Lookman and Osimhen displacement in 94 Eagles

Re: Lookman and Osimhen displacement in 94 Eagles

Babalawo wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 10:36 am
ANC wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:49 am
Babalawo wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 1:56 am
bret- hart wrote: Wed Feb 26, 2025 10:14 pm Lookman replaces Ikpeba

Osimhen replaces Amockachi.
A whole prince of Monaco na m una wan throway like Tissue paper.

I agree with Most of the Analysis. The only CF Osimhen wouldn’t displace on that team is Yekini.

Lookman on current form would bench Siasia

Aina for Eguavon.

+/- Ekong for Chidi Nwanu.
You must be kidding.
I am sure you know the meaning of “+/-“?

Ekong of ANC 2024 was immense and would make it to the 94 team. This is not about club football but about achievements in the GWG.

But for the records since Amnesia is now rampant on CE

Chidi Nwanu
Personal information
Date of birth
1 January 1967 (age 58)
Place of birth
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Height
1.78 m (5 ft 10 in)[1]
Position(s)
Centre-back
Senior career*
Years
Team
Apps
(Gls)
Enyimba
1984–1985
Spartans
1986–1989
ACB Lagos
1989–1990
Westerlo
1990–1991
K.T.H. Diest
(2)
1991–1993
Beveren
(4)
1993–1995
Anderlecht
(0)
1995–1996
Sint-Truiden
(0)
1996–1997
Anderlecht

(0)
1997–1998
RKC Waalwijk
(0)
International career
1989–1997
Nigeria

(0)
*Club domestic league appearances and goals
In 1988, while playing for ACB Lagos, Nwanu was declared unwanted by coach Patrick Ekeji. Nwanu went on to play in lower divisions in Belgium before he was picked up by Jupiler League side K.S.K. Beveren. After three seasons he was bought by R.S.C. Anderlecht, who won the league twice during his stay. Nwanu played very few matches; he retired after an unsuccessful spell in RKC Waalwijk.

Full name
William Paul Troost-Ekong[1]
Date of birth
1 September 1993 (age 31)[1]
Place of birth
Haarlem, Netherlands
Height
1.91 m (6 ft 3 in)[2]
Position(s)
Centre-back
Team information
Current team
Al-Kholood
Number
Youth career
2008–2010
Fulham
2010–2013
Tottenham Hotspur
Senior career*
Years
Team
Apps
(Gls)
2013–2015
Groningen
(0)
2014–2015
→ Dordrecht (loan)
(0)
2015–2017
Gent
(0)
2015–2016
→ Haugesund (loan)
(3)
2017–2018
Bursaspor
(3)
2018–2020
Udinese
(0)
2020–2023
Watford
(2)
→ Salernitana (loan)
(1)
2023–2024
PAOK
(0)
2024–
Al-Kholood
(2)
International career
Netherlands U19
(0)
Netherlands U20
(0)
Nigeria U23
(0)
2015–
Nigeria
(7)

I mean, I am not the type to talk down on any player, as a rule I never knock another man’s hustle, but with this we know who had a “better club career” and who has been a more decorated SE. So yes the 2024 ANC Ekong would displace Chidi Nwanu in the 1994 squad. My personal opinion.

This was how I stated Kelechi Iheanacho was one of most decorated strikers in the SE, the same mad man laughed and abused me until I provided the statistics and he fled tail in legs and didn’t comment again,like the hungry rabid infested dog that he is.
Babalawo,

Are you comparing club careers or national team? They are decidedly different issues. For instance on a Nigerian national team one would rank Thompson Usitan far ahead of Onuachu even though the latter played in Europe and the former did not. What matters is performance for Nigeria
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Osimhen for Ekoku
Lookman for Siasia

Anything beyond that you must be high on stale akpu :mrgreen:

Enugu II wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 12:32 pm

I agree with Most of the Analysis. The only CF Osimhen wouldn’t displace on that team is Yekini.

