Victor Boniface To Saudi?

Re: Victor Boniface To Saudi?

Bayer Leverkusen's Victor Boniface excused from training as potential Saudi move nears
www.theathletic.com

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Goalgetter wrote: Mon Jan 27, 2025 11:25 pm Playing in Saudi doesn't effectively mean he is out of consideration for SE. that would be silly from the people in charge if that happens. What people fail to realize is that nothing is guaranteed - especially for African players who are scrutinized to a higher standard than European and South American players. That big money European move may never happen for this guy. See how theyre treating Osihmen and devaluing him by the day. If I were Boniface, I would take the Saudi big money for now and pocket it. A bird in hand ….
He should be out of the SE if he moves to SE! Apart from the fact that we have other strikers playing at a higher level, I don’t want his likes polluting the SE and turning the heads of our players with the financial incentives available in Saudi Arabia.
The Saudis have failed with moves for Osimhen and Lookman and it seems they have finally got their hands on a high profile Nigerian player. This could be the first of many and I would not be surprised if Emenalo is behind all this moves
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Whether he goes to Saudi or not, I doubt that he will play under Chelle. For all his immense talent, he is clearly another Alphonse or Owobokiri. Great for the club and pathetic and lackadaisical for Nigeria.

We need fighters. Players that play regardless of a match bonus being paid. We need people like Osimhen and Lookman. We don’t need passengers and names.

I think Boniface has determined that it's better for him to go to Saudi and make $ . And that playing fir SE ain't worth the squeeze for him.

The general consensus on this forum is that Boniface is not a serious player. Getting a top young striker in the January transfer window is hard and very expensive. The fact that Leverkusen is not putting up a fight to keep him while Aston Villa are fighting hard to keep backup strker, Jhon Durán who is wanted by the same Saudi club tells you all you need to know. They see that boy in training and know that it's just a matter of time before his low work ethics matches his production. It didn't help that his supposedly backup, Patrick Schick is on fire whenever Boni is out injured.

Mr. Influencer can now go to Saudi where he can make his money, train however he wants, and still bang in goals. You can't compare Boniface going to Saudi to Osimhen or Lookman heading over there. Osimhen and Lookman are APOY winners and are 1-2 seasons away in a top 5 league from winning the Ballon d'Or or finishing in the top 3. With all that said, Boniface should stay away from the NT. He wasn't good for us before and nothing tells me that he will be good for us going forward.

I see many herein, are hypocrites and selfish.
Same folks who left Naija for better pastures, are braying about betrayals and greed.
Boniface should do what is currently best for him and his family. He can retire and help
build the country in other ways.

In the grand scheme of life, football, like any other sport is simply candy.

Leverkusen, Schick stings Boniface: "I still have the ambition to play at the highest levels"
28.01.2025 17:42 by Alessio Del Lungo

Photo
© photo by Imago/Image Sport
Patrik Schick spoke together with Xabi Alonso at a press conference on the eve of the match that Bayer Leverkusen will play against Sparta Prague of the Champions League and threw a not so veiled slan at his teammate Victor Boniface, approached by Al Nassr and close to the transfer to the Saudi Pro League: "If I'm attracted to Saudi Arabia? I am 29 years old and I still have the ambition to play at the highest level. It's not a topic for me at the moment. Everyone is different, but speaking for me, this is not the right time."

ADVERTISING

Xabi Alonso's words at the press conference
"There is this situation. There are discussions with the club and we have to wait. We are preparing without him of course".

If Boniface were to be sold, would he be happy even without any purchase or did he ask the management for reinforcement?
"Yes, we'll see, but I'm very happy with the quality of the team. Obviously after the injuries of Belocian and Terrier we have already explained that we will have to be attentive to the opportunities. There are still days to go, we are close to the conclusion of the market. I am and will be happy with the team. So far all the players feel ready. There is this situation with Boniface, but I can understand it. We have to wait, my feeling remains the same."

Dammy wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:43 pm
Lolly wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:06 pm
anointed wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 1:37 pm This is just witchcraft.

Read somewhere that he has been pulled out of the Leverkusen training.
Not surprised that BL are willing to let him go. If you’ve been watching him play over the last year, you would have noticed that the guy has regressed. He “arrived” too easily and too soon. And he is still only 24 years old.

