How would Naija fare in a WC group looking like this?

Oba

Post by Oba »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Naija4ever, if I have got you straight, you are saying that a coach should never be replaced halfway through a qualification campaign. Well I have news for you, it is common practise.

Take it or leave it but Nigeria needs a world class coach to take her to the World Cup. The sooner one is appointed the better!
So we should fire CCC now.

Man, I wish we really do that so we can learn a bitter lesson. This is my last word on this issue. Na siddon look I go take. When it's time for the world cup, I would be there to cheers my team but it's no use arguing here. It's a hopeless rant, people with opposing views would never see the merit in yours. Stubborn, stubborn, stubborn.

Oba wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Naija4ever, if I have got you straight, you are saying that a coach should never be replaced halfway through a qualification campaign. Well I have news for you, it is common practise.

Take it or leave it but Nigeria needs a world class coach to take her to the World Cup. The sooner one is appointed the better!

Man, I wish we really do that so we can learn a bitter lesson. This is my last word on this issue. Na siddon look I go take. When it's time for the world cup, I would be there to cheers my team but it's no use arguing here. It's a hopeless rant, people with opposing views would never see the merit in yours. Stubborn, stubborn, stubborn.
CCC was employed on the understanding that he would work under a technical adviser. He accepted the job on that basis and I think the long-awaited technical adviser should be appointed TODAY!
scholl

Post by scholl »

Oya, dey mention those world class coaches. Hope say you get money dash NFA to pay dem salary too.
naija4ever
Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)

Post by naija4ever »

Ayo, even as pro IC as I am. if a well grounded wc fc is appointed today i will be solidly behind him or her. But then, for sanity and posterity sake, I think is best we dont disrupt the WCQ tempo as it stands...hiring new coach now could even lead us into not qualifying...then it will be back to square one. None of the previous Fcs had it easy while they were here, we lost to Liberia and Sirerra Leone of all countries with them in charge..so lets forget this for a while. Anyway I am all for whats the best for SE, I do agree that C3 has his limitations, but who doesnt? :evil: :evil: :evil: . Left for me, last year would've been the best time to hire a new wc coach, now any small mistake can have negative multiplier effects on our WCQs...Up Super Eagles!!!. The fact is to choose btw hiring an FC at the expense of the WC ticket or letting C3 continue and see what comes out of it...Personaly i would rather go for the later
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...

mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind.

The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
scholl

Post by scholl »

This would be my take

Nig-Bra: 2:2
Nig- Cze: 2:1
Nig- Greece: 0:0

Probably top the group or runners depending on other results or primarily goal difference.
rust09

Post by rust09 »

The thread title actually poses a very good question. The crux of the whole IC/FC debates i think can be summarised by one factor - What are YOUR expectations for the SE?

Is World Cup qualification enough or at this stage should we be looking to at least the last eight?

'Cos the truth is as it stands now the SE will struggle to get out of a group like that thereby necessitating a coach with proven tactical nous & experience at the highest level.

All kudos to CCC for what he has done so far but help is needed to push us to that next level.

Post by GUEST »

ANY 2 THAT QUALIFY FROM A GROUP LIKE THIS-ONE WILL BE

PLAYING FINAL DAY.

Naija4ever, we need a technical adviser to come and improve the team. The Eagles that played Gabon in Port Harcourt are just not coherent enough!

I have doubts that this team can go to Kigali and Algiers and win. Remember qualification is not yet certain. According to the logic of your theory, we should wait until CCC fails before hiring the technical adviser.

Now where is the logic in that thinking?
naija4ever
Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)

Post by naija4ever »

Oba wrote:

CCC was employed on the understanding that he would work under a technical adviser. He accepted the job on that basis and I think the long-awaited technical adviser should be appointed TODAY!
No TA worth his onions will work under the same condition C3 has been working and still produce results...Man if it aint broken why fix it?
Did u watch how france struggled at home against the Swiss? remember they have wc coach and players but still they struggled :wink: :wink: . Its only in naija that a winning coach will be criticized like this. Ayo is ur prob now cos the SE didnt score 4-0 last saturday or what? How is that C3's fault when he played Martins and JAG like most people wanted and brought Kanu only at the last mins to save us from embarassment? C'mon be fare and give the man his due, he's won and topped the group QED...Like I said b4 the end justifies the means...May I remind u that getting an FC isnt a guarantee that we must qualify, ask ghana and cameroun if in doubt...I rest my case here now. I am tired for now let me go and sleep :? :? :? :x :x
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...

mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind.

The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606

Dont we ever learn anything. There's no need to get a new coach, foreign or otherwise. We've been on that road before. If CCC qualifies us, let him take us. There's nothing like continuity.

If he fails, then we get a new coach. Look what happened when Pa Oni took over at short notice, we had the worst outing in our short WC history. ABEG NO MORE TALK OF NEW COACH. It's way too late for that.
Oba

Post by Oba »

Pajimoh and Naija4ever, thank you o!

In fact, I think we're just expending too much energy here on this topic. It ain't gonna happen. I'm happy that uncle Sege or someone in Aso Rock would block the appointment of just any journeyman. CCC would take us to the mundial.

We should be expending energy getting private initiatives to provide the quality friendlies our team needs to improve and prepare for the munidal.

naija4ever wrote: No TA worth his onions will work under the same condition C3 has been working and still produce results...Man if it aint broken why fix it?
It is broke:

[1] We play a very naive and basic formation
[2] Nigeria does not have the players to play 4-4-2
[3] Our problem on Saturday was not just missing chances. We were crap and just punted the ball forward meaninglessly
[4] France did everything right but score. Did you see any such build up play in Nigeria's game?
[5] Do you really think that this CCC's basic 4-4-2 will cut any mustard in the World Cup
[6] Can you imagine what a Fifa technical report about Nigeria's play would read like. I doubt it would make pleasant reading.
[7] Do you know how contemptous of the technical crew our players are?
[8] When have you ever known a team win anything when the players are not prepared to die for the coach?
[9] You talk about working conditions but fail to mention that other African countries with FAs just as bad as the NFA hire expartriate coaches
[10] For your information, even CCC himself is supportive of the need to bring in a technical adviser.

pajimoh wrote:Dont we ever learn anything. There's no need to get a new coach, foreign or otherwise. We've been on that road before. If CCC qualifies us, let him take us. There's nothing like continuity.

If he fails, then we get a new coach. Look what happened when Pa Oni took over at short notice, we had the worst outing in our short WC history. ABEG NO MORE TALK OF NEW COACH. It's way too late for that.
Can we have a bit of honesty here please. Onigbinde took over with three months to the World Cup.

If we appoint a new coach today, he will have a full year to prepare for the mundial!
Oba

Post by Oba »

pajimoh wrote:Dont we ever learn anything. There's no need to get a new coach, foreign or otherwise. We've been on that road before. If CCC qualifies us, let him take us. There's nothing like continuity.

Can we have a bit of honesty here please. Onigbinde took over with three months to the World Cup.

If we appoint a new coach today, he will have a full year to prepare for the mundial!
Except that if we started the process of employing a coach today and did get someone to accept the job, he would have less than 2 weeks to prepare Nigeria for a must-win qualifier against Rwanda and a few extra days to prepare for the duel against Angola.

Oba wrote: Except that if we started the process of employing a coach today and did get someone to accept the job, he would have less than 2 weeks to prepare Nigeria for a must-win qualifier against Rwanda and a few extra days to prepare for the duel against Angola.
We are in March and our next game is not until June. There is plenty of time to complete the process before the Rwanda match.

Also, CCC, Eguoavon and Adisa can be retained for the time being to ensure a smooth transition. There is nothing preventing a coach taking up thew appointment well in time for the Rwanda game.
JayJayOkochasbrother

Post by JayJayOkochasbrother »

Naija needs Big Phil!!! Dat man go work wonders for us...
"JayJay come home"-- MummY

Oba wrote: Except that if we started the process of employing a coach today and did get someone to accept the job, he would have less than 2 weeks to prepare Nigeria for a must-win qualifier against Rwanda and a few extra days to prepare for the duel against Angola.
We are in March and our next game is not until June. There is plenty of time to complete the process before the Rwanda match.

Also, CCC, Eguoavon and Adisa can be retained for the time being to ensure a smooth transition. There is nothing preventing a coach taking up thew appointment well in time for the Rwanda game.
Ayo, do you know how long it takes a coach to 'understand' his players and have a feel for their strengths & weaknesses as it applies to HIS game plan? Some of the folks on the current team that we liked will be dropped cause they are not 'needed' for the type of game the new coach likes to play... do you know how long it takes to reach that comfort level? You probably wouldn't know unless you coached football. That's why you can come here and make reckless recommendations that are not warranted. If our ship was sinking (a la 2001 when Amodu was brought in) then you change a coach in mid season otherwise rocking the boat is downright criminal.

green4life wrote: Ayo, do you know how long it takes a coach to 'understand' his players and have a feel for their strengths & weaknesses as it applies to HIS game plan? Some of the folks on the current team that we liked will be dropped cause they are not 'needed' for the type of game the new coach likes to play... do you know how long it takes to reach that comfort level?.
After two and a half years in the job, CCC:

[1] Has not got to understand his players
[2]Does not know the strengths and weaknesses of his players
[3]Does not have a game plan
[4] Has no strategy to reach the "comfort level."

Beleive you me, any FC we hire today will be an automatic improvement on CCC. Things can only get better!
Pharaoh

Post by Pharaoh »

4 points max
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

We have not even qualified yet and you guys are talking about the Czech Republic and Brazil.

I'm fine with Chukwu as long as he doesn't play that EKWUEME!!!
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

Thanks for keeping it below 10pts... like it or not, Chukwu has 'his guys' save for a handful of spots. He has a game plan though not explosive... if our strikers where clinical finishers a lot of these close margins would have been a lot wider... na finishing dey kill us (check out all 3 home games)... the defense has gotten a lot better & more reliable... He has had 1 goalie for the past 3yrs... and he loves his 4-4-2... You bring a new guy in, look for a lot of things to change that will likely mess up the flow of winning.... 'winning' is a funny intangible... a lot of talented teams do not know how to win... and it starts from the top... believe me.. no matter how good players are, they can't win alone - w/o input from the sideline. That, I know for a fact. Give C3 his due.
green4life wrote: Ayo, do you know how long it takes a coach to 'understand' his players and have a feel for their strengths & weaknesses as it applies to HIS game plan? Some of the folks on the current team that we liked will be dropped cause they are not 'needed' for the type of game the new coach likes to play... do you know how long it takes to reach that comfort level?.
After two and a half years in the job, CCC:

[1] Has not got to understand his players
[2]Does not know the strengths and weaknesses of his players
[3]Does not have a game plan
[4] Has no strategy to reach the "comfort level."

Beleive you me, any FC we hire today will be an automatic improvement on CCC. Things can only get better!
Oba

Post by Oba »

Green4life,

These people would not listen. Until Ayo gets his Bryan Robson and 3-5-2, we would know no peace. Just watch as Naija make it through the Nations Cup and maybe win on penalties. All hell would break lose that why does Naija need penalties to win? That if it were Bryan Robson, Naija would have won in the first 30 minutes. How many times has Ayo been wrong in the past year or two?

Oba wrote:Green4life,

These people would not listen. Until Ayo gets his Bryan Robson and 3-5-2, we would know no peace. Just watch as Naija make it through the Nations Cup and maybe win on penalties. All hell would break lose that why does Naija need penalties to win? That if it were Bryan Robson, Naija would have won in the first 30 minutes. How many times has Ayo been wrong in the past year or two?
Oba, folks think that winning is a right or that the fact that you have more talented players than the opposition means that you should win... I wished it were that simple... Let me make it clear: the dumbest thing NFA can do is make a change at anytime now thru the WC (if we make it). The new coach will make his changes: some players will buy it while others will not get with the program... some good players will be dropped for dubious reasons just cause the new coach said so... while other new guys will be drafted in... before you know it you'll be left with a 'green' SE team similar to the WC-02 team that had ZERO character or heart... you can't coach that... it don't happen in a couple months... but noooo.. Ayo believes that a foreign coach can come in and wave a magic wand and vuallla!... the SE will be transformed into Brazil (African version :D )... na wao!... I know Ayo is not that naive... he just loves acting like a knucklehead... na Ayo be dat in a nutshell :D