Did Mikel lie about the flight tickets to Rio?
Re: Did Mikel lie about the flight tickets to Rio?
Kai, imagine what would have happened if the Japanese billionaire transfered the money to NFF,Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:28 pmThank you.nzeogwu wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:53 pm No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
Yemi Idowu also paid SiaSia’s salary. Till today, he has never been reimbursed by the NFF and that soured his relationship with SS.
How Mikel could have paid for tickets and at what point, I am not sure.
This has already being discussed here a few years ago and even Siasia said it on tape that Yemi Idowu gave him $250,000 towards the plane. Unless Mikel paid someone else and the coaching crew were not involved. But that couldn’t have been for the plane that the coach paid for.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=318239
Who was responsible for the team? The NFF, NOC or the then Federal Ministry of Sports?
Olympic football is not the responsibility of the NFF at the games, that’s why teams wear jerseys with their country’s Olympic logo on them rather than the football federation logo.
As soon as the team qualifies for the Olympics proper, they become the responsibility of the NOC who have a budget approved through the Ministry of Sports by the FG.
The refund to Nathaniel Idowu is the responsibility of the NOC/ NSC.
I wouldn’t be surprised if the refund has already been approved and collected by some people
Olympic football is not the responsibility of the NFF at the games, that’s why teams wear jerseys with their country’s Olympic logo on them rather than the football federation logo.
As soon as the team qualifies for the Olympics proper, they become the responsibility of the NOC who have a budget approved through the Ministry of Sports by the FG.
The refund to Nathaniel Idowu is the responsibility of the NOC/ NSC.
I wouldn’t be surprised if the refund has already been approved and collected by some people
...damn sick people. So much dishonesty, lies, fraud, all in the open.
I KPOM THIS POST. Mikel did not pay for everything. Now, I am going beyond the flight to mention other needs of the team at the time. That much should be clear. There were several others even beyond Chief Idowu who contributed towards the team during that Olympics. While one hopes that Siasia did not use those words, it is pretty much important for him to come out and dispute a claim that Mikel was entirely responsible because Siasia was front and center seeking assistance at that time and he cannot sit back and fail to acknowledge the fact that several others contributed. Afterall his integrity would be on the line.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 7:18 pmMikel paid for some of their bills but not all. A few other guys in Atlanta who used to play soccer with Siasia also raised money for the team and helped with other expenses. And another Nigerian guy helped broker the Delta deal.anointed wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:58 pmIn other words, if Siasia didn't speak up on this issue, the Yemi Idowu would think Siasia didn't use the money for its intended purpose and it was Mikel who actually paid.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:28 pmThank you.nzeogwu wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:53 pm No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
Yemi Idowu also paid SiaSia’s salary. Till today, he has never been reimbursed by the NFF and that soured his relationship with SS.
This has already being discussed here a few years ago and even Siasia said it on tape that Yemi Idowu gave him $250,000 towards the plane. Unless Mikel paid someone else and the coaching crew were not involved. But that couldn’t have been for the plane that the coach paid for.
What I have also always believed was that Mikel bailed the team out.
Sadly, Yemi Idowu does not believe Siasia. Yemi is the son of Late Chief Nathaniel Idowu, who himself once solely sponsored the SE to one of the AFCONS. So philanthropy runs in the family.
In my view, Mikel should not have made that statement. He could simply have stated what he contributed to assist the team and not go beyond that which surely will annoy others who contributed towards that team. I can full understand Siasia's annoyance eventhough it would have been better to choose other words than the ones he choose.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
...but EII, a player or players, or coach should not be footing the country's national team bill. It's an eyesore, a damn shame.
If Nigeria can come up with funds why enter a tournament?
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Mikel is 100% right.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 11:57 am Mikel dey sometimes exaggerate, SSS has a different tory....![]()
controversy sells
I believe this site has archives of the narrative from the time this episode occurred.
3 sources of funds were secured for the same transport. The 4th attempt was Delta airlines.
Someone gamed the system and shared the money with others.
To see Siasia rubbish Mikel is just plain sad and unfortunate.
