NIGERIA IS ONE POTENT STRIKER AWAY FROM BEING TRULY DOMINANT

Re: NIGERIA IS ONE POTENT STRIKER AWAY FROM BEING TRULY DOMI

Murds, why are we allowing 73 1/2 year old science students open football threads? Shouldn't Uncle 1naira be dancing shaku shaku to kosewe kosegbo in his basement at this time of the day?

1naija wrote:Rohr has built a solid team, that's why I support him staying on at least through the ANC. We need Uzoho to continue growing to seal the goalkeeper position. So while I think we are a bit weak at this position, I believe we have enough to stay competitive in the position.

What Nigeria lack and has lacked for a while now is a potent striker. We have players like Musa and Iheanacho that can be on a streak and score every once in a while, but to be truly dominant we need a striker that can put away chances like Messi, Ronaldo, Salah, etc do for their clubs. If a Messi or Ronaldo type scorer were playing for us he would have put away the chance Iheanacho wasted in the first half when he intercepted a defensive error pass by one of the Argentina player. Instead of driving to score, he tried to get the ball to his left side to use his left foot, which allowed the Argentina defense to recover. Even Moses would have put away that chance or get us a penalty. A potent striker would have put away the 2 chances Ighalo blew. To win at this level, we must have players that can covert those clear chances.

Unfortunately I don't see any such player on the horizon. Iheanacho, Musa, Simi, Nwakali, Ighalo, Ayowomi are of the same caliber as far as I am concerned. None of them can change the game for us if we need them to.

1Naija,
If yu remember right from the qualifiers and after, i kept shouting about strikers and the fact that Ighalo is not it. I was seen as an unrepentant Ighalo Basher but i knew his strenght was against low African oppositions.

FOr me, I think the following would come good
1. Simy: Skillful and intelligent striker
2. Kayode: Very dangerous, energetic, fast and dangerous striker. Lets see how he does in Donesk this season. Lets hope he is not China age by next worldcup.
3. Orji Okonkwo: Fast, energic and heavy shots. Pretty short guy tho.
4. Umar: Jury is out on him but loves to run with his lumbering body

waka-man wrote:People talk like when Okocha was around we were winning Nations Cups and World Cup yanfu yanfu.
The great King Kanu scored a grand total of zero goals for us at major tournaments.
And they failed to qualify in 2006
Failed to beat 10 man Ghana in 2008
Abeg

Right now we have our best team since 94. And 1Naija is right we are one good striker away from being a top side. Even Emenike of 2013 would make this team better.

Sadiq might be it. Iheanacho might come good. Or Osimhen might become the one.

And heck, this is Nigeria; some dude might explode out of nowhere.

Until then anyone who tries to bust up this team thunder go fire am

KPOM. E no go better for the persin.

aruako1 wrote:Rohr should stay. But we should not pretend that he cannot be called out.

Of course he can and should be called out. The point is that we LEARN (yes the word that burns some people) from the mistakes we made and upgrade the team by addressing such mistakes. Overhauling a solid team is not the answer. Egghead MUST win this upcoming election.

I really like this guy, was the teams top striker, but the team was crap:

Suleiman Abdullahi
https://www.transfermarkt.com/suleiman- ... ler/356118

aruako1 wrote:Rohr should stay. But we should not pretend that he cannot be called out.

Of course he can and should be called out. The point is that we LEARN (yes the word that burns some people) from the mistakes we made and upgrade the team by addressing such mistakes. Overhauling a solid team is not the answer. Egghead MUST win this upcoming election.
I have not asked for an overhaul. We have a good team. We need to bring more young players in gradually. And why can't we hire the likes of Dtogba, Eto'o, Benni Mcarthy who know how to score against African and non-African teams, to train our strikers? Drogba would be my preference.

aruako1 wrote:

I have not asked for an overhaul. We have a good team. We need to bring more young players in gradually. And why can't we hire the likes of Dtogba, Eto'o, Benni Mcarthy who know how to score against African and non-African teams, to train our strikers? Drogba would be my preference.

No I was not referring to you regarding the overhaul question. As for the training, while you can improve technique, there are somethings you just cant teach. The likes of Drogs Eto'o etc have to demonstrate they have the ability to impart the knowledge they have.

Great thread 1Naija, very discerning.

First, we should keep coach Rohr for he is realistic and clear about what he has
and where he wants to go. Changing coaches is not a recipe for success except
of course we want to pretend we are the Real Madrid of national teams.
Next, I believe we the fans should get realistic and stop hyping mediocre players
that are inconsistent at best. It is this attitude that helped tone down my disappointment
on our loss - we just don't currently have enough 'talented and disciplined' players
to be competitive at the world stage.
Last, for now, is the issue of administrative continuity. The current NFF is the best organized group
I have witnessed in our football. Just like in politics, change is very subjective and with regards the
football federation, clamoring for change can ruin things generally. In short, we should allow the
Pinnick led NFF to continue building on what they already have.

