I owe NFF no apology, says Jay Jay Okocha
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Re: I owe NFF no apology, says Jay Jay Okocha
OrionOrion wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 3:32 am The football in Nigeria is happening mostly in the south of the country. The expertise is in the south.
In the domestic league, southern clubs have won 43 league titles, compared to 5 in the north, and 4 in the middle belt.
About 90% of SE players are from the south.
If the administration of our football was based on merit, the administrators would mirror the results being produced on the field. Instead, the North always wants to be in charge of our football, even though the results show that the expertise is in the South. Yes, Pinnick was there for 2 terms but they gave him hell and attempted to oust him at every turn until FIFA threatened them. Now we have bumbling fools running the show.
I'm almost done with the country, to be honest.
Your analysis appears to be as political as what you complain about. The fact that the South has most of the SE players does not automatically equate to having best administrators. In any case, in my view someone's home state or region has nothing to do with administrative competence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Cell,
I do not believe JJ was ever serious about the position. There were reports at the time that he barely was in Delta to carry out his job responsibilities.
You are correct, he makes a lot of noise but he was a very poor example of players who can serve effectively as administrator. He never took it seriously and his type administering Nigerian football would lead to a total collapse of football tbh.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
This is a very good point that we see happening time and time again.iworo wrote: ↑Fri Jan 17, 2025 9:17 pm I really don't know why people often struggle to separate the message from the motives or circumstances of the person delivering it. I guess it's easier to dismiss the truth-teller by questioning their motives than to face uncomfortable realities. One thing for sure is that some folks often project their own tendencies onto others. If they believe they would only speak out under self-serving circumstances, they may assume others are doing the same.

