Obafemi to MLS

Re: Obafemi to MLS

kolinzo wrote:MLS is one of the most vibrant leagues in the world. MLS is the top 5 of the strongest league in the world. This is a league where the likes of Beckham, Thiery Henry, Juan Angel just to name a few have made names for themselves and a couple of them have gone to another league in Europe where they are much sought after (e.g. Beckham).

Obafemi will for sure meet strong defenders here compare to the defenders he faces week in week out in the NDL of Spain, so don't expect him to score much. Even Thiery Henry slowed down in goal scoring when he came over. I expect to see Obagoal play well alongside top players of the Sounders. Now Sounders is my favorite new team!
Kolinzo,
My guy, step away from the keyboard.

PLEASE
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Schillachi wrote:
kolinzo wrote:MLS is one of the most vibrant leagues in the world. MLS is the top 5 of the strongest league in the world. This is a league where the likes of Beckham, Thiery Henry, Juan Angel just to name a few have made names for themselves and a couple of them have gone to another league in Europe where they are much sought after (e.g. Beckham).

Obafemi will for sure meets strong defenders here compare to the defenders he faces week in week out in the NDL of Spain, so don't expect him to score much. Even Thiery Henry slowed down in goal scoring when he came over. I expect to see Obagoal play well alongside top players of the Sounders. Now Sounders is my favorite new team!
Guy, shut up.
The Guy dey yarn correct talk u dey form, Prove him wrong then

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:This is wonderful news!!! Oba will be playing just 2hrs away from me and he'll be in portland when they play the Timbers. Oyaaaaa....abeg, oba sign the deal kia kia jare. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
pray make I no catch your stupis arsss for 1-5

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
achuzia-the-air-raid

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

wale1974 wrote:
Schillachi wrote:

Obafemi will for sure meets strong defenders here compare to the defenders he faces week in week out in the NDL of Spain, so don't expect him to score much. Even Thiery Henry slowed down in goal scoring when he came over. I expect to see Obagoal play well alongside top players of the Sounders. Now Sounders is my favorite new team!
Guy, shut up.
The Guy dey yarn correct talk u dey form, Prove him wrong then
KPOM!
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).

La liga is the best league in the world. The MLS is rubbish,the proof I have is the eye test, I have been to a game,they can't even string two or three passes together, tufakia of a league, would rather watch paint dry.

jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

Obafemi will for sure meet strong defenders here compare to the defenders he faces week in week out in the NDL of Spain, so don't expect him to score much. Even Thiery Henry slowed down in goal scoring when he came over. I expect to see Obagoal play well alongside top players of the Sounders. Now Sounders is my favorite new team!
Have you thought if the fact that he reduced the number of goals scored because he has reached the climax of his career??? How many Goals did Henry score on his brief trip back to Arsenal???
GIN

Post by GIN »

ohenhen1 wrote:La liga is the best league in the world. The MLS is rubbish,the proof I have is the eye test, I have been to a game,they can't even string two or three passes together, tufakia of a league, would rather watch paint dry.
Yeah, Yeah, Yeah. You have been singing the same old song for how long now? Thank God the likes of Emmanuel Ekpo did not listen to your crazy talk when he moved from Enyimba to columbus.
Samson Siasia speaking FACTs about 2008.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099

Post by GUEST »

NOT ABOUT THE MONEY---IS ALL ABOUT TH MONEY..

http://www.supersport.com/football/nige ... vante_exit

Reports are already suggesting that Martins and Seattle Sounders have agreed a three-year contract with an option of a year, which will see the Nigerian earn around $2.5 million per annum.
oboy make e collect the thing

kolinzo wrote:

Becks, Henry, Oba, Keano...

even ohenohen wouldn't write this shi.t
Did the not make names for themselves when they got to MLS or were they journeyman when they got here? :sneaky: Siddon for dirty one time!

so in 5 years C Ron moves to MLS...will he be making a name for himself? :roll:

quickie

Post by quickie »

airwolex wrote:

Q

quickie wrote:
airwolex wrote:

Q

GIN wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:La liga is the best league in the world. The MLS is rubbish,the proof I have is the eye test, I have been to a game,they can't even string two or three passes together, tufakia of a league, would rather watch paint dry.
Yeah, Yeah, Yeah. You have been singing the same old song for how long now? Thank God the likes of Emmanuel Ekpo did not listen to your crazy talk when he moved from Enyimba to columbus.

And Ekpo was not even in the conversation for potential callups. Martins is making a serious mistake. Why leave the best league in the world for the MLS. Even Beckham was shut out of the English national team and even the Olympic team because he played in the MLS. The MLS is like the SPL without Celtics and Rangers. I will rather watch the NPFL.

Bright DIke was dropped, didn't make the final team, and this is after scoring in a friendly. The home based players have a better chance of making the squad than any MLS player.

kolinzo wrote:

Did the not make names for themselves when they got to MLS or were they journeyman when they got here? :sneaky: Siddon for dirty one time!

