How will Yekini be remembered??

heavyd

Post by heavyd »

kaycee2g wrote:mastermind, Ikpeba Is a striker. that i am sure of. He was the point man for monaco,and score goals for fun, but please lest make sence here. When he played for Nigeria in that PERIOD, uptil 1996 olympics, he was played in the left wing.

And stop this malicious rumor about SiaSia not passing to Yekini. thst just tabloid trash. Advice, If u do not have concrete evidence, please dont share. Its not a wise thing.

And why do u think Martins or Ayo will say they are beter than yekini?? do u think they do not know that ppl( especially CE faithfuls) wil eat thier heads out, and call them arrogant *kindpeople*, like they do Mourinho???

Please, Yekini cannot hold a tissue paper to martins' yansh. Even Utaka, makinwa and Julius are way better than Yekini.

As to why he is called a Yeking?? i guess Henry will be called Sultan

Also, Globero, i dont hate Yekini, STop being Childish. if u read my posts , u will see that i even admire him. i said he was good in his time, but to say he is the greatest, thats just simply false. He was not technicallly and tactically astute enough. He was at best average.
No matter what you say you cannot tarnish the contribution of one of Africa's greatest Center Forwards. You are probably a newbie who has just started watching football for you to be writing this rubbish. Martins is a good player with great potential but it is much too early to be casting him as greater than Yekini who holds Nigeria's all time goalscoring record, who was top scorer in the league in three different countries and who almost single handedly got nigeria to her first world cup finals.

He may not be the most silky skilled or technically gifted player but he was a striker who SCORED GOALS!! He was not perfect but he was extremely dangerous and played with his heart. and know this my friend - an average player would not have the goalscoring record that he has - he was/is Nigeria's greatest striker AND YOU CAN PUT THAT IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE IT :x :x :evil: :evil:
YNWA
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

kaycee2g wrote:mastermind, Ikpeba Is a striker. that i am sure of. He was the point man for monaco,and score goals for fun, but please lest make sence here. When he played for Nigeria in that PERIOD, uptil 1996 olympics, he was played in the left wing.

And stop this malicious rumor about SiaSia not passing to Yekini. thst just tabloid trash. Advice, If u do not have concrete evidence, please dont share. Its not a wise thing.

And why do u think Martins or Ayo will say they are beter than yekini?? do u think they do not know that ppl( especially CE faithfuls) wil eat thier heads out, and call them arrogant *kindpeople*, like they do Mourinho???

Please, Yekini cannot hold a tissue paper to martins' yansh. Even Utaka, makinwa and Julius are way better than Yekini.

As to why he is called a Yeking?? i guess Henry will be called Sultan

Also, Globero, i dont hate Yekini, STop being Childish. if u read my posts , u will see that i even admire him. i said he was good in his time, but to say he is the greatest, thats just simply false. He was not technicallly and tactically astute enough. He was at best average.
No matter what you say you cannot tarnish the contribution of one of Africa's greatest Center Forwards. You are probably a newbie who has just started watching football for you to be writing this rubbish. Martins is a good player with great potential but it is much too early to be casting him as greater than Yekini who holds Nigeria's all time goalscoring record, who was top scorer in the league in three different countries and who almost single handedly got nigeria to her first world cup finals.

He may not be the most silky skilled or technically gifted player but he was a striker who SCORED GOALS!! He was not perfect but he was extremely dangerous and played with his heart. and know this my friend - an average player would not have the goalscoring record that he has - he was/is Nigeria's greatest striker AND YOU CAN PUT THAT IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE IT :x :x :evil: :evil:
YNWA
Coeur-d'Ivoire

Post by Coeur-d'Ivoire »

I really enjoy the guy!!! I almost became a AFRICA SPORT FAN because of him... it was during the 1989 Coupe Houphouet Boigny Semi Final

