose some...was Drogba goal against Nigeria in 06 not offside??

What ever man, get over it. It would have been a crime for them to be the winner is that game, they just look bad on the field. If Zaki and Zidan were playing on that Algerian team, the scores would have been more

DONT MIND SOME OF THESE FOOLISH NIGERIANS, WE HAVEN'T EVEN BEATEN ANY TOP 10 AFRICAN TEAM IN HOW LONG ? GHANA AND CIV BEAT US TWICE THE LAST 2 TIMES WE MET AND WE STILL GET THE NERVE TO TALK TRASH WHEN WE STRUGGLE AGAINST THE BENIN'S AND KENYA'S. THESE ARE THE ONLY KIND OF TEAMS WE CAN BEAT. AMODU IS A GENIOUS FOR BEATING MOZAMBIQUE.
Well we are over rated too