Aina vs Brentford
Re: Aina vs Brentford
Not with a passion.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Mon Dec 23, 2024 5:22 pmdamunk dislikes Ajayi with a passion1naija wrote: ↑Sun Dec 22, 2024 9:29 pm Yes, and Ajayi.
Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Sun Dec 22, 2024 11:01 amYou missed Ajayi1naija wrote: ↑Sun Dec 22, 2024 6:32 am Stop smoking weed and watching games. Aina has been solid for Nigeria since his first 2 games for Nigeria. He is one of our constants. Right now, Nwabali, Ekong, Aina, Iwobi, Lookman and Osimhen are the only constant players for Nigeria.
Undertaker wrote: ↑Sun Dec 22, 2024 3:47 amI am not saying he is a bad player but he is below average when playing for Nigeria. All our players are below average when playing for Nigeria except Ademola Lookman and Victor Osimhen! I can't care how they play at their club when they can't qualify us for the World Cup in a group of minors.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Dec 22, 2024 2:43 amPls name a defender that’s never been taken to the cleaners.Undertaker wrote: ↑Sun Dec 22, 2024 12:18 am The same guy Adingra took to the cleaners 10 months ago?![]()
I just think Ajayi is not the great defender y’all think he is.
He does his best for the GWG and I respect him for that.
But he is in the mix because we don’t have depth in his department.
They refuse to really integrate players like Ndah, Tourunarhiga and Frederick. Maybe more sef.
That’s my problem.
Go and ask Rio Ferdinand wetin Yakubu take him eye seeEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sun Dec 22, 2024 2:43 amPls name a defender that’s never been taken to the cleaners.Undertaker wrote: ↑Sun Dec 22, 2024 12:18 am The same guy Adingra took to the cleaners 10 months ago?![]()
Sorry, but that is a sorry excuse on your part.
2 of the 3 so called better defenders you named have been looked at and were found wanting / not good enough for the SE.
Outside of your list, the one defender who could have given him a run for his money does not want to play for Nigeria, having expressed a preference for a 3-lion invite. Everyone saw how the SE recently performed in Ajayi's absence due to injury.
For me, Ajayi WAS the unsung hero in our defensive line during the AFCON earlier this year. Solid performer in the Green and White. That's all that counts.!
2 of the 3 so called better defenders you named have been looked at and were found wanting / not good enough for the SE.
Outside of your list, the one defender who could have given him a run for his money does not want to play for Nigeria, having expressed a preference for a 3-lion invite. Everyone saw how the SE recently performed in Ajayi's absence due to injury.
For me, Ajayi WAS the unsung hero in our defensive line during the AFCON earlier this year. Solid performer in the Green and White. That's all that counts.!
Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Dec 25, 2024 12:28 am
They refuse to really integrate players like Ndah, Tourunarhiga and Frederick. Maybe more sef.
That’s my problem.
You're absolutely right. Ajayi is the unsung hero in our defence department. He looks too casual but gives and leaves everything on the field of play.Otitokoro wrote: ↑Sat Dec 28, 2024 2:01 am Sorry, but that is a sorry excuse on your part.
For me, Ajayi WAS the unsung hero in our defensive line during the AFCON earlier this year. Solid performer in the Green and White. That's all that counts.!Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Dec 25, 2024 12:28 am
That’s my problem.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
There is no doubt that our defense, with or without Ajayi, is vastly overrated. They are unable to keep clean sheets even against the most unheralded of attacks. In my opinion, Ajayi isn’t better than any of the defenders mentioned. I, personally, would prefer Olisa Ndah to Ajayi because he has more potential to develop further. Ajayi, at 31, is not the defender we should be looking at in the futureOtitokoro wrote: ↑Sat Dec 28, 2024 2:01 am Sorry, but that is a sorry excuse on your part.
For me, Ajayi WAS the unsung hero in our defensive line during the AFCON earlier this year. Solid performer in the Green and White. That's all that counts.!Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Dec 25, 2024 12:28 am
That’s my problem.
- danfo driver
Definitely top 2 RBs in the league 

Understand your personal preference(s), but modern day football is all about the 'here and now' and not what can be. Our national team is replete with players who 'have potential', but have failed to cut it at the NT level.
The likes of Nwakali, Akpoguma, Onuachu, Dessers, Sadiq Umar and a host of others have shown potential, but have tanked when given the chance.
Ajayi may not be your flashy type defender, but he has always stepped up and performed when called upon. More importantly, he has yet to be displaced by any of the so-called better defenders, meaning he is more than competent for the job at hand. He proved that during this past Nations Cup with his stellar performances, match in, match out.
And from a personal preference standpoint, I would actually pick Igho Ogbu over Olisa Ndah, as he is more polished and ready to go. Was far from impressed with Ndah during the nations cup in Cameroon.
The likes of Nwakali, Akpoguma, Onuachu, Dessers, Sadiq Umar and a host of others have shown potential, but have tanked when given the chance.
Ajayi may not be your flashy type defender, but he has always stepped up and performed when called upon. More importantly, he has yet to be displaced by any of the so-called better defenders, meaning he is more than competent for the job at hand. He proved that during this past Nations Cup with his stellar performances, match in, match out.
And from a personal preference standpoint, I would actually pick Igho Ogbu over Olisa Ndah, as he is more polished and ready to go. Was far from impressed with Ndah during the nations cup in Cameroon.
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Sat Dec 28, 2024 4:25 am
There is no doubt that our defense, with or without Ajayi, is vastly overrated. They are unable to keep clean sheets even against the most unheralded of attacks. In my opinion, Ajayi isn’t better than any of the defenders mentioned. I, personally, would prefer Olisa Ndah to Ajayi because he has more potential to develop further. Ajayi, at 31, is not the defender we should be looking at in the future
Interesting that the S. Korean youth player Koo is coming in as a CD and Fredericks is not even in the first team squad...
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Igho Ugbo was a player I wanted to mention but his name briefly escaped me.Otitokoro wrote: ↑Sun Dec 29, 2024 8:43 pm Understand your personal preference(s), but modern day football is all about the 'here and now' and not what can be. Our national team is replete with players who 'have potential', but have failed to cut it at the NT level.
And from a personal preference standpoint, I would actually pick Igho Ogbu over Olisa Ndah, as he is more polished and ready to go. Was far from impressed with Ndah during the nations cup in Cameroon.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Sat Dec 28, 2024 4:25 am
There is no doubt that our defense, with or without Ajayi, is vastly overrated. They are unable to keep clean sheets even against the most unheralded of attacks. In my opinion, Ajayi isn’t better than any of the defenders mentioned. I, personally, would prefer Olisa Ndah to Ajayi because he has more potential to develop further. Ajayi, at 31, is not the defender we should be looking at in the future
- danfo driver