Amuneke new Heartland coach
Re: Amuneke new Heartland coach
I wish Amuneke all the best but coaching Heartland is akin to a suicide mission.
Heartland job is a tough job. Didn't they also recently get into a car crash that caued the death of their head coach in pre-season.
Well, he took the job knowing fully well that the players are subpar and that the star literally abandoned the squad. It is a suicide mission, alright but he took it hoping to work a miracle.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- danfo driver
Look at them making excuses for him! "A tough job." What is the Super Eagles job? An easy job ??? Truth is that your benefactor should never be anywhere near the Super Eagles job, if merit is involved.
I'm not sure anyone is making excuses for him. Heartland is a tough job by NPFL standards. But that doesn't mean he has a free pass to fail. We should see his impact on the team.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 2:17 pm Look at them making excuses for him! "A tough job." What is the Super Eagles job? An easy job ??? Truth is that your benefactor should never be anywhere near the Super Eagles job, if merit is involved.
What makes the Heartlands job tougher than any other NPFL job?aruako1 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 3:16 pmI'm not sure anyone is making excuses for him. Heartland is a tough job by NPFL standards. But that doesn't mean he has a free pass to fail. We should see his impact on the team.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 2:17 pm Look at them making excuses for him! "A tough job." What is the Super Eagles job? An easy job ??? Truth is that your benefactor should never be anywhere near the Super Eagles job, if merit is involved.
Genuine question.
- danfo driver
Nigeria is tough job. The Heartland job is not even 100000th as close to be tough as the Nigerian job. Amunike is not the first person to take a so called tough job. The only impact we want to see is him winning titles, anything less and he should never be mentioned anywhere near super eagles.aruako1 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 3:16 pmI'm not sure anyone is making excuses for him. Heartland is a tough job by NPFL standards. But that doesn't mean he has a free pass to fail. We should see his impact on the team.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 2:17 pm Look at them making excuses for him! "A tough job." What is the Super Eagles job? An easy job ??? Truth is that your benefactor should never be anywhere near the Super Eagles job, if merit is involved.
The team has seen very inconsistent investment in recent years compared with other teams of the same calibre (if I may use that word) such as Enyimba, Rangers and Rivers United. And the politics there is much more than you see in most teams.Damunk wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 3:42 pmWhat makes the Heartlands job tougher than any other NPFL job?aruako1 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 3:16 pmI'm not sure anyone is making excuses for him. Heartland is a tough job by NPFL standards. But that doesn't mean he has a free pass to fail. We should see his impact on the team.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 2:17 pm Look at them making excuses for him! "A tough job." What is the Super Eagles job? An easy job ??? Truth is that your benefactor should never be anywhere near the Super Eagles job, if merit is involved.
Genuine question.
Hence why he was brought in to make things better. He needs to use all his experience and contacts to find solutions on the pitch. That is the first assignment. The job is nowhere near as hard as managing the SE where you only get to meet and work with your players two or three times a year.aruako1 wrote: ↑Mon Sep 16, 2024 9:15 amThe team has seen very inconsistent investment in recent years compared with other teams of the same calibre (if I may use that word) such as Enyimba, Rangers and Rivers United. And the politics there is much more than you see in most teams.Damunk wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 3:42 pmWhat makes the Heartlands job tougher than any other NPFL job?aruako1 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 3:16 pmI'm not sure anyone is making excuses for him. Heartland is a tough job by NPFL standards. But that doesn't mean he has a free pass to fail. We should see his impact on the team.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 2:17 pm Look at them making excuses for him! "A tough job." What is the Super Eagles job? An easy job ??? Truth is that your benefactor should never be anywhere near the Super Eagles job, if merit is involved.
