UGBADE: Foreign-based Players Destabilized team.....

Re: UGBADE: Foreign-based Players Destabilized team.....

metalalloy wrote:Which is it?

" lack of time for FB players to blend"?
"limited technical ability on the part of individual players when compared with the South Americans, this really affected the team."? really? :rotf: Just wow!!!
"it was too cold"?
"“At the U17 level, it was training to compete while at the U20 level it was high performance."
Psychology comes into a game such as that coming from the belief that they scored a lot of goals in the group stage. The weather was too cold in Christchurch as well as the one in Plymouth and it affected us a lot.” (what does this even mean?)

Can someone PLEASE save this dude from himself.. :lol: :lol:
I am confused as well. I don't know what to make of what he said. Thus, what is the problem? Why did we fail?

vancity eagle wrote:What an 1diot. How can the FB players destabilize the team from the bench ?
Oga! Such is unnecessary

okidoki wrote:Incompetent clown.
I couldn't have said it any better sadly. He was all over the place in that interview.

As I mentioned in the other thread, let him keep talking. He will unwittingly let us know what actually happened in NZ.
How many Naijarians would have had the guts to bench those foreign based players?

Write your lineup, then turn around and lose a game. Won't you field your own players? Seeing that the 'superstars' didn't do any better.

The funny thing is that our history is replete of instances where we thought names make a team.
My brother u be my guy but abeg forget story. I have a theory but no proof (though another CE alluded to it on another thread). Ironically, they aired the Brazil game again today and I heard the commentator talk about the potential transfer of alamps to Genk as a possible reason why he didn't start that game. Personally, I feel that the coach wanted to help the kids who hadn't secured clubs to get noticed so they can set up their footballing careers just like kelechi, success, Moses, yahaya and alamps, etc had done. Maybe he believed he could do this (expose the local kids) and still be successful in NZ especially after going on an insane wining streak with the local boys at the Abuja super 8, the AYC, and the warm ups vs three u21 bundesliga sides. I won't get into whether he got paid or not because I'm not into false accusations.

I mentioned alamps because I watched all his matches vs the NPL teams + siaone u23 unit during the Abuja tournament and the kid was very impressive. Much improved from the last time I seen him play the u17 WC. Then he suddenly got dropped at the AYC with no explanation forthcoming. I suspect, that may have coincided with the efforts to move to Genk.

G4L,

Cellular has patented excuse making for local coaches (except Siasia)...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

I n 2005 Mike did not participate in AYC however when he joined Siasia' team his performance in U 20 was stellar. Definitely Siasia knew how to get the best out of his players. There is saying that goes an incompetent workman is always fighting with his tools and the bucks never stop on his table.Nduka has always blamed somebody for his misfortune .It is never his fault .very bitter and interesting saddist.
Honestly , what I think the coaching crew do not want any of the players to take limelight away from them Any player that somehow becomes popular is no longer in their plans.This same thing happened in U 17, as soon as Thephileus Solomon highly extolled by press men who were watching their daily training he was deemed unfit for the team
Recent U 20 debacle has made me to say Hmm mm

okidoki wrote:Incompetent clown.
I couldn't have said it any better sadly. He was all over the place in that interview.

As I mentioned in the other thread, let him keep talking. He will unwittingly let us know what actually happened in NZ.
How many Naijarians would have had the guts to bench those foreign based players?

Write your lineup, then turn around and lose a game. Won't you field your own players? Seeing that the 'superstars' didn't do any better.

The funny thing is that our history is replete of instances where we thought names make a team.
My brother u be my guy but abeg forget story. I have a theory but no proof (though another CE alluded to it on another thread). Ironically, they aired the Brazil game again today and I heard the commentator talk about the potential transfer of alamps to Genk as a possible reason why he didn't start that game. Personally, I feel that the coach wanted to help the kids who hadn't secured clubs to get noticed so they can set up their footballing careers just like kelechi, success, Moses, yahaya and alamps, etc had done. Maybe he believed he could do this (expose the local kids) and still be successful in NZ especially after going on an insane wining streak with the local boys at the Abuja super 8, the AYC, and the warm ups vs three u21 bundesliga sides. I won't get into whether he got paid or not because I'm not into false accusations.

I mentioned alamps because I watched all his matches vs the NPL teams + siaone u23 unit during the Abuja tournament and the kid was very impressive. Much improved from the last time I seen him play the u17 WC. Then he suddenly got dropped at the AYC with no explanation forthcoming. I suspect, that may have coincided with the efforts to move to Genk.
G4L,

You are my guy but what you mentioned above is NOT TRUE. It is not a matter of opinion but one of fact that can easily be checked. Alampasu WAS NEVER A REGULAR STARTER at any point in the U20 setting. First, which games did he start in the Super Six against NPL clubs and U23? Can you please name them. U20 played a total of five games against the other five teams. Enaholo started atleast three of those (v Enyimba, Wolves, and U23) and Ojo started v Pillars. I do not have the data on who started v Dolphins but it can be checked. I challenge you to provide data disputing the facts that I have laid out above.

Below, here are names of GKs who started in competitive games and international friendlies for the U20 team since it was formed back in 2014 and until the start of the WYC. Again, I challenge you to show me which of them Alampasu started.

4/9 -- v Morocco (Rabat) -- 0-0 (F) - Emeka Nwabulu
4/11 -- v Morocco (Casablanca) -- 1-1 (F) -- Adamu Abubakar
5/4 -- v Benin Rep (Cotonou) -- 0-1 (F) -- Joshua Enaholo
5/11 -- v Tanzania (Dar-es-Salaam) -- 2-0 (AYCQ) -- Joshua Enaholo
5/24 -- v Tanzania (Kaduna) -- 4-1 (AYCQ) -- Joshua Enaholo

2/16 -- v Ghana (Accra) -- 2-2 (F) -- Joshua Enaholo
2/18 -- v Ghana (Tema) -- 2-0 (F) -- Olorunleke Ojo
3/8 -- v Senegal (Dakar) -- 3-1 (AYC) -- Joshua Enaholo
3/11 -- v Congo Rep. (Dakar) -- 4-1 (AYC) -- Joshua Enaholo (Red-carded)
3/14 -- v I/Coast (Mbour) -- 2-2 (AYC) -- Olorunleke Ojo
3/19-- v Ghana (Dakar) -- 2-0 (AYC) -- Joshua Enaholo
3/22 -- v Senegal (Dakar) -- 1-0 (AYC) -- Joshua Enaholo
** Joshua Enaholo named Top Goalkeeper of AYC.

Please provide data to support your claim on Alampasu. Let us not simply make up the stories when the evidence just does not support it.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics