US Audience

nzeogwu
Re: US Audience

Post by nzeogwu »

1Naija, I have known Brad since my senior year at UNLV and played against him and Paul Caligiuri while they were at UCLA and Wynalda and Balboa in San Diego back in 1989. He has always soundewd like that, respectfully.
F360

Post by F360 »

nzeogwu wrote:1Naija, I have known Brad since my senior year at UNLV and played against him and Paul Caligiuri while they were at UCLA and Wynalda and Balboa in San Diego back in 1989. He has always soundewd like that, respectfully.
So essentially you're saying he was speaking with a fake British accent back in 89?

--------------------------------------------
F360

Post by F360 »

F360 wrote:
F360 wrote:Friedel has been trying to work that fake English accent since the 1st day he landed in England.

Ask the U.S. fans, they've discussed that his fake accent for over a decade now. The dude has been trying to speak like that forever, I don't know if his accent has changed but Kasey Keller who moved to England before Friedel did in the 90's did not have an English accent during his time there, yet the moment Friedel landed in Merseyside he was blowing grammer in some weird Scouse/English accent.

the accent is not fake... John Harkes found it tough to lose his "British" accent... Ran into Brad Friedel once in DC at a function and he was not pretending to have an accent... he DID HAVE an accent.

Pardon me but John Harkes "British" accent is one of the fakest things ever. Dude was trying to work the British accent the moment he landed in England. Undoubtedly after a significant stay, one picks up an accent but when you're already speaking in said accent after a few months there, something is funny.

You can say for certain Friedel did have an accent? I find it hard to believe anyone but Friedel and his close family would know if his accent is fake or not. Regardless, i'm sure after all this time he has picked up a bit of an accent but my point is that a portion(major or minor) is fake and he was speaking that way after less time on Merseyside than Kasey Keller who had been in England for way longer than Friedel at that time in the 90's.
You are basing Friedel's accent on Kasey Keller's? You for real?

Folks have different affinity for language immersion including honing down the accent part...

There folks in the US for years yet can't lose their thick accents and you have JJC who just got off the boat and in two years can hide their accents better than the folks who have been here for years.
Absolutely I'm for real.

Language immersion ability taken into consideration, I'm sure Friedel's accent become more pronounced at a certain point during his stay but as nzeogwu noted(in response to 1naija's first post) Friedel was speaking with the accent back in College. So in effect the guy from Ohio was putting on a front back then and by the time he got to England he made sure that English accent was more noticeable.

I also am yet to meet a JJC that in two years can hide an accent better than folks here for years) (AGE being equal seeing as the younger the person the ability to immerse oneself in the language and accent becomes easier).
If the JJC is 13-20 and the other person is 30-50 then obviously it'd be easier for the JJC to develop an American(or British) accent quicker than the 30-50 year old.

--------------------------------------------