Kpom. Well said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 4:20 amOrionOrion wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 3:32 am The football in Nigeria is happening mostly in the south of the country. The expertise is in the south.
In the domestic league, southern clubs have won 43 league titles, compared to 5 in the north, and 4 in the middle belt.
If the administration of our football was based on merit, the administrators would mirror the results being produced on the field. Instead, the North always wants to be in charge of our football, even though the results show that the expertise is in the South. Yes, Pinnick was there for 2 terms but they gave him hell and attempted to oust him at every turn until FIFA threatened them. Now we have bumbling fools running the show.
Your analysis appears to be as political as what you complain about. The fact that the South has most of the SE players does not automatically equate to having best administrators. In any case, in my view someone's home state or region has nothing to do with administrative competence.
I won’t be surprised to find that the hatred for Pinnick was greater amongst southerners than up north.
On this board alone, when was the last time we heard anything good about the man often described as “the worst NFF Chairman ever”?
Uncle Damunk, Pinnick is the one of the worst NFF chairman ever... According to his record in office, using on field performance matrix such as qualification for and performance in major tournament from u-17 to senior team both Falcon and SE.Damunk wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 5:49 amKpom. Well said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 4:20 amOrionOrion wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 3:32 am The football in Nigeria is happening mostly in the south of the country. The expertise is in the south.
I won’t be surprised to find that the hatred for Pinnick was greater amongst southerners than up north.
On this board alone, when was the last time we heard anything good about the man often described as “the worst NFF Chairman ever”?
Secondly, the NFF chairman have historically come from the North in my life time apart from Anthony Kojo Williams and Pinnick.
I know how the press were critical of NFF chairman, until Pinnick came into office. Suddenly, the press lost it's criticism.
It's nothing new in Nigeria, I know. The new found twitter critic of Tinubu is Bashir Ahmed. Bashir even asked for the resignation of the Chief of Army staff because of the killing of innocent Nigerians during the fight against terrorism and bandits. The same Bashir was quiet when the army also killed innocent Nigerians during the fight against terrorism when he was in government.
Other people argue that: Bashir kept quiet when the Chief of Army staff was from the North and found his voice, now that the chief of Army staff is from the South.
...who be dat, abi na the oblong headed Mr "I am global now".Damunk wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 5:49 amKpom. Well said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 4:20 amOrionOrion wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 3:32 am The football in Nigeria is happening mostly in the south of the country. The expertise is in the south.
Who loves foreign anything, brags about traveling to London to watch his preferred club play.
Pinnick is actually one of the BEST NFF bosses we've had, and that isn't saying a lot. It's just a reflection of how bad the others have been. He was best at making the NFF independent of government interference and seeking private funds to run the organisation. I bet you, if we look at the financials, you'll see that Pinnick depended less on govt funds than any other NFF boss.Damunk wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 5:49 amKpom. Well said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 4:20 amOrionOrion wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 3:32 am The football in Nigeria is happening mostly in the south of the country. The expertise is in the south.
He struggled because he was starved of funds, while they were busy scheming to oust him.
Regardless of the fact he was starved of funds, he achieved things that previous admins didn't. He qualified for the World Cup in 2018. Galadima didn't. We won the U20 African Cup, U23 African Cup, and then Olympic bronze in 2016 with a team that was given zero funds for the competition. A Japanese fan had to step in and support that team financially. Remember that? They won our only medal. The sports minister Solomon Dalung ignored them when they returned with our only medal as if they were not Nigerians.
Much of the struggle Pinnick experienced was the constant battles to oust him. He had no choice but to seek private funds.
Kpom, nothing much more to add. He gave our football the highest global visibility ever. He hosted Nigerian football awards which drew who’s who of global football into the country. He leveraged on the private sector and got sponsors. I wonder what position will be given to Gasau, if Pinnick is the worst ever NFF President?Orion wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 11:58 amPinnick is actually one of the BEST NFF bosses we've had, and that isn't saying a lot. It's just a reflection of how bad the others have been. He was best at making the NFF independent of government interference and seeking private funds to run the organisation. I bet you, if we look at the financials, you'll see that Pinnick depended less on govt funds than any other NFF boss.Damunk wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 5:49 amKpom. Well said.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 4:20 amOrionOrion wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 3:32 am The football in Nigeria is happening mostly in the south of the country. The expertise is in the south.
He struggled because he was starved of funds, while they were busy scheming to oust him.
Regardless of the fact he was starved of funds, he achieved things that previous admins didn't. He qualified for the World Cup in 2018. Galadima didn't. We won the U20 African Cup, U23 African Cup, and then Olympic bronze in 2016 with a team that was given zero funds for the competition. A Japanese fan had to step in and support that team financially. Remember that? They won our only medal. The sports minister Solomon Dalung ignored them when they returned with our only medal as if they were not Nigerians.
Much of the struggle Pinnick experienced was the constant battles to oust him. He had no choice but to seek private funds.
Pinnick revisionist at it again.
Before Pinnick became NFF chairman. SE had won AfCon and qualified for the WC second round.
When Pinnick became NFF chairman, Nigeria failed to qualify for AfCon twice. Nigeria got dumped out in the group stage of the WC.
Under Pinnick, we didn't qualify for Olympics football both male and female.
Yes, Maigari achieved more than Pinnick.
Before Pinnick became NFF chairman. SE had won AfCon and qualified for the WC second round.
When Pinnick became NFF chairman, Nigeria failed to qualify for AfCon twice. Nigeria got dumped out in the group stage of the WC.
Judging a country's FA Chairman solely based on the number of competitions and medals won by the national teams might overlook several important aspects of their role and leadership. While success in tournaments is a significant indicator of a country's soccer program's overall strength, the Chairman's responsibilities extend far beyond just winning.fabio wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 6:31 pm Pinnick revisionist at it again.
Here are some factors to consider when evaluating any NFF Chairman:
Development Programs: Are there sustainable youth development systems in place? The Chairman’s ability to nurture young talent and provide pathways to professional soccer is crucial for long-term success.
Infrastructure and Resources: How well has the Chairman managed to improve or maintain the infrastructure needed for the sport, such as training facilities, stadiums, and support systems for players and staff?
Financial Health: A Chairman plays a key role in ensuring the financial health of the association. This includes managing sponsorships, broadcasting deals, and budgeting for national teams and grassroots programs.
Governance and Transparency: The Chairman's leadership in ensuring good governance, ethical behavior, and transparency within the organization is essential for fostering trust with fans, sponsors, and players.
International Relationships: How well does the Chairman navigate international soccer politics, relations with other associations, and the broader soccer community? Effective diplomacy can impact a country's standing and opportunities on the global stage.
Coaching and Staff Appointments: The Chairman's decisions regarding the appointment of national team coaches, technical directors, and other key staff can significantly impact the team's performance and culture.
Crisis Management: How has the Chairman responded to controversies, failures, or crises (e.g., scandals, player strikes, or financial difficulties)?
While competition results matter, evaluating a FA Chairman requires a broader view of their impact on the sport's growth, governance, and overall direction.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Chineke God of ndi Umuahia.Orion wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 11:58 am
Pinnick is actually one of the BEST NFF bosses we've had, and that isn't saying a lot. It's just a reflection of how bad the others have been. He was best at making the NFF independent of government interference and seeking private funds to run the organisation. I bet you, if we look at the financials, you'll see that Pinnick depended less on govt funds than any other NFF boss.
Pinnick starved of funds? The man who started fighting Keshi because he wasn't the one who appointed him?
The man who got both FIFA world cup funds and the Presidential CASH sent via Private plane?
The man who allegedly took the NOC money (refund) for Olympic preparations?
Or is the man who ex-players were accusing of financial impropriety?
Oya, count his trophies...
Count the irreparable damage he did by focusing on already made players instead of our usual path of integrating players coming out of your youth rankts with those based overseas.
The Pinnick hater talking trash out of his arse as always!
I know your beef with the guy is that you insist he didn't want a local coach and never gave them a chance, even though he employed THREE local coaches for the SE. They all failed him. So, it's not surprising that he went foreign.Cellular wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 9:43 pmChineke God of ndi Umuahia.Orion wrote: ↑Tue Jan 21, 2025 11:58 am
Pinnick is actually one of the BEST NFF bosses we've had, and that isn't saying a lot. It's just a reflection of how bad the others have been. He was best at making the NFF independent of government interference and seeking private funds to run the organisation. I bet you, if we look at the financials, you'll see that Pinnick depended less on govt funds than any other NFF boss.
Pinnick starved of funds? The man who started fighting Keshi because he wasn't the one who appointed him?
The man who got both FIFA world cup funds and the Presidential CASH sent via Private plane?
The man who allegedly took the NOC money (refund) for Olympic preparations?
Or is the man who ex-players were accusing of financial impropriety?
Oya, count his trophies...
Count the irreparable damage he did by focusing on already made players instead of our usual path of integrating players coming out of your youth rankts with those based overseas.
And BTW, the foreign guy achieved ALL objectives.