Stop it!! Beckham came to the MLS thinking he was still in Europe but quickly found out that he had to make his name known in the MLS as we didn't give a hoot what he did in Europe. If C-Ron comes down here all his past achievements remain in the past until he makes a name in the MLS. Babayaro came to the MLS and couldn't make name for himself as he was fired after a couple of games. So yes C-RON will have to prove he is C-RON if/when he comes to MLS. This is America! :roll:
Last edited by kolinzo on Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jungle-jawara wrote:

Have you thought if the fact that he reduced the number of goals scored because he has reached the climax of his career??? How many Goals did Henry score on his brief trip back to Arsenal???
Not really. Henry was Barcelona's highest goal scorer when he came to the MLS and I'm very positive Henry can still take EPL defenders to cleaners if he wants to. Today's Henry is better than any current striker at Arsenal (please take this to the bank).

platinum wrote:Seattle,

Hide your wives and girlfriends! Owambe number 1 is about to show the northwest how to get down...
... and if him get down too much or carelessly, he will end up in jail and ALL WILL BE LOST.
GIN

Post by GIN »

GIN wrote:

And Ekpo was not even in the conversation for potential callups. Martins is making a serious mistake. Why leave the best league in the world for the MLS. Even Beckham was shut out of the English national team and even the Olympic team because he played in the MLS. The MLS is like the SPL without Celtics and Rangers. I will rather watch the NPFL.
It is not by force to watch the MLS, but there is no reason to make up stories to prove your point. David was never shut out of the english team because he played in the MLS. I guess you conveniently forgot that he ruptured his achilles tendon in March 2010 which ruled him out of the world cup in the summer.
Samson Siasia speaking FACTs about 2008.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099

oboy u really shack ogogoro
kolinzo wrote:

Stop it!! Beckham came to the MLS thinking he was still in Europe but quickly found out that he had to make his name known in the MLS as we didn't give a hoot what he did in Europe. If C-Ron comes down here all his past achievements remain in the past until he makes a name in the MLS. Babayaro came to the MLS and couldn't make name for himself as he was fired after a couple of games. So yes C-RON will have to prove he is C-RON if/when he comes to MLS. This is America! :roll:

obrin2

Post by obrin2 »

Good news, bad news with Seattle’s ever-closer Obafemi Martins signing

Richard Farley

Feb 27, 2013, 5:00 PM EST

3 Comments

Getty Images

Here’s the good news about Obafemi Martins, if you’re a Seattle Sounder fan:

The move is almost done. Reportedly, the sides have agreed to terms on a contract that will pay the former Nigerian international $2.5 million per season. Bonuses can take up to $3.5 million. It’s a huge commitment from Seattle at a time when fans were starting to wonder if the gate receipts would translate into an expanded payroll. If the numbers prove true, only three players (Thierry Henry, Tim Cahill, Robbie Keane) would make more than Martins. Whether that salary’s justified or not, that’s a whole new level of commitment.

This guy will also be a great fit with Eddie Johnson. Short, quick, with the ability to burst onto a ball, the 28-year-old is a good complement for somebody whose physicality demands so much attention. You can already see Martins surging onto balls Johnson’s elevated to win. When Johnson pushes the defense in the attacking phase, Martins will be free to poach or exploit space along the line. All the things Martins lacks — size, physicality, and (often) intensity — Johnson can provide, and with the skill in Seattle’s midfield (especially the wide-to-in contributions of Mauro Rosales), Sigi Schmid won’t have to worry if Martins’ ability to link play falls short of Fredy Montero’s.

As far as goals, the tandem could be potent. Both players have Golden Boot-level talent. Their individual threats will prevent opposing defenses from focusing on one man. With two of the league’s top scoring in the same XI, all of Seattle’s potential scoring problems disappear.

Martins can be a game-changing acquisition. If he clicks, he’ll be an All-Star, threaten Seattle’s club record for goals, and help give the Sounders their best chance to win MLS Cup.

But just like any other purchase, there’s an element of risk here. Martins’ acquisition carries more than most.

Martins will leave Levante on a bad note, publicly deriding his club as he’s sprinted for the door. It’s an approach that only reinforces the impressions the attacker’s left while leaving five clubs since 2006 (Levante would be the sixth). A once promising player for Inter Milan, Martins’ professional existence has become defined by transience. The Nigerian has played in England, Germany, Russia, and Spain since 2009.

That club uncertainty hasn’t helped Martins’ place for his national team. When Stephen Keshi remade the Nigerian national team, electing not to call in a series of veterans who had come to symbolize the Super Eagles’ malaise, Martins’ international career was put on hold. Despite 18 goals in 38 international appearances, Martins was deemed surplus to Keshi’s requirements.

He wasn’t the only one. Yakubu Ayegbeni, Peter Odemwingie and Taye Taiwo were also left out. Despite the exclusion of four players who have combined for 203 international appearances, Keshi’s more selective Nigeria went on to claim their first Cup of Nations since 1994.

A less nebulous concern may be Martins’ actual production. It’s been over five years since Martins posted double-digit goals in a league season. Between stops at Newcastle, Wolfsburg, Rubin Kazan, Birmingham City and Levante, Martins has put up one goal every 3.2 games.

And if you’re a Seattle fan, you can’t help but remember what happened with Blaise Nkufo. Christian Tiffert is still on the payroll, for now (he’ll have to be bought out to make room for Martins). Even with a past free of controversy, a player might not adjust to a move across the world. Like any other player, Martins could fail to make the adjustment.

With Seattle Sporting Director Chris Henderson said to be in Spain finalizing the deal, Martins looks likely to come. For the organization, it’s a huge commitment for a player that has the talent to make Seattle’s attack the most dangerous in Major League Soccer. Maybe Martins represents a bigger gamble than other organizations might like, but for a team that’s committed to taking the next step — to going beyond last year’s conference final appearance — he could also be the missing piece.

http://prosoccertalk.nbcsports.com/2013 ... er-rumors/

Appears this is about to be a reality! Well goodluck to Martins! I think it's clear now why Keshi left him out of AFCON. I can't say that I blame him though.

According to BBC, Martins confirms he's headed to Seattle:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/21620572

Bad move if you ask me but I guess he needs to start thinking about making money.
The Notorious B!GGESTMAN

Post by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN »

Martins should not be picked for anymore SE squads henceforth
Last edited by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN on Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The weak or the strong,
who got it going on
You're dead wrong