Aina for Eguavon.

You must be kidding.

Ekong of ANC 2024 was immense and would make it to the 94 team. This is not about club football but about achievements in the GWG.

But for the records since Amnesia is now rampant on CE

Chidi Nwanu
Personal information
Date of birth
1 January 1967 (age 58)
Place of birth
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Height
1.78 m (5 ft 10 in)[1]
Position(s)
Centre-back
Senior career*
Years
Team
Apps
(Gls)
Enyimba
1984–1985
Spartans
1986–1989
ACB Lagos
1989–1990
Westerlo
1990–1991
K.T.H. Diest
(2)
1991–1993
Beveren
(4)
1993–1995
Anderlecht
(0)
1995–1996
Sint-Truiden
(0)
1996–1997
Anderlecht

(0)
1997–1998
RKC Waalwijk
(0)
International career
1989–1997
Nigeria

(0)
*Club domestic league appearances and goals
In 1988, while playing for ACB Lagos, Nwanu was declared unwanted by coach Patrick Ekeji. Nwanu went on to play in lower divisions in Belgium before he was picked up by Jupiler League side K.S.K. Beveren. After three seasons he was bought by R.S.C. Anderlecht, who won the league twice during his stay. Nwanu played very few matches; he retired after an unsuccessful spell in RKC Waalwijk.

Full name
William Paul Troost-Ekong[1]
Date of birth
1 September 1993 (age 31)[1]
Place of birth
Haarlem, Netherlands
Height
1.91 m (6 ft 3 in)[2]
Position(s)
Centre-back
Team information
Current team
Al-Kholood
Number
Youth career
2008–2010
Fulham
2010–2013
Tottenham Hotspur
Senior career*
Years
Team
Apps
(Gls)
2013–2015
Groningen
(0)
2014–2015
→ Dordrecht (loan)
(0)
2015–2017
Gent
(0)
2015–2016
→ Haugesund (loan)
(3)
2017–2018
Bursaspor
(3)
2018–2020
Udinese
(0)
2020–2023
Watford
(2)
→ Salernitana (loan)
(1)
2023–2024
PAOK
(0)
2024–
Al-Kholood
(2)
International career
Netherlands U19
(0)
Netherlands U20
(0)
Nigeria U23
(0)
2015–
Nigeria
(7)

I mean, I am not the type to talk down on any player, as a rule I never knock another man’s hustle, but with this we know who had a “better club career” and who has been a more decorated SE. So yes the 2024 ANC Ekong would displace Chidi Nwanu in the 1994 squad. My personal opinion.

This was how I stated Kelechi Iheanacho was one of most decorated strikers in the SE, the same mad man laughed and abused me until I provided the statistics and he fled tail in legs and didn’t comment again,like the hungry rabid infested dog that he is.
Babalawo,

Are you comparing club careers or national team? They are decidedly different issues. For instance on a Nigerian national team one would rank Thompson Usitan far ahead of Onuachu even though the latter played in Europe and the former did not. What matters is performance for Nigeria
I was comparing National team performance and stats between both players until the usual Noise maker brought in the “division 2 player” nonsense blablabla, so I released the stats to show that Chidi Nwanu (a good player he was, I respect that) during his time playing for the SE wasn’t a high roller in terms of club football either.

You know some people just have diarrhea of the fingers, forgetting the facts and records are always there.

Again, I repeat, Ekong at his prime for the SE (ANC 2024) would have been good enough to start for the 94 eagles and may or may not ( that’s what +/- Means) have started ahead of Chidi.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Lolly wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 12:30 pm

Aina for Eguavon.