Apparently West Ham are also looking at Boniface and were willing to pay the €50m valuation but I guess Saudi offers bigger salaries and bonuses.
It would be a shame if this transfer happens. Omar Marmoush an Arab from the same league has transferred to one of the top teams in the world. Just last season, Marmoush couldn’t be mentioned in the same breath as Boniface, yet he has chosen to take the sporting challenge while our boy has prioritised the financial aspect over the sporting challenge. This is a boy that just signed a new contract doubling his wages from 3 million euros to 6 million euros. How much more does a 24 year old need?
This is a boy who many view as the next APOY, I just wonder who advises these players?
Na una dey want fame.

Some are in it for MONEY.

And there's nothing wrong with it.

Dammy wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 5:59 pm Leverkusen, Schick stings Boniface: "I still have the ambition to play at the highest levels"
28.01.2025 17:42 by Alessio Del Lungo

Photo
© photo by Imago/Image Sport
Patrik Schick spoke together with Xabi Alonso at a press conference on the eve of the match that Bayer Leverkusen will play against Sparta Prague of the Champions League and threw a not so veiled slan at his teammate Victor Boniface, approached by Al Nassr and close to the transfer to the Saudi Pro League: "If I'm attracted to Saudi Arabia? I am 29 years old and I still have the ambition to play at the highest level. It's not a topic for me at the moment. Everyone is different, but speaking for me, this is not the right time."

ADVERTISING

Xabi Alonso's words at the press conference
"There is this situation. There are discussions with the club and we have to wait. We are preparing without him of course".

If Boniface were to be sold, would he be happy even without any purchase or did he ask the management for reinforcement?
"Yes, we'll see, but I'm very happy with the quality of the team. Obviously after the injuries of Belocian and Terrier we have already explained that we will have to be attentive to the opportunities. There are still days to go, we are close to the conclusion of the market. I am and will be happy with the team. So far all the players feel ready. There is this situation with Boniface, but I can understand it. We have to wait, my feeling remains the same."
Patrik Schick should goan and find a live wire and hold it.

He is not in Victor Boniface shoes.
I dislike other professional athletes discussing or commenting on another pros business negotiations.

Face your front.

This dude has largely underwhelmed and has been rubbish in the national team, can't remember any recent player who has been given more opportunities in the NT than Boniface yet has failed to consistently deliver. Not sure who his agent is but pushing a move to Saudi when you haven't even proved yourself at any top level is a bad recipe for a young player- if Saudi money is the motive then why not try the Premier league where you can make just as much and be playing at a more competitive level?

It's time to move on from Boniface, Tolu Arokodare is a better player anyways and needs to be given a chance in the NT.
Last edited by Tobi17 on Tue Jan 28, 2025 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

joao wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 5:54 pm I see many herein, are hypocrites and selfish.
Same folks who left Naija for better pastures, are braying about betrayals and greed.
Boniface should do what is currently best for him and his family. He can retire and help

You seem very angry? Has anyone said Boniface should not go to Saudi? All I have seen here has been:

1. Attack him the same way you attacked Osimhen. Why the double-standards?

2. He should NOT be called up for the SE as long as he is in Saudi - same thing we said for Osimhen and any other player. Do you have a problem with that selection process?

joao wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 5:54 pm I see many herein, are hypocrites and selfish.

p

My guy, but you’re not different from those people you’re accusing. You’re making an assumption that Boniface is going to Saudi because of the money (better pasture)which might be true. Only Boniface knows why. What if he still desires to be the best at his profession then going to Saudi is the wrong move. I think people feel that if he works hard he can still make lots of money and still play in a competitive league. Jack Grealish & recently acquired Omar Marmoush are making $16m at Mancity. Nobody knew the Egyptian prior to his year. Is he better than Boniface?
Last edited by packerland on Tue Jan 28, 2025 7:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 6:55 pm This dude has largely underwhelmed and has been rubbish in the national team, can't remember any recent player who has been given more opportunities in the NT than Boniface yet has failed to consistently deliver. Not sure who his agent is but pushing a move to Saudi when you haven't even proved yourself at any top level is a bad recipe for a young player- if Saudi money is the motive then why not try the Premier league where you can make just as much and be playing at a more competitive level?

