Best Super Eagles Right Back Ever?
Re: Best Super Eagles Right Back Ever?
Please! His game too lackdaidical for me. He lacks robust offensive contribution. An easily replaceable player in my opinion. One of the reason the SE never seems to leave gear 1.
While I respect his play, I find it hard to accept that he is the best ever in that position.
Emenalo is even more intelligent than Eguavon. He went to Boston College...lol. Have you seen him lately, he's in charge of the Saudi league.wiseone wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 3:35 pm Do not forget that Emenalo was also in that 1994 squad (and was playing for a third division team at the time). His post football career as as an administrator has redeemed him and made people forget that he was not good enough to play international football.
mastermind wrote: ↑Sat Mar 22, 2025 10:10 pm
Eguavon was the worst player in the 1994 squad, while his replacement, which was Mobi Oparaku was also terrible. I remembered Yobo hooking us up with one of his bodies plying his trade in the 3rd division, he was not it. If I'm not mistaken his name is Abbey George, he looked out of place in most of the games he played. I think Aina is the best RB we've seen in the last 25 years.

Last edited by mastermind on Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.melangeparis.com/
Be More Human!!
He's the Ben Iroha of RB. That's why he's voted best defender in the EPL.
Be More Human!!
Ben Iroha was not better than Celestine Babayaro.mastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:07 pmHe's the Ben Iroha of RB. That's why he's voted best defender in the EPL.
BTW, I love Aina, especially when he plays left back, and he is definitely one of the best, at least lately in those 2 positions.
However, he is not dominant enough, hence (since I do not know the entire history of SE LB) I'm reluctant to crown him king.
Ben was a better defender.ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:10 pmBen Iroha was not better than Celestine Babayaro.mastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:07 pmHe's the Ben Iroha of RB. That's why he's voted best defender in the EPL.
Be More Human!!
We agree to disagreemastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:32 pmBen was a better defender.ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:10 pmBen Iroha was not better than Celestine Babayaro.mastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:07 pmHe's the Ben Iroha of RB. That's why he's voted best defender in the EPL.
Babayaro cannot start in 1994 squad, Westeroff will put him on the bench...ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:42 pmWe agree to disagreemastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:32 pmBen was a better defender.ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:10 pmBen Iroha was not better than Celestine Babayaro.mastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:07 pmHe's the Ben Iroha of RB. That's why he's voted best defender in the EPL.
Be More Human!!
mastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 7:29 pmBabayaro cannot start in 1994 squad, Westeroff will put him on the bench...ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:42 pmWe agree to disagreemastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:32 pmBen was a better defender.ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:10 pmBen Iroha was not better than Celestine Babayaro.mastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:07 pmHe's the Ben Iroha of RB. That's why he's voted best defender in the EPL.![]()
Different coaches have different philosophies. Clemens like big players
Abeg, are we discussing SE or are discussing club football? If it is SE, Babayaro cannot hold a candle for Aina. Many forget that Babayaro had a substantive SE career on the bench behind Udeze and had a torrid time v Etoo at the AFCON 2000. If it is about SE, I doubt that Babayaro can make 3rd team all time.ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 8:48 pmmastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 7:29 pmBabayaro cannot start in 1994 squad, Westeroff will put him on the bench...ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:42 pmWe agree to disagreemastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:32 pmBen was a better defender.ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:10 pmBen Iroha was not better than Celestine Babayaro.mastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:07 pmHe's the Ben Iroha of RB. That's why he's voted best defender in the EPL.![]()
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- danfo driver
For me, it has to be Godswill Ekpolo or Gbenga Okunowo. No other right back was good enough to play for a club with the stature of Barcelona.
- danfo driver
I saw this article online.
https://mathematical7.com/m7/the-greate ... ince-1960/
The Greatest Right-full Back in Nigeria’s football history since 1960!