Ekong can't replace the Chidi of 1994. He was out best defender at the World Cup.
Ekong was not only Nigerias best defender and player at the 2024 AFCON, he was also named the best player of the tournament! And you say such player wouldn’t displace Chidi Nwanu? lol

Just in case you forgot :

Best Player: William Troost-Ekong – Nigeria

William Troost-Ekong, serving as the Super Eagles’ stand-in captain as Ahmed Musa recovers from injury, has been honoured as the Best Player of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations by the Confederation of African Football. Despite Nigeria’s loss in the final against hosts Cote d’Ivoire, with a 2-1 defeat, Troost-Ekong’s stellar performances throughout the tournament earned him this prestigious accolade. The 30-year-old defender’s remarkable contributions did not go unnoticed, leading to him being awarded the title of best player. Troost-Ekong demonstrated his prowess by scoring three crucial goals during the 34th edition of the continental championship, including Nigeria’s sole goal in the tense encounter against the Elephants. Troost-Ekong currently plies his trade for PAOK in the Greek Super League, but many fans may remember him from his three-year stint with Watford in the Premier League.

https://www.365scores.com/news/the-afco ... ugh-talent

Aina for Eguavon.

You must be kidding.

Ekong was immense for 6-7 games, and that is sufficient. :lol: :lol: Lets forget that he has played for Nigeria during one of the worst period in our football?

It is well.

Ekong has to be respected. He had a hell of a tournament at the last AFCON. Being named player of the tournament is no beans, ooo! IN Nigeria's history at the AFCON, Christian Chukwu had been the only Nigerian defender to receive such accolade in a continental tournament. Well, until William Ekong.

My gripe is that sometimes when we are discussing Nigeria's best XI we tend to mix up club play with NT player. These should be restricted to a player's performance while wearing the Nigerian shirt.
Last edited by Enugu II on Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

danfo driver wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:18 pm

Aina for Eguavon.

You must be kidding.

Ekong was immense for 6-7 games, and that is sufficient. :lol: :lol: Lets forget that he has played for Nigeria during one of the worst period in our football?

It is well.
Again, shifting the goal post to justify an initial failed narrative.
Ekong scored the goal in the 1-1 draw against Ghana, if you and your ilks didnt hound Maduka Okoye out of the team post ANC 2022, who knows how that game would have gone.
Ekong led that same team to ANC silver few months later. That in no way can be classified as “one of the worst periods in our football” A team that beat IVC, Cameroon, Angola and South Africa in one tournament and were 30minutes away from lifting the trophy?
Negro Please!

Enugu II wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:28 pm Ekong has to be respected. He had a hell of a tournament at the last AFCON. Being named player of the tournament is no beans, ooo! IN Nigeria's history at the AFCON, Christian Chukwu has been the only Nigerian defender to receive such accolade in a continental tournament.

My gripe is that sometimes when we are discussing Nigeria's best XI we tend to mix up club play with NT player. These should be restricted to a player's performance while wearing the Nigerian shirt.
Kpom!
That’s why I like records!
A true and proper captain Ekong has been.
He definitely would have made the 94 squad based on recent exploits.
An all time Nigerian best 23 will not be complete without Ekong.

Babalawo wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:55 pm
Enugu II wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:28 pm Ekong has to be respected. He had a hell of a tournament at the last AFCON. Being named player of the tournament is no beans, ooo! IN Nigeria's history at the AFCON, Christian Chukwu has been the only Nigerian defender to receive such accolade in a continental tournament.

Kpom!

I watched Chidi Nwanu play.
I would say Ekong over Keshi or even Uche before I would say Nwanu.
I am not sure how good Nwanu was before and/or after the WC. The man that
I saw in 94 WC was solid. Ekong could NOT replace him, not in football skill or leadership.
The person that I am trying hard not to remember is Augustine Eguavoen, even Mobi Oparaku
was better than him.

ANC wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 3:05 pm

Kpom!

I saw in 94 WC was solid. Ekong could NOT replace him, not in football skill or leadership.
The person that I am trying hard not to remember is Augustine Eguavoen, even Mobi Oparaku
was better than him.
ANC,

I watched Chidi Nwanu as well even going back to his days at ACB Lagos. He was a hell of a player. However, picking all star teams for Nigeria, you simply have to go by individual player performances wearing the shirt. To do that, clearly Ekong has moved past Chidi.

