LIVERPOOL & MANCITY TRY TO LAND CHUKUWEZE
Re: LIVERPOOL & MANCITY TRY TO LAND CHUKUWEZE
maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......
He will not develop as a player, win anything, hone his skill and is more likely to be injured....
Its better to earn$4 in a team and be ard for next 12 yrs than get $10 and be cursed out in 2 yrs....
I hope he has wise counsel
Cujus esqulum, ajus es usqui ad inferos
- maceo4
Oga, he can get injured playing in any league even in training sef. But when you get a chance to secure your future with a guaranteed life changing contract, you freaking take it. And like I said he can go on loan to 'hone his skills'. Also, if these guys are willing to invest that much in his talent they'll clearly have a plan for himThe real deal wrote:maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......
He will not develop as a player, win anything, hone his skill and is more likely to be injured....
Its better to earn$4 in a team and be ard for next 12 yrs than get $10 and be cursed out in 2 yrs....
This is why we lack World Class players. If he chases money now instead of focusing on developing his talent, he will end up like just about one of those Nigerian talents that we have already forgotten, and have already blown their money.maceo4 wrote:Oga, he can get injured playing in any league even in training sef. But when you get a chance to secure your future with a guaranteed life changing contract, you freaking take it. And like I said he can go on loan to 'hone his skills'. Also, if these guys are willing to invest that much in his talent they'll clearly have a plan for himThe real deal wrote:maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......
The smart move is to focus on developing his talent to his full potential. The money will come as a result, and not as a goal..
The same people wanting him to move to the Epl will be the same haters that’ll want him out of SE for not playing regularly.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
I don’t know why we love to sell our players short. Don’t go here; instead go where you can play regularly. Well, how much do you think he’ll improve by playing with lesser players? If he’s as good as you claim he is then he should be competing with the very best players. You can’t improve your game by playing with second fiddle

- TonyTheTigerKiller
What’s wrong with that? Winning a prestigious global tournament can do wonders for a young player’s psyche. Where would England be if not for the young stars they took to the 2017 edition. If you don’t think that winning that tournament was motivation and a catalyst for England’s subsequent performance in the World Cup then you don’t know anything. Nigeria should take the best youth players we can find to the tournament, periodEaglezbeak wrote:But Nigeria are sending him to the U20 World despite wanting to win the Afcon,anyway he shouldn’t bother with City!

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- maceo4
Name the Naija players who went to teams caliber of current Liverpool and City for big money that we’ve forgotten???charlie wrote:This is why we lack World Class players. If he chases money now instead of focusing on developing his talent, he will end up like just about one of those Nigerian talents that we have already forgotten, and have already blown their money.maceo4 wrote:Oga, he can get injured playing in any league even in training sef. But when you get a chance to secure your future with a guaranteed life changing contract, you freaking take it. And like I said he can go on loan to 'hone his skills'. Also, if these guys are willing to invest that much in his talent they'll clearly have a plan for himThe real deal wrote:maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......
The smart move is to focus on developing his talent to his full potential. The money will come as a result, and not as a goal..
Do you know the Heavyweight prospect, Efe Ajagba? The guy is 10-0 with 9 KOs. His jab and right hand is absolutely devastating. Only one boxer has taken him 5 rounds. Most others are done in the 1st or 2nd round. Some say he should take on Deontay Wilder and Antony Joshua right now because he has a devastating punch. His coach, Ronny Shields (Trained heavy weight champs like Holyfield, Tyson for example) says he is not ready, and needs 1-2 years of boxing under his belt, before he is ready to take on the top boxers. Luckily, Efe is a smart cookie, and is one of the lucky few to be around promoters that actually see him as a bonifide long term investment. So he is biding his time wisely.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:I don’t know why we love to sell our players short. Don’t go here; instead go where you can play regularly. Well, how much do you think he’ll improve by playing with lesser players? If he’s as good as you claim he is then he should be competing with the very best players. You can’t improve your game by playing with second fiddle![]()
Why did I bring this up? Well because those asking a 19 year old who has only played 1 year of semi-consistent professional football in a top league, to go an compete for a playing spot in some of the best clubs in the world, are similar to those shouting Efe Ajagba should challenge for a World title belt, one year into his professional career simply because he has shown promise.
Saying a 19 year old talent who still has much to learn is still too young to compete for a starting shirt in a top European team, is not selling him short, but rather being smart, realistic and thinking in terms of his best interests.
