Do You know that the YAK is the.........

Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

As a Nigerian, I wish Yak well and I hope he keeps scoring goals for Middlesborough. We really don't miss Yakubu as Nsofor, Ogbuke and Promise are up coming talent. Nsofor is already in the reckoning in the SE. Let's just wish Yak well.....no bad belly.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

obong itatex wrote:Let's see....Obinna Nsofor was his direct replacement.Considering Yak's lackadaisical approach to Nigerian matches and his questionable commitment,it was best he stayed away.We have seen what Nsofor can do!
And what exactly did you see? Because all I saw was one goal against Tunisia.
Globero

Post by Globero »

Mudi E wrote:As a Nigerian, I wish Yak well and I hope he keeps scoring goals for Middlesborough. We really don't miss Yakubu as Nsofor, Ogbuke and Promise are up coming talent. Nsofor is already in the reckoning in the SE. Let's just wish Yak well.....no bad belly.
Truth be told, I was actually happy for him in the game against Chelsea ! I actually hope he continues to do well, regardless of whether he does or does not ever play for the SE again ! :roll:
From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
mmeny

Post by mmeny »

Globero wrote:
mmeny wrote: I Dont have a problem wit him YAK.... infact i totally respect him so much.... because he stood his ground..... because i dont see any reason for this guy should be coming from the bench for JAG, Osaze, Makinwa, Nsofor..... u guys must be kidding .......
Who CATEGORICALLY said he was going to come from the bench ? Btw, you think YAK coming from the bench after starting JAG is an insult ? :shock:

Dude... yes it is an insult for YAK with current form to come off the bench for JAG .... i believe national team is choosen on current form and not on past records..... JAG has had an injury hit season and below par season for his so called club... but yet no... he deserves to start in naija abi..... at least we saw what he played in ANC 2006.....

YAK is one of the best african strikers in europe so far..... we judge a striker on goals scored.... and so far... YAK is up there .... aight dawg....
Just because cat sabi swim no mean say him be catfish - M.I
Globero

Post by Globero »

mmeny wrote:
Globero wrote:
mmeny wrote: I Dont have a problem wit him YAK.... infact i totally respect him so much.... because he stood his ground..... because i dont see any reason for this guy should be coming from the bench for JAG, Osaze, Makinwa, Nsofor..... u guys must be kidding .......
Who CATEGORICALLY said he was going to come from the bench ? Btw, you think YAK coming from the bench after starting JAG is an insult ? :shock:

Dude... yes it is an insult for YAK with current form to come off the bench for JAG .... i believe national team is choosen on current form and not on past records..... JAG has had an injury hit season and below par season for his so called club... but yet no... he deserves to start in naija abi..... at least we saw what he played in ANC 2006.....
YAK is one of the best african strikers in europe so far..... we judge a striker on goals scored.... and so far... YAK is up there .... aight dawg....
Correction my friend :

Being chosen to ANY NATIONAL TEAM IS TO THE DISCRETION OF THE COACH ! What his plans are in terms of how he can utilize a players strengths in ANY ONE GAME or group of games as well as the ability to prove to THE COACH IN CAMP that one is capable of fulfilling that potential ! It is not for a player to DEMAND to play first team football with the expectation that the coach MUST agree before the tournament has even begun !
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
baprophet

Post by baprophet »

Correction my friend :

Being chosen to ANY NATIONAL TEAM IS TO THE DISCRETION OF THE COACH ! What his plans are in terms of how he can utilize a players strengths in ANY ONE GAME or group of games as well as the ability to prove to THE COACH IN CAMP that one is capable of fulfilling that potential ! It is not for a player to DEMAND to play first team football with the expectation that the coach MUST agree before the tournament has even begun !
Fair enough,

Not to hold brief for YAK But it is also within that players rights as an individual to CHOOSE to do what he considers best for his career without supposed Fans continually deriding him and maligning his character.