ASEC MIMOSA - AFRICA SPORT, and ASEC was leading with 5mn to time. YEKINI took the ball on the right side and ran ran ran (just like Forest Gump) couldn't be touched and fired point blank at the keeper. It was 1-1. Game over ?? NO! a minute or two later same scenario, same result. 1-2 for AFRICA SPORT :shock: I am an ASEC fan but the guy need to get recognized on a continental level.
FREE TFCO NOW !!!!! - CAMPAIGN FOR TFCO'S EMANCIPATION (CTE)
Mouvement International de la Defense des Gnomes et pour l'Emancipation de Tfco (M.I.D.G.E.T)

Have you visited The Village Hall this week?
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

A lot of people think Thompson Usiyen was Nigeria's greatest striker.
I will certainly remember Yekini as YEKING!!!
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

thomson who??? mudi do not let these yeye ICCs screw wit ya head. where was thomson or whatever when the north african teams were bundling us out of past WCs. abeg Yeking will always be da man. until martins and makinwa do the biz for the SE CONSISTENTLY i will not believe other wise.

Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

.....bushboy... bushboy indeed....your *kindperson* friends must be a *kindperson* indeed....

..whaoooo I will expect people like 1naija (Mr dry cleaner) to post this kind of nonsence......

...Birds of the same feather flock together ...so *kindpeople* and *kindpeople*...you know it

...Bro look for another prime target....maybe Pa Oni which is still a big headache for some ranters here.....
esosa

Post by esosa »

Kayce is making perfect sense. All u guys have just attacked him but failed to make any reasonable point to refute his claim or support our opinion. How exactly is Yekini the greatest of all time. If we had Obafemi during 94 world cup, would Yekini have benched him. If he, Yekini, were so good, how come less than 4 months after the ANC 94, Yekini was unable to do anything at the world cup. Nobody can even remember his impact at the world cup. Yekini is like the "form 6" boy that you taught was a giant at the time you were in "form 1", only to see him 10 years later and realise he wasn't that big: it was you that was really small. If kayce' critics were objective, they will see that what Kc is trying to say is that the standard of ANC then was abyssmal compared to the world cup and that was why yekini could scale through the ANC looking like a king only to go to the world cup crawling like prisoner.

As for Kaycee, you should know better than to make wise and incisive statements amongst certain nationals who think with emotions. Save your logic for more objective and knowledgable forums.

esosa wrote:Kayce is making perfect sense. All u guys have just attacked him but failed to make any reasonable point to refute his claim or support our opinion. How exactly is Yekini the greatest of all time. If we had Obafemi during 94 world cup, would Yekini have benched him. If he, Yekini, were so good, how come less than 4 months after the ANC 94, Yekini was unable to do anything at the world cup. Nobody can even remember his impact at the world cup. Yekini is like the "form 6" boy that you taught was a giant at the time you were in "form 1", only to see him 10 years later and realise he wasn't that big: it was you that was really small. If kayce' critics were objective, they will see that what Kc is trying to say is that the standard of ANC then was abyssmal compared to the world cup and that was why yekini could scale through the ANC looking like a king only to go to the world cup crawling like prisoner.

As for Kaycee, you should know better than to make wise and incisive statements amongst certain nationals who think with emotions. Save your logic for more objective and knowledgable forums.
What emotions are you people talking about?

Yekini was highest goal scorer in Nigeria.

Yekini was highest goal scorer in Ivory Coast

Yekini was highest goal scorer in Portugal (for two seasons)

Yekini was highest goal scorer at ANC's

Yekini scored our first goal at WC

Yes we expected him to score more goals at USA '94. However the same reason why Henry, Zidane etc could not score a SINGLE goal at WC 02, and Eto was finding it difficult finding the back of the net at ANC 2004 was why YEKING could not more than a goal at USA '94.

He does miss sitters. However, that does not detract from his greatness over a long time. For over 10 years, Yekini was doing it consistently for the National team. With all teh competition then, none, bar none of them could bench Yekini. Once he is ready and fit, he plays!!!!!!! Owobokiri, Akpoborie, Ekoku et al where there but none could take the position of Yekini. He was our point man. Even with his limitations, he consistently delivered for the national team.

Back then, Yekini on the SE team list send fears across various teams. You need to look at his exploits at Victoria Setubal. It is just similar to what Maradona did at NAPOLI!!!

You may not like his style, but in terms of output, he is high up there!!!!

