TRIALS AND TRIBULATIONS
Re: TRIALS AND TRIBULATIONS
I remember that game and a British newspaper reporter wrote an article after watching the SE training session. The report described how they witnessed Finidi and Amunike "thundering down the wings at frightening speed" with Coach Amodu (may he RIP) shouting "Fire! Fire!!!".Dammy wrote: ↑Sun Jan 26, 2025 10:15 am Bro, you are right, football get levels!
I watched the SE train in Hertfordshire in 1994 before their friendly against England, and it was on another level. The speed at which Amunike and Finidi moved on the wings was incredible, and the height in which the players jumped, especially Mutiu, to head the ball was unreal.

From his report, he too was frightened.

But sometimes I think we underrated the talent level of players performing in the EPL, La Liga, Serie A and Ligue1.
These are platforms that attract the best players in the world, and even second tier leagues are brimming with top talent.
That’s why we shouldn’t even think of compromising when it comes to our national team and its World Cup aspirations.
- danfo driver
Your Story Is Yours, Other's are Other's. Remember, you miss 100% of the shots you do not take.
The 19-year-old footballer joins the team led by Óscar Olomo, who opens the door for Ola Great to undergo a trial after completing a social media challenge
Sevilla FC D, the club’s international team, continues to strengthen its squad with young talents from around the world, welcoming Nigerian forward Chimezie Paul Obi.
The 19-year-old player has already integrated into the training sessions of Óscar Olomo’s team and has shared his feelings about his first experience with the club.
“Well, my experience in Seville is very good. I enjoy everything about the city; everything is great in Seville. I’m very happy to be in Seville because it’s one of the clubs I dreamed of being a part of. So, I’m very happy to be at Sevilla FC,” he commented about his first days at the club.
In addition to the Nigerian forward, the international team have players from Indonesia, the United States, Mexico, Puerto Rico, and Sweden.
Furthermore, Chimezie Paul Obi has sent a message calling on his compatriot Ola Great to undergo a trial with Sevilla FC D in the coming months:
“Hello, my friend Ola. I’m Obi Paul, a Nigerian player for Sevilla FC D, and we would love for you to come and take a trial with our international team. We’re waiting for you.”
Ola Great had challenged Sevilla FC’s English account on X (formerly Twitter), asking how many times his post would need to be shared to secure a trial with the club. After meeting the required number of shares, Sevilla FC has opened the door for him to try out for Sevilla FC D, the club’s international team.
https://sevillafcinnovationcenter.com/e ... onal-team/
Damunk wrote: ↑Sun Jan 26, 2025 10:29 amI remember that game and a British newspaper reporter wrote an article after watching the SE training session. The report described how they witnessed Finidi and Amunike "thundering down the wings at frightening speed" with Coach Amodu (may he RIP) shouting "Fire! Fire!!!".Dammy wrote: ↑Sun Jan 26, 2025 10:15 am Bro, you are right, football get levels!
I watched the SE train in Hertfordshire in 1994 before their friendly against England, and it was on another level. The speed at which Amunike and Finidi moved on the wings was incredible, and the height in which the players jumped, especially Mutiu, to head the ball was unreal.![]()
From his report, he too was frightened.![]()
But sometimes I think we underrated the talent level of players performing in the EPL, La Liga, Serie A and Ligue1.
These are platforms that attract the best players in the world, and even second tier leagues are brimming with top talent.
That’s why we shouldn’t even think of compromising when it comes to our national team and its World Cup aspirations.

