Zambia's FA: Chitalu out-scored Messi in a calendar year
Re: Messi’s new goalscoring record ‘was broken in 1972′

The hatred Africans have for one another is astonishing! before Messi broke the record, people were already rallying around each other, opening threads left right and center! e remain small, they would have breast-fed each other around cybereagles! But an African may actually hold the record and they ignore the thread. But for God, this thread would have been moved to Rant and Rave!the black man is his own worst enemy; he is jealous of himself,envious and covetous

"the black man is his own worst enemy; he is jealous of himself,envious and covetous" ---marcus garvey

Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Okokobioko,
Was that published in a London newspaper? If not, then why should we believe it?

okokobioko wrote:![]()
See as them just pretend like sey dem no see this thread. Gotta love Africans, jare. As Marcus Garvey said:
The hatred Africans have for one another is astonishing! before Messi broke the record, people were already rallying around each other, opening threads left right and center! e remain small, they would have breast-fed each other around cybereagles! But an African may actually hold the record and they ignore the thread. But for God, this thread would have been moved to Rant and Rave!the black man is his own worst enemy; he is jealous of himself,envious and covetousAfricans are shameless to the core!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote:Okokobioko,
Was that published in a London newspaper? If not, then why should we believe it?![]()
See as them just pretend like sey dem no see this thread. Gotta love Africans, jare. As Marcus Garvey said:
The hatred Africans have for one another is astonishing! before Messi broke the record, people were already rallying around each other, opening threads left right and center! e remain small, they would have breast-fed each other around cybereagles! But an African may actually hold the record and they ignore the thread. But for God, this thread would have been moved to Rant and Rave!the black man is his own worst enemy; he is jealous of himself,envious and covetousAfricans are shameless to the core!
"the black man is his own worst enemy; he is jealous of himself,envious and covetous" ---marcus garvey
Rubbish!
Why didn't tjhey make all this noise before?
Did they not hear of Gerd Muller?
Silly, incompetent people!!
The danger in hunting down evil, is that you gradually become that which you seek to destroy..
"While this Czech man is impressive, d#$% Cheney, Don Rumsfeld and the rest of the US Republican establishment have been living without a heart for a far longer time." - Scipio Africanus' reaction to news that a Czech man had undergone a surgical procedure that enabled him to live for 6 months without a heart.
E be like say e dey pain you!Maradona wrote:Rubbish!

Rajiv Kumar scored 105 against Nigeria in that famous 107-0 victory they had over us. The one with the Tigers and stuff..
megapro wrote:Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
- oluphemmie007
Maradona wrote:Rubbish!
guy you should be slapped so hard you forget your name.
Manchester United: Trophies Yesterday, Today and Forever
This is Cybereagles...expect anything.
It is easy. Messi scored 88 this year all documented. Zambia said they are going to get the evidence of Chitalu's goals and the number of matches he played, then they will submit it to FIFA. When they do, and it is verified, then it is a fantastic achievement simple. The greatest player of all time at the moment is on 88 goals. Flamengo said Zico Scored 89 in the 70's, they have also said they need to carry out further investigation. So when they provide these evidence, and it is verified, then these will also be a fantastic achievement. 

Al B Sure wrote:It is easy. Messi scored 88 this year all documented. Zambia said they are going to get the evidence of Chitalu's goals and the number of matches he played, then they will submit it to FIFA. When they do, and it is verified, then it is a fantastic achievement simple. The greatest player of all time at the moment is on 88 goals. Flamengo said Zico Scored 89 in the 70's, they have also said they need to carry out further investigation. So when they provide these evidence, and it is verified, then these will also be a fantastic achievement.
Zambia FA have no record of Chitalu goals, they intend to use a report from a newspaper of that time but they now have no record of that newspaper archive

Incredible.realtrouble wrote:Al B Sure wrote:It is easy. Messi scored 88 this year all documented. Zambia said they are going to get the evidence of Chitalu's goals and the number of matches he played, then they will submit it to FIFA. When they do, and it is verified, then it is a fantastic achievement simple. The greatest player of all time at the moment is on 88 goals. Flamengo said Zico Scored 89 in the 70's, they have also said they need to carry out further investigation. So when they provide these evidence, and it is verified, then these will also be a fantastic achievement.
Zambia FA have no record of Chitalu goals, they intend to use a report from a newspaper of that time but they now have no record of that newspaper archive![]()
. They asked Zambia FA of the combine number of cap's of their current national team last week and the same Zambia FA could not come up with an answer. Poor bureaucracy has been the downfall of the modern African state.
Re: Zambia's Chitalu Scored More Than Messi's In A Calendar

Its not about wikipedia. Surely u can use google!
Chitalu's story has just come to light based on the phenomenal research of Jerry Muchimba, who has recently presented his findings to the Zambian FA.
It should be noted that some of the games were apparently not officially sanctioned matches, but he did score in them...and in one game scored seven times!
@ ENUGU II:
He was coach at the time of the crash; assistant with the Olympics team earlier...He had been banned for life for an assault on a referee, but later pardoned...
Chitalu's story has just come to light based on the phenomenal research of Jerry Muchimba, who has recently presented his findings to the Zambian FA.
It should be noted that some of the games were apparently not officially sanctioned matches, but he did score in them...and in one game scored seven times!
@ ENUGU II:
He was coach at the time of the crash; assistant with the Olympics team earlier...He had been banned for life for an assault on a referee, but later pardoned...
Maradona wrote:LMAO @ this thread.
Where is the video evidence?
I didn't know people took everything on Wikipedia as the gospel truth.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
[/video]Maradona wrote:LMAO @ this thread.
Where is the video evidence?
I didn't know people took everything on Wikipedia as the gospel truth.
megapro wrote:Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
My question to the Zambian FA is .... are they just now becoming aware that Chitalu scored all these goals? For 40 years they have been hearing that Gerd Muller had the record goals in a calendar year and it never once occurred to them to challenge it until now?papparassi Sport wrote:The Zambian FA are now trying to bring Chitalu the recognition he deserves for his achievement by trawling their archives for evidence of the 107-goal haul.
"We have this record, which has been recorded in Zambian football, but unfortunately it has not been recorded in world football," a spokesman told the Soccer Laduma website.
"Even as the world has been looking at Lionel Messi's record, breaking Gerd Mueller's, the debate and discussion back here has been why Godfrey's goals are not being recognised.
"What we are doing is, we have commissioned an independent team locally to go back into the archives and record minute by minute each of those goals.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
The record really wasn't of importance to anyone until two months ago.The Eagle wrote:My question to the Zambian FA is .... are they just now becoming aware that Chitalu scored all these goals? For 40 years they have been hearing that Gerd Muller had the record goals in a calendar year and it never once occurred to them to challenge it until now?papparassi Sport wrote:The Zambian FA are now trying to bring Chitalu the recognition he deserves for his achievement by trawling their archives for evidence of the 107-goal haul.
