Sadiq Umar injury misdiagnosis?
Re: Sadiq Umar injury misdiagnosis?
You are right. It wasn't even Moffi who replaced Sadiq, it was the basketballer.Enyi wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 6:51 pmHate to say this but you’re actually right for once….danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 6:45 pmYou said he is still struggling for form, but that is a lie. He picked up form in the last 1 month and was praised as one of the best performing players. No need to lie. If you dont rate him, say you dont rate him and thats not a problem.airwolex wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 6:43 pmIs he in good form? 2 goals in 17? Let the boy concentrate on his club for now. We have better options.
Sadiq was on form compared to Onuachu that replaced him, he is a far superior striker….
If this is true then the Peseiro balls up of this AFCON continues…
I prefer Sadiq to the basketballer. But Tella should have been called given our wide options beyond Lookman are PISS POOR.
- danfo driver
Please post the video of Iheanacho training by himself on the pitch.
Remember, I alluded to this and some guys on here claimed I was creating conspiracy theories. The fact is you do not need to. All you need is read the media stories and make informed inferences.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 4:03 pm Real Sociedad seems to be backing up Sadiq’s claim that his injury was just a knock and he could be available for selection in their league game this weekend. Did the SE doctors make a misdiagnosis on this or is Sociedad just eager to get him back?
https://owngoalnigeria.com/2024/01/15/r ... -training/
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
The whole invitation process is totally weird…vancity eagle wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 8:16 pmYou are right. It wasn't even Moffi who replaced Sadiq, it was the basketballer.Enyi wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 6:51 pmHate to say this but you’re actually right for once….danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 6:45 pmYou said he is still struggling for form, but that is a lie. He picked up form in the last 1 month and was praised as one of the best performing players. No need to lie. If you dont rate him, say you dont rate him and thats not a problem.airwolex wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 6:43 pmIs he in good form? 2 goals in 17? Let the boy concentrate on his club for now. We have better options.
Sadiq was on form compared to Onuachu that replaced him, he is a far superior striker….
If this is true then the Peseiro balls up of this AFCON continues…
I prefer Sadiq to the basketballer. But Tella should have been called given our wide options beyond Lookman are PISS POOR.
Peseiro is manager was more than 6 months and not once has he played Moses on the RW then Tournament time…. U did not think…hello Chuks needs a back up
U can argue that Iwobi can play there then add more midfielders just in case…
Alhassan should have been in the original call up along with Tella…
To think that the list included ppl like Dennis and co…don’t even get me started on Musa…
I might be wrong but I think I’ve seen this video before possibly after his initial long injury upon returning to training.
I’ll see if I can dig it up
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
Why a "misdiagnosis"?
If he is back playing in Spain, then he faked his injury or made it seem worse than it really was. Only Sadiq would know how he was feeling and if he could play with it. Maybe he just wanted to go back to his club instead of sitting on the bench for several weeks.
But the report disputes your take above. Sadiq appeared for training the next day according to the reports and had his thigh? taped up precautionally. Next day he had it removed but then was taken off the team with the claim that he would not be fit inspite of his reported protest. Those are based on reports. It appears that he desperately wanted in the team but the team officials felt they could not take a risk with him.Orion wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 11:39 pm Why a "misdiagnosis"?
The question here, therefore, is about the team physician's recommendation if the above recollection is factual.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
OK, I wasn't aware of that detail. Thanks.Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 11:44 pmBut the report disputes your take above. Sadiq appeared for training the next day according to the reports and had his thigh? taped up precautionally. Next day he had it removed but then was taken off the team with the claim that he would not be fit inspite of his reported protest. Those are based on reports. It appears that he desperately wanted in the team but the team officials felt they could not take a risk with him.Orion wrote: ↑Mon Jan 15, 2024 11:39 pm Why a "misdiagnosis"?
The question here, therefore, is about the team physician's recommendation if the above recollection is factual.
If that is the case, I understand the precaution of the team handlers, considering they were already dealing with a lot of injuries in the striker department. They decided not to risk a player who was looking uncertain.
My error. The clip Id seen previously of "stagger lee" was similar to the one posted on his return late last year after his return from injury. His gait was what through me

"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
NFF clarifies controversy over Sadiq Umar injury

