Ahmed Musa returns, to lead Super Eagles against Black Stars in London
- bret- hart
Re: Ahmed Musa returns, to lead Super Eagles against Black Stars in London
CHAN is a waste of time. Its should be discontinued and replaced with an U23 tournament or a Nations league for African teams. NFF like CHAN because they can use it to market their rubbish players.Dammy wrote: ↑Sat May 10, 2025 8:11 pm I say feck CHAN! All our efforts should be channeled towards the WCQs and these friendlies should be used to build towards the WCQs.
It seems that what the fans want and what the NFF wants is different. This NFF is the worst in living memory with many of them moonlighting as agents
I will ask again, which one is more important, CHAN or the World Cup?

All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
They put us in the current position in the WCQs and they should dig us out of it.
The coach and the NFF should let them know the importance of the UC in preparing for the WCQs and any player who doesn’t give valid reasons for not showing up should be dropped for the WCQs.
The players should not be allowed to pick and choose matches they want to play
They put us in the current position in the WCQs and they should dig us out of it.
The coach and the NFF should let them know the importance of the UC in preparing for the WCQs and any player who doesn’t give valid reasons for not showing up should be dropped for the WCQs.
It’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
My source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
Which Nigerians?Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
- danfo driver
That is why I said once the list is out and its filled with dross, I will NEVER support Chelle again. I will become a fullyy focused vocal and vile critic of him moving forward until he is invariably sacked.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
The NFF has taken proactive steps, knowing fully well, some established players would withdraw from the UC at the last minute.
Well done to the NFF.
Yep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
Has your source given you any reason why they have chosen to impose 12 home based players and Musa on the coach?
He said it wasn’t true and I told him that if that was the case, Nigerian fans in the UK are going to boycott the matches. He then said he would make some calls and get back to me. He was rattled by the possibility of fans not turning up.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:31 pmYep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
Has your source given you any reason why they have chosen to impose 12 home based players and Musa on the coach?
It’s obvious these guys in the NFF are not interested in the SE qualifying for the World Cup
I bet he is getting worried now. The possibility of fans not turning up to watch NPFL players is real.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:47 pmHe said it wasn’t true and I told him that if that was the case, Nigerian fans in the UK are going to boycott the matches. He then said he would make some calls and get back to me. He was rattled by the possibility of fans not turning up.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:31 pmYep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
It’s obvious these guys in the NFF are not interested in the SE qualifying for the World Cup
Dammy,Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:47 pmHe said it wasn’t true and I told him that if that was the case, Nigerian fans in the UK are going to boycott the matches. He then said he would make some calls and get back to me. He was rattled by the possibility of fans not turning up.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:31 pmYep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
You really think that this will change any thing? I think not, at least not for these next two games but a Fan outcry may change subsequent ones. As for these upcoming friendlies, players have already received invitations. Moreover, I see nothing wrong in the NFF planning to prepare the country both for the WC and the CHAN. Importantly, it is clear for those who have followed these summer friendlies for years, that it is near impossible to ever get your full complement of NT players to attend. Thus, this summer will not be different. That is what the friendlies shall be used for -- preparation for both WCQ and the CHAN Finals. While WC is important, that does not make CHAN unimportant and one can chew gum and walk at the same time, simultaneously.
In fact, ultimately, the NFF success is not based on simply grooming NT based on FB players but must also be evaluated on its ability to demonstrate successful grooming /development of local football.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
E11,Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 3:51 pmDammy,Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:47 pmHe said it wasn’t true and I told him that if that was the case, Nigerian fans in the UK are going to boycott the matches. He then said he would make some calls and get back to me. He was rattled by the possibility of fans not turning up.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:31 pmYep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
You really think that this will change any thing? I think not, at least not for these next two games but a Fan outcry may change subsequent ones. As for these upcoming friendlies, players have already received invitations. Moreover, I see nothing wrong in the NFF planning to prepare the country both for the WC and the CHAN. Importantly, it is clear for those who have followed these summer friendlies for years, that it is near impossible to ever get your full complement of NT players to attend. Thus, this summer will not be different. That is what the friendlies shall be used for -- preparation for both WCQ and the CHAN Finals. While WC is important, that does not make CHAN unimportant and one can chew gum and walk at the same time, simultaneously.
In fact, ultimately, the NFF success is not based on simply grooming NT based on FB players but must also be evaluated on its ability to demonstrate successful grooming /development of local football.
I don’t know if it will change anything but I know the news that fans may not turn up in numbers have them worried. I am only relaying my conversation and observations to the forum.
I watched the first Unity Cup in 2004 in Charlton, SE London featuring Nigeria, Jamaica and Ireland and most of our regulars like Yobo, Kanu, Osaze, Aghahowa, Okocha, Enyeama etc were missing but we still had the likes of Olofinjana, Utaka, Abbey George, Udeze present, and fringe players like Enakhahire, Olajengbesi, Ekwueme and a recalled Barth Ogbeche played. Also Obafemi Martins made his SE debut. In essence, we fielded a strong team and won both matches comfortably without conceding.
I feel for the organisers because ticket sales will be affected negatively if the NFF goes ahead with the plans to bring 12 HB players for the tournament, and I’m not surprised that the organiser is in Abuja trying to get the NFF to send a stronger team.
I’m not going to spend about £200( inclusive of hotel, train tickets from Northampton and hanging out with CEs after the match)watching Papa Daniel and co
Oga, you never disappoint on issues concerning our home based players. Since when did we need a FIFA window or friendly games outside Africa to prepare for CHAN? Why use the only opportunity you have to prepare for the WC to prepare for CHAN instead? I tire for you o.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 3:51 pmDammy,Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:47 pmHe said it wasn’t true and I told him that if that was the case, Nigerian fans in the UK are going to boycott the matches. He then said he would make some calls and get back to me. He was rattled by the possibility of fans not turning up.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:31 pmYep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
And even if some of the regular SE players are missing, what about fringe players and those yet to be invited like Uche, Akpom, Dennis, Agu and others?
LollyLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 4:35 pmOga, you never disappoint on issues concerning our home based players. Since when did we need a FIFA window or friendly games outside Africa to prepare for CHAN? Why use the only opportunity you have to prepare for the WC to prepare for CHAN instead? I tire for you o.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 3:51 pmDammy,Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:47 pmHe said it wasn’t true and I told him that if that was the case, Nigerian fans in the UK are going to boycott the matches. He then said he would make some calls and get back to me. He was rattled by the possibility of fans not turning up.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:31 pmYep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
And even if some of the regular SE players are missing, what about fringe players and those yet to be invited like Uche, Akpom, Dennis, Agu and others?
May I ask: when is the CHAN and when is there an opportunity to prepare for one?
Second, if you are running the NFF, would your focus be solely the SE? Just a question.
Frankly, we at CE are not as deep thinking as the NFF. Not that is a bad thing since the NFF has far more information than any gut on this CE.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- The YeyeMan
It's about priorities, less so about focus.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 4:59 pmLollyLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 4:35 pmOga, you never disappoint on issues concerning our home based players. Since when did we need a FIFA window or friendly games outside Africa to prepare for CHAN? Why use the only opportunity you have to prepare for the WC to prepare for CHAN instead? I tire for you o.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 3:51 pmDammy,Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:47 pmHe said it wasn’t true and I told him that if that was the case, Nigerian fans in the UK are going to boycott the matches. He then said he would make some calls and get back to me. He was rattled by the possibility of fans not turning up.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:31 pmYep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 am
It’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.
May I ask: when is the CHAN and when is there an opportunity to prepare for one?
Second, if you are running the NFF, would your focus be solely the SE? Just a question.
Frankly, we at CE are not as deep thinking as the NFF. Not that is a bad thing since the NFF has far more information than any gut on this CE.
And if you think the NFF is "deep thinking" then I'm really not sure what to say anymore.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
Yeyeman,The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 6:12 pmIt's about priorities, less so about focus.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 4:59 pmLollyLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 4:35 pmOga, you never disappoint on issues concerning our home based players. Since when did we need a FIFA window or friendly games outside Africa to prepare for CHAN? Why use the only opportunity you have to prepare for the WC to prepare for CHAN instead? I tire for you o.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 3:51 pmDammy,Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:47 pmHe said it wasn’t true and I told him that if that was the case, Nigerian fans in the UK are going to boycott the matches. He then said he would make some calls and get back to me. He was rattled by the possibility of fans not turning up.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:31 pmYep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.
And if you think the NFF is "deep thinking" then I'm really not sure what to say anymore.
The goal of the NFF is high performance in all competitions, including beach football etc. Both World Cup and the CHAN and U20 ate all important. CE may focus solely on SE and it's FB players but NFF's duties are far more expansive.
If you cannot have all players available for these internationals, why should NFF run games with a number of players who will not even get an invitation to the WCQs when you can blend those who might along with players certain to be part of the team to the CHAN?
In my view, NFF can not be derelict in its duty to Nigeria. If CHAN is unimportant, why even enter the competition? The fact that Nigeria is is part of it indicates its importance.
- The YeyeMan
EII, some competitions are more important than others. I'm sure you recognise this.
Nobody is saying CHAN is unimportant - it's a question about priorities.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
In never said they shouldn’t prepare for CHAN but they don’t have to travel all the way to London to prepare for a tournament pin Africa. The NPFL has one more game to go, so camp can open within a couple of weeks for the tournament that kicks off in August.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 4:59 pmLollyLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 4:35 pmOga, you never disappoint on issues concerning our home based players. Since when did we need a FIFA window or friendly games outside Africa to prepare for CHAN? Why use the only opportunity you have to prepare for the WC to prepare for CHAN instead? I tire for you o.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 3:51 pmDammy,Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:47 pmHe said it wasn’t true and I told him that if that was the case, Nigerian fans in the UK are going to boycott the matches. He then said he would make some calls and get back to me. He was rattled by the possibility of fans not turning up.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:31 pmYep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 am
It’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.
There is no justification for taking only 12 players out of the 23 to a 4-nation tournament in London when you can camp all 24 players in Africa and play friendly matches against African teams. That is proper preparation not the marketing jamboree in London.
The real problem is this.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 4:35 pmOga, you never disappoint on issues concerning our home based players. Since when did we need a FIFA window or friendly games outside Africa to prepare for CHAN? Why use the only opportunity you have to prepare for the WC to prepare for CHAN instead? I tire for you o.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 3:51 pmDammy,Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:47 pmHe said it wasn’t true and I told him that if that was the case, Nigerian fans in the UK are going to boycott the matches. He then said he would make some calls and get back to me. He was rattled by the possibility of fans not turning up.Lolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 2:31 pmYep. I spoke to him yesterday and also relayed the same information to him. And he said that was the primary reason he was in Abuja. Those NFF guys don’t have the interest of the fans at heart and are only concerned about themselves and the benefits they get from being involved in our football.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 10:13 amMy source in the NFF told me Pedro is in Nigeria currently. I told him that Nigerians in the UK are no longer interested in the UC because of the composition of the teamLolly wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 9:32 amIt’s not the players. The NFF boys want the coach to use new and fringe players especially home based players. The organiser of the tournament is in Abuja trying to talk sense into them but they are not budging. I wish we can have a coach who will put his foot down and resign if necessary and not allow players to be imposed on him.Dammy wrote: ↑Sun May 11, 2025 8:47 am All the key players should assemble for the Unity Cup unless they have genuine reasons that can be verified.
The Unity Cup IS NOT IN THE FIFA WINDOW.
There are no other countries besides those in the Unity Cup playing matches until June 5.
So the question to be asked is, why the fock was this tournament organized for late May ?
Now it happens that primarily French and German based players will be able to show up because their leagues end a week earlier than all the other major leagues, but again why were these dates chosen ?
There’s new developments! FIFA have approved the friendlies, so the clubs are mandated to release the players, so most of our top players now be available for the UC. I hope this new development puts paid to the idea of bringing 12 home based players for the UC
I
I
...good luck having all the first teamers show.Dammy wrote: ↑Mon May 12, 2025 11:28 am There’s new developments! FIFA have approved the friendlies, so the clubs are mandated to release the players, so most of our top players now be available for the UC. I hope this new development puts paid to the idea of bringing 12 home based players for the UC
I
It's end of the season. Many will stay put to help their club.
Many/some will claim injury.
Some will have visa issues.
Some will want to satrt early vacation.
Nothing new about all the above.
