Enyeama's post match interview
Re: Enyeama's post match interview
Nigeria does not need fans who actively support those who cheat and steal the money allocated to sportsmen.Lolly wrote:I hope one day you won't come across a doctor who refuses to treat you or a family member because they are being owed months of their salary (not even advanced payments). Continue to support them.txj wrote:DAgrin wrote:It is sad to see how many forumers support their players in their greed for money.Lolly wrote:Can you blame them? They are over $100k richer. Not a bad day at the office.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
I watched it in german so I will give you my translation hoping that somebody will post the video.
Enyeama (serious): "It was a 50/50 match. Nigeria could have won the match.
But now it's over and going home is not bad at all,too (smiling heavily)"
He seemed more relieved than disappointed. I had that same feeling about other established players.
Emenike did not look disappointed at all - he looked calm as if he expected Nigeria will be out today.
Is this the kind of attitude that can take you far at a WC? I doubt it.
I know that I can't look in the head of the players - but making jokes after you just made a crucial mistake in a game you just lost is disrespectful to all the fans/Nigerians who cheered for the SE with much commitment.
On a more serious note, the lad Emenike really disappointed. He just looked so out of sorts and moody. Compare him to the Algerian striker - Hungry and determined.
These players earn enough for the clubs and playing for the national team at the WC actually should be honour enough. I'm not saying they should not be paid for playing and succeeding at the WC but when getting money is the main priority ahead of crucial games there is something basically wrong with the attitude of the players.
We have a serious culture problem here among African teams.
I don't get how our players always want to be paid in advance when the job is still to be done.
And taking that cash suitcase to the hotel for the players is mafia style and nothing proffesssional players and officials should do.
Actually there is much more to be done than just exchange the coach.
But I doubt you can change mentality or inhibiting cultural "traditions".
How about u put your money where ur big mouth is!
How about you donate your next month's salary to building the road in ur village?
You want players to stand by and be screwed of their rights, so you can sit back on ur fat butt, odeku in hand, and watch football!
It is disgraceful that we have fans like you and Lolly...
You are not a fan. Just a mercenary supporter like most people who support players protesting and not training because they want to be paid in advance. Let me help you - A Mercenary is a person motivated solely by a desire for monetary or material gain. That is what our players are. Am sorry, I won't support such. They got paid their match bonuses plus a bit extra but refused to train because they wanted an advance from the FIFA prize money. They even threatened not to travel to Brasilia unless they got their money. They only agreed to play against France after they were paid in cash. What sort of sportsmen are these representing our country.
You want to know what support is? I have spent my cash travelling to many countries supporting the SE and was a founding member of the UK charter of the Nigerian Supporters club. In my decades of supporting the Eagles, the one thing I have noticed is that there is a big difference between the youth players who do it with pride for serving their country, love for the game and for their career compared to those who just want to get paid for a day in the office. I have been supporting the SE since the days of Haruna Ilerika, Victor Oduah, Olayombo, Okalla, Ekeji and the team of the early 70s and those guys earned peanuts but gave their all on the pitch. I support my country not some greedy player who will hold the country to ransom because he wants the government to go and borrow money so that he can be paid in advance. Players come, players go. But SE remains.
It doesn't matter how long such misguided fans have supported the team; Nigeria doesn't need them!
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Difficult to argue with someone who does not know the difference between participation prize money promised by FIFA due to be paid at the end of the tournament and money already allocated to sportsmen. Enough said.txj wrote:Nigeria does not need fans who actively support those who cheat and steal the money allocated to sportsmen.Lolly wrote:I hope one day you won't come across a doctor who refuses to treat you or a family member because they are being owed months of their salary (not even advanced payments). Continue to support them.txj wrote:DAgrin wrote:It is sad to see how many forumers support their players in their greed for money.Lolly wrote:Can you blame them? They are over $100k richer. Not a bad day at the office.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
I watched it in german so I will give you my translation hoping that somebody will post the video.
He seemed more relieved than disappointed. I had that same feeling about other established players.
Emenike did not look disappointed at all - he looked calm as if he expected Nigeria will be out today.
I know that I can't look in the head of the players - but making jokes after you just made a crucial mistake in a game you just lost is disrespectful to all the fans/Nigerians who cheered for the SE with much commitment.
On a more serious note, the lad Emenike really disappointed. He just looked so out of sorts and moody. Compare him to the Algerian striker - Hungry and determined.
These players earn enough for the clubs and playing for the national team at the WC actually should be honour enough. I'm not saying they should not be paid for playing and succeeding at the WC but when getting money is the main priority ahead of crucial games there is something basically wrong with the attitude of the players.
I don't get how our players always want to be paid in advance when the job is still to be done.
And taking that cash suitcase to the hotel for the players is mafia style and nothing proffesssional players and officials should do.
How about you donate your next month's salary to building the road in ur village?
You want players to stand by and be screwed of their rights, so you can sit back on ur fat butt, odeku in hand, and watch football!