Nigeria’s forward Umar Sadiq (2L) fights for the ball with Tunisia’s midfielder Anis Ben Slimane (L) during the Africa Cup of Nations (CAN) 2021 round of 16 football match between Nigeria and Tunisia at Stade Roumde Adjia in Garoua on January 23, 2022. (Photo by Daniel BELOUMOU OLOMO / AFP)
The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has shed more light on the controversy surrounding the injury to Real Sociedad striker, Sadiq Umar.
Umar withdrew from the Super Eagles’ squad for the 2023 African Cup of Nations in Ivory Coast after he picked up an injury and was ruled out of action for at least three weeks.
A video showing the striker training individually on Monday, having returned to Spain, however, went viral on Social media which led to Nigerians criticising the NFF.
The NFF communications department, in a statement on Tuesday, said its medical team approached Umar’s case with every sense of professionalism.
“The camp of Nigeria’s senior men football team, Super Eagles has decried reports in sections of the media that have continued to garnish the medical case of Spain-based forward Sadiq Umar with conspiracy theories, incorrect assumptions and unbecoming insinuations,” the statement read.
“The camp has released a statement with regards to how the player was withdrawn from Nigeria’s squad for the 34th Africa Cup of Nations finals ongoing in Cote d’Ivoire.
“We are surprised at the news trending on social media concerning Sadiq Umar and how he was withdrawn from the team camp.
“The fact is that our medical team meticulously abided by the best medical procedures and were diligent in their processes and conclusions before advising Head Coach José Peseiro that the player be withdrawn from the squad.”
The NFF said Umar was okay when he arrived in camp, as he had to undergo the standard pre-competition medical assessment and he was good. He started to train with the team.
Unfortunately, he sustained an injury to the back of his left knee during the Super Eagles’ friendly match against Guinea in Abu Dhabi on January 8 that led to a penalty against their opponents.
The NFF added that the medical team advised that he should be substituted, as a cautionary measure, but he said he was fine and could continue the game.
At half time, Nigeria’s football governing body said he reiterated that he was good to continue playing, and he played the entire 90 minutes of the friendly match, which the Super Eagles lost 2-0.
However, the following day, he woke up to see the knee swelling, and the medical team had to apply ice which is the normal thing.
The same day, the Nigerian contingent had to travel to Lagos and on January 10, they flew to Abidjan. Then, the swelling became worse.
“Most of the reports we have seen are not a true representation of what actually happened,” the NFF stated.
“We have a very competent medical team who are well-trained in sport and exercise medicine and highly experienced and exposed to the most modern techniques and practices.
“They followed all due processes and protocol in tandem with the consultant knee surgeon that Umar himself contacted in Spain, before the decision was made in the interest of the nation and the career of the player.
“As much as the medical team has refused to join issues with anyone due to their professional patience and privacy policy, we will not allow anyone to rubbish our collective responsibility as Team Nigeria to this Africa Cup of Nations championship.”
The NFF has also reiterated that Umar was in fact carried along throughout the process.
It added that the 26-year-old started his rehabilitation with the Super Eagles’ physiotherapist before he returned to his club in Spain.
https://guardian.ng/sport/nff-clarifies ... ar-injury/

Nigeria’s forward Umar Sadiq (2L) fights for the ball with Tunisia’s midfielder Anis Ben Slimane (L) during the Africa Cup of Nations (CAN) 2021 round of 16 football match between Nigeria and Tunisia at Stade Roumde Adjia in Garoua on January 23, 2022. (Photo by Daniel BELOUMOU OLOMO / AFP)
The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has shed more light on the controversy surrounding the injury to Real Sociedad striker, Sadiq Umar.
Umar withdrew from the Super Eagles’ squad for the 2023 African Cup of Nations in Ivory Coast after he picked up an injury and was ruled out of action for at least three weeks.
A video showing the striker training individually on Monday, having returned to Spain, however, went viral on Social media which led to Nigerians criticising the NFF.
The NFF communications department, in a statement on Tuesday, said its medical team approached Umar’s case with every sense of professionalism.
“The camp of Nigeria’s senior men football team, Super Eagles has decried reports in sections of the media that have continued to garnish the medical case of Spain-based forward Sadiq Umar with conspiracy theories, incorrect assumptions and unbecoming insinuations,” the statement read.
“The camp has released a statement with regards to how the player was withdrawn from Nigeria’s squad for the 34th Africa Cup of Nations finals ongoing in Cote d’Ivoire.
“We are surprised at the news trending on social media concerning Sadiq Umar and how he was withdrawn from the team camp.
“The fact is that our medical team meticulously abided by the best medical procedures and were diligent in their processes and conclusions before advising Head Coach José Peseiro that the player be withdrawn from the squad.”
The NFF said Umar was okay when he arrived in camp, as he had to undergo the standard pre-competition medical assessment and he was good. He started to train with the team.
Unfortunately, he sustained an injury to the back of his left knee during the Super Eagles’ friendly match against Guinea in Abu Dhabi on January 8 that led to a penalty against their opponents.
The NFF added that the medical team advised that he should be substituted, as a cautionary measure, but he said he was fine and could continue the game.
At half time, Nigeria’s football governing body said he reiterated that he was good to continue playing, and he played the entire 90 minutes of the friendly match, which the Super Eagles lost 2-0.
However, the following day, he woke up to see the knee swelling, and the medical team had to apply ice which is the normal thing.
The same day, the Nigerian contingent had to travel to Lagos and on January 10, they flew to Abidjan. Then, the swelling became worse.
“Most of the reports we have seen are not a true representation of what actually happened,” the NFF stated.
“We have a very competent medical team who are well-trained in sport and exercise medicine and highly experienced and exposed to the most modern techniques and practices.
“They followed all due processes and protocol in tandem with the consultant knee surgeon that Umar himself contacted in Spain, before the decision was made in the interest of the nation and the career of the player.
“As much as the medical team has refused to join issues with anyone due to their professional patience and privacy policy, we will not allow anyone to rubbish our collective responsibility as Team Nigeria to this Africa Cup of Nations championship.”
The NFF has also reiterated that Umar was in fact carried along throughout the process.
It added that the 26-year-old started his rehabilitation with the Super Eagles’ physiotherapist before he returned to his club in Spain.
- danfo driver
Sociedad must be thanking their God.
But dont worry, Nigeria has Onuachu