WanaJ0 and HeavyD well said.

BTW, Martins has already shown that he - like other great strikers - has a tendency to miss sitters as well.

Those who dont know Thompson Usiyen should go and buy HeavyD's book and learn about our history. Nigeria didnt start playing football in 1994.

Please no more disrespect to Yeking, he was top striker, big and gangly and not that skillful but the dude knew where the goal was. Martins is a young upstart that can go on to surpass Yeking but until then Yekini is the numero uno striker over the ages
Kargamania

Post by Kargamania »

Until another Nigerian make a consistent effort to try and match Yekini's record in Nigerian soccer history it will always be an exercise in futility to undermine this wonderful striker from Africa.

It is even more amazing that the same Yekini of 1982 came to Nigerian league in 2003 and scored 5 goals including a hat-trick??? You can come with all sorts of grammar and adjectives - Yekini is King when it comes to goalscoring. If you talk of dribbling etc then I won't argue - but in terms of perfect ball-control with confidence in the Box 18, amazing speed in the event of a through pass, wonderful 'chesting' ability for long range lobs and killer shots - YEKINI IS KING. He was not a flash in the pan - HE WAS AMAZINGLY CONSISTENT. He might have an off-day today, but if you underrate him in the following match - then you will blame yourself for life. THAT IS YEKINI.

If you doubt Yekini, go and ask any witness in CIV, Algeria, Congo, Zaire, Senegal, Cameroon, Morocco, Egypt, South Africa, Kenya, Gabon etc even the likes of Bulgaria, Spain and even Italy - though he missed a good chance, but he displaced the Italian defence at a time only for his shirt to be pulled [Watch the match again].

Many of us have shot memories. But Yekini's record can never be erased by mere uninformed wish.
But instead of going out of the pitch Odinga seized the card from referee Sabitu and flashed it back at the referee. It took the intervention of Sharks' assistant coach, Nduka Ndubuisi before the card was retrieved from the player and handed back to the referee.
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

Bigpokey24 wrote:we remember him by still looking 4 a replcement
That's all that needs to be said
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower
kaycee2g

Post by kaycee2g »

Esosa, abeg ignore them. This ppl are irratinal thinkers, who talk through a gloom of infantile emotions.

Lets not make this a martins vs. Yekini thread, becus yekini's talent is not half as good as Martins.

The issue is how will u remember Yekini.

I said i will remember him, as

1.) Nigeria's current highest goal scorer
2.) A very one-way player, who found it difficult to excel when he met credible opposition.
3.) a player who is not an intelligent person, and not an intelligent player.
4.) Yekini is a player i know will not even be able to make the nigerian bench in present day.
5.) A good penalty taker.

The truth is that Yekini is not half as good as most of you think. The man was not just good enough.

kacee2g just shut da #$%$ up. what da hell are u talking about. it like aliens abducted u in 1990 only to bring u back in 2003. dats the only reason u can spew crap about yeking like that. between 1988-1994 who was the man that scored goals consistently? it was yeking. his goals took us to our first WC. his goals gave us our 2nd nations cup. no one gives a shyte about his being 1 dimentional or not being as skilled as martins.i dont even believe that crap. what matters is that he CONSISTENTLY scored goals for naija. until the likes of martins, makinwa, utaka etc start scoring and delivering on a regular basis, yeking will always be the king.

kaycee2g

Post by kaycee2g »

bret- hart wrote:kacee2g just shut da #$%$ up. what da hell are u talking about. it like aliens abducted u in 1990 only to bring u back in 2003. dats the only reason u can spew crap about yeking like that. between 1988-1994 who was the man that scored goals consistently? it was yeking. his goals took us to our first WC. his goals gave us our 2nd nations cup. no one gives a shyte about his being 1 dimentional or not being as skilled as martins.i dont even believe that crap. what matters is that he CONSISTENTLY scored goals for naija. until the likes of martins, makinwa, utaka etc start scoring and delivering on a regular basis, yeking will always be the king.
Young man, its unfair to ur argument, if u appear to be a vile and nasty. it makes ur argument infantile. It will do u utmost good to relax, and cut out the prophane language.

