We need time - Oliseh
Re: Oliseh SLAMS Keshi
This is Sunday Oliseh suddenly discovering that coaching is different from commentating. The truth is: the time for talking is over, and the earlier he forgets about Keshi and focuses on the SE, the better for him.
Its one thing to be activepajimoh wrote:Core of players and spine two different things. These core players still exist today and even the ones Keshi failed to call up that many believed could have added much needed quality to the team.Waffiman wrote:Wrong. Kesha built on a good crop of players integrated into the SE by Siaisa. He used this base to qualify thus finding it easier in settling to his ideas. He had Enyema, Echnjele, Ambrose, Oboabona, Moeses and Omerou. These players from Siasia tenure became mainstays in Keshi's initial success.
I will not judge yet, Keshi also claimed he was rebuilding from scratch when he took over, all Coaches do this to buy time for themselves. You judge the new Coach on his selections to see if he is truly building a new team.
The bottom line is while Keshi flirted with discovering potential talent in the local league and forming a team, he got on with the job like many before him with whatever players they have at their disposal.
Oliseh can decide no quality players available to form the spine of his team but all the players available to Keshi, apart from Yobo, are still active
Its another to be a viable option.
Shola Ameobi is still active, but I doubt anybody would consider him a viable option.
For all his commendable achievements with the SE, Keshi left the team in worse shape than he met it....
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Please tell them.smartbrother wrote:you are completely missing the pointanointed wrote:Which of the teams is Oliseh referring to here? We've got the SE proper and the CHAN Eagles.smartbrother wrote:https://www.naij.com/529074-oliseh-begs ... press.htmlChief Coach Oliseh wrote: “I and my assistants have discovered that there is a lot work to do. We need time because the basic problem we have as a crew is that we have a completely new team. Our case is that unlike a coach who usually inherits six or seven regular players on taking over a club only to bring in three or four new players, we are coming in and starting from the scratch. In the past one year, it has been one player today another tomorrow in the Eagles and given that situation, it will be difficult to say how long it will take us to build a team.
Looking at the FB SE, the players Keshi has used before are in highlight:
Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama, Carl Ikeme.
Defenders: Leon Balogun, Kingsley Madu, Godfrey Oboabona, William Troost Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo
Midfielders: Joel Obi, Izunna Ernest Uzochukwu, Obiora Nwankwo, Lukman Haruna, Rabiu Ibrahim
Forwards: Ahmed Musa, Emem Eduok, Emmanuel Emenike, Anthony Ujah,, Sylvester Igboun, Moses Simon
But it could be assumed that Oliseh is talking about the CHAN team since he has yet to work/train with the FB and as far as it makes sense, the CHAN team only convenes for the CHAN tourney. They are not regularly in camp for any serious reasons.
a spine takes time and stability to build
oliseh is talking about the revolving door policy under crook coach keshi which meant a spine was never built
capping a player is not the same thing as integrating a player
Moses, ujah , joel Obi , Rabiu and eduok for example may have been capped once or twice but they were never integrated by keshi
that is because they already have thriving professional careers so had no use for Tony Harri$$' agency services
Lukman was overlooked to make way for Gabriel Okechukwu who is an electrican/groundnut seller by day depending on who you ask
I don't know in what world giving a player a 20 minute runout during your 3 year stint equates "integration".
The only well integrated players in Ke$hits team are
Mikel
Enyeama
Omeruo
Musa
Onazi
Maybe Oboabonna
Everyone else is a part time player, and don't get me started on all the flavor of the weeks.
By all accounts this is a piss poor return for a coach who has had 3 years on the job.
Well, Oliseh should do it his way BUT minimum is ANC SF and WC QF. Anything short of this is automatic SACK.
BTW, no one is interested in excuses. Just get the job done!
txj wrote:This is what upsets me about some of u Keshi arse lickers.pajimoh wrote:Oliseh need to get on with it and stop diversionary tactics. He's been talking on the sidelines of the kind of players we need long before Keshi was fired. He's commentated many games and express what he would have done.anointed wrote:I've been critical of Keshi all along but I'm not buying this from Oliseh. He's not exactly starting from the scratch. BTW, you are the one using 'spine'.smartbrother wrote:you are completely missing the pointanointed wrote:Which of the teams is Oliseh referring to here? We've got the SE proper and the CHAN Eagles.smartbrother wrote:https://www.naij.com/529074-oliseh-begs ... press.htmlChief Coach Oliseh wrote: “I and my assistants have discovered that there is a lot work to do. We need time because the basic problem we have as a crew is that we have a completely new team. Our case is that unlike a coach who usually inherits six or seven regular players on taking over a club only to bring in three or four new players, we are coming in and starting from the scratch. In the past one year, it has been one player today another tomorrow in the Eagles and given that situation, it will be difficult to say how long it will take us to build a team.