Having said that I am not sure Yak explicitly DEMANDED First team action at least he denies doing so. His gripe was that Egu did not like him hence he didnt look forward to riding the pine like Oruma and Jag found out they had to do!
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

mmeny wrote:
Globero wrote:

To be fair to Aghahowa, I don't think our team played to his strength or the Martins. You see how our midfielders were handicapp trying to feed our strikers. Aghahowa is still a good striker and should be on the team.
We just have to work out a strategy for Aghahowa and Martins or othe strikers to score goals for us.
I just wouldn't give up on Aghahowa just yet.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

ROSSIKE wrote:mastermind said:
YAK is our best striker and we gat to respect him more if we expect him to represent us.

He has to prove he's our best striker, not by scoring/playing well for Middlesbrough, but by scoring/playing well for Nigeria.

So far he's done the former, not the latter, which accounts for the 'lack of respect' you see.

This ANC was his opportunity to showcase his talents for the national team in a big way.

Unfortunately his arrogance and mendacity got the better of him.
Blind comments as usual. Look at every team in ANC they got a decent coach that knows what they're doing. For the last 4 years we've been stuck with clueless caretakers that got no tactical know-how and the man management skills to get the job done.

We gatto tackle the problem and stop blaming the players for everything. Egu is tkaing bribe from Kids for playing time for Godsake and u expect a player to come and rep us ? I wish we made it to ANC finals so that Egypt can disgrace us. Egu got no experience, he got no winning record, and we picked him to coach SE. These players are smarting up now, SE is a business to this people only the player at a loss here.
Cristao

Post by Cristao »

mmeny wrote:
Globero wrote:

Soccer is a team sport.. Chelsea are winning the EPL becos they have the best squad not the best 11 .. Man Utd achieved their dominance becos they had the best squad not the best 11
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

Cristao wrote:
mmeny wrote:
Globero wrote:

Soccer is a team sport.. Chelsea are winning the EPL becos they have the best squad not the best 11 .. Man Utd achieved their dominance becos they had the best squad not the best 11
How come Westeroff didnot put Rashidi on the bench for the like of Kanu in 1994 ? On current form YAK is one of the best strikers in africa, he's better than Martins and co. at a moment and he deserves to start. Egu goofed big time for not seeing the big picture.
Cristao

Post by Cristao »

mastermind wrote:
Cristao wrote:
mmeny wrote:
Globero wrote:

How come Westeroff didnot put Rashidi on the bench for the like of Kanu in 1994 ? On current form YAK is one of the best strikers in africa, he's better than Martins and co. at a moment and he deserves to start. Egu goofed big time for not seeing the big picture.
Dont compare Yekini/KAnu to Yakubu/Martins .. Yakubu has done nothing to warrant the comparison .. this is an insult to the king of Naija strikers!
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

mastermind wrote:On current form YAK is one of the best strikers in africa, he's better than Martins and co. at a moment and he deserves to start. Egu goofed big time for not seeing the big picture.
YAK certainly did not get the opportunity to start since he did not bother going to camp. Egu NEVER said he will not start YAK. Egu said he will not guarantee YAK or anyone else a starting shirt.
Last edited by Naija fan on Mon Feb 13, 2006 4:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

Naija fan wrote:
mastermind wrote:On current form YAK is one of the best strikers in africa, he's better than Martins and co. at a moment and he deserves to start. Egu goofed big time for not seeing the big picture.
YAK certainly did not get the opportunity to start since he did not bother going to camp. Egu NEVER said he will not start JAG. Egu said he will not guarantee YAK or anyone else a starting shirt.
Are you making this up, or when and where did this come up?
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Naija fan wrote:
YAK certainly did not get the opportunity to start since he did not bother going to camp. Egu NEVER said he will not start JAG. Egu said he will not guarantee YAK or anyone else a starting shirt.
Correction - Egu NEVER said he will not start YAK.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

Naija fan wrote:
He was a fly on the wall when the conversation occured. :lol:

omo-eko
se

Post by omo-eko »

Guys, is matter of choice, no one among us will tell YAK, how to leave his life, so guys lets move on
WINNERMAN

Post by WINNERMAN »

Skylolo wrote:
ROSSIKE wrote:mastermind said:
YAK is our best striker and we gat to respect him more if we expect him to represent us.

He has to prove he's our best striker, not by scoring/playing well for Middlesbrough, but by scoring/playing well for Nigeria.

So far he's done the former, not the latter, which accounts for the 'lack of respect' you see.

This ANC was his opportunity to showcase his talents for the national team in a big way.