"We have this record, which has been recorded in Zambian football, but unfortunately it has not been recorded in world football," a spokesman told the Soccer Laduma website.
"Even as the world has been looking at Lionel Messi's record, breaking Gerd Mueller's, the debate and discussion back here has been why Godfrey's goals are not being recognised.
"What we are doing is, we have commissioned an independent team locally to go back into the archives and record minute by minute each of those goals.
I suspect Chitalu was not feted before now cos then there was no IT as we now know it or generally access to news and information. That apart, I guess peeps who can recall Chitalu are probably irked by the palpable amount of hyperventilating and propaganda that has accompanied Messi's laudable feat.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Zambia FA seeks Fifa recognition for 107-goal Chitalu
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20711038
finally the bbc are on it
The Football Association of Zambia says it will approach Fifa about getting recognition for striker Godfrey Chitalu's feat of scoring 107 goals in 1972.
The move comes after Lionel Messi broke German Gerd Mueller's record of 85 goals scored in a calendar year, the Argentine now has 88 to his name in 2012.
Faz spokesman Eric Mwanza insists they have the records to prove Chitalu should be acknowledged for his goals.
"We want to make it very clear that it is not a question of authenticating, or trying to verify or see if he actually scored the goals - that is not in question," he insisted.
"What is in question now is why has he not been recognised, and that is what we are looking at now.
"We are sending communication to the Secretary General of Fifa, Mr Jerome Valcke, to look again into the matter of Godfrey Chitalu."
After his playing career Chitalu went on to be a coach eventually leading the Zambian national team.
He died along with 29 other people, of which 18 were Zambian internationals, in a plane crash off the coast of Gabon as the team travelled to Senegal for a World Cup qualifier.
Mwanza also added that 1972 was not the first time that Chitalu had been so prolific.
"In the season preceding 1972 he'd scored about 89 goals," he explained.
"In 1972 he scored 107 goals - that includes the league, African club championship matches, national team matches, and international friendly games."
The president of Faz, Kalusha Bwalya, says he clearly remembers Chitalu's prolific season.
"There's no doubt, my father was in the FA and I've seen a lot of games in my time," he stressed.
"Kabwe Warriors, for whom Godfrey Chitalu played, is a legendary team in our country.
"Their front line had Godfrey Chitalu scoring all the goals - and even for the national team, this man did a lot.
"So I think it would be important for people to recognise his feats."
Bwalya, played under Chitalu when he coached the national team in 1993, says he does not want the talk of Chitalu to detract from Messi's goals in 2012.
"I think it's phenomenal to do what Messi has done," he said.
"Some of us have seen players like Pele, Platini, Maradona and Van Basten, as a former footballer, in the modern-day it is so difficult to score even 20 goals - so don't take anything away from Messi.
"He is out of this world."
One unofficial Zambian football website claims that Chitalu in fact scored 116 goals in 1972 but has discounted the first 9 he scored in the African Cup of Champion Clubs, the predecessor of the Champions League.
He reportedly scored the goals over two legs against Majantja of Lesotho in the first round of the tournament but the site does not count the goals for unknown reasons.
EII,
Its not that simplistic! Don't let Okokoriboriko's hatred for Barca/Messi confuse u
The Zambian's I believe share some blame here for not according the feat the recognition it deserved both locally and thru FIFA.
It is Messi's exploits that has drawn attention to this record, so it seems a lil unfair to blame it all on a eurocentric media...
Its not that simplistic! Don't let Okokoriboriko's hatred for Barca/Messi confuse u