It's time to move on from Boniface, Tolu Arokodare is a better player anyways and needs to be given a chance in the NT.
I do not believe Tolu is better than Boniface, but in picking a team "talent" is not the sole criteria. So, thank God for that. We need a solid team that will fight tooth and nail and perform. This is why even though I truly dislike Moses Brainless Simon, as a player, if Chelle invites him, I will be very angry, but accept it. He is nowhere near our best winger, but he has been more effective than many of them.

Dammy wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:43 pm
Lolly wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:06 pm
anointed wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 1:37 pm This is just witchcraft.

Read somewhere that he has been pulled out of the Leverkusen training.
Not surprised that BL are willing to let him go. If you’ve been watching him play over the last year, you would have noticed that the guy has regressed. He “arrived” too easily and too soon. And he is still only 24 years old.

Apparently West Ham are also looking at Boniface and were willing to pay the €50m valuation but I guess Saudi offers bigger salaries and bonuses.
It would be a shame if this transfer happens. Omar Marmoush an Arab from the same league has transferred to one of the top teams in the world. Just last season, Marmoush couldn’t be mentioned in the same breath as Boniface, yet he has chosen to take the sporting challenge while our boy has prioritised the financial aspect over the sporting challenge. This is a boy that just signed a new contract doubling his wages from 3 million euros to 6 million euros. How much more does a 24 year old need?
This is a boy who many view as the next APOY, I just wonder who advises these players?
But his club are also willing to sell him so easily. He must feel unwanted.

Like I said, he has underperformed in recent months. He has a decent goal ratio but his overall play just looks so average for a top striker. He is so far from being the next APOY.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

BTW, Boniface has a property in the community where I live. Our communal lifestyle makes us contribute towards lots of amenities government can never be bothered to do and other extra curriculuar stuff. The manner of accounting is so open that all payments and expenditures are acknowledged on our WhatsApp platform.

When they were planning for the end of year party late last year, there was a call for contributions. The amount donated by VB was kinda of jaw-dropping sha compared to what others were donating.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

danfo driver wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 7:01 pm

You seem very angry? Has anyone said Boniface should not go to Saudi? All I have seen here has been:

2. He should NOT be called up for the SE as long as he is in Saudi - same thing we said for Osimhen and any other player. Do you have a problem with that selection process?
Bia, in what planet is Content Creator in the same league as Victor Osimhen?

Why would anyone "attack" him the same way the "attacked" VO?

VO na Content Creator mate?

Cellular wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 7:59 pm
danfo driver wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 7:01 pm

Bia, in what planet is Content Creator in the same league as Victor Osimhen?

Why would anyone "attack" him the same way the "attacked" VO?

VO na Content Creator mate?

Why are you encouraging him to continue to ruin this forum?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

packerland wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 5:51 pm The general consensus on this forum is that Boniface is not a serious player. Getting a top young striker in the January transfer window is hard and very expensive. The fact that Leverkusen is not putting up a fight to keep him while Aston Villa are fighting hard to keep backup strker, Jhon Durán who is wanted by the same Saudi club tells you all you need to know. They see that boy in training and know that it's just a matter of time before his low work ethics matches his production. It didn't help that his supposedly backup, Patrick Schick is on fire whenever Boni is out injured.

Mr. Influencer can now go to Saudi where he can make his money, train however he wants, and still bang in goals. You can't compare Boniface going to Saudi to Osimhen or Lookman heading over there. Osimhen and Lookman are APOY winners and are 1-2 seasons away in a top 5 league from winning the Ballon d'Or or finishing in the top 3. With all that said, Boniface should stay away from the NT. He wasn't good for us before and nothing tells me that he will be good for us going forward.
If Bonface moves to Saudi, he should never be called up again. What an unserious fellow. His agemate Marmoush just moved to Man City and this joker wants to go to Saudi :-x :-x :-x :-x Ok fine he does not want to move to the prem. Why cant he boost his numbers so he can move to Bayern Munich. I said in another thread that he should move to Atalanta if Lookman leaves because Gasperini knows how to mold players and get them to reach their potential but no this fat lazy bum just wants to be a content creator and goof around and make easy $$$. I am glad Chelle is coach. Time to drop him, Ihenacho, Awoniyi and Sadiq for good.