Unfortunately his arrogance and mendacity got the better of him.

Well put Rossike..

With Martins/JAG/Makinwa not exactly setting the place on fire, YAK would have got his chance like everyone else did but he refused to show up that is not Egu's fault! He did not promise anyone else guaranteed first team football, why make an exception with YAK?

This is the problem with Nigerians, we never learn to condemn indisciplined individuals instead we find excuses for them!

Contrary to your belief,it is actually Egu's fault that Yakubu didnt suit up for us in Egypt. Egu by his actions or inactions made the camp unconducive for Yakubu.
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.

Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.
WINNERMAN

Post by WINNERMAN »

Globero wrote:
mmeny wrote:
Globero wrote:

Correction my friend :

l have heard this being said many times but l beg to strongly disagree with this notion.

First,the NT is not the property of the coach. His position is held on trust. And the nation expects him to use the BEST players to bring glory to the nation. NOT the players he thinks fit. That is why coaches are made to defend their selections all the time.

No coach can justify selection of a poor player becos he fits your system. You should rather change your system to suit the best players . Talent is the single most important factor for progress. No coach can hack it with poor players and no nation should allow that rubbish idea to thrive.

Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.
goldfeet2

Post by goldfeet2 »

mastermind wrote:He gave his many reasons why he refused, but you people choose to ignore his reasons blindly. Jag refused to dress for the 3rd place match, Oruma complained about unjust benching etc. The writing is on the wall, everything is not well with SE and y'all expect players to sharrap and just show up ?

YAK made the right decision to help his employer outta of a relegation zone instead of waisting precious time on the bench for no reason. YAK was being benched unjustly and Egu was giving prefrecial treatment to some players. YAK is our best striker and we gat to respect him more if we expect him to represent us.
Westeroff was sucessful cos of his man managament skills, he never benched Yekini and Amo for kids or unjustly, even with the beef that he got with siasia, he still start him against Argentina. We cannot keep picking a fight with talented and experienced players every ANC cos some kids show some flash of brilliance. We need a better coach to handle our SE.
Globero wrote:
gado wrote:
Globero wrote:All you YAK patriots are as pathetic as the cause you are trying to justify with regards to his absence from the ANC.

YAK should not go to the ANC because Egu is incompetent : As if that is a basis for which any player is suppose to avoid a major tournament.
YAK is the best striker we have so Egu should have guaranteed him a shirt : even Sven Erickson has not publicly come out to say he guarantees Beckham a shirt, just like Henry's coach, RVN's coach, Adriano's coach, Eto's or even Ronaldinho's coach so why tha hell would you expect a manager worth his salt to admit to a player before showing up in camp that he WILL get a shirt before a ball is even kicked ?

We would have won the cup, if YAK was at the ANC see how he scores goals in the EPL : Just like Mido won it for Egypt abi, or Eto won it for Cameroon alongside Didier Drogba winning it for CIV. Oh but the SE have more talented players than the rest of these teams ( a subjective point ) : Just like AC Milan had against Liverpool at the last CL final abi ?

Bottomline is Egu is in charge. All the people screaming about bribery and corruption in Nigerian football were not detered from following the Eagles as they qualified from the group stage up until they played in the semi's. If each and everyone of you had so much passion that you watched, listened or read about the SE while they were at the ANC regardless of how incompetent you felt about Egu and the NFA, then YAK should just as well have had enough compassion to honor the call to represent his country when he was called upon REGARDLESS of how talented he is while playing in England. Nobody is bigger than the FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF NIGERIA ! NOBODY ( Not even Adedibu, Abacha or Obj ) ! Everyones time will come and eventually go ( Okocha, Yekini, Odegbami ), but the SE will remain forever !
You still don't get it ? Egu is not good enough to coach a team as big as SE, he's only good enough to coach college or high school team.

Egu got no track record, the players that showed up only did cos of the fans back home. Look at Egu mistakes at the tournament, dude got no clue what to do with the talents in his disposal, he got to SF on individual talent. SE and the players deserve better, they deserve to have a world class coach.
You are the one that does'nt get it !