Wishing Nigeria football the best, going forward.

We have:

Sadiq
Awoniyi
Simi
Iheanacho

I still think we need to get Into Isaac Promise head, converting him to Winger screwed his game up.

So I will add him..

Isaac Promise

Wetin be the Keshio chan striker name , I like his hustle ..?

TWEAKS WON'T DO

Nigeria has participated in enough WC's to rise above its lowly status and start being listed as a possibility. Nigeria shouldn't be satisfied with anything less at this stage. And if that's taking Nigeria to the next two levels is the goal, minor tweaks here and there, and waiting for the occasional game changer, won't do it - a major overhaul is called for. The arrival of Pinnick has solved one of the main problems - organizational ineptness. Now things like this not happen overnight but the commitment needs to be made now. Player development and infrastructure need to be added.

Absolutely right.

I'm truly disappointed with Iheanacho's progress. He should be that potent striker by now. He has all the tools to become that guy but he's not taking care of simple weaknesses in his game and his general fitness.

Rohr said he wasn't fit yesterday and you really wonder what that means. If I'm a footballer earning a lot of money with the possibility of earning even more, I'd hire physical trainers and nutritionists to make sure I'm always in shape. If I notice I'm always slipping, I'd hire someone to look into my boots and my socks. Simple things that may transform him from an average striker to a top one.

Looking forward, I am trusting the new generation of strikers coming up (Osimhen, Awoniyi, maybe Lokosa) to give him a good fight for that position so we don't have to depend on someone who can't keep fit.

As for Ahmed Musa, I think we have good backups in that fast wing-forward/striker position. Onyekuru comes to mind.

Rohr should only stay if he accepts a pay cut. He was given so much but delivered so little. No need for excuses. He failed to deliver. A very POOR WC by any standard. Lagerbeer was sacked for similar performance

marutimon wrote:I really like this guy, was the teams top striker, but the team was crap:

Suleiman Abdullahi
https://www.transfermarkt.com/suleiman- ... ler/356118
7 goals in 28 games? Mschewwwww!!!
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

wanaj0 wrote:Rohr should only stay if he accepts a pay cut. He was given so much but delivered so little. No need for excuses. He failed to deliver. A very POOR WC by any standard. Lagerbeer was sacked for similar performance
Honestly, this is first in your lifetime you have made positive contribution to any discourse. The question why should mediocrity be rewarded . Absolutely it does not make any iota of sense. This incompetent coach was given more than adequate resources to do his job he obviously botched it. Now people are talking about retaining him. I ask for what . The fool has reached his zenith thus he can go go further but decline . I don't even know why the guy has not been sacked yet. Kechi achieved a far better result with minimum resources and the acrimony going on with NFF fans still clamored for his removal. Why are we setting a different bar for this incompetent buffoon?

niyi wrote:Absolutely right.

I'm truly disappointed with Iheanacho's progress. He should be that potent striker by now. He has all the tools to become that guy but he's not taking care of simple weaknesses in his game and his general fitness.

Rohr said he wasn't fit yesterday and you really wonder what that means. If I'm a footballer earning a lot of money with the possibility of earning even more, I'd hire physical trainers and nutritionists to make sure I'm always in shape. If I notice I'm always slipping, I'd hire someone to look into my boots and my socks. Simple things that may transform him from an average striker to a top one.

Looking forward, I am trusting the new generation of strikers coming up (Osimhen, Awoniyi, maybe Lokosa) to give him a good fight for that position so we don't have to depend on someone who can't keep fit.

As for Ahmed Musa, I think we have good backups in that fast wing-forward/striker position. Onyekuru comes to mind.
He is a big disappointment, i no go lie. I believe we have better strikers out there going forwad.
olumide

Post by olumide »

I was surprised how poorly he played last night, to be frank. I thought he was quite good against Iceland, who afforded less space to him and also ended the season quite well. Just off entirely on Tuesday night though. I was in the stadium, and he was running hard but nothing came off at all for him. A shame and hopefully an outlier performance.

I still have high hopes for Iheanacho, though. We have seen him perform before and he is still very young. In four years time in Qatar, he will be the same age that Mane and Salah are now, so let us see where he is by then. The guy is learning the hard way and has had a really rough two seasons. Needs to get his swagger back. Ighalo's time is up and Kelechi should be in the mix going forward, though obviously not a starter, unless he earns that distinction. We have a lot of forwards in Europe currently and even more in the pipeline, so there are many options, we just need one to step up. The competition should be fierce.