Last edited by charlie on Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I will give you just one: Kelechi Ihenacho.maceo4 wrote:Name the Naija players who went to teams caliber of current Liverpool and City for big money that we’ve forgotten???charlie wrote:This is why we lack World Class players. If he chases money now instead of focusing on developing his talent, he will end up like just about one of those Nigerian talents that we have already forgotten, and have already blown their money.maceo4 wrote:Oga, he can get injured playing in any league even in training sef. But when you get a chance to secure your future with a guaranteed life changing contract, you freaking take it. And like I said he can go on loan to 'hone his skills'. Also, if these guys are willing to invest that much in his talent they'll clearly have a plan for himThe real deal wrote:maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......
He is getting paid abi? 120K GBP/week looks great in the bank. But it wont get him into Leceister's lineup, or into the Super Eagles going to Egypt this summer. In retrospect, what would have been better for Kelechi's development? Signing for City, or signing for Porto when he had the chance?
What about Kenneth Omeruo? Who many games did he get at Chelsea?? Did he not do 1000 loan stints? It wasnt till he found a home playing consistent football at Leganes that we remember what talent he has. Ask Kenneth now if he will rather stay at Leganes, or go back to Chelsea.
- maceo4
Come on, these are all poor examples (lets even put aside that NOBODY has forgotten either of them...). On Kele, first he didn't move for big money, he was picked up for peanuts as a YOUTH player with the hope of some day making the jump. This is a completely different situation, this is someone who is currently playing senior ball and performing against the likes of Real and Barca and so big teams are looking to break the bank to get him into their main team.charlie wrote:I will give you just one: Kelechi Ihenacho.maceo4 wrote:Name the Naija players who went to teams caliber of current Liverpool and City for big money that we’ve forgotten???charlie wrote:This is why we lack World Class players. If he chases money now instead of focusing on developing his talent, he will end up like just about one of those Nigerian talents that we have already forgotten, and have already blown their money.maceo4 wrote:Oga, he can get injured playing in any league even in training sef. But when you get a chance to secure your future with a guaranteed life changing contract, you freaking take it. And like I said he can go on loan to 'hone his skills'. Also, if these guys are willing to invest that much in his talent they'll clearly have a plan for himThe real deal wrote:maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......
He is getting paid abi? 120K GBP/week looks great in the bank. But it wont get him into Leceister's lineup, or into the Super Eagles going to Egypt this summer. In retrospect, what would have been better for Kelechi's development? Signing for City, or signing for Porto when he had the chance?
What about Kenneth Omeruo? Who many games did he get at Chelsea?? Did he not do 1000 loan stints? It wasnt till he found a home playing consistent football at Leganes that we remember what talent he has. Ask Kenneth now if he will rather stay at Leganes, or go back to Chelsea.
But even if we look at Kelechi, he eventually got PT with City, showed he could score, and that is probably why he has a career today because of that productive season and a half at City. And that allowed him to get a good move to another PL team even with a buy back clause. The issue is HE hasn't improved on his deficiencies and you can't blame anybody but himself for that.
Chelsea also didn't break the bank for Omeruo, he was just a decent player that they picked up hoping he would improve. Both of these are nothing like Samu's situation. His buy out clause is 60 mill, we've never had this before, and I wouldn't suggest he miss out on this for some sort of defeatist mentality. When you are considered good enough to bang with the best you go and test your mettle, if you are unable to make it you will be able to find other decent teams to fall back on.
Steel sharpens steel, what better way to become World Class than playing with other World Class player. And like we have already said if there is no immediate space for him he can loan out to a decent team to hone his talent and improve like Salah, Debruyne and host of other WC talent.
Those are examples of young upcoming talent that signed with big clubs too early, and it ended up derailing their careers.maceo4 wrote:
Come on, these are all poor examples (lets even put aside that NOBODY has forgotten either of them...). On Kele, first he didn't move for big money, he was picked up for peanuts as a YOUTH player with the hope of some day making the jump. This is a completely different situation, this is someone who is currently playing senior ball and performing against the likes of Real and Barca and so big teams are looking to break the bank to get him into their main team.
But even if we look at Kelechi, he eventually got PT with City, showed he could score, and that is probably why he has a career today because of that productive season and a half at City. And that allowed him to get a good move to another PL team even with a buy back clause. The issue is HE hasn't improved on his deficiencies and you can't blame anybody but himself for that.
Chelsea also didn't break the bank for Omeruo, he was just a decent player that they picked up hoping he would improve. Both of these are nothing like Samu's situation. His buy out clause is 60 mill, we've never had this before, and I wouldn't suggest he miss out on this for some sort of defeatist mentality. When you are considered good enough to bang with the best you go and test your mettle, if you are unable to make it you will be able to find other decent teams to fall back on.