Besides, I wonder why Chidi would even be considered all-time. ANC. is there no threshold in number of games that one should have played for Nigeria to qualify. I write this because Chidi played a handful of games and I have to check this because I doubt that he even appeared in 20 games! Comparatively, Ekong has appeared in over 70 games and has played very well in most of those besides the MVP of Africa's premier tournament.
Last edited by Enugu II on Thu Feb 27, 2025 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kpom!

was better than him.
Football skill? Maybe..
Leadership? Hmmm, not true chief!

Ekong has been a leader on and off the field.
On field…WCQ 2022 & ANC 2024
Off-field The Libyan SE Kidnap of 2024 and many more.
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

There is nothing special about the 1994 team. They won the Nations cup after coming from behind twice to beat Ivory coast by penalties in the semifinals, beat demoralized Zambia team B in the finals also coming from behind. Senegal, Ghana, Cameroon have gotten to quarterfinals of the world cup. Morocco got to the semifinals. Yekini 1993 was different from Yekini 1994... My 2 pence
www.ezesportsworld.net

Chesapeake sports Academy

Ezesportsworld wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 3:45 pm There is nothing special about the 1994 team. They won the Nations cup after coming from behind twice to beat Ivory coast by penalties in the semifinals, beat demoralized Zambia team B in the finals also coming from behind. Senegal, Ghana, Cameroon have gotten to quarterfinals of the world cup. Morocco got to the semifinals. Yekini 1993 was different from Yekini 1994... My 2 pence
EzeSportsworld,

I am surprised by your point above. What is special about the 1994 team? They won the AFCON away from home soil. A feat only matched by the 2013 team. Moreover, the same squad was ranked #5 in the World by FIFA. No other African national team has been ranked that high in the world. Yet, you state that there is nothing special about that team?

Ezesportsworld wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 3:45 pm There is nothing special about the 1994 team. They won the Nations cup after coming from behind twice to beat Ivory coast by penalties in the semifinals, beat demoralized Zambia team B in the finals also coming from behind. Senegal, Ghana, Cameroon have gotten to quarterfinals of the world cup. Morocco got to the semifinals. Yekini 1993 was different from Yekini 1994... My 2 pence
Yekini was poor in 94.
Bobo was chopping goals like it was going out of style.

Come to think of it, for the first eleven, na Osimhen and Aina go enter.
For the 23 it will be Lookman for Ikpeba or Siasia. Ekong for Okafor. Nwabali for Agbonobare or Agu.

Enugu II wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 3:32 pm

Kpom!

was better than him.
ANC,

I watched Chidi Nwanu as well even going back to his days at ACB Lagos. He was a hell of a player. However, picking all star teams for Nigeria, you simply have to go by individual player performances wearing the shirt. To do that, clearly Ekong has moved past Chidi.

Besides, I wonder why Chidi would even be considered all-time. ANC. is there no threshold in number of games that one should have played for Nigeria to qualify. I write this because Chidi played a handful of games and I have to check this because I doubt that he even appeared in 20 games! Comparatively, Ekong has appeared in over 70 games and has played very well in most of those besides the MVP of Africa's premier tournament.

Well, it seems you know more about Chidi than I do. If you are speaking about all time greats, that’s a different thing. I was under the impression that we are speaking of which current SE would be a walk-in on the 94 WC team. Chidi was arguably the best SE defender for that tournament. I Just don’t see how Ekong would be ahead of Nwanu. That clean tackle he made on Diego Maradona is enough to make him the greatest defender from the entire continent.

Ekong was a man among boys on the last Afcon, I didn’t know he had that in him, must respect.

Babalawo wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 3:32 pm

Kpom!

was better than him.
Football skill? Maybe..
Leadership? Hmmm, not true chief!