- danfo driver
Clowns! Reading the quotes, the person they interviewed sounds like a retard.

iworo wrote: ↑Tue Jan 16, 2024 4:23 pm NFF clarifies controversy over Sadiq Umar injury
so what the heck is going on?
I do not believe the NFF medical team
I still think the call was “Stagger Lee ain’t it and we can use this as an excuse to get a better basketball player like we should have in the first place”.
We’ll miss Ndidi. We’ll miss Boniface. But I don’t think we’ll miss Mr Lee.
Jog on.
We’ll miss Ndidi. We’ll miss Boniface. But I don’t think we’ll miss Mr Lee.
Jog on.
- danfo driver
You do have a point! Onuachu-achu chu chu is very important to Nigeria. After all, he failed at southampton, got relegated and then pushed out of the club on loan. That is Nigeria's level!
- danfo driver
They didnt even respond

Nigerians just dont know what it is to question their authority and get the anwsers. Too many people are more focused on their personal interest, rather than accountability of authority. Our focus here should be "what actually happened and why?" But someone is more interested on his dislike for a player. Tufiakwa! Never seen a more cursed citizenry in my life.

Let me add, whether you like Sadiq or not is immaterial. Whether Moffi is better or not is immaterial. Those types of discourses are not only unwarranted but starkly irrelevant.
The issue here is whether the SE Medical Team can be trusted or not. Today, is Sadiq. How about tomorrow it becomes Osimhen? Think about that. Can you trust this Medical team? That is the question.
I alluded to the yeye wey dey smell about this quick call on this lad and people thought I was spreading rumors. The fact is that the medical team must be trustworthy. If this kid plays and yet you boldly told everyone that he is out for three weeks, what should one then make of it? In my view, this calls to serious questions the veracity of the SE Medical team. That is simply the issue.
Years ago, going into the 2002 WC I called out the non-inclusion of Oliseh, and four others as the squad was being picked by Onigbinde. People claimed I was spreading rumors. Yes, I was uncertain at the time but I had put events together to arrive at a credible conclusion about exclusions. Months after, it happened that I was 100% correct. Sometimes, you do not wait for announcements. There are signs that you reasonably analyze to arrive at a high probability of a particular occurrence. Rely on those. We are at point zero once again.
The issue here is whether the SE Medical Team can be trusted or not. Today, is Sadiq. How about tomorrow it becomes Osimhen? Think about that. Can you trust this Medical team? That is the question.
I alluded to the yeye wey dey smell about this quick call on this lad and people thought I was spreading rumors. The fact is that the medical team must be trustworthy. If this kid plays and yet you boldly told everyone that he is out for three weeks, what should one then make of it? In my view, this calls to serious questions the veracity of the SE Medical team. That is simply the issue.
Years ago, going into the 2002 WC I called out the non-inclusion of Oliseh, and four others as the squad was being picked by Onigbinde. People claimed I was spreading rumors. Yes, I was uncertain at the time but I had put events together to arrive at a credible conclusion about exclusions. Months after, it happened that I was 100% correct. Sometimes, you do not wait for announcements. There are signs that you reasonably analyze to arrive at a high probability of a particular occurrence. Rely on those. We are at point zero once again.
He’s a bit taller.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Jan 16, 2024 5:04 pmYou do have a point! Onuachu-achu chu chu is very important to Nigeria. After all, he failed at southampton, got relegated and then pushed out of the club on loan. That is Nigeria's level!
- danfo driver
its ridiculous that a people who are highly educated miss the point entirely. I guess its a cultural thing. Nigerians generally can be very petty, vindictive and wicked, so normally those traits would naturally cloud one's judgment and sideline intellect. Thats why more often than not, they are likely to take their eyes away from the actual issue and focus on hatred/anger

Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Jan 16, 2024 5:12 pm Let me add, whether you like Sadiq or not is immaterial. Whether Moffi is better or not is immaterial. Those types of discourses are not only unwarranted but starkly irrelevant.
And Nigerians are unique in this respect?danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Jan 16, 2024 5:16 pm its ridiculous that a people who are highly educated miss the point entirely. I guess its a cultural thing. Nigerians generally can be very petty, vindictive and wicked, so normally those traits would naturally cloud one's judgment and sideline intellect. Thats why more often than not, they are likely to take their eyes away from the actual issue and focus on hatred/anger![]()
Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Jan 16, 2024 5:12 pm Let me add, whether you like Sadiq or not is immaterial. Whether Moffi is better or not is immaterial. Those types of discourses are not only unwarranted but starkly irrelevant.