Kenneth's Career was heading downhill, until he had a chance to showcase his talent day in day out, playing 1st team football with Leganes. Not many will be surprised if Kenneth ends up manning defense at Athletico Madrid or Barcalona in 2020/2021 (I wont be - he is proving himself now as a top 10 defender in La Liga).
Kelechi's career is in serious trouble, and the smart consensus is that he should sacrifice big money in the EPL to play 1st team football for a few years. A player who you identified as a goal poacher and scorer has 2 goals to his credit this season.
As for others in that class, Taiwo Awoniyo signed for Liverpool, but has been bounced around on loan like a yo-yo. His career is marking time to the point that up and coming talent like Samu have passed him in the pecking order.
Chidi Nwakali? Also signed for ManCity btw. Where is he sef? Is he still playing football?
Musa Yahaya, signed for Spurs. Where is he now?
In that illustrious talented U-17 squad that destroyed all their peers, how many are bonafide stars now or close to being recognized as stars?
We've been down this road too many times now. Chuks is lucky to have found a home, a team that trust him, and most importantly, needs him desperately. He should stay where he is for now. When the time is right, he will make his big move, and at that time, no one will worry about him playing first team football, because we all see he has the talent to be truly special when he is ready.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Your argument is totally illogical. Boxing is not football. In football, you may not be getting consistent playing time but if you’re good enough to be part of the first team squad then you’re getting imeassurable experience learning from better players. Boxers don’t have the benefit of superior fighters to learn from so, they need sufficient time to acquire the experience needed to face top caliber fighters. In one of your posts, you shot yourself in the foot by using Kelechi Iheanacho as an example to bolster your invalid point. Kelechi may not be getting the kind of playing time he wants at Leicester, not because he’s not good enough but because he happens to be playing behind one of the very best strikers in English football, in the person of Jamie Vardy. Still, rest assured that those few minutes he gets now and then is infinitely more valuable to him than if he went on loan to some championship team or a lowly premier league team. People like you tend to look down on Leicester but you forget that only a few short seasons ago, they were the premier league champions. They are not a small team by any means. You also dared to use Omeruo as another example and I dare say to you that Leganes ain’t no Chelsea, periodcharlie wrote:Do you know the Heavyweight prospect, Efe Ajagba? The guy is 10-0 with 9 KOs. His jab and right hand is absolutely devastating. Only one boxer has taken him 5 rounds. Most others are done in the 1st or 2nd round. Some say he should take on Deontay Wilder and Antony Joshua right now because he has a devastating punch. His coach, Ronny Shields (Trained heavy weight champs like Holyfield, Tyson for example) says he is not ready, and needs 1-2 years of boxing under his belt, before he is ready to take on the top boxers. Luckily, Efe is a smart cookie, and is one of the lucky few to be around promoters that actually see him as a bonifide long term investment. So he is biding his time wisely.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:I don’t know why we love to sell our players short. Don’t go here; instead go where you can play regularly. Well, how much do you think he’ll improve by playing with lesser players? If he’s as good as you claim he is then he should be competing with the very best players. You can’t improve your game by playing with second fiddle![]()
Why did I bring this up? Well because those asking a 19 year old who has only played 1 year of semi-consistent professional football in a top league, to go an compete for a playing spot in some of the best clubs in the world, are similar to those shouting Efe Ajagba should challenge for a World title belt, one year into his professional career simply because he has shown promise.
Saying a 19 year old talent who still has much to learn is still too young to compete for a starting shirt in a top European team, is not selling him short, but rather being smart, realistic and thinking in terms of his best interests.

This is a no brainer, stay in Spain but if the change in pay is that substantial, a beg move.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Stop focusing on the negative.charlie wrote:Those are examples of young upcoming talent that signed with big clubs too early, and it ended up derailing their careers.maceo4 wrote:
Come on, these are all poor examples (lets even put aside that NOBODY has forgotten either of them...). On Kele, first he didn't move for big money, he was picked up for peanuts as a YOUTH player with the hope of some day making the jump. This is a completely different situation, this is someone who is currently playing senior ball and performing against the likes of Real and Barca and so big teams are looking to break the bank to get him into their main team.
Kenneth's Career was heading downhill, until he had a chance to showcase his talent day in day out, playing 1st team football with Leganes. Not many will be surprised if Kenneth ends up manning defense at Athletico Madrid or Barcalona in 2020/2021 (I wont be - he is proving himself now as a top 10 defender in La Liga).
Kelechi's career is in serious trouble, and the smart consensus is that he should sacrifice big money in the EPL to play 1st team football for a few years. A player who you identified as a goal poacher and scorer has 2 goals to his credit this season.