Defenders: Leon Balogun, Kingsley Madu, Godfrey Oboabona, William Troost Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo
Midfielders: Joel Obi, Izunna Ernest Uzochukwu, Obiora Nwankwo, Lukman Haruna, Rabiu Ibrahim
Forwards: Ahmed Musa, Emem Eduok, Emmanuel Emenike, Anthony Ujah,, Sylvester Igboun, Moses Simon
But it could be assumed that Oliseh is talking about the CHAN team since he has yet to work/train with the FB and as far as it makes sense, the CHAN team only convenes for the CHAN tourney. They are not regularly in camp for any serious reasons.
oliseh is talking about the revolving door policy under crook coach keshi which meant a spine was never built
Moses, ujah , joel Obi , Rabiu and eduok for example may have been capped once or twice but they were never integrated by keshi
that is because they already have thriving professional careers so had no use for Tony Harri$$' agency services
Lukman was overlooked to make way for Gabriel Okechukwu who is an electrican/groundnut seller by day depending on who you ask
Keshi did not have a spine of a team when he started. In fact he started with home based players and he was vilified for it.
Oliseh need to work more talk and travel less. He'll be fine if he belies in what he's doing.
The highlighted statement is patently false. The primary reason for Keshi's success is the core that Siasia left him when he took over, and to which he Keshi, to his eternal credit added to, with the likes of Moses, Omeruo and Oboabona. This after wasting more than one year on a HB project that yielded 1-2 players, and having to return to the core group that SS had put in place...
But he never built on this subsequently and by the time he was fired, the team had no viable core group of players. And in many instances, he was floundering on his choice of players...
And it should be noted here, for the benefit of clarity and FACTS, that Oliseh never directly referred to Keshi
You are absolutely spot on. This claim keeps getting thrown around here like its some kind of truth, but it is utter garbage.
Mikel, Enyeama, Ambrose, Ideye, Emenike, Musa, Ogude, Echiejele, we're all well established under SSS. this was the core of the ANC winning side, with the major addition of Moses, who SSS went after to rep Nigeria, Onazi and Omeruo, who I have no doubt SSS would have brought into the mix.
What Ke$hi did was to ignore these players and waste a year on homebased junk that virtually yielded nothing, then he went back to these established players, when he should have just started with them in the first place. He kept telling us he needed to rebuild, but it was all a ploy to sell junks. And that is 100% real talk. Unadulterated.
Viability is a matter of opinion. Every manager is faced with this dilemma. Oliseh should get on with it or step aside.txj wrote:Its one thing to be activepajimoh wrote:Core of players and spine two different things. These core players still exist today and even the ones Keshi failed to call up that many believed could have added much needed quality to the team.Waffiman wrote:Wrong. Kesha built on a good crop of players integrated into the SE by Siaisa. He used this base to qualify thus finding it easier in settling to his ideas. He had Enyema, Echnjele, Ambrose, Oboabona, Moeses and Omerou. These players from Siasia tenure became mainstays in Keshi's initial success.
I will not judge yet, Keshi also claimed he was rebuilding from scratch when he took over, all Coaches do this to buy time for themselves. You judge the new Coach on his selections to see if he is truly building a new team.
The bottom line is while Keshi flirted with discovering potential talent in the local league and forming a team, he got on with the job like many before him with whatever players they have at their disposal.
Oliseh can decide no quality players available to form the spine of his team but all the players available to Keshi, apart from Yobo, are still active
Shola Ameobi is still active, but I doubt anybody would consider him a viable option.
For all his commendable achievements with the SE, Keshi left the team in worse shape than he met it....
I would even go as far as saying he has a lot of potential quality players to choose from compared to about 3 or 4 years ago. But this is my opinion.