Exactly, and to make matters worse, Siasia still has a pending court case with the Idowu guy, so Mikels statement has made his chances of winning the case even worse.Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 10:15 pmI KPOM THIS POST. Mikel did not pay for everything. Now, I am going beyond the flight to mention other needs of the team at the time. That much should be clear. There were several others even beyond Chief Idowu who contributed towards the team during that Olympics. While one hopes that Siasia did not use those words, it is pretty much important for him to come out and dispute a claim that Mikel was entirely responsible because Siasia was front and center seeking assistance at that time and he cannot sit back and fail to acknowledge the fact that several others contributed. Afterall his integrity would be on the line.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 7:18 pmMikel paid for some of their bills but not all. A few other guys in Atlanta who used to play soccer with Siasia also raised money for the team and helped with other expenses. And another Nigerian guy helped broker the Delta deal.anointed wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:58 pmIn other words, if Siasia didn't speak up on this issue, the Yemi Idowu would think Siasia didn't use the money for its intended purpose and it was Mikel who actually paid.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:28 pmThank you.nzeogwu wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:53 pm No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
Sadly, Yemi Idowu does not believe Siasia. Yemi is the son of Late Chief Nathaniel Idowu, who himself once solely sponsored the SE to one of the AFCONS. So philanthropy runs in the family.
In my view, Mikel should not have made that statement. He could simply have stated what he contributed to assist the team and not go beyond that which surely will annoy others who contributed towards that team. I can full understand Siasia's annoyance eventhough it would have been better to choose other words than the ones he choose.
In a normal country?Yes, but we are talking about Nigeria here. In a normal country, the football federation would have come out to address the issue and followed up to get to the root of this! But not my country.
Mcal,
True word. It should not be happening. However, it did happen and the issue is that credit should be given to all those who assisted. The way the story is told, it appears that Mikel was the guy who solely supported the team. Fact is that he supported the team but fact is that he was not the sole supporter of the team. Multiple individuals did and in many ways. I believe Siasia's anger is based on those facts because it was Siasia who bore the brunt of contacting, seeking, and obtaining support from multiple persons and those persons maybe wondering why their support was not acknowledged.... did Siasia not transmit their support to appropriate quarters? Why is their support not being acknowledged? Did something go wrong with the money they gave in support? .... Those are concerns that may arise after listening to this.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- TonyTheTigerKiller
EII,Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 10:15 pmI KPOM THIS POST. Mikel did not pay for everything. Now, I am going beyond the flight to mention other needs of the team at the time. That much should be clear. There were several others even beyond Chief Idowu who contributed towards the team during that Olympics. While one hopes that Siasia did not use those words, it is pretty much important for him to come out and dispute a claim that Mikel was entirely responsible because Siasia was front and center seeking assistance at that time and he cannot sit back and fail to acknowledge the fact that several others contributed. Afterall his integrity would be on the line.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 7:18 pmMikel paid for some of their bills but not all. A few other guys in Atlanta who used to play soccer with Siasia also raised money for the team and helped with other expenses. And another Nigerian guy helped broker the Delta deal.anointed wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:58 pmIn other words, if Siasia didn't speak up on this issue, the Yemi Idowu would think Siasia didn't use the money for its intended purpose and it was Mikel who actually paid.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:28 pmThank you.nzeogwu wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:53 pm No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
We are not privy to all of the facts. It is not beyond the realm of possibility that the money Idowu allegedly gave Siasia for the flight was not used for that purpose, creating the need for Mikel to get involved in that regard. Having said that, I also wouldn’t rule out the possibility that Mikel was, simply, scammed by some unknown individual. With Nigeria, anything is possible
TTTKTonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Tue Jun 24, 2025 1:25 pmEII,Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 10:15 pmI KPOM THIS POST. Mikel did not pay for everything. Now, I am going beyond the flight to mention other needs of the team at the time. That much should be clear. There were several others even beyond Chief Idowu who contributed towards the team during that Olympics. While one hopes that Siasia did not use those words, it is pretty much important for him to come out and dispute a claim that Mikel was entirely responsible because Siasia was front and center seeking assistance at that time and he cannot sit back and fail to acknowledge the fact that several others contributed. Afterall his integrity would be on the line.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 7:18 pmMikel paid for some of their bills but not all. A few other guys in Atlanta who used to play soccer with Siasia also raised money for the team and helped with other expenses. And another Nigerian guy helped broker the Delta deal.anointed wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:58 pmIn other words, if Siasia didn't speak up on this issue, the Yemi Idowu would think Siasia didn't use the money for its intended purpose and it was Mikel who actually paid.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:28 pmThank you.nzeogwu wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:53 pm No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
We are not privy to all of the facts. It is not beyond the realm of possibility that the money Idowu allegedly gave Siasia for the flight was not used for that purpose, creating the need for Mikel to get involved in that regard. Having said that, I also wouldn’t rule out the possibility that Mikel was, simply, scammed by some unknown individual. With Nigeria, anything is possible
True word but only those involved can be privy. We, like in all other cases, solve the puzzle by putting together what the witnesses all claim.
For me, it seems necessary to always acknowledge all those who stood up to help.
Sadly, what is .missing here is any talk on Solomon Dalung who was Minister and under whom there was a budget for the team. What happened to the money?
...it is sickening, simple as that.Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Jun 24, 2025 1:23 pmMcal,
True word. It should not be happening. However, it did happen and the issue is that credit should be given to all those who assisted. The way the story is told, it appears that Mikel was the guy who solely supported the team. Fact is that he supported the team but fact is that he was not the sole supporter of the team. Multiple individuals did and in many ways. I believe Siasia's anger is based on those facts because it was Siasia who bore the brunt of contacting, seeking, and obtaining support from multiple persons and those persons maybe wondering why their support was not acknowledged.... did Siasia not transmit their support to appropriate quarters? Why is their support not being acknowledged? Did something go wrong with the money they gave in support? .... Those are concerns that may arise after listening to this.
These things continue to happen, and everyone keep hailing and saying Ranka ya Dede/i] to those at the top.
Crimes and fraud are committed in plain sight no one bats and eye.
I can't just imagine being a player focused playing and winning a match, and here we are don't know how to get to match venue hundreds of miles away.
There were too many stories on CE at the time for us to not be able to figure this out by just using our own research.
It’s pretty obvious to me that Mikel isn’t telling the truth. Or maybe he was duped to pay for a flight that was free
The same Solomon Dalung that chopped IAAF funds and was talking gibberish!Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Jun 24, 2025 1:46 pmTTTKTonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Tue Jun 24, 2025 1:25 pmEII,Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 10:15 pmI KPOM THIS POST. Mikel did not pay for everything. Now, I am going beyond the flight to mention other needs of the team at the time. That much should be clear. There were several others even beyond Chief Idowu who contributed towards the team during that Olympics. While one hopes that Siasia did not use those words, it is pretty much important for him to come out and dispute a claim that Mikel was entirely responsible because Siasia was front and center seeking assistance at that time and he cannot sit back and fail to acknowledge the fact that several others contributed. Afterall his integrity would be on the line.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 7:18 pmMikel paid for some of their bills but not all. A few other guys in Atlanta who used to play soccer with Siasia also raised money for the team and helped with other expenses. And another Nigerian guy helped broker the Delta deal.anointed wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:58 pmIn other words, if Siasia didn't speak up on this issue, the Yemi Idowu would think Siasia didn't use the money for its intended purpose and it was Mikel who actually paid.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:28 pmThank you.nzeogwu wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 2:53 pm No need to watch the video. Yemi Idowu paid for the initial craft before the Delta craft was secured by another businessman.
True word but only those involved can be privy. We, like in all other cases, solve the puzzle by putting together what the witnesses all claim.
For me, it seems necessary to always acknowledge all those who stood up to help.
Sadly, what is .missing here is any talk on Solomon Dalung who was Minister and under whom there was a budget for the team. What happened to the money?
It took his successor less than a month to refund the overpayment back to IAAF!
Dalung would have been part of the scam rather than provide reasonable explanation
- packerland
I get angry when I see that guy’s face. I can remember his profanity filled boasting that we would beat Ghana during the WCQ. Why does he dress like an African military warlord?Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jun 24, 2025 6:29 pmThe same Solomon Dalung that chopped IAAF funds and was talking gibberish!Enugu II wrote: ↑Tue Jun 24, 2025 1:46 pmTTTKTonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Tue Jun 24, 2025 1:25 pmEII,Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 10:15 pmI KPOM THIS POST. Mikel did not pay for everything. Now, I am going beyond the flight to mention other needs of the team at the time. That much should be clear. There were several others even beyond Chief Idowu who contributed towards the team during that Olympics. While one hopes that Siasia did not use those words, it is pretty much important for him to come out and dispute a claim that Mikel was entirely responsible because Siasia was front and center seeking assistance at that time and he cannot sit back and fail to acknowledge the fact that several others contributed. Afterall his integrity would be on the line.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 7:18 pmMikel paid for some of their bills but not all. A few other guys in Atlanta who used to play soccer with Siasia also raised money for the team and helped with other expenses. And another Nigerian guy helped broker the Delta deal.anointed wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:58 pmIn other words, if Siasia didn't speak up on this issue, the Yemi Idowu would think Siasia didn't use the money for its intended purpose and it was Mikel who actually paid.Lolly wrote: ↑Mon Jun 23, 2025 6:28 pm
Thank you.
