OWOMOYELA Not Better Than Abbey George

airwolex wrote:
The Eagles are past the stage that we have guys plying their trade in div 3 can get call ups. Abbey needs to play at a higher level to be even considered. IMHO he has no excuse to be playing in Macclesfield, he has a Bristish passport and he can say he played with one of the best teams in Africa. I can only believe that he is just not up to scratch.

O pari!
You can believe what you want but those of us that watch George Abbey know that when you compare him with many of the right backs we see in the Premiership week in week out, he is no worse.

Are you really trying to tell me that a player like Danny Mills or Bary Hunt is better than George Abbey? I must admit that I am baffled as to why Abbey is not at least playing in the Championship.

I admit that he is no Cafu, Zanetti or Salgardo but he is good enough to play for teams like Wigan, WBA, West Ham, Sunderland, Bolton, Fulham or Charlton.
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Ma friend Shittu should try to get himself into the premiership or another top league, I have seen him play and I have been impressed with what I have seen...But in Football you have to test yourself against the best and prove to the coaches that you are up to it, being a great player in the championship does not neccesarily mean you are International quality....

kaylord wrote:if people actually take out QPR (championship side) and look at Danny Shittu, man of the match in 2 matches at least this season, they would see that he is a great player.
K
Skylolo wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Unecessary topic. Owomoyela is a German. Chidi Odiah and George Abbey will be Nigeria's two right wing backs going to the World Cup.
Abbey's position in the SE squad is coming under serious threat right now. If you know him tell him he needs to compete at a higher level week in week out!
In 1994, Austin Eguavoen or Emmanuel Ammunike were not playing at a higher level than him. On the other hand, players like Akpoborire who were playing at the highest level, did very little for the Eagles.

Gbenga Okunowo played for Barcelona but was nowhere near as good as George Abbey as an Eagles right back. If people actually looked beyond Port Vale and focused on George Abbey, they will discover that he is a good player.
To God be the glory
kaylord

Post by kaylord »

You see the double standard, meanwhile Abbey George of Port Vale started playing for Nigeria when he was in an even more obscure club; Macclesfield, abeg! leave story, the Championship is better than some leagues that we know, Andy Johnson is still earning England call ups...
Skylolo wrote:Ma friend Shittu should try to get himself into the premiership or another top league, I have seen him play and I have been impressed with what I have seen...But in Football you have to test yourself against the best and prove to the coaches that you are up to it, being a great player in the championship does not neccesarily mean you are International quality....

kaylord wrote:if people actually take out QPR (championship side) and look at Danny Shittu, man of the match in 2 matches at least this season, they would see that he is a great player.
K
Skylolo wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Unecessary topic. Owomoyela is a German. Chidi Odiah and George Abbey will be Nigeria's two right wing backs going to the World Cup.
Abbey's position in the SE squad is coming under serious threat right now. If you know him tell him he needs to compete at a higher level week in week out!
In 1994, Austin Eguavoen or Emmanuel Ammunike were not playing at a higher level than him. On the other hand, players like Akpoborire who were playing at the highest level, did very little for the Eagles.

Gbenga Okunowo played for Barcelona but was nowhere near as good as George Abbey as an Eagles right back. If people actually looked beyond Port Vale and focused on George Abbey, they will discover that he is a good player.
Am Designed For Destiny...
http://www.youtube.com/v/SmLhyPjHVes
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

airwolex wrote:
The Eagles are past the stage that we have guys plying their trade in div 3 can get call ups. Abbey needs to play at a higher level to be even considered. IMHO he has no excuse to be playing in Macclesfield, he has a Bristish passport and he can say he played with one of the best teams in Africa. I can only believe that he is just not up to scratch.

O pari!
You can believe what you want but those of us that watch George Abbey know that when you compare him with many of the right backs we see in the Premiership week in week out, he is no worse.

Are you really trying to tell me that a player like Danny Mills or Bary Hunt is better than George Abbey? I must admit that I am baffled as to why Abbey is not at least playing in the Championship.

I admit that he is no Cafu, Zanetti or Salgardo but he is good enough to play for teams like Wigan, WBA, West Ham, Sunderland, Bolton, Fulham or Charlton.
This is precisely the probelm, how do we know he is better than Hunt, or Danny Mills when he consistently competes 2 divisions below them?? :roll:

It's his career its up to him to find a way to get into a top club, if he was this good how come not even a Div 1 club snapped him up when he was available on the free..the bobo is on a British Pali now :evil:
To God be the glory
kaylord

Post by kaylord »

Thank you jare, am sure some influences ar keping him in the SE. otherwise after "impressing" at the nations cup, how come he didn't get a good move, even to ordinary Championship, like Olofinjana did?.

Skylolo wrote:
airwolex wrote:

O pari!