Maybe his sin is that he got a white man. I trust your new black FC is more fitting for Nigeria and you're a happier man.

There’s obviously something wrong when educated and enlightened men of about the same age hold diametrically opposite views on the same man they watched for several years.
“Worst ever” and “one of the best” in the same thread?
Something’s not right here…..
But honestly, how can anyone realistically describe him as “the worst”.
That’s just beef.

“Worst ever” and “one of the best” in the same thread?
Something’s not right here…..
But honestly, how can anyone realistically describe him as “the worst”.
That’s just beef.

“I’m close to Ikpeba, Eguavoen” – Nigeria and PSG great Austin Okocha denies calling for sack of NFF board
https://soccernet.ng/2025/01/austin-oko ... k-nff.html
by Imhonlamhen Eronmhonsele 2 minutes ago in Ligue 1, News, NewsNow, Nigeria, This Week, Top 0
Former Super Eagles captain Austin Okocha has categorically denied reports suggesting he criticized the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) or called for the dissolution of its board, Soccernet.ng reports.
Addressing the allegations on Lagos Talks FM, the former Paris Saint-Germain midfielder dismissed the claims as baseless and expressed dismay over the spread of false information.
The controversy stemmed from an online report alleging that Okocha had publicly condemned the NFF for appointing Malian coach Eric Chelle as the new manager of Nigeria’s senior national team.
However, Okocha was unequivocal in his response as quoted by Vanguard: “I didn’t grant any interview. I don’t know why the person that wrote that story quoted me.”
He further appealed to journalists to verify their sources, saying,
“If you want to talk to me, you can call me. We might have similar opinions on certain things, but let it come from me.”
While Okocha acknowledged the possibility of shortcomings within the NFF, he stressed the importance of respecting its structure.
“Even if you know that things are wrong in the NFF, you cannot say they should dissolve the NFF Board. There is a process; they are elected,” he explained.
Austin Okocha also highlighted his close relationship with key figures in Nigerian football, including NFF President Ibrahim Gusau, Technical Department head Augustine Eguavoen, and Technical Committee member Victor Ikpeba. He emphasised his preference for private dialogue over public confrontation.
“I am close to (Ibrahim) Gusau, Victor (Ikpeba), Garba (Lawal) and (Augustine) Eguavoen and being a football person, if I have anything to say, I’ll reach out and talk to them.
“I don’t have to communicate to them through the press. If I talk to them and they don’t listen or don’t see value in what I’m saying, then I can go public,” Okocha clarified.
Okocha indeed shares a long-standing bond with several NFF members.
The former Bolton Wanderers skipper and Eguavoen were teammates in Nigeria’s 1994 Africa Cup of Nations-winning squad. Okocha and Ikpeba were also key members of the Olympic gold medal-winning team at Atlanta 1996.