Nigeria can learn a lot from Chile

Re: Nigeria can learn a lot from Chile

Ekorian wrote:
rasdb wrote:Actually they are not better than African teams. If you watch this friendly match vs ghana (

Please tell them.

Africa's best teams have the talent to go toe to toe with Chile any day.

Nigeria, Ghana, Senegal, Algeria, CIV

Don't know why some have low self esteem.
What you are failing to admit because of your personal hatred for Keshi is that our corrupt and incompetent FA plays a majority role in our present predicament. hinddink, Mourinho, Martino, Sampaoli and Martinez will all fail under Nigeria's coaching working condition.
We will soon be back asking what went wrong again long after Keshi.....

Keep blaming the FA while covering for ur manccrush as he was busy parading midfielders from Water FC. The main problem was Ke$hi, not the NFF. In fact they originally gave him unprecedented support and coordination, so u are talking out of your .....

Ekorian wrote:
rasdb wrote:Actually they are not better than African teams. If you watch this friendly match vs ghana (

Please tell them.

What you are failing to admit because of your personal hatred for Keshi is that our corrupt and incompetent FA plays a majority role in our present predicament. hinddink, Mourinho, Martino, Sampaoli and Martinez will all fail under Nigeria's coaching working condition.

Keep blaming the FA while covering for ur manccrush as he was busy parading midfielders from Water FC. The main problem was Ke$hi, not the NFF. In fact they originally gave him unprecedented support and coordination, so u are talking out of your .....
He's gone and the problem is gone. Let's go win the next AFCON and The World Cup...and If everything fails, be a man for the first time in your adult life and stick around to debate 'why' instead of acting like a dead beat Dad as you've done in the past.....

Ekorian wrote:

Please tell them.

He's gone and the problem is gone. Let's go win the next AFCON and The World Cup...and If everything fails, be a man for the first time in your adult life and stick around to debate 'why' instead of acting like a dead beat Dad as you've done in the past.....

You are a fool.

Argentina has not been able to win the worldcup for nearly 30 years.

Brazil has not won it for 13 years.

Why would you hold the new coach to such unreasonable expectations as to win the WC.

Is it anybody's birthright to win the WC, or even the ANC ?

You are just but hurt, because your messiah is a fraud and has rightfully met his day of reckoning. I expect you to secretly wish failure on SE and the new coach all so you can exhault your stupid hero Ke$hit.

A fan of Ke$hit u are, and not of the SE.
cyrilndo

Post by cyrilndo »

Oh Nigerians and their football.

I have read this alot on this forum.
Nigeria can learn alot from Germany,
Nigeria can learn alot from Spain
Nigeria can learn alot from Colombia
Nigeria can learn alot from the next team that does good in a major tournament.

Always learning alot, at this rate of learning, the SE are unbeatable in the world stage... but on paper. :lol: :lol: :lol:
" The best way to have a fair judgement on anything is to imagine yourself sitting somewhere in space watching planet earth with the beings that inhabit it, especially those who call themselves homo sapiens. You have no nationality or tribe, you are not a fan of Arsenal, Barca, Inter Milan, Manchester United etc. You won't see a booty or huge boobs if they walk pass you. Money is like tissue to you. what is your opinion? "

This post has been made by camex whom I have ignored.

Please tell them.

We could hardly go toe to toe with Chad.

We are lacking in genuine talent and coaching.
asabe

Post by asabe »

cyrilndo wrote:Oh Nigerians and their football.

I have read this alot on this forum.
Nigeria can learn alot from Germany,
Nigeria can learn alot from Spain
Nigeria can learn alot from Colombia
Nigeria can learn alot from the next team that does good in a major tournament.

Always learning alot, at this rate of learning, the SE are unbeatable in the world stage... but on paper. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Nigerians can only learn from themselves. Once Nigeria recognizes it's deficit then they can join the teams who have a credible chance of winning the world cup.

I would turn Nigeria into a World beater in 2 decades, believe me!!..believe me!!!

fyi: General, I found a place that sells Tusker beer in the US that tastes like the ones from Ruaraka..Anyway let me continue.
“love the life you live. live the life you love.” Bob Marley
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

General Trousers wrote:Kai - Chile is playing their own game ... If nah Nigeria one stupid blunder and Messi would have scored 2 goals.

x
One liner?

You did not tell us in you OP what we should learn from Chile.

Retrace...
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

airwolex wrote:

Please tell them.

We could hardly go toe to toe with Chad.

We are lacking in genuine talent and coaching.
We are definitely not lacking the talent to be a worldcup quarterfinalist. People should stop making stupid excuses.

Coaching and corruption is a much bigger problem than talent.