Genuine question.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
I only said that the role is tough. If you do not agree it is tough then say so - nobody compared it to the Super Eagles job. Not every Amuneke discussion has to be about the Super Eagles - he is an NPFL coach.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Sep 16, 2024 9:29 amHence why he was brought in to make things better. He needs to use all his experience and contacts to find solutions on the pitch. That is the first assignment. The job is nowhere near as hard as managing the SE where you only get to meet and work with your players two or three times a year.aruako1 wrote: ↑Mon Sep 16, 2024 9:15 amThe team has seen very inconsistent investment in recent years compared with other teams of the same calibre (if I may use that word) such as Enyimba, Rangers and Rivers United. And the politics there is much more than you see in most teams.Damunk wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 3:42 pmWhat makes the Heartlands job tougher than any other NPFL job?aruako1 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 3:16 pmI'm not sure anyone is making excuses for him. Heartland is a tough job by NPFL standards. But that doesn't mean he has a free pass to fail. We should see his impact on the team.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 2:17 pm Look at them making excuses for him! "A tough job." What is the Super Eagles job? An easy job ??? Truth is that your benefactor should never be anywhere near the Super Eagles job, if merit is involved.
Genuine question.
- danfo driver
aruako1 wrote: ↑Mon Sep 16, 2024 11:16 amI only said that the role is tough. If you do not agree it is tough then say so - nobody compared it to the Super Eagles job. Not every Amuneke discussion has to be about the Super Eagles - he is an NPFL coach.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Sep 16, 2024 9:29 amHence why he was brought in to make things better. He needs to use all his experience and contacts to find solutions on the pitch. That is the first assignment. The job is nowhere near as hard as managing the SE where you only get to meet and work with your players two or three times a year.aruako1 wrote: ↑Mon Sep 16, 2024 9:15 amThe team has seen very inconsistent investment in recent years compared with other teams of the same calibre (if I may use that word) such as Enyimba, Rangers and Rivers United. And the politics there is much more than you see in most teams.Damunk wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 3:42 pmWhat makes the Heartlands job tougher than any other NPFL job?aruako1 wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 3:16 pmI'm not sure anyone is making excuses for him. Heartland is a tough job by NPFL standards. But that doesn't mean he has a free pass to fail. We should see his impact on the team.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Sep 15, 2024 2:17 pm Look at them making excuses for him! "A tough job." What is the Super Eagles job? An easy job ??? Truth is that your benefactor should never be anywhere near the Super Eagles job, if merit is involved.
Genuine question.
Which we must all accept is his level.
A harsh away loss vs 3SC
That's all well and good, but when Heartland gets relegated, I hope he will not start blaming the dysfunctional nature of the club, because no one will want to hear that.
Okay.
We wish him all the best.
He must have done his own assessment of the club before accepting the offer.
Amuneke never shied away from a challenge. We have to give that to him.
Time will tell if he indeed did his homework. I think that losing out to Finidi for the national team post is the catalyst for his foray into coaching in the NPFL, because that previously didn't seem to be his cup of tea.
Mind you I'm not stating this as a fact. Just my sense of things.
Heartland got thier 1st away win today with a 0-2 win against Abia Warriors in Umuahia. Heartland has now gone 3 straight without a loss. 2 wins, one draw.
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.
Heartland is definitely doing better than expected. The team is above relegation zone and today's win was a big surprise
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Heartland won their 3rd consecutive match today. Rivers United lost their 2nd consecutive match as they lost 0-1 at home to Bayelsa United.
Ikorodu City have found their mojo, going from bottom to middle of table within 4 weeks. They won away again today against Katsina United.
The NPFL is becoming more competitive with no team guaranteed a home win unlike in the previous years.
Ikorodu City have found their mojo, going from bottom to middle of table within 4 weeks. They won away again today against Katsina United.
The NPFL is becoming more competitive with no team guaranteed a home win unlike in the previous years.
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.
This is great.lacidi wrote: ↑Sun Nov 10, 2024 6:11 pm Heartland won their 3rd consecutive match today. Rivers United lost their 2nd consecutive match as they lost 0-1 at home to Bayelsa United.
Especially as teams are now able to win away games.

Damunk wrote: ↑Sun Nov 10, 2024 6:21 pmThis is great.lacidi wrote: ↑Sun Nov 10, 2024 6:11 pm Heartland won their 3rd consecutive match today. Rivers United lost their 2nd consecutive match as they lost 0-1 at home to Bayelsa United.
Ikorodu City have found their mojo, going from bottom to middle of table within 4 weeks. Theywon away again today against Katsina United.
Especially as teams are now able to win away games.![]()