Nigeria has easier path to qualify for the second round
- bret- hart
Re: Nigeria has easier path to qualify for the second round
kalani JR wrote:USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.bret- hart wrote:1naija wrote:What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
We beat them in 1989, 2001, 2008 and 2015. At all youth levels. The only US soccer team that should be beating Nigeria is their Shemale(female) team. We have no business losing to America at the mens game. This loss feels like the loss we suffered against South Africa in Uyo. Rubbish team.
Yes. When they come across rubbish teams like Kenya,Zimbabwe, Tunisia, Madagascar etc. But I expect the likes of Nigeria, Senegal, Ghana, Cameroon IVC to wipe the floor with them and any other CONCACRAP country. That ought to be the expectation.

They all have Quarter Final appearances (The US and the former two's coming this century). It isn't 1990 when there wasn't any soccer infrastructure in America times have changed big time.bret- hart wrote:kalani JR wrote:USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.bret- hart wrote:1naija wrote:What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
We beat them in 1989, 2001, 2008 and 2015. At all youth levels. The only US soccer team that should be beating Nigeria is their Shemale(female) team. We have no business losing to America at the mens game. This loss feels like the loss we suffered against South Africa in Uyo. Rubbish team.
Are you high?? Senegal ,Ghana and Cameroon have done better than USA at the world cup. We should be beating US at every level bar the women's team. This is like Nigeria beating them in Basketball. You think if that happens they will just fold their arms in resignation. No they would be embarrassed and rightly so. We have players that are more skilled stronger, faster, smarter that they are in Mbaise local govt alone. We ought to be ashamed that we lost to them in such a fashion and if the NFF were serious, an inquest would have begun already.
I hope you don't believe that the talent gap between them and us in basketball is a reverse situation in soccer?
- Site Admin
woman, do you ever have a clue what you're talking about?bret- hart wrote:kalani JR wrote:USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.bret- hart wrote:1naija wrote:What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
Are you high?? Senegal ,Ghana and Cameroon have done better than USA at the world cup. We should be beating US at every level bar the women's team. This is like Nigeria beating them in Basketball. You think if that happens they will just fold their arms in resignation. No they would be embarrassed and rightly so. We have players that are more skilled stronger, faster, smarter that they are in Mbaise local govt alone. We ought to be ashamed that we lost to them in such a fashion and if the NFF were serious, an inquest would have begun already.
- bret- hart
kalani JR wrote:They all have Quarter Final appearances (The US and the former two's coming this century). It isn't 1990 when there wasn't any soccer infrastructure in America times have changed big time.bret- hart wrote:kalani JR wrote:USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.bret- hart wrote:1naija wrote:What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
I hope you don't believe that the talent gap between them and us in basketball is a reverse situation in soccer?
Look football is our bread and butter. Its embarrassing when we lose games to nations like USA South Africa India, China etc. It would be a national disgrace if we beat them in a basketball game so it ought to be the same if reverse is the case. BTW if the likes of Giannis, Oladipo, Okafor, Iguadala agreed to play for Nigeria, embarrassing them on the BBALL court would not be far fetched.
- maceo4
That ought to be expected based on what though? We have been losing to them for a while now, I remember them whipping Keshia team in 2014...bret- hart wrote:kalani JR wrote:USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.bret- hart wrote:1naija wrote:What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
Yes. When they come across rubbish teams like Kenya,Zimbabwe, Tunisia, Madagascar etc. But I expect the likes of Nigeria, Senegal, Ghana, Cameroon IVC to wipe the floor with them and any other CONCACRAP country. That ought to be the expectation.
I don't know about "spanking Qatar silly", but I think US will win itUgbowo wrote:How many teams qualify? 2 or 3?
US will spank Qatar silly.
bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.

What's funny, are you too lazy to post words...my goodness another lack of creativityOdas wrote:bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.![]()
USA is not the same level as China or India, you need to wean yourself off these outdated stereotypes. As for the basketball thing, even then we aren't touching them in Olympic play.bret- hart wrote:kalani JR wrote:They all have Quarter Final appearances (The US and the former two's coming this century). It isn't 1990 when there wasn't any soccer infrastructure in America times have changed big time.bret- hart wrote:kalani JR wrote:USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.bret- hart wrote:1naija wrote:What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
Look football is our bread and butter. Its embarrassing when we lose games to nations like USA South Africa India, China etc. It would be a national disgrace if we beat them in a basketball game so it ought to be the same if reverse is the case. BTW if the likes of Giannis, Oladipo, Okafor, Iguadala agreed to play for Nigeria, embarrassing them on the BBALL court would not be far fetched.
Why is an old man like you still so insecure?Bigpokey24 wrote:What's funny, are you too lazy to post words...my goodness another lack of creativityOdas wrote:bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.![]()
Damunk laughs, problem.
Odas laughs, wahala.