As for others in that class, Taiwo Awoniyo signed for Liverpool, but has been bounced around on loan like a yo-yo. His career is marking time to the point that up and coming talent like Samu have passed him in the pecking order.
Chidi Nwakali? Also signed for ManCity btw. Where is he sef? Is he still playing football?
Musa Yahaya, signed for Spurs. Where is he now?
In that illustrious talented U-17 squad that destroyed all their peers, how many are bonafide stars now or close to being recognized as stars?
We've been down this road too many times now. Chuks is lucky to have found a home, a team that trust him, and most importantly, needs him desperately. He should stay where he is for now. When the time is right, he will make his big move, and at that time, no one will worry about him playing first team football, because we all see he has the talent to be truly special when he is ready.
Felix Nmecha
Phil Foden
Gabriel Jesus
Leroy Sané
Raheem Sterling
Dele Alli
Harvey Barnes
Hamza Choudury
Youri Tielemans
James Madison
Ben Chilwell
Wilfred Ndidi
Son Heung-min and yes,
Kelechi Iheanacho
The above are all examples of young, extremely talented players who joined big clubs early and are still thriving at big clubs. If all of the above can make it at big clubs, why can’t Sam Chukwuemeka? You have to understand that when young players don’t make it at big clubs, it isn’t because they’re not good enough. Rather, it is because many are called but few are chosen

maceo4 wrote:Name the Naija players who went to teams caliber of current Liverpool and City for big money that we’ve forgotten???charlie wrote:This is why we lack World Class players. If he chases money now instead of focusing on developing his talent, he will end up like just about one of those Nigerian talents that we have already forgotten, and have already blown their money.maceo4 wrote:Oga, he can get injured playing in any league even in training sef. But when you get a chance to secure your future with a guaranteed life changing contract, you freaking take it. And like I said he can go on loan to 'hone his skills'. Also, if these guys are willing to invest that much in his talent they'll clearly have a plan for himThe real deal wrote:maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......
Iheanacho.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Vanity, how could you have forgotten him when you just mentioned his name? Are you that English language challengedvancity eagle wrote:maceo4 wrote:Name the Naija players who went to teams caliber of current Liverpool and City for big money that we’ve forgotten???charlie wrote:This is why we lack World Class players. If he chases money now instead of focusing on developing his talent, he will end up like just about one of those Nigerian talents that we have already forgotten, and have already blown their money.maceo4 wrote:Oga, he can get injured playing in any league even in training sef. But when you get a chance to secure your future with a guaranteed life changing contract, you freaking take it. And like I said he can go on loan to 'hone his skills'. Also, if these guys are willing to invest that much in his talent they'll clearly have a plan for himThe real deal wrote:maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......
Iheanacho.

- maceo4
Nah, what big money did Iheanacho go for? He was picked up for peanuts by their youth team eventually making it to the first team. I don’t think we’ve had this situation before, where a young player has this large a buy out clause being courted by top top teams.vancity eagle wrote:maceo4 wrote:Name the Naija players who went to teams caliber of current Liverpool and City for big money that we’ve forgotten???charlie wrote:This is why we lack World Class players. If he chases money now instead of focusing on developing his talent, he will end up like just about one of those Nigerian talents that we have already forgotten, and have already blown their money.maceo4 wrote:Oga, he can get injured playing in any league even in training sef. But when you get a chance to secure your future with a guaranteed life changing contract, you freaking take it. And like I said he can go on loan to 'hone his skills'. Also, if these guys are willing to invest that much in his talent they'll clearly have a plan for himThe real deal wrote:maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......
Iheanacho.

charlie wrote:I will give you just one: Kelechi Ihenacho.maceo4 wrote:Name the Naija players who went to teams caliber of current Liverpool and City for big money that we’ve forgotten???charlie wrote:This is why we lack World Class players. If he chases money now instead of focusing on developing his talent, he will end up like just about one of those Nigerian talents that we have already forgotten, and have already blown their money.maceo4 wrote:Oga, he can get injured playing in any league even in training sef. But when you get a chance to secure your future with a guaranteed life changing contract, you freaking take it. And like I said he can go on loan to 'hone his skills'. Also, if these guys are willing to invest that much in his talent they'll clearly have a plan for himThe real deal wrote:maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......