You are not a fan. Just a mercenary supporter like most people who support players protesting and not training because they want to be paid in advance. Let me help you - A Mercenary is a person motivated solely by a desire for monetary or material gain. That is what our players are. Am sorry, I won't support such. They got paid their match bonuses plus a bit extra but refused to train because they wanted an advance from the FIFA prize money. They even threatened not to travel to Brasilia unless they got their money. They only agreed to play against France after they were paid in cash. What sort of sportsmen are these representing our country.
You want to know what support is? I have spent my cash travelling to many countries supporting the SE and was a founding member of the UK charter of the Nigerian Supporters club. In my decades of supporting the Eagles, the one thing I have noticed is that there is a big difference between the youth players who do it with pride for serving their country, love for the game and for their career compared to those who just want to get paid for a day in the office. I have been supporting the SE since the days of Haruna Ilerika, Victor Oduah, Olayombo, Okalla, Ekeji and the team of the early 70s and those guys earned peanuts but gave their all on the pitch. I support my country not some greedy player who will hold the country to ransom because he wants the government to go and borrow money so that he can be paid in advance. Players come, players go. But SE remains.
It doesn't matter how long such misguided fans have supported the team; Nigeria doesn't need them!
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
|Dagrin,
you are absolutely right, the greedy idiots are going to regret their actions one day, contrast to Swiss players who looked absolutely distraught and the Argentine players recognised theor efforts and went to console them, while ours were busy goign to take pictures with the French players.
To be honest they should have just taken the money and not show up for the game.
You can tell someone that wants to win, In 1994 Westerhoff recognised his limitations and paid for Bonfrere Jo to assist him out of his own money, Klinsman has Berti voghts assisting him in Brazil right now.
At this level you take everything you can to fight your opponents, Keshi did well to push the boys this far but I would have paid Emenalo to read other games for me as that is his speciality, Oliseh helping out etc etc
This is a problem we have, we always fail to use the resources available to us we want to be know it all and do it all
you are absolutely right, the greedy idiots are going to regret their actions one day, contrast to Swiss players who looked absolutely distraught and the Argentine players recognised theor efforts and went to console them, while ours were busy goign to take pictures with the French players.
To be honest they should have just taken the money and not show up for the game.
You can tell someone that wants to win, In 1994 Westerhoff recognised his limitations and paid for Bonfrere Jo to assist him out of his own money, Klinsman has Berti voghts assisting him in Brazil right now.
At this level you take everything you can to fight your opponents, Keshi did well to push the boys this far but I would have paid Emenalo to read other games for me as that is his speciality, Oliseh helping out etc etc
This is a problem we have, we always fail to use the resources available to us we want to be know it all and do it all
DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
We dont need greedy players either holding meetings instead off training, no wonder they could deliver a proper cross, they should have collected the money and not show up for the gametxj wrote:Nigeria does not need fans who actively support those who cheat and steal the money allocated to sportsmen.Lolly wrote:I hope one day you won't come across a doctor who refuses to treat you or a family member because they are being owed months of their salary (not even advanced payments). Continue to support them.txj wrote:DAgrin wrote:It is sad to see how many forumers support their players in their greed for money.Lolly wrote:Can you blame them? They are over $100k richer. Not a bad day at the office.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
metalalloy wrote:txj wrote:DAgrin wrote:It is sad to see how many forumers support their players in their greed for money.Lolly wrote:Can you blame them? They are over $100k richer. Not a bad day at the office.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.

Your argument is based on a basic misinterpretation.Prince wrote:We dont need greedy players either holding meetings instead off training, no wonder they could deliver a proper cross, they should have collected the money and not show up for the gametxj wrote:Nigeria does not need fans who actively support those who cheat and steal the money allocated to sportsmen.Lolly wrote:I hope one day you won't come across a doctor who refuses to treat you or a family member because they are being owed months of their salary (not even advanced payments). Continue to support them.txj wrote:DAgrin wrote:It is sad to see how many forumers support their players in their greed for money.Lolly wrote:Can you blame them? They are over $100k richer. Not a bad day at the office.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
Not tollerating greedy players setting wrong priorities does not mean we suppport corruption among the NFF putting the mony in their own pockets.
Just because I don't like the mentality of our players that does not mean I show solidarity with the NFF.
We actually need a non-corrupt NFF paying officials and players a match bonus agreeded upon in advance on time and players whose main purpose is playing for the country with pride rather than collecting money.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti
Naija 4 life!
What drivel...DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and inadequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
Enyeama deserves a NATIONAL HONOR for his WC performance.
Dagrin who supporting the nff, they did well this time around the agrreed bonus was paid on time. The players fighting formoney that is yet to be paid by fifaisgreedy.
They have a written agreement with nff executive with david mark as witness it wasnt enough for them until they hadcash, the greed for cash showed they were not interested in this game

The fact that these players had to expend much energy in getting their money says alot about how terrible the NFF is at catering to their welfare. If NFF did it's job properly, the players would have trusted that their money would be paid without a doubt and this will ensure their undiluted commitment to the cause.
