1998 Jay Jay Okocha vs Denmark
Re: 1998 Jay Jay Okocha vs Denmark
miky wrote:You must be high bro? he was just surrounded by junk players in 2002 thats it. A winner to me is someone who develops his game, tell me how many nigerian midfielders present or past can take a penalty and score freekicks as much as Oga? respected by his club to earn the captainship band?fledy wrote:Kali you are so spot on it is not funny! Don't get me wrong Okocha was tremendously skilled but was not a winner. To him it was entertainment galore to market himself. Not impressed at all
You dey mind the utaba seller trainee.
Make una thnk you for these comments , seriously apart from comments , these kind stupidity be the reason why I stay away from CE cuss is like na people wan no sabi the game person dey read their stupidity all the time , Nigeria team against Denmark was a pure disgrace that day , na Only JJ stood up to the challenge for crying out loud na Worldcup oo the biggest sport festival .. Shiiiii .chendosplastic wrote:kolinzo wrote:Okacha was the only thing good in that game for Naija. Okocha took boyscout of 10 men to the war against 11 SEALs, no way Naija was gonna win that game. Okocha fought and fought but his boyscouts were just inept to fight. God bless Okocha for putting up a fight. What a legend! Greatest Naija soccer player of all time. Will be forever loved.
vancity eagle wrote:All I will say is that today Nigeria would kill to have a player exert that much influence and danger to the opposition in a match as Okocha did that day.![]()
No weapon that is formed against me shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against me in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of me, saith the Lord. (Isaiah 54:17 KJV)
- Site Admin
wow either someone stole your handle or as they say a broken clock is right twice a day.kolinzo wrote:Okacha was the only thing good in that game for Naija. Okocha took boyscout of 10 men to the war against 11 SEALs, no way Naija was gonna win that game. Okocha fought and fought but his boyscouts were just inept to fight. God bless Okocha for putting up a fight. What a legend! Greatest Naija soccer player of all time. Will be forever loved.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Glad to see that we have people who can still tell the truth...kali wrote:Jay Jay did not play soccer against Denmark. He was on a marketing campaign to advertize his skills to all the coaches out there. He was successful because PSG paid 17 million pounds the highest ever paid for an African player for Jay Jay immediately after the World Cup in 1998.
About Bigpokey's statement. Did he become a better player? Lets see. With JJ in a leading role Nigeria never got past the semi-final of the African Nations Cup. JJ never won Africa's Best Player Award. As captain JJ failed to qualify Nigeria for the World Cup in Germany in 2006 while absconding from several games.
JJ at the national level was overrated. Great repetoire of skills but a poor team player and captain. Just goes to show who the true ballers were of the 1994-2000 set that carried the Super Eagles:
- Emmanuel Amuneke
- Rasheed "goalsfather" Yekini
- Finidi George
- Daniel Amokachi
Once those players were gone, Nigeria was no longer a team that struck fear in the hearts of opposing teams.
While on the Subject of Okocha.
Now this was thoroughly Enjoyable.
In terms of raw ability...I think Okocha is certainly the best African Midfielder that I have ever seen.
If he was not the best, well that was simply a question of discipline and focus. But in terms of sheer ability...I cannot see anybody near him.
This guy was not just an entertainer...watch this match against Manu. This guy could EASILY have played a simple game, if he wanted to. He has very delicate and deft touches. Nothing limited Okocha, but Okocha himself.
If Okocha lived again...he would win the WPOY. All he needed was to channel all his abilities into the right areas.
Now this was thoroughly Enjoyable.
In terms of raw ability...I think Okocha is certainly the best African Midfielder that I have ever seen.
If he was not the best, well that was simply a question of discipline and focus. But in terms of sheer ability...I cannot see anybody near him.
This guy was not just an entertainer...watch this match against Manu. This guy could EASILY have played a simple game, if he wanted to. He has very delicate and deft touches. Nothing limited Okocha, but Okocha himself.
If Okocha lived again...he would win the WPOY. All he needed was to channel all his abilities into the right areas.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
I mean just look at the way he tackled one Manu Player...that is the first time in my life, I have seen a player tackle with flair.