By - Segun Odegbami
I wake up thinking it is going to be a stroll in the park. 8 hours later I find myself still stuck with only a few names. I start calling a few of my regular respected respondents to help me make a choice of the greatest Right-full back in 60 years of Nigerian football. Like me, they come up with only a few names too.
8 hours later, I make up my mind that the right-full back position, known these days as right wing-back, is not the most attractive of positions in Nigerian football, otherwise why do we have such few ‘giant’ names? Many have played the role, but rather than choose the right-back position originally, most were converted to the position as an alternative to their first choice. The list is long. Only a very few started out in the national team seeking to play in that position and held on to it.
These names finally come to mind:
Tony Igwe, Andrew Atuegbu, Patrick Ekeji, Annas Ahmed, David Adiele, Reuben Agboola, Augustine Eguavoen, Mobi Oparaku, Joseph Yobo,
Abdul Sule, Kingsley Paul, and Efe Ambrose.
Coach Alabi Aissien was sweeping in his selection and choice. He mentions two names. Every other right-full back, as far as he is concerned, was good but not good enough for his choice as the greatest. He can’t remember memorable moments of any of them to discuss.
Obong Dele Adetiba’s reaction is almost the same. He comes up with the same two names as Coach Aissien.
I call up my childhood friend whose memory these past few days has been phenomenal and his private reactions very interesting to add his voice. His conversation was the shortest. Only one player fulfils the criteria Yakubu Ibn Mohammed set for whoever would be the ‘greatest’ in the country’s history.
I call up Godwin Dudu-Orumen, the encyclopedia, to help me out.
He comes up with only a few names too. Then I realise the truth of the situation.
I decide to make one last contact in hope of more choices. I call up Jos, the Technical Director of the NFF, my colleague in the Green Eagles, former assistant coach of the Super Eagles, Bitrus Bewarang. What is striking is that the choices are very narrow.
The great shock for me is that no one mentioned, or even remembered, one of the great full backs that I admired the most whilst he was in the National team. He reminded me of Tony Igwe. He was beautiful to watch, a supremely hard, intelligent and confident overlapping wing-back, Chidi Odiah. Whatever happened to him? Where is he now?
I am looking forward to choices from the reading public different from those selected here by these 5 experts. Enjoy.
1. Obong Dele Adetiba – Broadcaster /Advertising Guru
Tony Igwe, ‘World 2’. He was the earliest player to demonstrate the power of a thinking defender. Culturally, defenders were supposed to hit people, get the ball, not allow attackers get past them, kick the ball high up the field or out of play. But Tony put some finesse into the full-back defending position. He had good control of the ball, got the movement up-field going rather than just clearing the ball. His greatest contribution to defending was that one could be a good defender without just clearing the ball out of danger.
Tony started the culture of leaving his base and starting an attack. The overlapping concept can also be traced to him.
Tony was physically built for the full back position. He was beautiful to watch overlapping. He was good looking, lithe, and endowed by nature for that position. He was the very best. That why he was called the undisputed, World 2. He is my choice.
Patrick Ekeji. He was very strong, powerful, fast, and intelligent. He was not easy to beat at all by forwards. He was of the old school of defenders, and got the ball often out of the danger zone. He was not very much in the mode of Tony even though he also overlapped because of his incredible speed. He was more efficient, and fitted the image of a full back of those days. He was an athlete.
2. ‘Professor’ Alabi Aissien – former national coach
Tony Igwe, World 2’. He was a great player. He was a pioneer of overlapping that later became the vogue. He introduced the overlapping style and did it beautifully and very well.
Patrick Ekeji. At his best, shortly before the 1980 African Cup of Nations, he chose to go for his Master’s Degree in Germany rather than play in the Championship. That was `Nigeria’s loss of a truly great and resourceful player. He could read the game, he related with the middle of the defense perfectly, and helped even when the middle was ordinary. He could paralyse that flank and totally dominate it.
He was strong. He was classy. There was something to say for the influence of his education on his football. He was easily the best. Pat Ekeji is my choice.