Now to the issue, Yekini scored goals, yes i agree. But i insist that using present day standards, he was at best average. think about his performances against quality opposition, and see how below-par he was. His supposed greatness is a figment of ur imagination.

hey kaycee dont talk to me about my language. i have read some of your posts uve made in the past and all i can say is u aint no saint. lets just leave it as that.

Now back to the lecture at hand. u say that yeking was a wastepipe against quality opposition. well for ur info he scored a handful of goals aginst CIV who were then african champs both in WC qualifing and the ANC proper. they were a very strong team then. he scored also against bulgaria. the same team that went on to reach the semis of the WC knocking out germany in the process. i can go on and on. as for ur boy martins, he did not well SCORE against moimoi algeria last year. :roll: so in a nutshell, stop drinking your years supply of hatorade u have and give yeking his due.

kaycee2g

Post by kaycee2g »

bret- hart wrote:hey kaycee dont talk to me about my language. i have read some of your posts uve made in the past and all i can say is u aint no saint. lets just leave it as that.

Now back to the lecture at hand. u say that yeking was a wastepipe against quality opposition. well for ur info he scored a handful of goals aginst CIV who were then african champs both in WC qualifing and the ANC proper. they were a very strong team then. he scored also against bulgaria. the same team that went on to reach the semis of the WC knocking out germany in the process. i can go on and on. as for ur boy martins, he did not well SCORE against moimoi algeria last year. :roll: so in a nutshell, stop drinking your years supply of hatorade u have and give yeking his due.
This issue is not martins V Yekini, becus as i said before, yekini himself will agree with me that he cannot withstand martins.

That being said, even my gran mother at her fraility, will score that goal yekini scored against Bulgaria. i am not taking anything away from that goal though, becus i have seen strikers miss that.Any person who saw Bulgaria in the first round will tell u that they did not "sit up" early in that tournament. But why are u ignoring the fact that Yekini was made to look like a child against Argentina and italy, or do u want me to even talk about Spain in 98??? I was talking to my cousin right now, and he was telling me of how yekini was so skilled to play a scissor kick against spain. Please!!!! That shows how unintelligent the man was. it was easier for him to just head the ball in, but he decided to go with the more difficult choice, and his unintelligence might have caused us the game.

Let truth be told, yekini was never able to out-run, drible pass, or intelligently decieve a defence. most of his goals were knock-ins. The man was never the greatest, and will never be the greatest. he cannot even compare to Usyen (thompson).
peppersoup

Post by peppersoup »

You guys are not fair to Yekini at all. You cannot at this present day say Martin will bench Yekini. Amokachi was the top striker for his team and he was a very intelligent layer but yekini had to be left as the top striker. Yekini is a diferent type of player entirely. Yes, he was made to look ordinary at USA 94 world cup but who wasn't missing sitters. So Van basten should be judged by his performance in Italia 90 abi? At least Yekini in 94 still scored a goal what did Van basten scored in 90? Nil, Zilch! A striker has to be judged by his record in his generation.
Yekini was the foremost african striker of his time. he did what he needed to do. He delivered the goals most of the time. Who has scored 4 goals in a game after Yekini left? Yekini is the second highest goal scorer in african cup of nations. He won the golden boot 3 times (1990, 92 and 1994) - When a Nigerian striker (including martins) beats that then they can be on the same pedestal with yekini. Statistics dont lie and not even that, Yekini took a whole team on his shoulder with his goals. Ever imagined a team that lost 1-5 to Algeria in 1990 ACN opening match got to the final? It was due to yekini goals against CIV, Zambia and Egypt.