No sir!pajimoh wrote:Viability is a matter of opinion. Every manager is faced with this dilemma. Oliseh should get on with it or step aside.txj wrote:Its one thing to be activepajimoh wrote:Core of players and spine two different things. These core players still exist today and even the ones Keshi failed to call up that many believed could have added much needed quality to the team.Waffiman wrote:Wrong. Kesha built on a good crop of players integrated into the SE by Siaisa. He used this base to qualify thus finding it easier in settling to his ideas. He had Enyema, Echnjele, Ambrose, Oboabona, Moeses and Omerou. These players from Siasia tenure became mainstays in Keshi's initial success.
I would even go as far as saying he has a lot of potential quality players to choose from compared to about 3 or 4 years ago. But this is my opinion.
Viability is a matter of standards and form.
And I agree he has options to choose. But so did Keshi!
And if he Keshi had focused appropriately on building on his wonderful achievement of winning the ANC, we would not be in this situation without a visible core to the SE for a new coach to build on...
For once I agree with you. Oliseh was talking about what is likely to happen in a club situation, not the national team.txj wrote:This is what upsets me about some of u Keshi arse lickers.pajimoh wrote:Oliseh need to get on with it and stop diversionary tactics. He's been talking on the sidelines of the kind of players we need long before Keshi was fired. He's commentated many games and express what he would have done.anointed wrote:I've been critical of Keshi all along but I'm not buying this from Oliseh. He's not exactly starting from the scratch. BTW, you are the one using 'spine'.smartbrother wrote:you are completely missing the pointanointed wrote:Which of the teams is Oliseh referring to here? We've got the SE proper and the CHAN Eagles.smartbrother wrote:https://www.naij.com/529074-oliseh-begs ... press.htmlChief Coach Oliseh wrote: “I and my assistants have discovered that there is a lot work to do. We need time because the basic problem we have as a crew is that we have a completely new team. Our case is that unlike a coach who usually inherits six or seven regular players on taking over a club only to bring in three or four new players, we are coming in and starting from the scratch. In the past one year, it has been one player today another tomorrow in the Eagles and given that situation, it will be difficult to say how long it will take us to build a team.
Keshi did not have a spine of a team when he started. In fact he started with home based players and he was vilified for it.
Oliseh need to work more talk and travel less. He'll be fine if he belies in what he's doing.
The highlighted statement is patently false. The primary reason for Keshi's success is the core that Siasia left him when he took over, and to which he Keshi, to his eternal credit added to, with the likes of Moses, Omeruo and Oboabona. This after wasting more than one year on a HB project that yielded 1-2 players, and having to return to the core group that SS had put in place...
But he never built on this subsequently and by the time he was fired, the team had no viable core group of players. And in many instances, he was floundering on his choice of players...
And it should be noted here, for the benefit of clarity and FACTS, that Oliseh never directly referred to Keshi
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Obviously, Oliseh has not mentioned Keshi, I'm am using him as a reference point because Oliseh replaced him as SE Coach.pajimoh wrote:Core of players and spine two different things. These core players still exist today and even the ones Keshi failed to call up that many believed could have added much needed quality to the team.Waffiman wrote:Wrong. Keshi built on a good crop of players integrated into the SE by Siaisa. He used this base to qualify thus finding it easier in settling to his ideas. He had Enyema, Echinjele, Ambrose, Oboabona, Moeses and Omerou. These players from Siasia tenure became mainstays in Keshi's initial success.pajimoh wrote:
Oliseh need to get on with it and stop diversionary tactics. He's been talking on the sidelines of the kind of players we need long before Keshi was fired. He's commentated many games and express what he would have done.
Oliseh in his interview used the term 'regular players', Keshi used the regular players from Siasia's team like Yobo, Enyema, Echinjele, Ambrose, Oboabona, Moses and Omerou etc. etc. Regular players are not the spine of the team, they can be core players because they are regular and important to the Coaches way of playing.
I was responding to your claim that Keshi did not have a spine - spine being the key players 4 to 5 players running through the middle of the team from the Goal Keeper, CDs, Central Midfield and Striker. A Coach can have a spine ready for him if he shares the philosophy of the previous Coach and intends to continue the work of the previous coach. But all Coaches immediately set out in building their team with the spine as the rock or foundations of the team both on and off the pitch. Keshi had regulars of average to good quality players to work with, I have listed some above. It is also arguable, he also built a spine for a while on players like Enyeama, Yobo, Oboabona and Emenike. (Keshi later replaced Yobo with Omeorou) My point is Keshi did not start with a clean slate like you suggested despite the fact that Keshi did set out to integrate new players (homebase and non homebase) into the SE and to an extent, succeeded in doing so.