Yisa Sofoluwe. He also briefly played in that position and could read the game very well, but he was only one of other celebrated right backs.
3. Yakubu Ibn Mohammed – Journalist, DG, NTA
Tony Igwe. It is very easy for me. Only one name readily comes to mind. Tony ‘Parkins’ Igwe was simply marvelous. He was good in the air as well as on the turf. He was always joining the attack even before overlapping became a fashionable attribute of full backs. He was tireless and stylish, and was every left wingers nightmare.
Tony, World 2, is my choice.
4. Godwin Dudu Orumen –Broadcaster, Journalist, marketer, Administrator
Tony Igwe. Member of the Sam Garba-led Nigeria Academicals of 1965. He was very good on the tackle, good with interceptions and went forward to join attacks comfortably for Stationary Stores, ECN and the Green Eagles. My choice is Tony.
Patrick Ekeji. He was big, strong and very quick for his size. He joined the attack very well and recovered to join in solid defending for his team.
Reuben Agboola was originally a centre half at Southampton, but debuted for the Super Eagles under Westerhof. Making the Eagles even in the twilight of his career only rated him behind Igwe and Ekeji, even with his brain play of very good interceptions, ability to be in the right position all the time, and always delivering the ball forwards accurately instead of doing the overlap. Great player and one of the most disciplined players ever to wear Nigeria’s colours.
5. Bitrus Bewarang – Ex-international, Coach
Annas Ahmed was a great overlapping, very skillful, right full back. But he was really a Ghanaian playing for Nigeria.
My choice would have been Nduka Ugbade because he played for and captained the national Under-17, Under-20, and Under 23. He would have been the first player to rise through all the levels into the national team for his great performances and leadership from the right full back, but was dropped on the eve of the 1994 World Cup because Westerhof said he was inexperienced. He would have been the model right-full back if only he had played for the senior national team.
Tony Igwe was also very good.
However, it will be Patrick Ekeji for the first choice because he had some additional advantages over all others – very long throws, very powerful shots, speed, his high level of intelligence as a result of his education, and his overlapping skills at the right time.
So, for me, my choice is Patrick Ekeji.
Bro I watched gbenga play. Alina is 1000 times better than him. Gbenga was likely ridding to coat tails of the likes of Finidi, Kanu etc. Luis Vangal (sp) was the coach of Barcelona @ the time, right after coaching Ajax.danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Mar 24, 2025 12:32 am For me, it has to be Godswill Ekpolo or Gbenga Okunowo. No other right back was good enough to play for a club with the stature of Barcelona.
- danfo driver
Like In said, only Ekpolo and Okunowo have played for a club at the level of Barca. There is a reason for that. Both, are clearly the two top Nigerians to ever play in the right wing back position. No questions!ANC wrote: ↑Mon Mar 24, 2025 1:12 amBro I watched gbenga play. Alina is 1000 times better than him. Gbenga was likely ridding to coat tails of the likes of Finidi, Kanu etc. Luis Vangal (sp) was the coach of Barcelona @ the time, right after coaching Ajax.danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon Mar 24, 2025 12:32 am For me, it has to be Godswill Ekpolo or Gbenga Okunowo. No other right back was good enough to play for a club with the stature of Barcelona.
For me, it was Olubayo Adeyemi. Siasia's Olympic silver medalist. The best right back that never made it to SE due to death by car accident.