Egu's competence or lack thereof has nothing to do with YAK's refusal to honor the national call. You just like everyone on this board, followed the SE up until the semi's. Egu could be the worst coach in the world ( which is all a matter of opinion ), fact is when Nigeria is being represented our focus shifts towards supporting the team! I for one remember how people on this forum were close to having a heart attack against Tunisia when we were playing pk's. Congratulatory messages and excitement were spreading like a computer virus along this board in and around Nigeria. Fact was that YAK wanted a guarantee to play 1st team football, a request that NOBODY is suppose to make ON ANY TEAM REGARDLESS OF HOW GOOD THEY MAY BE. If that is too hard to comprehend go and ask Romario and dem Ronaldo what happens when persin dey do yanga for him team. Ask George Weah what he had to do to TRY to qualify his team for the world cup. Ask Anelka what it takes to get back to playing for a nation full of stars ( like Nigeria ) after you are out of favor with your coach for so long. Yeah some people will make you believe YAK should not be sacrificed at any cost just because he is as good as we believe he is, but if Egypt were to feel that way, they probably would have played Mido at the ANC finals simply because just like many like you, talent and adoration is suppose to be placed above discipline and integrity ! :shock:
Yak is YAK, what makes him better than Kanu,Martins,JAG,Makinnwa,Utaka,Ogbuke to demand a starting Shirt? You must be deluded in your judgement to think that a reasonable coach shud be held to ransome by and average player. Not even the Ronaldos, Ronaldihnos, Van nistroys etc of this world who Yak can NEVER attain their status will ever hold their national team/coach to ransome. Assuming yak is as good as maradona and his request is granted; the coach will set a dangerous precedence that will spell disasater in the future. Thanks Yak for saving us from heart attack as a result of your mistakes in the field as witnessed during the WC qualifiers. Remain in Middlesborough cos SE DONT need you again EVER.
our future is in our hands
Globero

Post by Globero »

WINNERMAN wrote:l have heard this being said many times but l beg to strongly disagree with this notion.

First,the NT is not the property of the coach. His position is held on trust. And the nation expects him to use the BEST players to bring glory to the nation. NOT the players he thinks fit. That is why coaches are made to defend their selections all the time.

No coach can justify selection of a poor player becos he fits your system. You should rather change your system to suit the best players . Talent is the single most important factor for progress. No coach can hack it with poor players and no nation should allow that rubbish idea to thrive.
So the question being reiterated is :

Does your position of Egu being a bad coach stem from the fact that he did a bad job of chosing from the players that came to camp ?

OR

His inability to guarantee YAK a starting shirt before his arrival in camp definitely labels him as incompetent ?
WINNERMAN

Post by WINNERMAN »

Globero wrote:
WINNERMAN wrote:l have heard this being said many times but l beg to strongly disagree with this notion.

So the question being reiterated is :

Does your position of Egu being a bad coach stem from the fact that he did a bad job of chosing from the players that came to camp ?

OR

His inability to guarantee YAK a starting shirt before his arrival in camp definitely labels him as incompetent ?

Globero,
The point is Egu's managerial capability is not up to scratch. When you attack playes on the pages of newspaper and you expect them to keep quiet you got another thing coming.

babsone

Post by babsone »

ITS SUPRISING THE WAY PPLE ARGUE. I XPECT PLAYERS TO PLAY FOR DIR NATIONAL TEAM WITH PRIDE. YAKUBU WAS NOT GOING TO PLAY FOR EGU.

U GUYS SHOULD REMEMBER YAK HAD SOME GOAL DROUGHT WEN HE WAS BENCHED IN ALGERIA. I DONT BELIEVE IN EGU S CAPABILITY AS A COACH, BUT HE IS THE BOSS. HE SHOULD DECIDE WHO PLAYS FOR HIM, COS HE S RESPOSIBLE FOR THE RESULTS AT D END OF THE DAY. PPLE TALK ABOUT WESTRHOF FORGETING HE WENT TO ALGIERS 90 WITH ALMOST AN ENTIRELY NEW SUPER EAGLES COS OF SOME OLD PLAYERS ATTITUDE. WE HAVE IN THAT TEAM ENUF STRIKERS TO REPLACE YEYEGBENI, BUT WHT WE LACKED IS A PURPOSEFUL WINNING STRATEGY.