Oilseh too will not start with a clean slate, he has a crop of regular players and will of course have his own ideas on who the next set of SE payers will be. Yes, the majority of the players are Keshi had at his disposal when he took over from Siasia are still active, but the real issue is whether, in Oliseh's opinion, they are still good enough to play for the SE.
I see the above Oliseh quote as an attempt to dampen down high expectations of him and his coaching staff. I cannot think of any SE Coach who has not tried this line before. Oilseh, like all coaches before him will live and die by results.
Abeg ANC tittle or runners up.SF is like birth right to any coach.wanaj0 wrote:Well, Oliseh should do it his way BUT minimum is ANC SF and WC QF. Anything short of this is automatic SACK.
Re: We need time - Oliseh
This is absolute garbage reasoning from Oliseh. I am starting to doubt his ability to manage this team. We may have made a HUGE mistake with this appointment.
If you want a team that will gel, call the BEST players!! And keep calling the same BEST players over and over with TWO or THREE additions at best!!
Now, what happens to the likes of Mikel, Moses, Iheanacho, Success, Yahaya, Esiti, Lawal, Ogude?? When will they be called? Who will make way for these guys? When will the revolving door end?
We need to call the BEST we have and give them many games to gel. It's that simple!
If you want a team that will gel, call the BEST players!! And keep calling the same BEST players over and over with TWO or THREE additions at best!!
Now, what happens to the likes of Mikel, Moses, Iheanacho, Success, Yahaya, Esiti, Lawal, Ogude?? When will they be called? Who will make way for these guys? When will the revolving door end?
We need to call the BEST we have and give them many games to gel. It's that simple!
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.
- Siddonlook11
Siddonlook mode activated ..with no popcorn cause i may just choke in vexation on the popcorn

Oliseh is plain scaredbushboy wrote:This is absolute garbage reasoning from Oliseh. I am starting to doubt his ability to manage this team. We may have made a HUGE mistake with this appointment.![]()

"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
To be frank, what Oliseh states is actually correct. If he intends to build a new team, it will take some time. Let’s be aware that it took Keshi sometime to build his team. If you look at the data, Keshi won the ANC by changing the crux of the team that was developed by Siasia and that requires time. The only holdover regular starters from Siasia’s team used by Keshi as starters were only three: Efe, Mikel, and Musa. Now, we will find out who the holdover starters from Keshi’s team that Oliseh will use.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Polly wrote:This is Sunday Oliseh suddenly discovering that coaching is different from commentating. The truth is: the time for talking is over, and the earlier he forgets about Keshi and focuses on the SE, the better for him.

Thanks for using facts and not feelings in your analysis.Enugu II wrote:To be frank, what Oliseh states is actually correct. If he intends to build a new team, it will take some time. Let’s be aware that it took Keshi sometime to build his team. If you look at the data, Keshi won the ANC by changing the crux of the team that was developed by Siasia and that requires time. The only holdover regular starters from Siasia’s team used by Keshi as starters were only three: Efe, Mikel, and Musa. Now, we will find out who the holdover starters from Keshi’s team that Oliseh will use.
catalyst have you no decency?
if you are going to change my thread titles, at least have the courage to give your reasons to me and other forumers who have already contributed to the thread
changing my thread titles on a whim is blatant abuse of power
only an animal shows as as little self restraint as you
if you are going to change my thread titles, at least have the courage to give your reasons to me and other forumers who have already contributed to the thread
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Hmm i thought Enyeama and Emenike were starters from Siasia's team as well.. I know Ayienugba played the final game against Guinea, but Enyama was used for all the other games IIRC. Where megapro dey?Cito wrote:Thanks for using facts and not feelings in your analysis.Enugu II wrote:To be frank, what Oliseh states is actually correct. If he intends to build a new team, it will take some time. Let’s be aware that it took Keshi sometime to build his team. If you look at the data, Keshi won the ANC by changing the crux of the team that was developed by Siasia and that requires time. The only holdover regular starters from Siasia’s team used by Keshi as starters were only three: Efe, Mikel, and Musa. Now, we will find out who the holdover starters from Keshi’s team that Oliseh will use.
