This is very disturbing.

PapaK

Post by PapaK »

guys, please dont forget that the bronze is usually a 'sweeter' medal than the silver. You would have had your chance to cry for about 2 days, then come out to say 'I must take something out of this tourney'. When you eventually get it, you can hug each other and say 'congratulations all the same'.

While I share 1naija's concern that for Nigeria, anything less than gold was not acceptable and as such the bronze celebration should have been very light, I wont quarrel with new players who were celebrating their first ANC medal of whatever colour. Had someone like Okocha who already got gold been jumping about like that, I would have thought he was crazy.
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

felarey wrote:C'mon guys, show some respect. The other teams weren't there to look at the pyramids.
How do u know that? I know for a fact that the BS were mersmerized by the pyramids. How else can u explain the raping Zimbabwe gave to them?
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

Riche007 wrote:
felarey wrote:C'mon guys, show some respect. The other teams weren't there to look at the pyramids.
How do u know that? I know for a fact that the BS were mersmerized by the pyramids. How else can u explain the raping Zimbabwe gave to them?
Okocha also came to look at the pyramids.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Riche007 wrote:
No.

He came to check out apartment prices in the Middle East, since he might be moving there from Bolton.

PS: 1naija, I know everyone yabs bronze as somehow "unworthy" (and the loudest yabs come from people who have not smelled the NC semifinals in years, decades in some cases). But I would personally rather come back with something instead of nothing.

I would take a bronze over getting knocked out in the prelims or the quarters ..... in the same way I would take World Cup qualification followed by a 1st Round or 2nd Round exit rather than no qualification at all.

True, I want to win both tournaments (Heaven alone knows how much I want us to win them), but if we can't win, let us at least be respectable.

Losing a WC place to Angola is not respectable (no offence to the Palancas Negras). Gaining an NC bronze is okay with me.

However, one must say Nigeria is littered with silvers and bronzes at both age-restricted and senior levels. Nigeria has the quality to get to the threshold, but once at the threshold it appears we need something extra, something we don't have, something more than just talented players, to jump the final hurdle. When we figure out how to jump that final hurdle, then we can start converting many, many silvers and bronzes into gold.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

THE FAN wrote:
Riche007 wrote:
No.

He came to check out apartment prices in the Middle East, since he might be moving there from Bolton.
PS: 1naija, I know everyone yabs bronze as somehow "unworthy" (and the loudest yabs come from people who have not smelled the NC semifinals in years, decades in some cases). But I would personally rather come back with something instead of nothing.

I would take a bronze over getting knocked out in the prelims or the quarters ..... in the same way I would take World Cup qualification followed by a 1st Round or 2nd Round exit rather than no qualification at all.

True, I want to win both tournaments (Heaven alone knows how much I want us to win them), but if we can't win, let us at least be respectable.

Losing a WC place to Angola is not respectable (no offence to the Palancas Negras). Gaining an NC bronze is okay with me.

However, one must say Nigeria is littered with silvers and bronzes at both age-restricted and senior levels. Nigeria has the quality to get to the threshold, but once at the threshold it appears we need something extra, something we don't have, something more than just talented players, to jump the final hurdle. When we figure out how to jump that final hurdle, then we can start converting many, many silvers and bronzes into gold.
Huh! :shock: Is Egypt now in the Middle East? :roll: :roll:

THE FAN wrote:
Riche007 wrote:
No.

I'm happy for you and all but for me it's all or nothing.

The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

theYemster wrote: I'm happy for you and all but for me it's all or nothing.
Chief,

"Nothing" is what we Eagles fans will have for many long months until the qualifiers for the 2008 Nations Cup. You know what? I HATE it. I can not remember when last there was so much "nothing" to look forward to.

PS: Hey, there will be an African Women's Cup this year, right? :lol: The other African women go hear wien! :lol:
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
ELOI

Post by ELOI »

NIGERIA'S TARGET HAS ALWAYS BEEN THE BRONZE MEDAL, SO WHY NOT. :)
SUYA

Post by SUYA »

1naija stop this non sense
Ghana Angola and Tunisia deserve all the support they can get :twisted:
The above comments are private and not affiliated with supersport in any manner or form
miky

Post by miky »

we did not even prepare ghana did better than us in preparation we came third its good if we had been winners i dont think we will ever prepare for a tournament. egyptians also showed a lot of support.
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)
Africana

Post by Africana »

I completely agree.

It is a big shame anytime we celebrate mediocrity in this way.

Those acquainted with real-life outside of Internet forums would appreciate that so long as the guys put in an honest effort and worked hard, they are all WINNERS in life! and have absolutely nothing to be ashamed of. Wish the same can be said of some of the grown-arsed pontificators on this forum!
<

Gotti wrote:Those acquainted with real-life outside of Internet forums would appreciate that so long as the guys put in an honest effort and worked hard, they are all WINNERS in life! and have absolutely nothing to be ashamed of. Wish the same can be said of some of the grown-arsed pontificators on this forum!
<
Loosers mentality!