Yekini may not be the ideal striker as far as all of you can subjectively judged but he delivered most of the time and is still naija's highest goal scorer of all time- There is no Ifs or per-adventure there. Na him be the number 1
"His Excellency President for Life, Field Marshal Al Hadji Doctor Idi Amin, VC, DSO, MC, Lord of All the Beasts of the Earth and Fishes of the Sea, and Conqueror of the British Empire in Africa in General and Uganda in Particular."
kaycee2g

Post by kaycee2g »

Aquinas wrote:You guys are not fair to Yekini at all. You cannot at this present day say Martin will bench Yekini. Amokachi was the top striker for his team and he was a very intelligent layer but yekini had to be left as the top striker. Yekini is a diferent type of player entirely. Yes, he was made to look ordinary at USA 94 world cup but who wasn't missing sitters. So Van basten should be judged by his performance in Italia 90 abi? At least Yekini in 94 still scored a goal what did Van basten scored in 90? Nil, Zilch! A striker has to be judged by his record in his generation.
Yekini was the foremost african striker of his time. he did what he needed to do. He delivered the goals most of the time. Who has scored 4 goals in a game after Yekini left? Yekini is the second highest goal scorer in african cup of nations. He won the golden boot 3 times (1990, 92 and 1994) - When a Nigerian striker (including martins) beats that then they can be on the same pedestal with yekini. Statistics dont lie and not even that, Yekini took a whole team on his shoulder with his goals. Ever imagined a team that lost 1-5 to Algeria in 1990 ACN opening match got to the final? It was due to yekini goals against CIV, Zambia and Egypt.

Yekini may not be the ideal striker as far as all of you can subjectively judged but he delivered most of the time and is still naija's highest goal scorer of all time- There is no Ifs or per-adventure there. Na him be the number 1

yekini and Amokachi played different positions and had different roles.

I have said it before, this is not Yekini v. Oba. please anwser the question, the question is what would ppl remember Yekini for. I stated the ovbious, and what RATIONAL thinkers will remember.
peppersoup

Post by peppersoup »

kaycee2g wrote:
bret- hart wrote:hey kaycee dont talk to me about my language. i have read some of your posts uve made in the past and all i can say is u aint no saint. lets just leave it as that.

This issue is not martins V Yekini, becus as i said before, yekini himself will agree with me that he cannot withstand martins.

That being said, even my gran mother at her fraility, will score that goal yekini scored against Bulgaria. i am not taking anything away from that goal though, becus i have seen strikers miss that.Any person who saw Bulgaria in the first round will tell u that they did not "sit up" early in that tournament. But why are u ignoring the fact that Yekini was made to look like a child against Argentina and italy, or do u want me to even talk about Spain in 98??? I was talking to my cousin right now, and he was telling me of how yekini was so skilled to play a scissor kick against spain. Please!!!! That shows how unintelligent the man was. it was easier for him to just head the ball in, but he decided to go with the more difficult choice, and his unintelligence might have caused us the game.

Let truth be told, yekini was never able to out-run, drible pass, or intelligently decieve a defence. most of his goals were knock-ins. The man was never the greatest, and will never be the greatest. he cannot even compare to Usyen (thompson).

Did you see Yekini goal against kenya in 88 or his goals against Congo in 94 and USA 94 qualifier in Brazaville? Some of the attributes of a good striker is placement, Yekini was a master if that and that made him dangerous. Yekini performed in all the league he played in. He had the league highest goal scorer in most of the countries he played on the lockdown. What else do u require of him?
"His Excellency President for Life, Field Marshal Al Hadji Doctor Idi Amin, VC, DSO, MC, Lord of All the Beasts of the Earth and Fishes of the Sea, and Conqueror of the British Empire in Africa in General and Uganda in Particular."
peppersoup

Post by peppersoup »

I have said it before, this is not Yekini v. Oba. please anwser the question, the question is what would ppl remember Yekini for. I stated the ovbious, and what RATIONAL thinkers will remember.
As one of the best strikers (if not the best) Nigeria ever had. Kpom
kaycee2g

Post by kaycee2g »

Aquinas wrote:
kaycee2g wrote:

Did you see Yekini goal against kenya in 88 or his goals against Congo in 94 and USA 94 qualifier in Brazaville? Some of the attributes of a good striker is placement, Yekini was a master if that and that made him dangerous. Yekini performed in all the league he played in. He had the league highest goal scorer in most of the countries he played on the lockdown. What else do u require of him?
My peerless Aquinas, u are missing the point. I respect yekini, and think he did some great things. But i remember him as someone who came up short against quality opposition. And to call Yekini the Greatest ever, is just blasphemy.