On Boniface, this is my take.

Context is everything.

The context here is COMPLETELY DIFFERENT from that of Osimhen. And what is the context?

The context is of a player who has suffered two cruciate ligament tears before his transfer to Bayer.
And in Leverkusen, he missed 23 games in 2023/24 due to an adductor injury. This season, he hasn't been on the pitch since mid-November (thigh).

I'm not a physician; neither am I a physio. But if I had to guess, I think his days as a top pro are very limited.

This makes his situation completely different from Osimhen's, and this is not comparing the talent of both players. Victor is a higher level...

And my point?

While I do not support the move, I kinda understand it...

bret- hart wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 8:30 pm
packerland wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 5:51 pm The general consensus on this forum is that Boniface is not a serious player. Getting a top young striker in the January transfer window is hard and very expensive. The fact that Leverkusen is not putting up a fight to keep him while Aston Villa are fighting hard to keep backup strker, Jhon Durán who is wanted by the same Saudi club tells you all you need to know. They see that boy in training and know that it's just a matter of time before his low work ethics matches his production. It didn't help that his supposedly backup, Patrick Schick is on fire whenever Boni is out injured.

If Bonface moves to Saudi, he should never be called up again. What an unserious fellow. His agemate Marmoush just moved to Man City and this joker wants to go to Saudi :-x :-x :-x :-x Ok fine he does not want to move to the prem. Why cant he boost his numbers so he can move to Bayern Munich. I said in another thread that he should move to Atalanta if Lookman leaves because Gasperini knows how to mold players and get them to reach their potential but no this fat lazy bum just wants to be a content creator and goof around and make easy $$$. I am glad Chelle is coach. Time to drop him, Ihenacho, Awoniyi and Sadiq for good.
I genuinely now think our players have bad agency. This is Mamoush's first top scoring season. And look at him. Boniface came to Bayer last season and was literally compared to Kane. It was him vs Kane. Such high level and his agent couldnt make anything happen for him. Our players are the only ones that our fans tell "stay where you are." We didnt hear Egyptians tell Mamoush to be afraid to move to City and "stay where you are." Our fans and our players are mentally weak.

txj wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 8:39 pm On Boniface, this is my take.

Context is everything.

The context here is COMPLETELY DIFFERENT from that of Osimhen. And what is the context?

The context is of a player who has suffered two cruciate ligament tears before his transfer to Bayer.
And in Leverkusen, he missed 23 games in 2023/24 due to an adductor injury. This season, he hasn't been on the pitch since mid-November (thigh).

I'm not a physician; neither am I a physio. But if I had to guess, I think his days as a top pro are very limited.

This makes his situation completely different from Osimhen's, and this is not comparing the talent of both players. Victor is a higher level...

And my point?

All of a sudden, Osimhen is not the injury prone player he is made out to be. :rotf: :rotf:

That said, your reasoning is not out of place and he can go to Saudi if he wants. Thats fine. He just would never wear our shirt while he is there.

Honestly there has to be something about our players and having sh*t agents...players from other nations with about the same profile and league accomplishments as our players always end up getting better moves and club deals (see Kvara moving from Napoli to PSG, Marmoush from Frankfurt to Man city etc)...these players aren't better than Boniface or Osimhen for crying out loud! how come our supposed best players always get the weirdest deals? At this point I won't be shocked if Lookman also moves to Saudi next when clubs like Real Madrid should be all over him next season.

Best of luck to Boniface but this was a very disappointing move, I guess this is it for him in the NT.
Last edited by Tobi17 on Tue Jan 28, 2025 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 9:14 pm
txj wrote: Tue Jan 28, 2025 8:39 pm On Boniface, this is my take.

Context is everything.

And my point?

All of a sudden, Osimhen is not the injury prone player he is made out to be. :rotf: :rotf:

That said, your reasoning is not out of place and he can go to Saudi if he wants. Thats fine. He just would never wear our shirt while he is there.

:???: :???: :???:

Who said he was injury prone?
It certainly was not me.
Last edited by txj on Tue Jan 28, 2025 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.