It took his successor less than a month to refund the overpayment back to IAAF!
Dalung would have been part of the scam rather than provide reasonable explanation
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Mikel was telling the truth.
He has no reason to lie.
The people who conspired and connived to relieve some unsuspecting Naijarians of their money are known.
Chief, you can check with Mr Dolly if you want to hear the full gist. Mikel is not telling the truth.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
- Cellular
- Site Admin
Oga Lolly, do you know how many times that flight was paid for by different parties?Lolly wrote: ↑Tue Jun 24, 2025 11:25 pmChief, you can check with Mr Dolly if you want to hear the full gist. Mikel is not telling the truth.
Who was president ? Hmmm buhari. Trust lolly to defend his master's administration
By being vague, you're adding to the confusion.Cellular wrote: ↑Wed Jun 25, 2025 1:50 amOga Lolly, do you know how many times that flight was paid for by different parties?Lolly wrote: ↑Tue Jun 24, 2025 11:25 pmChief, you can check with Mr Dolly if you want to hear the full gist. Mikel is not telling the truth.
What I'm getting from what has been posted is that when the news broke that they were stranded, Delta Airlines offered to fly them for free to Brazil. It appears that before that flight was arranged, Yemi Idowu provided $250,000, which was then used to charter the plane. Where did Mikel come into this?
If you have a fuller account that differs from what those involved have stated, please share it. The insinuations without explanations don't help.
Correction. Yemi Idowu paid for a smaller plane which Mikel and some others rejected because it was too small. Then Delta got involved and gave them a bigger plane for free.Orion wrote: ↑Wed Jun 25, 2025 9:30 amBy being vague, you're adding to the confusion.Cellular wrote: ↑Wed Jun 25, 2025 1:50 amOga Lolly, do you know how many times that flight was paid for by different parties?Lolly wrote: ↑Tue Jun 24, 2025 11:25 pmChief, you can check with Mr Dolly if you want to hear the full gist. Mikel is not telling the truth.
What I'm getting from what has been posted is that when the news broke that they were stranded, Delta Airlines offered to fly them for free to Brazil. It appears that before that flight was arranged, Yemi Idowu provided $250,000, which was then used to charter the plane. Where did Mikel come into this?
If you have a fuller account that differs from what those involved have stated, please share it. The insinuations without explanations don't help.
So the trip Atlanta was arranged and “sponsored” by a guy named Bunmi Jinadu. He hoped to make money from a friendly match against an Atlanta football club and some sponsors but the match was cancelled. The NFF and NOC did not support the trip but Siasia forced it through. Hence why they didn’t want to bail him out. Yemi Osinabjo even got involved but the NOC wee playing him.
Eventually, Delta who happened to be one of the got to know about their woes and another Nigerian guy brokered a deal with Delta to carry the team to Brazil.
I already told Cellular to speak to another CE member who also knows what happened. But Cellular just wants to continue the false narrative that Mikel paid for “the plane” that took them to Brazil. That was just Mikel boasting on the show.
Thanks for the clarification. So, the $250K was wasted, or was the plane still used by part of the entourage?Lolly wrote: ↑Wed Jun 25, 2025 10:44 am Correction. Yemi Idowu paid for a smaller plane which Mikel and some others rejected because it was too small. Then Delta got involved and gave them a bigger plane for free.
So the trip Atlanta was arranged and “sponsored” by a guy named Bunmi Jinadu. He hoped to make money from a friendly match against an Atlanta football club and some sponsors but the match was cancelled. The NFF and NOC did not support the trip but Siasia forced it through. Hence why they didn’t want to bail him out. Yemi Osinabjo even got involved but the NOC wee playing him.
Eventually, Delta who happened to be one of the got to know about their woes and another Nigerian guy brokered a deal with Delta to carry the team to Brazil.
I already told Cellular to speak to another CE member who also knows what happened. But Cellular just wants to continue the false narrative that Mikel paid for “the plane” that took them to Brazil. That was just Mikel boasting on the show.
The NOC is responsible for the Nigerian contingent. It is irresponsible to allow them to fly to Atlanta and then abandon them there. Who was insuring the players against accident, injury, or even worse? No, I'm sorry, the NOC is 100% responsible for the team being in Atlanta. If anything had happened to that team, they would have been the ones held responsible. If they didn't want the players to go there, they could have easily overruled the coach, who is just an employee. Once they approved the trip, they took full responsibility for it.
This is what Mikel is doing, whereas una dey here dey big up SSS and edafe.. what do they have in common