Remember long long time ago, one influential player claimed he did not know where the stadium is

- danfo driver
2 things --mcal wrote: ↑Mon May 12, 2025 12:18 pm...good luck having all the first teamers show.Dammy wrote: ↑Mon May 12, 2025 11:28 am There’s new developments! FIFA have approved the friendlies, so the clubs are mandated to release the players, so most of our top players now be available for the UC. I hope this new development puts paid to the idea of bringing 12 home based players for the UC
I
Remember long long time ago, one influential player claimed he did not know where the stadium is![]()
1. we do NOT need the likes of Osimhen and Lookman for this tournament. The quarrel about having 12 homebased players is not about having Iwobi, Lookman and Osimhen. The issue is that we have a laundry list of players who have performed this season and are knocking on the SE door. This tournament is the right opportunity to see if they can handle the pressure of playing for Nigeria and assimilate them into the "culture" of the team. 6-8 spots should go to such guys. And if we want to be overly ambitious, the 12 spots should go to those guys.
2. When Chelle was hired, he went on a Europe trip, visiting the players and bragging about being their big brother. I know he has lied to us before, but did he lie about those "big brother relationship building" as well? I understand that many of us are damaged - due to experiences of JJ and the likes losing their way in taxis and forgettin g their passports. But modern day relationship is different. if a coach has a relationship with the players all he has to do is pick up the phone and have a conversation 2 months ago. An honest and real relationship means that in that call, the coach will discuss with the player and inform him why he needs him. The player will let the coach know why he can or cannot show up and they will come to a decision TOGETHER! If the player needs a vacation (like every normal human being), the coach will approve it and not call him up. If the player - like Osimhen - needs to focus on his transfer, the coach will not call him up. IT REALLY IS THAT SIMPLE. Its absolutely ridiculous and weird that we still think players will just wake up in the morning of camp and decide not to show up when they have a good relationship with the coach -- HELL, EVEN OSIMHEN TOLD FINIDI THAT EVEN THOUGH HE WAS INJURED, HE WILL COME TO CAMP AND CLAP FOR THE TEAM FROM THE STANDS!!!
Dont forget that the player who did not know where the stadium was tried to retire multiple times so he can spend time with his family, but Nigerians shamelessly refused and kept dragging the poor man into old age. If he had a good relationship with the coach and the coach at that time had the best interest of that player at heart, he would have helped the player to retire.
Nothing more to add on the highlighted. That’s what should be happening, not a marketing jamboree in London for the boys at home.danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon May 12, 2025 2:03 pm2 things --mcal wrote: ↑Mon May 12, 2025 12:18 pm...good luck having all the first teamers show.Dammy wrote: ↑Mon May 12, 2025 11:28 am There’s new developments! FIFA have approved the friendlies, so the clubs are mandated to release the players, so most of our top players now be available for the UC. I hope this new development puts paid to the idea of bringing 12 home based players for the UC
I
Remember long long time ago, one influential player claimed he did not know where the stadium is![]()
1. we do NOT need the likes of Osimhen and Lookman for this tournament. The quarrel about having 12 homebased players is not about having Iwobi, Lookman and Osimhen. The issue is that we have a laundry list of players who have performed this season and are knocking on the SE door. This tournament is the right opportunity to see if they can handle the pressure of playing for Nigeria and assimilate them into the "culture" of the team. 6-8 spots should go to such guys. And if we want to be overly ambitious, the 12 spots should go to those guys.
2. When Chelle was hired, he went on a Europe trip, visiting the players and bragging about being their big brother. I know he has lied to us before, but did he lie about those "big brother relationship building" as well? I understand that many of us are damaged - due to experiences of JJ and the likes losing their way in taxis and forgettin g their passports. But modern day relationship is different. if a coach has a relationship with the players all he has to do is pick up the phone and have a conversation 2 months ago. An honest and real relationship means that in that call, the coach will discuss with the player and inform him why he needs him. The player will let the coach know why he can or cannot show up and they will come to a decision TOGETHER! If the player needs a vacation (like every normal human being), the coach will approve it and not call him up. If the player - like Osimhen - needs to focus on his transfer, the coach will not call him up. IT REALLY IS THAT SIMPLE. Its absolutely ridiculous and weird that we still think players will just wake up in the morning of camp and decide not to show up when they have a good relationship with the coach -- HELL, EVEN OSIMHEN TOLD FINIDI THAT EVEN THOUGH HE WAS INJURED, HE WILL COME TO CAMP AND CLAP FOR THE TEAM FROM THE STANDS!!!
Dont forget that the player who did not know where the stadium was tried to retire multiple times so he can spend time with his family, but Nigerians shamelessly refused and kept dragging the poor man into old age. If he had a good relationship with the coach and the coach at that time had the best interest of that player at heart, he would have helped the player to retire.