Siasia benched Enyeama.metalalloy wrote:Hmm i thought Enyeama and Emenike were starters from Siasia's team as well.. I know Ayienugba played the final game against Guinea, but Enyama was used for all the other games IIRC. Where megapro dey?Cito wrote:Thanks for using facts and not feelings in your analysis.Enugu II wrote:To be frank, what Oliseh states is actually correct. If he intends to build a new team, it will take some time. Let’s be aware that it took Keshi sometime to build his team. If you look at the data, Keshi won the ANC by changing the crux of the team that was developed by Siasia and that requires time. The only holdover regular starters from Siasia’s team used by Keshi as starters were only three: Efe, Mikel, and Musa. Now, we will find out who the holdover starters from Keshi’s team that Oliseh will use.
You can change it back. The change distorted the direction of the debate. Anyone just coming would wonder what was going on.smartbrother wrote:catalyst have you no decency?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Uche, Yobo, Ogude...metalalloy wrote:Hmm i thought Enyeama and Emenike were starters from Siasia's team as well.. I know Ayienugba played the final game against Guinea, but Enyama was used for all the other games IIRC. Where megapro dey?Cito wrote:Thanks for using facts and not feelings in your analysis.Enugu II wrote:To be frank, what Oliseh states is actually correct. If he intends to build a new team, it will take some time. Let’s be aware that it took Keshi sometime to build his team. If you look at the data, Keshi won the ANC by changing the crux of the team that was developed by Siasia and that requires time. The only holdover regular starters from Siasia’s team used by Keshi as starters were only three: Efe, Mikel, and Musa. Now, we will find out who the holdover starters from Keshi’s team that Oliseh will use.
metalalloy wrote:Hmm i thought Enyeama and Emenike were starters from Siasia's team as well.. I know Ayienugba played the final game against Guinea, but Enyama was used for all the other games IIRC. Where megapro dey?Cito wrote:Thanks for using facts and not feelings in your analysis.Enugu II wrote:To be frank, what Oliseh states is actually correct. If he intends to build a new team, it will take some time. Let’s be aware that it took Keshi sometime to build his team. If you look at the data, Keshi won the ANC by changing the crux of the team that was developed by Siasia and that requires time. The only holdover regular starters from Siasia’s team used by Keshi as starters were only three: Efe, Mikel, and Musa. Now, we will find out who the holdover starters from Keshi’s team that Oliseh will use.
Metalalloy,
Siasia began with Enyeama but banished him. Enyeama was not used even in the competitive games after he was banished. Emenike was not a consistent starter under Siasia. In fact, he started in only two games for Siasia and the only one he finished was against Guinea. In the other one (his debut) he was off injured before the halftime whistle. The three that I listed were the only ones who were regular starters under Siasia and then under Keshi much of the 2013 CAN. The records are there to check.
Ultimately, I feel that Oliseh plans to build a new team just like Keshi. However, how much that will constitute a new team is not yet known. I believe we will know by the time we round up the qualifiers but it is clear from his message what his intents are. IMHO, he is correct that the team will need time.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Only 2 competitive games for Emenike ?Enugu II wrote:metalalloy wrote:Hmm i thought Enyeama and Emenike were starters from Siasia's team as well.. I know Ayienugba played the final game against Guinea, but Enyama was used for all the other games IIRC. Where megapro dey?Cito wrote:Thanks for using facts and not feelings in your analysis.Enugu II wrote:To be frank, what Oliseh states is actually correct. If he intends to build a new team, it will take some time. Let’s be aware that it took Keshi sometime to build his team. If you look at the data, Keshi won the ANC by changing the crux of the team that was developed by Siasia and that requires time. The only holdover regular starters from Siasia’s team used by Keshi as starters were only three: Efe, Mikel, and Musa. Now, we will find out who the holdover starters from Keshi’s team that Oliseh will use.
Metalalloy,
Siasia began with Enyeama but banished him. Enyeama was not used even in the competitive games after he was banished. Emenike was not a consistent starter under Siasia. In fact, he started in only two games for Siasia and the only one he finished was against Guinea. In the other one (his debut) he was off injured before the halftime whistle. The three that I listed were the only ones who were regular starters under Siasia and then under Keshi much of the 2013 CAN. The records are there to check.
Ultimately, I feel that Oliseh plans to build a new team just like Keshi. However, how much that will constitute a new team is not yet known. I believe we will know by the time we round up the qualifiers but it is clear from his message what his intents are. IMHO, he is correct that the team will need time.
How many competitive games was SSS in charge for ?
You guys like to distort truth huh ? Emenike was a SSS regular, as were a whole host of other players you are trying to deny, stop twisting things.