Damunk wrote:You know, when they say the Nigerian problem is nation wide and generation deep, people still do not get it.DAgrin wrote:It is sad to see how many forumers support their players in their greed for money.Lolly wrote:Can you blame them? They are over $100k richer. Not a bad day at the office.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
Corruption is not something you simply point at and murmur about to 'fulfil all righteousness' and then move on. Corruption should actually disgust you so much that you can be pushed to extraordinary lengths to repulse it, like a bug in your system, or contaminated food.
Y'all keep going on about selfish players earning a fortune and putting themselves before Nigeria. In short, despite it being the nation's best kept secret that players' and coaches' money and bonuses do not get paid because a bunch of corrupt, shameless and despicable officials want to pocket the money -somebody else's money - you guys STILL insist that the players should do and say nothing about this 'tradition' of corruption.
It has become a tradition because peeps like some of you guys would rather blame the protesting victim than go for the jugular of the armed robber. The fact that they insisted on receiving their money in cash to have it all on record in front of everyone to see; insisted on sharing it even amongst those who didn't even make the final squad, but helped qualify, including the poorly paid home-based players; and the fact that many of these players abroad actually donate to Nigerian charities does not matter at all. For most Nigerians, they have spoilt our World Cup. Finito. Nothing else matters.
It's all about now, not the future.
Corruption can be both by acts of commission and omission. By saying and doing nothing, or encouraging it either directly or indirectly, you are part of the problem. You blame the players for taking a stance. Too many Nigerians remain silent when their Ogas are chopping a percentage of their salaries every freaking month in bogus 'insurance' and 'pension' schemes, or some other sick scam. It's everywhere, but people just remain quiet because they are powerless. The sad thing is that Nigerians will blame the lone vocal Nigerian that dares to speak up against it. Why? Because he is 'spoiling show' for the rest that are happy with the status quo, or simply grateful, or think it is 'normal'.
Normal as in, tradition. They will probably do the same thing one day when they 'reach there'.
Yeah, we want to win the World Cup, but nobody is willing to take the lead in taking action against this corrupt 'tradition'. It's much easier to blame the players for refusing to take the crap, using the only means they have to achieve it.
"Daddy, that man looks scary" said my 6yr old son on seeing Ghanaian's GK Dauda's face coming towards the Camera Lens. My avatar is my tribute to the only man that has managed to scare the craps out of my son.
Gotti wrote:What drivel...DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and inadequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
Enyeama deserves a NATIONAL HONOR for his WC performance.
Unfortunately, this thread is full of drivel.
For that statement alone you a wise man. I can't believe people supporting the nonsense pulled by the players this tournament. It was despicable! Shameful! It wasn't as if their match bonuses weren't paid to them. NFF paid them their bonuses yet they wanted to fight over money that was not even paid to the federation yet, that the GEJ had to fly in money to pay them before the match. It was disgraceful and I hope those who participated in this pay for it.Lolly wrote:I hope one day you won't come across a doctor who refuses to treat you or a family member because they are being owed months of their salary (not even advanced payments). Continue to support them.txj wrote:DAgrin wrote:It is sad to see how many forumers support their players in their greed for money.Lolly wrote:Can you blame them? They are over $100k richer. Not a bad day at the office.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
Yeah, Enyeama should have taken a blade out of his pocket and cut his wrist right there on German TV so you can be satisfied. He owes you his life because he played for Nigeria.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and inadequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
1naija wrote:Yeah, Enyeama should have taken a blade out of his pocket and cut his wrist right there on German TV so you can be satisfied. He owes you his life because he played for Nigeria.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and inadequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.

The man has a point. Nobody is expecting suicide, but it would be nice to see some pain and disappointment on the faces of the players. I have seen other teams lose, and they weep openly. Only in Naija does a captain say going home is "not too bad" and starts shining his brown teeth!!1naija wrote:Yeah, Enyeama should have taken a blade out of his pocket and cut his wrist right there on German TV so you can be satisfied. He owes you his life because he played for Nigeria.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and inadequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.
Difficult to argue with someone so willfully blind to history; history of football administrators, REPEATEDLY cheating our players of both allocated funds and promised funds...Lolly wrote:Difficult to argue with someone who does not know the difference between participation prize money promised by FIFA due to be paid at the end of the tournament and money already allocated to sportsmen. Enough said.txj wrote:Nigeria does not need fans who actively support those who cheat and steal the money allocated to sportsmen.Lolly wrote:I hope one day you won't come across a doctor who refuses to treat you or a family member because they are being owed months of their salary (not even advanced payments). Continue to support them.txj wrote:DAgrin wrote:It is sad to see how many forumers support their players in their greed for money.Lolly wrote:Can you blame them? They are over $100k richer. Not a bad day at the office.DAgrin wrote:His contentment and good mood in that interview was disturbing and adequate for somebody who just made a crucial mistake in a match what could have been a historic chance for Nigeria to reach the quarter final.
The FIFA funds are GUARANTEED.
The NFF knows it, AND SO DO THE PLAYERS!
If there is good faith, why not disburse the funds in advance and reconcile accounts administratively as appropriate?