Ekong has been a leader on and off the field.
On field…WCQ 2022 & ANC 2024
Off-field The Libyan SE Kidnap of 2024 and many more.
There are many ways to lead. He was not the captain but he lead that defense. The 94 team had arguably the greatest football leader that Nigeria has ever had.
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Enugu 2, how do you rate FIFA ranking...LOL
www.ezesportsworld.net

Enugu II wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:28 pm Ekong has to be respected. He had a hell of a tournament at the last AFCON. Being named player of the tournament is no beans, ooo! IN Nigeria's history at the AFCON, Christian Chukwu had been the only Nigerian defender to receive such accolade in a continental tournament. Well, until William Ekong.

and what has he done in a Nigerian shirt????!!! 6 games and thats it?!! The other years of rubbish and failure to qualify for WCs nko?? Even up to this tournament, he was dropped from the team and almost didnt make it to the AFCON because he was rubbish!

But lets forget years and years and years of mediocrity because he woke up for 6 games :lol:
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Only 3 1994 players will start in my ALL time XI. Uche Okechukwu, JJ and Iroha in a 433 formation. 1. Enyeama, Syl Okpalla, Chukwu, Uche, Iroha, Mudal, JJ, Mikel, Kanu, Osinmen and Odegbami
www.ezesportsworld.net

Babalawo wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:45 pm

Aina for Eguavon.

You must be kidding.

It is well.
Ekong scored the goal in the 1-1 draw against Ghana, if you and your ilks didnt hound Maduka Okoye out of the team post ANC 2022, who knows how that game would have gone.
Ekong led that same team to ANC silver few months later. That in no way can be classified as “one of the worst periods in our football” A team that beat IVC, Cameroon, Angola and South Africa in one tournament and were 30minutes away from lifting the trophy?
Negro Please!
What narrative? Unlike you guys, i do not waste my time with emotioins. I speak fact! Ekongs highest point in his career is playing for Watford in Div 2!!! Thats when he played his best football. That is embarassing.

While you are there twerking for silver medal . . . his mates have been lifting trophies for years! Not surprised. This is a fanbase that found a way to call bronze, "golden bronze" :rotf:

You seem to think Ekong has played 6-7 games for Nigeria. He hasnt. He has played 76 game and 80% of those games were very ver poor! Since 2015, we have had one of the worst set of players and one of the worst team in our history. FACT!! Keep deeping your head in the hole of 6-7 games last year. The fact is not gonna change.

Oshimen for Yekini and that's it. Lookman would make the bench ahead on somebody .
onovo

Post by onovo »

danfo driver wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 5:56 pm
Babalawo wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 2:45 pm

Aina for Eguavon.

You must be kidding.

It is well.
Negro Please!
What narrative? Unlike you guys, i do not waste my time with emotioins. I speak fact! Ekongs highest point in his career is playing for Watford in Div 2!!! Thats when he played his best football. That is embarassing.

While you are there twerking for silver medal . . . his mates have been lifting trophies for years! Not surprised. This is a fanbase that found a way to call bronze, "golden bronze" :rotf:

You seem to think Ekong has played 6-7 games for Nigeria. He hasnt. He has played 76 game and 80% of those games were very ver poor! Since 2015, we have had one of the worst set of players and one of the worst team in our history. FACT!! Keep deeping your head in the hole of 6-7 games last year. The fact is not gonna change.
Very on point ! The Nigerian fans expectation has drastically reduce. Truth be told. Ekong has been the weakest link in our super eagles defence in this qualifying series. Most of the fans are still caught with the awe of his nations cup performance. That is the truth.
onovo

Post by onovo »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Feb 27, 2025 6:23 pm Oshimen for Yekini and that's it. Lookman would make the bench ahead on somebody .
Can you please share your opinion on who that person is ? Remember integrating Osimehn and Lookman in to that team means you will have to first drop two attacking players from the 94 team.