With a well organized and well planned out national program years ago, there is no reason why Nigeria should not already have made the semi finals by now. No this is no exaggeration.
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

Has it perhaps dawned on some that the apparent disorganisation might be beneficial to some people or just maybe I am ashamed to say we lack the ability or will to learn. It goes beyond football look at our collective nation state and point out one area where we have comprehensively and successfully reformed a sector. Never mind the fact that proportionately at least at the Super Eagles level we can 'boast of 'foreign expertise' where our players are concerned but yet continue to fail miserably. Should that. It tell you it's something about the people and not their qualifications or whatever.

Not a curse but Nigeria ain't likely to do anything solid any time soon.......we will win the occasional ANC against our equally incompetent African opposition but when real professionals are talking at the World Cup level where simple but remarkably important things like nutrition, sports science, data analysis,... Things that requires a good set up come to play....we will always choke.

You think an NFA that thinks paying a coach his salary is doing him a favour will have the clarity of mind to develop and pay for nutritionists, data analysts etc. they can't even regularly organise friendlies for their teams.

Go back to the basics.....be a nation of law and order, stop promoting mediocrity, raise and make excellence as the national motto, hate and thoroughly sanction incompetence and watch us excel like never before ..... But I fear we will continue to discuss the same issues over and over again......

Is it not ironic that 1994 that we all hark back to as our golden moment....we fell significantly short of our potential managing a second round placement for a team that was as good as at least a semi final placement...... And the world has moved significantly forward since then but we remain stuck in our old inefficient ways of doing things.... Some may even argue that we have actively regressed.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.

hestonap wrote:Go back to the basics.....be a nation of law and order, stop promoting mediocrity, raise and make excellence as the national motto, hate and thoroughly sanction incompetence and watch us excel like never before ..... But I fear we will continue to discuss the same issues over and over again......
True word, but what are your practical recommendations for achieving this?
I am a great advocate for people taking personal responsibility for their actions and for influencing those around them. I believe there are not enough 'mirrors' in our society in which Nigerians can look at themselves. Like people are tired of bad leaders, I am tired of Nigerians using it as an excuse to do the wrong thing.
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

hestonap wrote:Go back to the basics.....be a nation of law and order, stop promoting mediocrity, raise and make excellence as the national motto, hate and thoroughly sanction incompetence and watch us excel like never before ..... But I fear we will continue to discuss the same issues over and over again......
True word, but what are your practical recommendations for achieving this?
I am a great advocate for people taking personal responsibility for their actions and for influencing those around them. I believe there are not enough 'mirrors' in our society in which Nigerians can look at themselves. Like people are tired of bad leaders, I am tired of Nigerians using it as an excuse to do the wrong thing.
Damunk,

Therein lies the challenge. I belong to the school of thought that African countries do themselves a disservice if they buy into the notion of societies evolving. I advocate shall we say a more radical approach to our problems. However our fundamental challenge remains one of defining a common purpose or goal.

If we were to use Nigeria as an example...for as long as the issue of tribe or religion or to a certain extent social class clouds our thinking......how do we even begin to firstly define or never mind attempt to solve our problems ?

I am yet to be convinced of any 'successful' country from history that developed primarily as a democracy.....even the so called bastion of democracy the United States fought a revolutionary war of independence against the British....while the British were seen as a common enemy....they had an ideal of the equality and freedom of man to coalesce around....of course I am not blind to the hypocrisy of their treatments of people of colour even in the midst of their revolution...but that is human nature...the important thing is that they coalesced around an idea. The British fought against a feudal system that involved kings getting beheaded.....i.e. you can not birth a nation without unfortunately the shedding of blood.....for the singular reason that nobody gives up the trappings of power easily.

So what common purpose do we have as a people or as a nation.......because our many identities tend to becloud what should be a straight forward idea........my honest feeling is that we do not have a critical mass of people that believe in such a common ideal (i.e. meritocracy, integrity, having a profound distaste for that which is mediocre.......we place too many excuses and accept too many sub-optimal things as a people).

To your question what are the practicalities......either we allow for the passage of time in the hope that a critical mass of Nigerians evolve to that mind set which means accepting that we are likely to continue to wallow in our sorry state for generations to come or indeed we recognise that democracy as is currently instituted is but a substitute for the good old system of disempowering the masses and revolt against this system as a people ...we are not going anywhere.

For me the issue is way way bigger than football.....we as a people are at best noise makers on issues of this nature and are not willing to accept the cost of change principally because we have alternatives...they range from 'hypocritical' me typing from the comfort of the west, to the average home based Naija person who has a family network to provide some sort of support i.e. the unconnected, while the connected continue to disenfranchise the majority....and the biggest issue of all is the mass apathy that has engrossed us as people.

This is not an easy problem to solve and I advocate to practical measures....because they will be consumed in and by a dysfunctional system.

Damunk.....think about it....why is it that at 3am in the morning you will stop when there is a red light even though the roads are empty in England ?
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.