This is precisely the probelm, how do we know he is better than Hunt, or Danny Mills when he consistently competes 2 divisions below them?? :roll:

It's his career its up to him to find a way to get into a top club, if he was this good how come not even a Div 1 club snapped him up when he was available on the free..the bobo is on a British Pali now :evil:

Then why haven't one of them snapped him up? Why is it that a British passport holder who played for the SE cannot play for a team in the Championship? For me its simple; the level he is playing at is too low to even warrant a call up for a friendly.
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Ol boy you are starting to yearn Opaks here...But lets get a few home facts in place....

Firstly if you do your research well you will find that when Abbey George was called up to play for Nigeria we had no right back, and to his credit he performed better than his level suggested!

Secondly Danny Shittu made his debut when QPR was a Div 2 club, so there is no double standard...He has been called up repeatedly since bet he does not play because there are better players ahead of him.

Thirdly this is the Opaks part, can you please tell me the major European leagues that are not as competitive as the Championship??

kaylord wrote:You see the double standard, meanwhile Abbey George of Port Vale started playing for Nigeria when he was in an even more obscure club; Macclesfield, abeg! leave story, the Championship is better than some leagues that we know, Andy Johnson is still earning England call ups...
Skylolo wrote:Ma friend Shittu should try to get himself into the premiership or another top league, I have seen him play and I have been impressed with what I have seen...But in Football you have to test yourself against the best and prove to the coaches that you are up to it, being a great player in the championship does not neccesarily mean you are International quality....

K
Skylolo wrote:

To God be the glory
kaylord

Post by kaylord »

they are there, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, to name a few...
[
Thirdly this is the Opaks part, can you please tell me the major European leagues that are not as competitive as the Championship??
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

kaylord wrote:they are there, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, to name a few...
[
Call out the Nigerian International's playing in those leagues??
To God be the glory
kaylord

Post by kaylord »

Obiefule, Kinglsey Amuneke, they get call ups from time to time, anyway, the point is, this is a good player, who most definitely would get a move to the premiership in a short time, going by his cult status in his club and age (24 for real, no loading) why cant he even get call ups, and when he was called up the other time, this year, he was not played, the last time he was tried in any game is maybe 2002, the guy has come a long way from then, yet, for friendlies like the one in Libya, people would rather try Taribo West... please
Skylolo wrote:
kaylord wrote:they are there, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, to name a few...
[
Call out the Nigerian International's playing in those leagues??

I don't know what it is about George Abbey that is keeping him from moving on. After his Nations Cup performance, right backs like Pierre Doumbe who performed worse than him got good moves.

I know he turned down a move to Russia a few years ago but even then, he should have picked something up in France, Holland or Belgium. If Abbey were playing for say Anderlect, PSV or Feyernoord, I bet he would not be subject to all these insults.
kaylord

Post by kaylord »

If he is serious about his career, he should consider it, that Port Vale does not do justice to Nigeria, imagine when they make the list of Nigerian players at the world cup or ANC:
Martins- Inter Milan
Yobo- Everton
Makinwa- palermo
Taiwo- Marseille
and then
George- Port Vale

does it not sound like FC Thurn to you?
Ayo Akinfe wrote:I don't know what it is about George Abbey that is keeping him from moving on. After his Nations Cup performance, right backs like Pierre Doumbe who performed worse than him got good moves.

I know he turned down a move to Russia a few years ago but even then, he should have picked something up in France, Holland or Belgium. If Abbey were playing for say Anderlect, PSV or Feyernoord, I bet he would not be subject to all these insults.
kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

mastermind wrote:
Martin wrote:And what about Oguchi Onyewu who a few months back some here were saying wasn't good enough to play for Nigeria? Now he's become a starter for the US and has been the revelation of the US team during World Cup qualifying.

Jared Borgetti showed what he can do this past summer in the Confederations Cup against Argentina, Brazil and Germany but in Mexico's recent qualifying match against the US (won 2-0 by the US), Onyewu simply took him out of the game. Onyewu is on his way to becoming one of the best markers in the game.
Let him mark out eto'o, Martins, adriano and schevy before calling him the best.
don't mention him in the same sentence with eto'o, adriano and shevchenko. thank you.
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

kofi86 wrote:
mastermind wrote:
Martin wrote:And what about Oguchi Onyewu who a few months back some here were saying wasn't good enough to play for Nigeria? Now he's become a starter for the US and has been the revelation of the US team during World Cup qualifying.

Jared Borgetti showed what he can do this past summer in the Confederations Cup against Argentina, Brazil and Germany but in Mexico's recent qualifying match against the US (won 2-0 by the US), Onyewu simply took him out of the game. Onyewu is on his way to becoming one of the best markers in the game.
Let him mark out eto'o, Martins, adriano and schevy before calling him the best.
don't mention him in the same sentence with eto'o, adriano and shevchenko. thank you.
:shock: :shock:

What is this man's problem...Have you ever had any striker as good as Oba in the whole of Ghana's history??
To God be the glory
kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

Skylolo wrote:
kofi86 wrote:
mastermind wrote:

:shock: :shock:

What is this man's problem...Have you ever had any striker as good as Oba in the whole of Ghana's history??
this is not a nigeria ghana issue. you just dream too much. i wish oba the best, but he is not in the same league YET.