- danfo driver
Sodiq's performance reminded me of this thread. He is NOT a bad player, this level is just above what he has experienced and he struggled to adapt. This is why I am very much against lower div and backwater league players. Not because they may be sh1t, but because being able to adapt to a higher level is tough for them.
Even the training is tough for NPFL players. I heard the home based players couldn’t cope with the intensity of the SE training.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 8:37 pm Sodiq's performance reminded me of this thread. He is NOT a bad player, this level is just above what he has experienced and he struggled to adapt. This is why I am very much against lower div and backwater league players. Not because they may be sh1t, but because being able to adapt to a higher level is tough for them.
Many on this forum know my stance on home based players, so there are times when I come across news items that support my pov, but choose not to post it.
I read an online interview with the former Enyimba player, Anayo, who was foisted on Rohr during the 2021 AFCON qualifiers. He said the standard of the SE is too high for home based players
- danfo driver
Not surprised.Dammy wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 9:57 pmEven the training is tough for NPFL players. I heard the home based players couldn’t cope with the intensity of the SE training.danfo driver wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 8:37 pm Sodiq's performance reminded me of this thread. He is NOT a bad player, this level is just above what he has experienced and he struggled to adapt. This is why I am very much against lower div and backwater league players. Not because they may be sh1t, but because being able to adapt to a higher level is tough for them.
Many on this forum know my stance on home based players, so there are times when I come across news items that support my pov, but choose not to post it.
I read an online interview with the former Enyimba player, Anayo, who was foisted on Rohr during the 2021 AFCON qualifiers. He said the standard of the SE is too high for home based players
I dont know what to say anymore.
When you have been privileged to watch the SE train and an NPFL team train, you will know the difference is as clear as night and day.
I just hope the silly home based project is put to rest but I don’t trust the NFF.
Today, with the exception of Sodiq, who’s the only RB in the squad, not one of them stepped on the pitch. I’m sure Chelle has had enough of them!
I just hope the silly home based project is put to rest but I don’t trust the NFF.
Today, with the exception of Sodiq, who’s the only RB in the squad, not one of them stepped on the pitch. I’m sure Chelle has had enough of them!
- danfo driver
Haven't watched an NPFL training session, but I have the privilege to watch an MLS team train on multiple occasions and even in MLS the sessions are top notch! Not only just the intensity and tactics in the sessions itself, this specific team uses drones during sessions to film themselves live, and then during breaks, the assistants will call certain players aside and show them videos of the session, their movement, their reactions to certain situations, etc etc.Dammy wrote: ↑Sat May 31, 2025 10:16 pm When you have been privileged to watch the SE train and an NPFL team train, you will know the difference is as clear as night and day.
In a world like this, this is what we are competing with.
- danfo driver
Love this thread: there's lot to laugh about but there is also so much to learn from in equal measure. Personal desires have to align with public expectations of merits and refined talents, much as local sporting fantasies must be in syn with the intensities and flows of a global capitalist order. You either play by the rules of the "game' behind your game, or the game you think you are called to leaves you behind.
Comment is free, but facts are sacred-- C.P Scott
hahaha this is funny as heck. we all know why. let's just all leave it unsaid6. Don’t rush to do your passport (I know what I’m saying and I know aspiring footballers know)
These days, passports can get ready in 2/3 days, so do it when you have to, you know why.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
sporting talent in anything nowadays has levels. Days of natural physical advantage are done. If you don't expensive have sport-specific training in your formative years, good luck. There's almost no chance.
my teenage niece picked up volleyball in the US. no so so pay for club volleyball. she made the 4th -team of the club she plays, they play regional games. She's a 3 -year starter at her private school I go to their their club volleyball tourname, and
- the gap between the 3-team and the 4-team is huge. (like physical, technical and tactical)
- There's still the 2-team
- Then i watched the girls in the 1-team and elite teams, and the gap to where my niece on the 4-team is, might as well be a different sport
- come to find out some of the best girls on the elite-team have signed up to play D3 college (not D1, D3 like directional schools state schools nobody has heard of) and that's D3
- then there's college D1 athletes and those ones are still far off from pros.
Yeah, and that's volleyball. Imagine what it's like in soccer. There's truly levels to sports!
my teenage niece picked up volleyball in the US. no so so pay for club volleyball. she made the 4th -team of the club she plays, they play regional games. She's a 3 -year starter at her private school I go to their their club volleyball tourname, and
- the gap between the 3-team and the 4-team is huge. (like physical, technical and tactical)
- Then i watched the girls in the 1-team and elite teams, and the gap to where my niece on the 4-team is, might as well be a different sport
- come to find out some of the best girls on the elite-team have signed up to play D3 college (not D1, D3 like directional schools state schools nobody has heard of) and that's D3
Yeah, and that's volleyball. Imagine what it's like in soccer. There's truly levels to sports!
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Na why you have to respect the likes of MisterDolly, who is able to produce a professional athlete.amafolas wrote: ↑Wed Jun 18, 2025 4:23 pm sporting talent in anything nowadays has levels. Days of natural physical advantage are done. If you don't expensive have sport-specific training in your formative years, good luck. There's almost no chance.
The level of sacrifice from everyone to see that they make it is on a different level.
Absolutely.Cellular wrote: ↑Wed Jun 18, 2025 6:41 pmNa why you have to respect the likes of MisterDolly, who is able to produce a professional athlete.amafolas wrote: ↑Wed Jun 18, 2025 4:23 pm sporting talent in anything nowadays has levels. Days of natural physical advantage are done. If you don't expensive have sport-specific training in your formative years, good luck. There's almost no chance.
The level of sacrifice from everyone to see that they make it is on a different level.
My nephew (sister’s son) was on the Crystal Palace youth programme from about age 7. At one point Spurs and Arsenal were on the prowl but they were too far away - north London, and my sister and family lived south.
The time devotion was absolutely crazy. Even I had to help out, taking him to training on some occasions when his parents just couldn’t make it. That’s when I actually noticed the sheer number of Nigerian kids on the books of most of the top London clubs.
Long story short, after all the sacrifices and despite being identified as a particularly gifted young player, he woke up one day, age about 15, and said “Dad, I don’t wanna play football no more”.
His parents were devastated.
- danfo driver
Na today!Damunk wrote: ↑Thu Jun 19, 2025 5:04 pmAbsolutely.Cellular wrote: ↑Wed Jun 18, 2025 6:41 pmNa why you have to respect the likes of MisterDolly, who is able to produce a professional athlete.amafolas wrote: ↑Wed Jun 18, 2025 4:23 pm sporting talent in anything nowadays has levels. Days of natural physical advantage are done. If you don't expensive have sport-specific training in your formative years, good luck. There's almost no chance.
My nephew (sister’s son) was on the Crystal Palace youth programme from about age 7. At one point Spurs and Arsenal were on the prowl but they were too far away - north London, and my sister and family lived south.
The time devotion was absolutely crazy. Even I had to help out, taking him to training on some occasions when his parents just couldn’t make it. That’s when I actually noticed the sheer number of Nigerian kids on the books of most of the top London clubs.
Long story short, after all the sacrifices and despite being identified as a particularly gifted young player, he woke up one day, age about 15, and said “Dad, I don’t wanna play football no more”.
His parents were devastated.

You have told this story before, and e dey always make me laugh out loud

If the parents refuse to take the kid to training now, dem go sey the parents are wicked. But when the kid wakes up and say, "i no do again," they will say "leave am, its his life."