- Eaglezbeak
England took players who played in top league clubs (mostly Premier League) to the World Cup regardless of their age, Chukweze is young but he is no longer a youth player he plays in La Liga and is a regular, Nigeria should be looking to unearth more players like him and the U20 tournament (2019) is the place to do so after all we don't have clubs with official academies like they do in England!TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:What’s wrong with that? Winning a prestigious global tournament can do wonders for a young player’s psyche. Where would England be if not for the young stars they took to the 2017 edition. If you don’t think that winning that tournament was motivation and a catalyst for England’s subsequent performance in the World Cup then you don’t know anything. Nigeria should take the best youth players we can find to the tournament, periodEaglezbeak wrote:But Nigeria are sending him to the U20 World despite wanting to win the Afcon,anyway he shouldn’t bother with City!![]()
A successful career needs planning. While it's not good for a man to stay in the same spot for too long, it's also important for a man to move at the right time. I will advise Chukwueze to stay at least another season with Villareal, he's getting the opportunity to play top class football regularly and developing at the right pace. He enjoys the confidence of the coaching crew which is good for him. The grass is not necessarily green at the other side and he still has a lot to learn at this stage. He's not the finished article and his development will be aided by being in his comfort zone i.e. Villareal. Another excellent season and he should be ready to fly the coop to bigger teams. The great Samuel E'too once said that anyone who prioritizes money over career development in football will not get far. Those propagating that he should take advantage of the money opportunities should take note of that.
Many careers of promising Nigerian footballers have been sacrificed on the alter of making money and Godfrey Oboabaona comes to mind. At 22, an AFCON winner, he had the world at his feet. European teams were interested in him and Arsene Wenger showed an interest but his handlers were demanding millions for him, a player who had not played a single minute of European football. Wenger wanted him to go to France for his development, but his handlers were behaving like they had Baresi and Nesta rolled into one. European scouts saw that he had the raw materials, Speed, aerial ability, good on the ball, excellent tackle etc. and were ready to develop him but typical Nigerian short-sightedness were having none of that, they wanted the highest bidder. I spoke with an agent that a La Liga club sent down to Nigeria to get Oboabona about how the price his handlers were asking for was unrealistic. He eventually ended up in Turkey and the rest is history. At that stage, he was ahead of the likes of Eric Bailly and Khoulibaly.
- Eaglezbeak
True!maceo4 wrote:JACKAL wrote:vancity eagle wrote:JACKAL wrote:Some of you guys responding to this make me laugh.... If Chukuweze moves to City or Liverpool how much of a wage bump do you think he is going to get ?? He is probably making less than $350K a year right now... That one move will move him up to about $120K a week in England which is over $6M a year for 5 years. = $30Million What fool would turn that down ?
He is going to wait 1 or 2 years where he can get injured or forgotten if his form dips ??
The best scouts and general managers say he is ready..he is ready !!!
I agree.
But hell no to Mancity.
He should try and go somewhere where he will have a lot of playing time.
He may fit in at Liverpool, especially if Mane leaves, but it will still be a fight.
My ideal club for him would be Lille.
Champions league, plus he would play every match and be on one of the top teams in the league.
I actually think Man city style is the perfect fit for him. Sane on the left..Chukweze on the right....its a devastating combo. If he wants to be the best, he has to compete with the best. [/quothttp://forum.cybereagles.com/posting.php?mode=quote&f=1&p=5422613#e]
And where would Man City's 'Sterling' super star be? IMO he should move to one of these teams but should ask for a loan move (even back to Villareal) for a season or two to get consistent PT.
Dammy wrote:![]()
I will give you just one: Kelechi Ihenacho.charlie wrote:Name the Naija players who went to teams caliber of current Liverpool and City for big money that we’ve forgotten???maceo4 wrote:This is why we lack World Class players. If he chases money now instead of focusing on developing his talent, he will end up like just about one of those Nigerian talents that we have already forgotten, and have already blown their money.maceo4 wrote:Oga, he can get injured playing in any league even in training sef. But when you get a chance to secure your future with a guaranteed life changing contract, you freaking take it. And like I said he can go on loan to 'hone his skills'. Also, if these guys are willing to invest that much in his talent they'll clearly have a plan for himThe real deal wrote:maceo4 wrote:Ummm why not? He better take that money, nothing in life is guaranteed! You can always go on loan for PT.The real deal wrote:Who in his right mind will want this kid to go to EPL @ this time?
Not so Bros......

Dammy abeg stop am. Dis Nigeria thing don tire.
Football is a career
People move for both money and development. Guardiola is no mug and Klopp is no mug. The calibre of players he'll be training with are no joke either. The potential to develop is there. The rest is down to him and fate. Staying in Spain guarantees nothing. If Villarreal goes down and he starts playing lower league football, how is that good for his development and bank balance?
We all decide our own careers but we try to decide for footballers. Make the bobo do Wetin please am
My bro, It's unlikely Villareal would go down. The boy has only played half a season in Europe. I believe he should continue his development at Villareal.