He actually played a copy of games for the SE including our 1-0 victory in a friendly game against France
E11, you understand football better than this! Babayaro was exposed by the coach’s tactics in the first half leaving him to mark Geremi and Lauren alone! Even Maldini will struggle! It was in the 2nd half that Garba Lawal was drafted to help him out that he was able to contain them.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 11:51 pmAbeg, are we discussing SE or are discussing club football? If it is SE, Babayaro cannot hold a candle for Aina. Many forget that Babayaro had a substantive SE career on the bench behind Udeze and had a torrid time v Etoo at the AFCON 2000. If it is about SE, I doubt that Babayaro can make 3rd team all time.ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 8:48 pmmastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 7:29 pmBabayaro cannot start in 1994 squad, Westeroff will put him on the bench...ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:42 pmWe agree to disagreemastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:32 pmBen was a better defender.ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:10 pmBen Iroha was not better than Celestine Babayaro.mastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 6:07 pm
He's the Ben Iroha of RB. That's why he's voted best defender in the EPL.![]()
Just like Babayaro emerged towards the tail end of Iroha’s SE career, Udeze also emerged during the tail end of Babayaro’s national team career.
Udeze never benched Babayaro as they were used interchangeably by the coaches. A few examples include our 2002 AFCON group stage against hosts, Mali, SE opening game against Argentina in the 2002 WC, and Babayaro’s final SE game, the AFCON 2004 group match against Morocco among others that I recall, Babayaro started those matches with Udeze on the bench.
Babayaro is arguably the best LB in SE history
Babayaro the best LB in SE history? Based on his club achievements or performances with the SE? Where does that leave Kadiri Ikhana, Sofoluwe, Taiye Taiwo?Dammy wrote: ↑Mon Mar 24, 2025 9:07 amE11, you understand football better than this! Babayaro was exposed by the coach’s tactics in the first half leaving him to mark Geremi and Lauren alone! Even Maldini will struggle! It was in the 2nd half that Garba Lawal was drafted to help him out that he was able to contain them.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 11:51 pmAbeg, are we discussing SE or are discussing club football? If it is SE, Babayaro cannot hold a candle for Aina. Many forget that Babayaro had a substantive SE career on the bench behind Udeze and had a torrid time v Etoo at the AFCON 2000. If it is about SE, I doubt that Babayaro can make 3rd team all time.ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 8:48 pmmastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 7:29 pmBabayaro cannot start in 1994 squad, Westeroff will put him on the bench...![]()
Just like Babayaro emerged towards the tail end of Iroha’s SE career, Udeze also emerged during the tail end of Babayaro’s national team career.
Udeze never benched Babayaro as they were used interchangeably by the coaches. A few examples include our 2002 AFCON group stage against hosts, Mali, SE opening game against Argentina in the 2002 WC, and Babayaro’s final SE game, the AFCON 2004 group match against Morocco among others that I recall, Babayaro started those matches with Udeze on the bench.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Dammy,Dammy wrote: ↑Mon Mar 24, 2025 9:07 amE11, you understand football better than this! Babayaro was exposed by the coach’s tactics in the first half leaving him to mark Geremi and Lauren alone! Even Maldini will struggle! It was in the 2nd half that Garba Lawal was drafted to help him out that he was able to contain them.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 11:51 pmAbeg, are we discussing SE or are discussing club football? If it is SE, Babayaro cannot hold a candle for Aina. Many forget that Babayaro had a substantive SE career on the bench behind Udeze and had a torrid time v Etoo at the AFCON 2000. If it is about SE, I doubt that Babayaro can make 3rd team all time.ANC wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 8:48 pmmastermind wrote: ↑Sun Mar 23, 2025 7:29 pmBabayaro cannot start in 1994 squad, Westeroff will put him on the bench...![]()
I am not convinced. If he was that dominant to be all time, he would still have dominated Udeze before retirement dawned on him. However, he failed to do this. Remember, Baba played until 2008 at Newcastle but yet his international career only last till 2004! (a full 4 years while still a starter in the EPL). He was in fact, after 2002, inconsequential at SE level. In 2002, he played only 3 SE games, zero in 2003, and 1 in 2004 which was his last. During the same period, Udeze played 30 games ahead of him!! I would not argue about Babayaro if the question was about club football but this is about Nigeria's Super Eagles. In my view, I am not sure Baba would be on my team C.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics