How do we Play Chrisantus?

Re: How do we Play Chrisantus?

Lolly wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 1:55 pm
Babalawo wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 10:48 am
Lolly wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 9:56 am Let’s see him play a few more minutes before concluding that he will displace any player in the team.
If you watched him at Getafe last season you would know the boy is ready for SE prime time.

His numbers last season (4G, 6A, 33 Games) not bad, but still not as good as Iwobis (9G, 6A, 38 Games).
There’s something energetic about his play that we desperately need in the SE.

A 3-way midfield of…

………………....Iwobi………………….Chrisantus…………..

………………………………….Frank………………………………….

might bring the stability we desperately need in the midfield.
Frank is not a defensive midfielder and I wouldn’t play him there. Ndidi is still the best we have at the moment even with his shortcomings. I think Onyedika is still learning his trade in that position and can’t seem to be ready to bench Ndidi as we’ve seen from the different coaches who have refused to start hon ahead of Ndidi.

On Chrisantus, he has played in different positions for his club and not as a central midfielder in most cases. I would still like to see him play at least 65 minutes for the SE before I judge him. No doubt, he comes with a decent record for Getafe.
No he is not. You are still looking at Ndidi with the same eye from 5 years ago.

Ndidi is NOT close to the level of Onyedika. Not even close. The one who is "learning his trade" was bossing CL last season and the other one who is the master was relegated :rotf: :rotf: -- I saw Ndidi in multiple games and he was pitiful! I remember the Man U game before the March friendlies and it was sad to see him in that state. The useless Man U midfield dragged him around on the floor like a rag doll.

I know Nigerians are afraid of change and you guys tend to eat your own vomit (Obasanjo, Buhari etc etc); but sometimes its good to eat fresh food. :oops:

The only reason Ndidi starts for Nigeria is the same reason Nigeria cannot seem to accept the end of Musa and Iheanacho, its because he has people in the NFF who as his people. We all know this, lets not deceive ourselves. Nigeria is such a weird society -- people use age and familiarity to make decisions, while sabotaging the country.

Lolly wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 9:56 am Let’s see him play a few more minutes before concluding that he will displace any player in the team.
If you watched him at Getafe last season you would know the boy is ready for SE prime time.

His numbers last season (4G, 6A, 33 Games) not bad, but still not as good as Iwobis (9G, 6A, 38 Games).

A 3-way midfield of…

Frank is not a defensive midfielder and I wouldn’t play him there. Ndidi is still the best we have at the moment even with his shortcomings. I think Onyedika is still learning his trade in that position and can’t seem to be ready to bench Ndidi as we’ve seen from the different coaches who have refused to start hon ahead of Ndidi.

On Chrisantus, he has played in different positions for his club and not as a central midfielder in most cases. I would still like to see him play at least 65 minutes for the SE before I judge him. No doubt, he comes with a decent record for Getafe.

Not sure what you're talking about.

He plays as part of a double pivot in defensive MF for Augsburg, and earlier in his career, a single pivot.
Yes he has the engine to play box to box as Brentford often used him, but he is a DM and played there in our AFCON run...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 2:38 pm

A 3-way midfield of…

He plays as part of a double pivot in defensive MF for Augsburg, and earlier in his career, a single pivot.
Yes he has the engine to play box to box as Brentford often used him, but he is a DM and played there in our AFCON run...
And was unbelievable!

A 3-way midfield of…

I know what I am talking about.

He wasn’t a DM at Brentford, and was not a DM at Augsburg. And he is listed as a CM on all his profiles. He has played as a second deep lying CM for Augsburg and for the SE at AFCON along side Iwobi. Does that AFCON run also make Iwobi a DM?

I hope the coach tries it, so we can see who is wrong.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

I need to rewatch the final 15 mins vs Jamaica.
No other Highlights of him in the game on YouTube yet, and this one is too short.

Lolly wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 4:04 pm

A 3-way midfield of…

I know what I am talking about.

He wasn’t a DM at Brentford, and was not a DM at Augsburg. And he is listed as a CM on all his profiles. He has played as a second deep lying CM for Augsburg and for the SE at AFCON along side Iwobi. Does that AFCON run also make Iwobi a DM?

I hope the coach tries it, so we can see who is wrong.
Lolly,
Frank played as a DM in all 7 games at the last AFCON with Iwobi playing a deep CM role. There’s no harm in playing him or Onyedika as DM’s.

Watch the 2mins clip posted above by Damunk and see how much impact Chrisantus made in just 15mins.
We need a pacy and strong AM with good vision for passing and a flare for scoring goals.

Chrisantus +\- Iwobi playing behind Lookman and Osimhen would provide the goals, and if Chukwueze decides to be Chukwueze on a good day and not a headless chicken, we can dismantle any Defence brought forward against us.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

danfo driver wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 2:25 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 5:58 am
Agbako wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 5:28 am
danfo driver wrote: Sun Jun 01, 2025 4:31 pm P.s-- I consider Iwobi untouchable. He is our best midfielder by a distance, uncontested.
Danfo ... Naaaahh ... lets be honest with ourselves. Did we miss Mr Iwobi in this recent two games played?

Answer me honestly. For me his absence the better. But if you all think he is the best we can muster in that midfield? Then we will continue to struggle. He got his qualities. But not enough to help our Attackers ... PERIOD.
Iwobi is a system player, he does well when the team has gelled in an established system. He’s not a primary creator but he’s complimentary in many aspects of the game. If you have to win, do t depend on him. If you’re about to win, he’s your man.
This is false. The sad fact is that you guys watch games, without seeing the games. His last 2 SE coaches and teammates have actually tried to tell you the truth, but you are refusing to listen -- Iwobi has sacrificed himself and his own success for the Eagles in the last 2 coaches. He has agreed to play defensively because the coaches have asked him to do it. Many players will say "NO!" and the coach cant do sh1t about it. Iwobi did not.

Last season, Iwobi was one of the top midfielders in the EPL - easily. No contest. While your 3 midfielders whom played against Div 2 and 3 Jamaican players - Ndidi, got relegated; Onyeka, was sent on loan like a youth team child; and Chukwueze was so embarrassing that he became 6th choice. :lol: :lol: :lol:

You guys are the worst thing to happen to Nigerian football. Its almost like your main goal is to infiltrate our fanbase and then destroy our team from within. Imagine a guy (Agbako) saying our midfield was better without Iwobi in this tournament. Dude! Did you see the opposition? :lol: When we go to the AFCON and if we go to the WC, you think the dross we played against at the Unity Cup is what we will compete against at the WC? :lol:

Eeerrmmnn Danfo what are you on about here? kindly make your comments with fair decorum. Its amazing you feel everybody is against our team on this platform just because of individual opinions? I rarely chat here. If you highly feel Iwobi is the best thing since slice bread in our midfield for you. So be it pal.

But for you to try and riddle this team performance this past weekend as playing against 2 very rival teams in our history of playing each other to DIV, 2-3 players take the cake.

What will your comment be if Ghana and Jamaica supposedly low DIV team players beat the Eagles?

Abeg lets celebrate the little success.

Iwobi is our best creative midfielder. Easily.

Many people continue to hate on him but it remains the truth.

Tall of delegating him to the bench or even the wing is nonsense.

He should play centrally with less defensive responsibility than he was given under our previous coaches.

IMO our best formation is a central midfield 3

AM, CM, DM

Iwobi is our AM

the CM will be a mox of offencive and defensive player which I believe Uche would fit and thus leaving Onyeka, Onyedika, and Ndidi o fight for the DM role.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 10:31 pm Iwobi is our best creative midfielder. Easily.

He should play centrally with less defensive responsibility than he was given under our previous coaches.

AM, CM, DM

Iwobi is our AM

the CM will be a mox of offencive and defensive player which I believe Uche would fit and thus leaving Onyeka, Onyedika, and Ndidi o fight for the DM role.
Uhmm no he's not

Babalawo wrote: Sun Jun 01, 2025 3:15 pm Truth be told this guy is a proper energetic Attacking Midfielder with an eye for goal and deserves to start in the SE moving forward.
I had the opportunity to watch a couple of his La Liga games and with what he offered in his few minutes of the Jamaican game, I am pretty convinced we need him as a starter in the squad.

I currently rate him above FD.Bashiru and Onyedika.
Problem is does he displace Iwobi from the squad if we must use Ndidi and Frank in the same game? Or do we use the ANC24 format of playing Frank as our DM with Iwobi and Chrisantus playing just in front of the DM?

If we are to play Chukwueze in his new exciting role of RWF + roaming box-box AM, we need a true AM/CM with fast twitch leg fibers that can mop up the lost balls because we know Chukwueze will give away the ball 3/5 times while dribbling in and around the box. I think that player is Chrisantus.

Playing Simon Moses and Chukweze in the same game leads to too many frustrating to-watch ball losing moment during an attack. Both are average crossers of the ball and with how good Osimhen and Tolu can be with aerial balls it’s time to find proper wing backs that can overlap and cross. Aina is decent at this. I didn’t get to see Felix Agu overlap that much and send in crosses, he seemed stuck with trying to do the 1-2 with Simon and a few times appeared indecisive about overlapping behind Moses. With these RWB and LWB limitations we need midfielders than can cross!

I hope Chelle gets to start Chrisantus and Tolu against Russia, now that would be exciting to watch. Two strong imposing footballers in an around the 18yrs box.

For the WCQ, my guess formation would be:

……………………………………….OSimhen……………………………

………………..Lookman………………………………..Chukwueze..

………………………………Iwobi/Chrisantus………………………..

…………………………..Onyeka……………….Ndidi…………………….

……….Felix………..Bassey……………….Ekong……………Aina….

…………………………….……..Maduka……………………………………..

Subs: Tolu for Osimhen
Simon for Lookman
FDB or Tella for Chukwueze
Onyedika for Onyeka
Ogbu for Bassey
Benjamin for Ekong
B.O Samuel
Boniface
Dressers
B. Onyemaechi
Nwabali
The player he's most similar to is Onyeka IMO, they're both high energy ball carriers, from central areas who cover a lot of ground. Ball distribution isn't terrible though limited.

You people here are either drunk on Alomo bitters or you’re straight up corrupt to the bone marrow.

Uche is the biggest addition to SE since Osihmen by country mile. He’s a guaranteed starter no matter who has to sit on the bench including Iwobi,Ndidi and Onyeka. There’re only 3 players he cannot replace, Vic, Lookman and the goalie, everybody else is secondary. Iwobi is a good player no doubt, but he’s part of the core that hasn’t performed for SE. He must own the result like every other player on the team. We cannot expect a different result with the same set of players. Imho, Uche must be accommodated in the same way Mikel was when he was called to SE. Nothing more nothing less. O pari.

Babalawo wrote: Sun Jun 01, 2025 3:15 pm Truth be told this guy is a proper energetic Attacking Midfielder with an eye for goal and deserves to start in the SE moving forward.
I had the opportunity to watch a couple of his La Liga games and with what he offered in his few minutes of the Jamaican game, I am pretty convinced we need him as a starter in the squad.

I currently rate him above FD.Bashiru and Onyedika.
Problem is does he displace Iwobi from the squad if we must use Ndidi and Frank in the same game? Or do we use the ANC24 format of playing Frank as our DM with Iwobi and Chrisantus playing just in front of the DM?

If we are to play Chukwueze in his new exciting role of RWF + roaming box-box AM, we need a true AM/CM with fast twitch leg fibers that can mop up the lost balls because we know Chukwueze will give away the ball 3/5 times while dribbling in and around the box. I think that player is Chrisantus.

Playing Simon Moses and Chukweze in the same game leads to too many frustrating to-watch ball losing moment during an attack. Both are average crossers of the ball and with how good Osimhen and Tolu can be with aerial balls it’s time to find proper wing backs that can overlap and cross. Aina is decent at this. I didn’t get to see Felix Agu overlap that much and send in crosses, he seemed stuck with trying to do the 1-2 with Simon and a few times appeared indecisive about overlapping behind Moses. With these RWB and LWB limitations we need midfielders than can cross!

I hope Chelle gets to start Chrisantus and Tolu against Russia, now that would be exciting to watch. Two strong imposing footballers in an around the 18yrs box.

For the WCQ, my guess formation would be:

……………………………………….OSimhen……………………………

………………..Lookman………………………………..Chukwueze..

………………………………Iwobi/Chrisantus………………………..

…………………………..Onyeka……………….Ndidi…………………….

……….Felix………..Bassey……………….Ekong……………Aina….

…………………………….……..Maduka……………………………………..

Subs: Tolu for Osimhen
Simon for Lookman
FDB or Tella for Chukwueze
Onyedika for Onyeka
Ogbu for Bassey
Benjamin for Ekong
B.O Samuel
Boniface
Dressers
B. Onyemaechi
Nwabali
I see how you smuggled in your client! :veryangry: :curse:

Nwabali is undisputed number one.

Now, unto the field players. We need to find a replacement for Ekong in terms of organizing the defense...
The question is, who will it be?
Is Fedrick close to being a leader at the back?
I like Semi but he too can't control Bassey.
Don't know if Ogbu can get it done.
So how do you create a balance? ...utility vs organization/leadership

For my fullbacks I rather have Aina playing on his best side (Right back) than him playing LB.
Won't mind moving Bassey back to LB. or play Agu there (a position he played credibly well in the friendly).

I would play two holding midfielders... Onyedika and Onyeka -- I like the depth of bringing in Ndidi. and Chrisantus to play more centrally but with holding responsibility.
I would want to give Iwobi a free role in midfield. with Chukwueze being his deputy (substitute).
I would have Simon start along with Lookman as support for Osimhen.

------------------Nwabili---------------------
Aina --- Semi/Fredrick---Bassey/Ogbu--- Bassey/Agu
--------Onyeka ------Onyedika------
-----------------Iwobi-----------------
---Lookman------------------Simon---
-----------------Osimhen---------------------

Jmal

Post by Jmal »

NAIjAND

Post by NAIjAND »

Jmal wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 7:12 am
This video was very helpful. I cant say I have watched much of the boy but what I can see is that he is a pure midfielder while I was thinking he is an attacker.

He seems to still be a bit raw but would have loved to see more of him in the Unity Cup. I cant say Eric Chelle has gained much in preparation for his toughest games ahead. :(

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 11:04 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Jun 02, 2025 10:31 pm Iwobi is our best creative midfielder. Easily.

AM, CM, DM

Iwobi is our AM

Uhmm no he's not

Who is?

NAIjAND wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 8:45 am
This video was very helpful. I cant say I have watched much of the boy but what I can see is that he is a pure midfielder while I was thinking he is an attacker.

He seems to still be a bit raw but would have loved to see more of him in the Unity Cup. I cant say Eric Chelle has gained much in preparation for his toughest games ahead. :(
Last season I watched more LaLiga games than I had done in my entire life, just so I could catch him play for Getafe. Dude is an absolute baller! The way he transitions play from deep in the middle to the opponents 18 yard box is a delight to watch.

Chelle needs to find a way to accommodate Iwobi, Chris and Frank in the midfield if he must replicate his “Mali Midfield Magic” with the S.Eagles.
I like Iwobi, but I wouldn’t blink an eyelid if he is benched for Chrisantus.

Babalawo wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 9:48 pm

Last season I watched more LaLiga games than I had done in my entire life, just so I could catch him play for Getafe. Dude is an absolute baller! The way he transitions play from deep in the middle to the opponents 18 yard box is a delight to watch.

Chelle needs to find a way to accommodate Iwobi, Chris and Frank in the midfield if he must replicate his “Mali Midfield Magic” with the S.Eagles.
Bros, you need to go on vacation sharp sharp... the zinc and lead for Naija water don skatta ya brain.

This is the Mikel Obi type of insult Naijarians bin dey heap on Mikel.

Iwobi is the best creative midfielder and the best teammate dem get... he swallows his pride and his ability to do more to do what is best for the team.

What the team needs is, as you pointed out, to find midfielders who can run, mark, show for ball and know what to do with the ball when they get it... no need to overelaborate on the ball. Then have 6 or 7 of dem and run them to the ground. With the ability to change them without much of a drop-off.

Iwobi should be starting and be tasked to give you 60-70 minutes of everything he got and then bring in someone to sustain the momentum... there enters Chrisantus.

Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 9:58 pm
Babalawo wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 9:48 pm

Bros, you need to go on vacation sharp sharp... the zinc and lead for Naija water don skatta ya brain.

This is the Mikel Obi type of insult Naijarians bin dey heap on Mikel.

Iwobi is the best creative midfielder and the best teammate dem get... he swallows his pride and his ability to do more to do what is best for the team.

What the team needs is, as you pointed out, to find midfielders who can run, mark, show for ball and know what to do with the ball when they get it... no need to overelaborate on the ball. Then have 6 or 7 of dem and run them to the ground. With the ability to change them without much of a drop-off.

Iwobi should be starting and be tasked to give you 60-70 minutes of everything he got and then bring in someone to sustain the momentum... there enters Chrisantus.

I am calm to those comments because thankfully, the coach knows who his best midfielder is. Thank God for that.

I was one of Iwobi's biggest critics, especially when he was hanging out with that 419 criminal in Dubai and letting his football go to waste. But over the last 2 seasons, Iwobi has been one of the top 5 midfielders in the EPL. Especially last season when he was unbelievable. Af AFCON, he was our best midfielder and his teammates openly thanked him for his sacrifice (its all over the internet for anyone who needs proof). No other midfielder on our team comes close!

For me, I’m a fan of playing a guy in the same position he plays for his club unless he’s special like Mbappe, who can play as a striker or on the wings. Iwobi had a lot of success this season on the wings and I don’t mind if we bench Chukwueze for Iwobi and let Uche do his thing.

@Cellular & Danfo

Keyword “If”… Iwobi is benched.

I am actually convinced both (Iwobi & Chrisantus) can play at the same time, both had fantastic seasons clubside, both offer creativity going forward.

We can sacrifice Moses Simon and have Iwobi Play the LMF role with an overlapping full back in Agu or Bassey to support. Replace Ndidi with Onyeka or Onyedika and finally have a very mobile midfield that does not develop a brain freeze as soon as they get to the 18yrd box.
Gadfly

Post by Gadfly »

Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 3:38 am Is Fedrick close to being a leader at the back?
I’d suggest trying Ndidi at CB next to Bassey; he seems more capable of organizing Bassey than the other players you listed. From the two Unity Cup games I watched, Ogbu looks like a natural sweeper in a 3-5-2, while Frederick fits best at right-back in a 4-3-3, 4-4-2, 4-2-3-1, or similar setups.

Just my 1 kobo.

Gadfly wrote: Wed Jun 04, 2025 12:05 am
Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 3:38 am Is Fedrick close to being a leader at the back?
I’d suggest trying Ndidi at CB next to Bassey; he seems more capable of organizing Bassey than the other players you listed. From the two Unity Cup games I watched, Ogbu looks like a natural sweeper in a 3-5-2, while Frederick fits best at right-back in a 4-3-3, 4-4-2, 4-2-3-1, or similar setups.

Just my 1 kobo.
Ha! Uncle! This is calamity waiting to happen. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

We need to let go. I know sometimes it can be painful to let go, but we need to learn to let go. We cant force squares in round holes just because we cant let go. We have enough CBs, lets use them. If Ndidi is good enough, he will compete fair and square with the other DMs and take the position --- but we all know the truth, he is FINISHED! So, let us let go! Its will be okay.

Babalawo wrote: Tue Jun 03, 2025 11:42 pm @Cellular & Danfo

Keyword “If”… Iwobi is benched.

I am actually convinced both (Iwobi & Chrisantus) can play at the same time, both had fantastic seasons clubside, both offer creativity going forward.

We can sacrifice Moses Simon and have Iwobi Play the LMF role with an overlapping full back in Agu or Bassey to support. Replace Ndidi with Onyeka or Onyedika and finally have a very mobile midfield that does not develop a brain freeze as soon as they get to the 18yrd box.
Unfortunately, we don enter one chance with Simon. Chelle seems to be his daddy and there is no turning back there. We simply have to accept that situation.