The Zambian's I believe share some blame here for not according the feat the recognition it deserved both locally and thru FIFA.
It is Messi's exploits that has drawn attention to this record, so it seems a lil unfair to blame it all on a eurocentric media...
Enugu II wrote:Okokobioko,
Was that published in a London newspaper? If not, then why should we believe it?![]()
My brother, but this is the sort of attitude I am talking about. If there was a Nigerian who had a record, global record of some kind, I would not be waiting for "anyone" (by which you mean the European and North American media) to decide it was of importance before I made it important myself. Heck, on the 25th anniversary of his 107th goal, I would organize a friendly with a high-profile team like Brazil, invite all of the top brass of FIFA and other entities and make a big bloody deal out of it. Assuming his goals are verifiable .... a task that would have been easier if they had bothered to do it back in the 1970s.kalani wrote:The record really wasn't of importance to anyone until two months ago.
PS: By the way, if we had qualified for the 2006 World Cup, and I was in the Nigerian Football Federations marketing department, by the time Nigeria plays its first match, every media organization in the world would be waiting for Jay Jay Okocha to step foot on the field so they can say "And, eh, Okocha becomes the first African to play in 4 World Cup tournaments" .... with the attendant pre-match interviews where they ask him stuff like how far he thinks African football has come since that famous Zairean freekick in 1974. I might then sell a bunch of replica Eagles jerseys with "Okocha 10" on the back ..... Like the lizard who jumped off the tree branch, if nobody hails you, you must hail yourself.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
This thing is getting plenty press.
KickoffChief came on ESPN Press Pass (via phone) to discuss this. This matter is now being investigated by the official football bodies concerned.
And when pressed, KOC said that if the investigation find that Chitalu legitimately has 107 goals or anything greater than Zico's or what Messi will end up with after his remain 2012 matches, then he should be recognized. the other panelists agreed with this.
I find all of this very interesting. that will be a weird emotion for Messi that after all his hard work, and risking injury to get this record, it will likely end up with him becoming second to Chitalu or even 3rd behind Chitalu and Zico (in that order).
KickoffChief came on ESPN Press Pass (via phone) to discuss this. This matter is now being investigated by the official football bodies concerned.
And when pressed, KOC said that if the investigation find that Chitalu legitimately has 107 goals or anything greater than Zico's or what Messi will end up with after his remain 2012 matches, then he should be recognized. the other panelists agreed with this.
I find all of this very interesting. that will be a weird emotion for Messi that after all his hard work, and risking injury to get this record, it will likely end up with him becoming second to Chitalu or even 3rd behind Chitalu and Zico (in that order).
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.
http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
The earth is not our home.
http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
btw Zico is counting goals scored in an exhibition game.
time we start calling out FiFa on all yeye records
Zambia FA seeks Fifa recognition for 107-goal Chitalu
The Football Association of Zambia (Faz) says it will approach Fifa about getting recognition for striker Godfrey Chitalu's feat of scoring 107 goals in 1972.
The move comes after Lionel Messi broke German Gerd Mueller's record of 85 goals scored in a calendar year, the Argentine now has 88 to his name in 2012.
Faz spokesman Eric Mwanza told BBC Sport it has the records to prove Chitalu should be acknowledged for his goals.
"We want to make it very clear that it is not a question of authenticating, or trying to verify or see if he actually scored the goals - that is not in question," he insisted.
"What is in question now is why has he not been recognised, and that is what we are looking at now.
"We are sending communication to the Secretary General of Fifa, Mr Jerome Valcke, to look again into the matter of Godfrey Chitalu."
After his playing career Chitalu went on to be a coach eventually leading the Zambian national team.
He died along with 29 other people, of which 18 were Zambian internationals, in a plane crash off the coast of Gabon as the team travelled to Senegal for a World Cup qualifier.
Mwanza also added that 1972 was not the first time that Chitalu had been so prolific.
"In 1972 he scored 107 goals - that includes the league, African club championship matches, national team matches, and international friendly games."
The president of Faz, Kalusha Bwalya, says he clearly remembers Chitalu's prolific season.
"There's no doubt, my father was in the FA and I've seen a lot of games in my time," he stressed.
"Kabwe Warriors, for whom Godfrey Chitalu played, is a legendary team in our country.
"Their front line had Godfrey Chitalu scoring all the goals - and even for the national team, this man did a lot.
Bwalya, played under Chitalu when he coached the national team in 1993, says he does not want the talk of Chitalu to detract from Messi's goals in 2012.
"Some of us have seen players like Pele, Platini, Maradona and Van Basten, as a former footballer, in the modern-day it is so difficult to score even 20 goals - so don't take anything away from Messi.
One unofficial Zambian football website claims that Chitalu in fact scored 116 goals in 1972 but has discounted the first nine he scored in the African Cup of Champion Clubs.
He reportedly scored the goals over two legs against Majantja of Lesotho in the first round of the tournament but the site does not count the goals for unknown reasons.
The Football Association of Zambia (Faz) says it will approach Fifa about getting recognition for striker Godfrey Chitalu's feat of scoring 107 goals in 1972.
Faz spokesman Eric Mwanza told BBC Sport it has the records to prove Chitalu should be acknowledged for his goals.
One unofficial Zambian football website claims that Chitalu in fact scored 116 goals in 1972 but has discounted the first nine he scored in the African Cup of Champion Clubs.