Nigeria 0 v Madagascar 2 (FT)

Re: Nigeria v Madagascar Official Line-up

ohenhen1 wrote:2 players on yellow card.
This is one heck of a head scratcher???
Musa and Etebo right?
Yep. I don’t understand why he’s risking them of potentially missing out on the second round knockout match.

Scipio Africanus wrote:Would have liked to see Osimhen start. Also what is Mikel doing in dat lineup?

Anyway fingers crossed. Let's go SE!
Same here.
The only explanation is Rohr is being cautious and doesn't want to take undue risks by changing too many players in one swoop.

So Osimhen might come on later, same with Onyekuru. Three tournament debutantes (Ezenwa, Ogu, Kalu) in the starting line up is quite adventurous and allows for 'corrections' if things don't go to plan with them without compromising the need for the more 'routine' substitutions.

It's not a disaster and there is probably some method to the seeming madness, but we be fans and like most we have our ideas as to who should and shouldn't play.

danfo driver wrote::lol: :lol:

At some point, Mikel should take the decision and inform the coach that he is not his best in the attacking midfield role. :rotf:
Spoken like a true internet know-it-all :idea: :!:

Musa and Etebo right?
Yep. I don’t understand why he’s risking them of potentially missing out on the second round knockout match.
Agreed. Musa has a direct replacement, but does Etebo?

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

Goalgetter wrote:

At some point, Mikel should take the decision and inform the coach that he is not his best in the attacking midfield role. :rotf:
I have always believed it is Mikel himself that is pushing to play in the AM role.
Probably a lifelong dream that nobody else believes in.
Of course it’s Mikel that is pushing for that. He’s lazy and doesn’t want to deal with the high work rate required of a DM. So playing the advanced midfield role gives him the leeway to stroll around.
I don’t believe it’s laziness on Mikel’s part. After all he has played that role for years. Like most human beings, he must prefer the more glorious role than the less glorious role of DM.

Let’s not also immediately look at the negative. What if Mikel is actually doing this because he believes it’s in our best interest. He is intelligent, he is not bad with creating, so perhaps he feels like he has to “take One for the team” and play that role, since we do not have another viable option there (in his opinion). Who knows.

Your logic doesn’t hold water. Iwobi is there.. heck even Etebo is a better advanced midfielder/false 9.. he played that role with flying colors for Siasia. I’m surprised that he (Etebo) now plays as a DM.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?

Scipio Africanus wrote:Would have liked to see Osimhen start. Also what is Mikel doing in dat lineup?

Anyway fingers crossed. Let's go SE!
Same here.
The only explanation is Rohr is being cautious and doesn't want to take undue risks by changing too many players in one swoop.

So Osimhen might come on later, same with Onyekuru. Three tournament debutantes (Ezenwa, Ogu, Kalu) in the starting line up is quite adventurous and allows for 'corrections' if things don't go to plan with them without compromising the need for the more 'routine' substitutions.

It's not a disaster and there is probably some method to the seeming madness, but we be fans and like most we have our ideas as to who should and shouldn't play.

Sad that brainwashed folks like you are afraid to think for yourself thus Rohr must be up to some magic

I have always believed it is Mikel himself that is pushing to play in the AM role.
If you convince yourself that your thoughts are true, I guess they become true. The problem is for Nigeria, notwithstanding he wears the #10 shirt, he’s mostly played in a deep midfield/ CM role and not the AM role that he’s mostly played for Rohr. 2013 ANC is a classic exhibit in support of my assertion.

Rohr puts players on the pitch and not the other way around. Players can only play where they are asked to play. Blaming Mikel for a coaching decision is unexplainable.

Uh oh dark green jaaarrrssiiiii

Musa and Etebo right?
...just instruct them to play smart, not hard fouls, focus so as not to commit.

Musa and Etebo right?
Agreed. Musa has a direct replacement, but does Etebo?
Ndidi can play whatever role Etebo plays and insert a holding MF either Mikel or Ogu. The void is AM which can be filled with an attacker or Iwobi should’ve started at least the first half.

If you convince yourself that your thoughts are true, I guess they become true. The problem is for Nigeria, notwithstanding he wears the #10 shirt, he’s mostly played in a deep midfield/ CM role and not the AM role that he’s mostly played for Rohr. 2013 ANC is a classic exhibit in support of my assertion.

Rohr puts players on the pitch and not the other way around. Players can only play where they are asked to play. Blaming Mikel for a coaching decision is unexplainable.
I agree, saw an interview when he joined Middlesboro he said he's "ALWAYS" been a DM, thats where he's comfortable playing. In fact I could see his frustration playing in the advanced role vs Burundi and the relief when he was subbed. Its Rohr that puts the players out there and should get all the blame.

Before una begin ask for link:

http://www.mygoaltv.com

( 4 servers to choose from )

The problem with Mikel as AM is that he can't make the runs that leads to goal scoring opportunities. He can ping balls to open up the defense but can't make the runs to the end of opportunities.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

I don dey shake ooooo!

Do yellow cards earned in the group stage count towards suspension? If they do, then it doesn't make sense to start Musa and Etebo.

Goalgetter wrote:

Of course it’s Mikel that is pushing for that. He’s lazy and doesn’t want to deal with the high work rate required of a DM. So playing the advanced midfield role gives him the leeway to stroll around.
I don’t believe it’s laziness on Mikel’s part. After all he has played that role for years. Like most human beings, he must prefer the more glorious role than the less glorious role of DM.

Let’s not also immediately look at the negative. What if Mikel is actually doing this because he believes it’s in our best interest. He is intelligent, he is not bad with creating, so perhaps he feels like he has to “take One for the team” and play that role, since we do not have another viable option there (in his opinion). Who knows.

Your logic doesn’t hold water. Iwobi is there.. heck even Etebo is a better advanced midfielder/false 9.. he played that role with flying colors for Siasia. I’m surprised that he (Etebo) now plays as a DM.
No need to make up stories to fit the narrative. When was the last time you’ve seen etebo effectively play anywhere at senior level as an AM club or country? The viable AM options are Iwobi or the likes of chukwuezi, etc.

The unlucky Jersey will finally brink us luck today.
icee

Post by icee »

Aina - very smart. Step over for musa

What bonehead pass was that from Mikel?
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Mikels passes have been poor this tournament sha...
icee

Post by icee »

see how Mikel killed that attack

Ekorian wrote:The unlucky Jersey will finally brink us luck today.
Bros, granted the game is played by 11 vs 11 and on the field, but I HONESTLY don't see how Madagascar is going to win us in this game. I believe the best they can do - is a draw.

Poor pass from Mikel

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025