I mean...who on earth tackles with flair..the way he pick-pocketed that player...as if he was performing one if his silky moves...kaiii. I can honestly say, I have never seen such a thing before.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Tbite wrote:I mean just look at the way he tackled one Manu Player...that is the first time in my life, I have seen a player tackle with flair.
Yup, i think he was a little immature, just showed his age, but his hunger was there. He is the only known Nigerian legend outside of Nigeria. Men i used to wake at 5am to see a nigerian captain a side! bring back 2004 abeg, add obagoal, kelechi, and a few strikers we would be good.
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)
An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

kolinzo wrote:Okacha was the only thing good in that game for Naija. Okocha took boyscout of 10 men to the war against 11 SEALs, no way Naija was gonna win that game. Okocha fought and fought but his boyscouts were just inept to fight. God bless Okocha for putting up a fight. What a legend! Greatest Naija soccer player of all time. Will be forever loved.

"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti
Naija 4 life!
Definitely with maturity..Okocha would have won a WPOY.
He did not even win an APOY...but lets be serious....the level of talent that he had, surpasses that of any African midfielder I have ever seen. It is NOT about silky moves or this or that. That is all a myth...look at the video I just posted, in that video, he possesses all the innate qualities you would find in a perfect Midfielder.
The ONLY thing I don't see him doing there, that you might see someone like Mikel doing is shielding. BUT really...if he put his mind to it, he could have played just about ANY role.
He could have been a DM, he could have been a Winger, he could have been anything really. I think he did not even come anywhere near to fulfilling his talents. I think guys like Mikel and Yaya Toure have benefited from seeing the past legends, succeed and falter.
Okocha probably didn't really know what he had at the time.
Footballers of today are luckier, in the sense, that they can build themselves upon the bedrock of the past footballers. Without the legends of the past, do you think the likes of CRON and Messi would be half as good as they are?
If ONLY Okocha was born 20 years ago.
He did not even win an APOY...but lets be serious....the level of talent that he had, surpasses that of any African midfielder I have ever seen. It is NOT about silky moves or this or that. That is all a myth...look at the video I just posted, in that video, he possesses all the innate qualities you would find in a perfect Midfielder.
The ONLY thing I don't see him doing there, that you might see someone like Mikel doing is shielding. BUT really...if he put his mind to it, he could have played just about ANY role.
He could have been a DM, he could have been a Winger, he could have been anything really. I think he did not even come anywhere near to fulfilling his talents. I think guys like Mikel and Yaya Toure have benefited from seeing the past legends, succeed and falter.
Footballers of today are luckier, in the sense, that they can build themselves upon the bedrock of the past footballers. Without the legends of the past, do you think the likes of CRON and Messi would be half as good as they are?
If we have a player like that now, he is going for nothing less than 120 milla. He made a bcht out of scholes and ronaldo that day, such an assertive guy, i like his passionTbite wrote:Definitely with maturity..Okocha would have won a WPOY.
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)
I like his arrogance and confidence..this belief that he could do anything....that may have been his weakness in the end. Modern day footballers are told to perfect two or three things and recycle those same tasks again and again in every match. Watch all the footballers in the the EPL, they all repeat the same tasks..again and again, week in, week out. In the past, only Goalkeepers were known for that level of repetition.miky wrote:If we have a player like that now, he is going for nothing less than 120 milla. He made a bcht out of scholes and ronaldo that day, such an assertive guy, i like his passionTbite wrote:Definitely with maturity..Okocha would have won a WPOY.
What Mikel does is not unique to him...all players do it..they all have their own little tasks that they perfect. Okocha, I feel was not as disciplined as he should have been. He did everything...but certain things, he did not perfect. For example, he did not perfect his shooting...even though, footage will show that he actually had a natural knack for it.
I think he needed a little more repetition in his game...he would have benefited from the modern day discipline. Even look at Ighalo..he is doing the same exact thing, week in, week out. He stays in his danger area, he uses his strength, he relies on the quick drop of the shoulder, dummies and those shots he lashes across goal.
but I respect his arrogance nonetheless. The guy won a freekick, took the freekick...got deflected for a corner, took the corner.