By the way Odas, welcome back.
Where u dey since?
Which African country has played gotten a 3rd place finish in the history of the world cup?bret- hart wrote:kalani JR wrote:USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.bret- hart wrote:1naija wrote:What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
Well. not quite.
The four best 3rd placed teams qualify for the second round.
We currently have two 3rd placed teams on 4 points each after finishing their group matches (goal difference and points in red).
Grp A - Poland 3 1 1 1 5 2 3 4
Grp B - Ecuador 3 1 1 1 2 2 0 4
And we have 2 others (including the USA) on 3 points after 2 matches.
Grp D - USA 2 1 0 1 3 2 1 3
Grp F - Portugal 2 1 0 1 1 2 -1 3
And the remaining two 3rd and 4th placed teams are slightly worse off but anything can happen.
Grp C
Norway 2 0 0 2 1 5 -4 0
Honduras 2 0 0 2 0 7 -7 0
Grp - E
Panama 2 0 1 1 1 3 -2 1
S' Arabia 2 0 0 2 3 6 -3 0
Let's assume the USA beat Qatar and we lose to Ukraine (both results highly likely), then we will need results elsewhere to favour us.
1. Panama must not beat Saudi Arabia. The probability of this happening is high.
2. The winner of Norway v Honduras must not better us on goal difference. The probability of this happening is very low considering their negative goal difference now.
We must keep the goal difference down if we lose to Ukraine.
But if we draw against Ukraine and Panama beats Saudi Arabia, then we will qualify ahead of Ecuador with a goal difference of 2 compared to theirs of 0.
Shaking already.
We currently have two 3rd placed teams on 4 points each after finishing their group matches (goal difference and points in red).
And the remaining two 3rd and 4th placed teams are slightly worse off but anything can happen.
Grp C
Norway 2 0 0 2 1 5 -4 0
Grp - E
Panama 2 0 1 1 1 3 -2 1
Let's assume the USA beat Qatar and we lose to Ukraine (both results highly likely), then we will need results elsewhere to favour us.
1. Panama must not beat Saudi Arabia. The probability of this happening is high.
2. The winner of Norway v Honduras must not better us on goal difference. The probability of this happening is very low considering their negative goal difference now.
But if we draw against Ukraine and Panama beats Saudi Arabia, then we will qualify ahead of Ecuador with a goal difference of 2 compared to theirs of 0.
Shaking already.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Una See,Lolly wrote:Well. not quite.
Grp C
Norway 2 0 0 2 1 5 -4 0
Grp - E
Panama 2 0 1 1 1 3 -2 1
Shaking already.
Una See What i mean.
Deja Vu of last World-Cup in Russia.
Every Tournament our National team competes, we turn to Actuaries
Every Nigeria Football Supporter go become mathematical permutation calculator as usual on the eve of our matches after every 2 games.
Watch what will happen with the Women's World Cup.
NFA, NFF all of them Must Be Re-Vamped[/size]
We qualify if Qutar best USA as long as we don’t lose to Ukraine by more than 2 goals
- maceo4
What are our chances if they don't best USA (which is the most likely outcome)?Cmoke wrote:We qualify if Qutar best USA as long as we don’t lose to Ukraine by more than 2 goals
Just as good?kalani JR wrote:USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.bret- hart wrote:1naija wrote:What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
are joking mate??
That USA team is better than any African team. USA football has some impressive players. The players (and the league) have improved hugely in the last few years and will only get better. We are seeing a lot more young players being signed up at European clubs and that is testament to the gains the MLS has made in the last few years.
so losing to THIS USA team was no disgrace. It was the way we played that was so disappointing
YNWA
- maceo4
US has passed us, the likes of Korea and Japan have also passed most African teams.heavyd wrote:Just as good?kalani JR wrote:USA is just as good as any African team, they could easily make semi finals in the AFCON should they play in it. Somehow we have adopted an unearned form of European like condescension. No African team has had a better World Cup campaign than them. We can't expect for evening kickabouts via Obalende to match up to the programs Weah, Mendez and Soto have been afforded.bret- hart wrote:1naija wrote:What's the misery? That we lost to the US? When was the last time you beat the US?bret- hart wrote:mchewwwww. I hope Ukraine puts us out of our misery. Useless team.
are joking mate??
That USA team is better than any African team. USA football has some impressive players. The players (and the league) have improved hugely in the last few years and will only get better. We are seeing a lot more young players being signed up at European clubs and that is testament to the gains the MLS has made in the last few years.
so losing to THIS USA team was no disgrace. It was the way we played that was so disappointing
Norway winning 12-0Lolly wrote:Well. not quite.
Grp C
Norway 2 0 0 2 1 5 -4 0
Grp - E
Panama 2 0 1 1 1 3 -2 1
Shaking already.
WOWO = ONO (oh no!) = OBO
WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'
ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'
OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'
WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'
ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'
OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'
By the way USA was third (Semi Finalist) in 1930 World cup, yes its almost 100yrs ago but we are talking of facts not feelings...US is ahead of us. First part to fixing a problem is knowing there is a problem and understanding it. Our false bravado will get us no where. 2018 World cup, no African team featured in the knock out rounds...one of two confederations that was not represented (the other being Oceania)
Erling HALAND with 9 goals
I’m assuming that’s a record for one match at a FIFA tournament
Red Bull (Salzburg) as usual has been ahead of the game and already signed him.waka-man wrote:Erling HALAND with 9 goals
There needs to be an investigation. Something is not right. I watched Honduras play Uruguay and they didn't look like a team that will lose a match 12-0.wazobia wrote:Norway winning 12-0Lolly wrote:Well. not quite.
Grp C
Norway 2 0 0 2 1 5 -4 0
Grp - E
Panama 2 0 1 1 1 3 -2 1
Shaking already.
Even ignoring that World Cup they have made the second round in their last two appearances and made the quarters in 2002.akamoke wrote:By the way USA was third (Semi Finalist) in 1930 World cup, yes its almost 100yrs ago but we are talking of facts not feelings...US is ahead of us. First part to fixing a problem is knowing there is a problem and understanding it. Our false bravado will get us no where. 2018 World cup, no African team featured in the knock out rounds...one of two confederations that was not represented (the other being Oceania)